DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/08/2024 and 01/12/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains international publication data and is on two pages. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a single, separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 10, 13-14, 20, 22, 25-26, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radulescu et al. (US 2021/0092627 A1) cited by the applicant, hereinafter referred to as Radulescu, in view of Oteri et al. (US 2021/0392906 A1) cited by the applicant, hereinafter referred to as Oteri.
Regarding claim 1, Radulescu teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Radulescu – Paragraph [0007], note wireless communication at a UE), comprising:
a processor (Radulescu – Paragraph [0007], note the apparatus may include a processor);
memory coupled with the processor (Radulescu – Paragraph [0007], note the apparatus may include memory coupled with the processor); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (Radulescu – Paragraph [0007], note instructions stored in the memory, the instructions may be executable by the processor) to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from a network entity, a control message triggering the UE to provide a time-domain aperiodic channel state information report for indicating time-domain channel state information associated with channel state information reference signal resources (Radulescu – Paragraph [0130], note for an aperiodic CSI-RS, the base station may transmit downlink control information (control message) scheduling the aperiodic CSI-RS, such that the UE 115 can measure or rate match around the aperiodic CSI-RS, the base station 105 may separately trigger aperiodic CSI-RS measurement and aperiodic CSI reporting, the base station may configure a window for the periodic CSI-RS, the base station may then transmit an indicator to the UE when the periodic CSI-RS is present within the window);
perform measurements of channel state information reference signals received via the channel state information reference signal resources (Radulescu – Paragraph [0137], note base station may transmit an uplink grant to trigger an aperiodic CSI-RS measurement and report; Paragraph [0148], note base station may configure a window (e.g., a transmission opportunity window) for the periodic CSI-RS, base station may transmit a trigger for when a UE 115 is to measure the periodic CSI-RS); and
transmit, to the network entity and based at least in part on the control message, the time-domain aperiodic channel state information report indicating measured time-domain channel state information, wherein the measured time-domain channel state information is based at least in part on the measurements (Radulescu – Paragraph [0143], note the report trigger may trigger UE to transmit a measurement report for the CSI-RS, an aperiodic CSI-RS may be transmitted after or with a DCI triggering a CSI report).
Radulescu does not teach the control message triggering the UE to provide a time-domain aperiodic channel state information report for indicating time-domain channel state information associated with channel state information reference signal resources within an observation window, wherein a beginning of the observation window is based at least in part on when the control message is received; and perform measurements of channel state information reference signals received via the channel state information reference signal resources that occur within the observation window.
In an analogous art, Oteri teaches the control message triggering the UE to provide a time-domain aperiodic channel state information report for indicating time-domain channel state information associated with channel state information reference signal resources within an observation window, wherein a beginning of the observation window is based at least in part on when the control message is received (Oteri – Fig. 9; Paragraph [0135], note aperiodic CSI-RS and aperiodic CSI-Reporting on the PUSCH and LBT for a CSI Resource and LBT for a CSI Report, the WTRU (UE) may identify one or more CSI-RS resource windows (e.g., on receipt of a DCI), the WTRU may monitor the signal for a CSI-RS (e.g., for the duration of a first CSI resource window), if the CSI-RS is received, the WTRU may identify the CSI report resources for transmission and/or the corresponding CSI reports for each resource); and
perform measurements of channel state information reference signals received via the channel state information reference signal resources that occur within the observation window (Oteri – Paragraph [0151], note the WTRU may monitor the CSI-RS for measurement in the periodic CSI-RS resource windows).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Oteri into Radulescu in order to provide multiple opportunities for CSI transmission with additional resources in case of LBT failure, improving reliability (Oteri – Paragraph [0134]).
Regarding claim 8, Radulescu does not teach wherein the channel state information reference signal resources within the observation window comprise aperiodic channel state information reference signal resources, semi-persistent channel state information reference signal resources, or both, and wherein the observation window begins after receiving the control message.
