DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 08/08/2024, 02/27/2025, 11/03/2025, and 07/24/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states “an inactivation area laser processed on an outer boundary edge of the activation area.” This limitation is indefinite as applicant is claiming that an inactivation area is provided on the activation area. Examiner further notes that the phrase “laser processed” appears to be a product by process as written and is interpreted to be requiring an inactivation area at an outer boundary edge of the activation area. Claims 2-9 are rejected for depending upon claim 1.
Claim 2 states the limitation “on which the active material is continuously coated together with an active material layer”. This limitation is indefinite as it is unclear if applicant is claiming two active material layers or just a single active material layer. Examiner will interpret that the active material is part of the active material layer for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kondo et al. (US 2009/0087730 A1) in view of Sakurai (US 2018/0138482 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kondo discloses an all-solid state battery, comprising:
A positive electrode plate provided with an active material on a positive electrode current collector ([0028,0036,0041-0044] cathode having active material and a current collector as a first electrode);
A solid electrolyte layer disposed on one side of the positive electrode plate ([0034] solid electrolyte); and
A negative electrode plate disposed on one side of the solid electrolyte layer (Figure 11-13, anode 7 placed between the electrolyte),
Wherein the positive electrode plate comprises
An activation area of the active material ([0152] active material); and
An inactivation area (Figure 11; [0105, 0138] restrictor 18 is made of an insulating material such as an inactive material which does not affect a battery reaction and thus can be selected to be the material for the restrictor; [0129-0130]). It would have been obvious for a skilled artisan to select the insulating inactive material for the material of the restrictor 18 taught from the list of materials as disclosed by Kondo as a simple selection of a known material. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07). Examiner further notes that the limitation “laser processed” appears to be a product by process as written and is interpreted to be requiring an inactivation area at an outer boundary edge of the activation area and thus the structure of Kondo is deemed to read on the limitations as claimed. Even if not, a secondary reference Sakurai is used to discloses wherein laser processing can be provided in a battery cell as Kondo is silent with respect to wherein laser processing is provided.
Sakurai discloses a separator integrated electrode plate and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of battery cells. Sakurai further discloses wherein laser cutting of the electrode region can be done to form and process the electrode ([0007-0008,0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to incorporate the laser processing of Sakurai in the battery of Kondo such that the laser processing can be used to cut the electrode to allow for formation and shaping of the restrictor/inactivation area. Thus through the modification all the claim limitations of claim 1 are rendered obvious. Examiner notes the 112B rejections above and requests clarification as to the structure of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, modified Kondo discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Sakurai further discloses wherein the positive electrode plate is formed by laser- cutting the positive electrode current collector on which the active material is continuous coated together with an active material layer (Sakurai Figure 17A-17C laser cutting is done to remove active material; see modification of claim 1). Through the modification of claim 1, the active material/resistor can be but through the laser cutting process of Sakurai and thus would render obvious all the claim limitations of claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, modified Kondo discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Kondo further discloses wherein the inactivation area is configured to block entry and exit of lithium ions (Figure 11; [0105, 0138] restrictor 18 is made of an insulating material such as an inactive material which does not affect a battery reaction and thus can be selected to be the material for the restrictor and would not conduct and allow for lithium ions to enter or exit; [0129-0130]).
Regarding claims 4-5, modified Kondo discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Kondo further discloses wherein the inactivation area is used and would be considered unable to allow ions to pass through due to the inactivation of the material. Kondo is silent with respect to the method of the inactivation of the inactivation area through deformation of the active material crystal structure on the positive electrode plate or through denaturation of solid electrolyte in the solid electrolyte layer, however, is deemed to be a functionality/intended use of the inactivation area. Thus Kondo’s resistor material is deemed to be capable of performing the intended use/functionality of denaturation and deformation as claimed as the claimed structure of the inactivation area is the same as the prior art. The Courts have held that if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). The Courts have held that it is well settled that the recitation of a new intended use, for an old product, does not make a claim to that old product patentable. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2114).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kondo discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Sakurai further discloses wherein, in the activation area, the positive electrode current collector is melted and modified to be contained in the active material ([0031-0034] laser beam is used for melting the resin/separator layer to permeate the in-region active material portion and thus through the combination of incorporating the cutting laser beam within Kondo according to claim 1 the collector can be melted and modified to be contained in the active material as taught by Sakurai).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kondo discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Sakurai further discloses wherein the positive electrode plate is formed by laser cutting the positive electrode current collector on which the active material is coated (Sakurai Figure 17A-17C laser cutting is done to remove active material; see modification of claim 1). Through the modification of claim 1, the active material/resistor can be but through the laser cutting process of Sakurai and thus would render obvious all the claim limitations of claim 7 as coating of the active material can be coating by applying the active material on the current collector in a pattern or continuous layer. Examiner notes the breadth of the claims as applicant fails to teach or disclose a specific pattern being claimed and thus any coating of the active material can be considered to be a specific pattern.
Regarding claim 8, modified Kondo discloses all the claim limitations of claim 7. Kondo further discloses wherein the inactivation area is formed in a convex raised portion on an outer boundary edge (Figure 8; restrictor 18 is formed on an edge of the active material that can read on a convex raised portion on an outer boundary edge and is similar to the structure of the claimed invention).
Regarding claim 9, modified Kondo discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Kondo further discloses wherein the inactivation area is formed in a width of 0.1 to 1 mm ([0143] average thickness of the restrictor 18 is between 30-500 micrometers). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kojima (US 2020/0136191 A1)- discloses a method for producing an all solid state battery having a laser cutting regions of the electrode.
Tomura et al. (US 2017/0207482 A1)- discloses a method for manufacturing all solid state battery having an insulation material 3ax provided around an edge of the electrode assembly.
Visco et al. (US 2016/0190640 A1)- discloses a solid electrolyte sheet for a battery cell wherein the electrode is cut by a laser to form and shape the electrode.
/ADAM J FRANCIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728