In an analogous art, Oteri teaches wherein the channel state information reference signal resources within the observation window comprise aperiodic channel state information reference signal resources, semi-persistent channel state information reference signal resources, or both, and wherein the observation window begins after receiving the control message (Oteri – Paragraph [0135], note aperiodic CSI-RS, the WTRU may identify one or more CSI-RS resource windows (e.g., on receipt of a DCI), the WTRU may monitor the signal for a CSI-RS (e.g., for the duration of a first CSI resource window)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Oteri into Radulescu for the same reason as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 10, Radulescu does not teach wherein the channel state information reference signal resources are associated with a semi-persistent channel state information reference signal resource set, and the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, via the control message, an indication of a time duration associated with the semi-persistent channel state information reference signal resource set, wherein the measurements are performed on the channel state information reference signals within the time duration and within the observation window.
In an analogous art, Oteri teaches wherein the channel state information reference signal resources are associated with a semi-persistent channel state information reference signal resource set (Oteri – Paragraph [0102], note a configuration identifying the resource settings, reporting settings, and trigger states may be used (e.g., for each CSI feedback), SPS (semi-persistent scheduling) resource sets; Paragraph [0103], note the CSI-RS resources may be SPS), and the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive, via the control message, an indication of a time duration associated with the semi-persistent channel state information reference signal resource set, wherein the measurements are performed on the channel state information reference signals within the time duration and within the observation window (Oteri – Paragraph [0102], note a configuration identifying the resource settings, reporting settings, and trigger states may be used (e.g., for each CSI feedback), the reporting settings may be determined for a (e.g., single) downlink BWP and may include parameters such as the codebook configuration, time domain behavior, frequency granularity, measurement restriction, and/or the indicator to be sent, SPS (semi-persistent scheduling) resource sets; Paragraph [0118], note the CSI-RS may be transmitted at fixed periodic intervals for the duration of the SPS activation (e.g., in SPS CSI-RS)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Oteri into Radulescu for the same reason as claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Radulescu and Oteri, specifically teaches wherein the control message comprises a physical downlink control channel message (Radulescu – Paragraph [0090], note DCI which triggers aperiodic CSI-RS; Paragraph [0130], note for an aperiodic CSI-RS, the base station may transmit downlink control information (transmitted on PDCCH as known in the art) scheduling the aperiodic CSI-RS, the base station may trigger CSI measurement using downlink control information).
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 1 above, except the claim is written from the perspective of the network entity, which is taught by Radulescu (Radulescu – Paragraph [0048], note apparatus for wireless communication at a base station is described, the apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory, the instructions may be executable by the processor).
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 13 above.
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 1 above, except the claim is written in a method claim format.
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 1 above, except the claim is written in a method claim format and from the perspective of the network entity.
Claims 11 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radulescu in view of Oteri as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Yokomakura et al. (US 2023/0006800 A1, provisional application no. 62/932,046), hereinafter referred to as Yokomakura.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Radulescu and Oteri, specifically teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
receive control signaling indicating a first set of channel state information reference signal resources including the channel state information reference signal resources, the first set of channel state information reference signal resources comprising periodic resources, wherein performing the measurements of the channel state information reference signals is based at least in part on receiving the control signaling (Oteri – Paragraph [0102], note a configuration identifying the resource settings, reporting settings, and trigger states may be used (e.g., for each CSI feedback), the resource settings may be determined to be periodic resource sets; Paragraph [0103], note the CSI-RS resources may be periodic; Paragraph [0118], note the CSI-RS may be transmitted at fixed periodic intervals for the duration of the configuration (e.g., in periodic CSI-RS); Paragraph [0151], note the WTRU may monitor the CSI-RS for measurement in the periodic CSI-RS resource windows).
The combination of Radulescu and Oteri does not teach receiving, via the control message, an indication of a second set of channel state information reference signal resources within the observation window, the second set of channel state information reference signal resources comprising aperiodic resources, semi-persistent resources, or both; and performing additional measurements of the second set of channel state information reference signal resources within the observation window based at least in part on the control message, wherein the time-domain channel state information is based at least in part on the measurements and the additional measurements.
In an analogous art, Yokomakura teaches receiving, via the control message, an indication of a second set of channel state information reference signal resources within the observation window, the second set of channel state information reference signal resources comprising aperiodic resources, semi-persistent resources, or both (Yokomakura – Paragraph [0022], provisional Paragraph [0018], note UE configured to receive a second DCI on a PDCCH; Paragraph [0125], provisional Paragraph [00122], note CSI Trigger State in a CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList and CSI request fields in DCI format 0_1 and DCI format 0_2; Paragraph [0128], provisional Paragraph [00125], note CSI-AperiodicTriggerStateList information element (IE) may be used to configure the UE with a list of aperiodic trigger states); and
performing additional measurements of the second set of channel state information reference signal resources within the observation window based at least in part on the control message, wherein the time-domain channel state information is based at least in part on the measurements and the additional measurements (Yokomakura – Paragraph [0128], provisional Paragraph [00125], note upon reception of the value associated with a trigger state, the UE may perform measurement of CSI-RS, CSI-IM and/or SSB (reference signals) and aperiodic reporting on physical layer (layer-1 (L1)) according to all entries in the associatedReportConfigInfoList for that trigger state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Yokomakura into the combination of Radulescu and Oteri in order to improve flexibility in CSI reporting through use of multiple DCI (Yokomakura – Paragraphs [0004] and [0022], provisional Paragraphs [0004] and [0018]).
Regarding claim 23, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 11 above.
Claims 12 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Radulescu in view of Oteri and Yokomakura as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Svendsen et al. (US 2022/0416877 A1), hereinafter referred to as Svendsen.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Radulescu, Oteri, and Yokomakura does not teach wherein the first set of channel state information reference signal resources and the second set of channel state information reference signal resources are associated with a same downlink spatial filter.
In an analogous art, Svendsen teaches wherein the first set of channel state information reference signal resources and the second set of channel state information reference signal resources are associated with a same downlink spatial filter (Svendsen – Paragraph [0053], note the repetition parameter indicates to the UE that the NZP-CSI-RS-ResourceSet are transmitted with the same downlink spatial filter).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Svendsen into the combination of Radulescu, Oteri, and Yokomakura in order to prevent unnecessary transmission of CSI-RS signals for UE beam alignment (Svendsen – Paragraph [0087]).
Regarding claim 24, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as claim 12 above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9, 15-19, 21, 27-28, and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Applicant’s dependent claims recite:
by the apparatus (UE):
performing an additional measurement of an additional channel state information reference signal received within an additional channel state information reference signal resource that occurs prior to receiving the control message, wherein the observation window includes the additional channel state information reference signal resource; and transmitting the time-domain aperiodic channel state information report comprising the measured time-domain channel state information that is based at least in part on the additional measurement;
operating in accordance with an inactive duration of a discontinuous reception configuration during a last channel state information reference signal resource that is prior to the control message in a time domain, wherein the observation window begins after receiving the control message based at least in part on operating in accordance with the inactive duration of the discontinuous reception configuration; and
receiving, via the control message, an indication of the channel state information reference signal resources within the observation window and an indication of a downlink spatial filter associated with each of the channel state information reference signal resources, the channel state information reference signal resources comprising one or more aperiodic channel state information reference signal resources, wherein performing the measurements on the channel state information reference signals is based at least in part on receiving the indication of the downlink spatial filter.
The limitations above are neither taught nor suggested by the prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Song et al. (US 10,251,081 B2) discloses receiving a trigger from aperiodic CSI report, and second aperiodic CSI measurement for a second CSI reference resource in a second CSI subframe set.
Seo (US 2015/0049689 A1) discloses request for aperiodic CSI reporting in MBSFN subframe.
Rungta et al. (US 2021/0084516 A1) discloses transmitting CSI-RSs during UE DRX inactive mode, and aperiodic CSI Reporting.
Zhou et al. (US 2022/0116095 A1) discloses measurement of a set of AP CSI-RS resources transmitted by the same DL spatial filter.
/BAILOR C HSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461