DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
In the reply filed February 25, 2026, the applicant amended claims 1, 12, and 17.
The applicant cancelled claims 21-23.
Currently claims 1-20 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0310335) in view of Yalcin (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0326351).
Regarding Claim 1, White discloses a method for managing pressure buildup within a component of subsea production equipment using compressible particles (White: Abstract), the method comprising positioning compressible particles (White: Abstract) within a fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365) defined within the component of subsea production equipment such that an increase in fluid pressure within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365) is attenuated by reversible volumetric contraction (White: Paragraph [0119]) of the compressible particles (White: Abstract).
White does not disclose the subsea production equipment comprising a subsea tree deployed within a subsea environment as part of a subsea production system.
Yalcin discloses subsea production equipment (utilizing compressible particle) comprising a subsea tree deployed within a subsea environment as part of a subsea production system (Yalcin: Paragraph [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention’s filing to have utilized the compressible particles of White in the tree of Yalcin with the predictable result of having the compressible particles function as intended in the various components of an undersea production that they may be found in or travelling through.
Regarding Claim 2, White discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising at least one of:
Forming the compressible particles (White: Abstract) from calcined petroleum coke and sulfur; providing each compressible particle with a diameter that is in a range between 10 micrometers (μm) and 1300 μm (in dry state); or
Providing the compressible particles (White: Abstract) such that the compressible particles (White: Abstract) contract by 10% to 30% (White: Paragraph [0119]: 10-25% within 10%-30% range) of an initial unpressurized volume of the compressible particles (White: Abstract) when the fluid pressure within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365) is increased from 15 pounds per square inch (psi) to 10,000 psi (White: Paragraph [0135]).
Regarding Claim 3, White discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the subsea production equipment comprises, a control system, a manifold, or a pipeline system deployed within a subsea environment as part of a subsea production system (White: Figure 3B).
Regarding Claim 4, White discloses the method of claim 1, wherein positioning the compressible particles (White: Abstract) within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365) comprises:
Providing a packing of the compressible particles (White: Abstract); and mechanically, frictionally, or adhesively affixing the packing to an interior surface of the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365)(White: Paragraphs [0223], [0224]).
Regarding Claim 5, White discloses the method of claim 4, wherein providing the packing of the compressible particles (White: Abstract) comprises impregnating the compressible particles (White: Abstract) into a cross-linked polymer matrix (White: Paragraph [0072], Figure 10B).
Regarding Claim 6, White discloses the method of claim 4, wherein providing the packing of the compressible particles (White: Abstract) comprises encapsulating the compressible particles (White: Abstract) within an elastomeric coating (White: Paragraph 0236], [0238]).
Regarding Claim 7, White discloses the method of claim 1, wherein positioning the compressible particles (White: Abstract) within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365) comprises positioning the compressible particles (White: Abstract) within a containment area that is defined by a filter screen, a piston, or a diaphragm (White: 365) that enables pressure communication between the compressible particles (White: Abstract) within the containment area and the fluid within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365).
Regarding Claim 8, White discloses the method of claim 1, wherein positioning the compressible particles (White: Abstract) within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365) comprises directly mixing the compressible particles (White: Abstract) into the fluid within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365)(White: Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 9, White discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the increase in the fluid pressure within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365) is caused by at least one of thermal expansion of the fluid within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365) or mechanical straining of the fluid within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365)(White: Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 10, White discloses the method of claim 9, wherein at least one end of the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365) is defined by a closure mechanism, and wherein the method further comprises increasing the fluid pressure within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365) by mechanically actuating the closure mechanism, resulting in the mechanical straining of the fluid within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365)(White: setting of packers 365).
Regarding Claim 11, White discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising increasing the fluid pressure within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365) by producing production fluids from at least one subsea well corresponding to the subsea production equipment, wherein heat transfer between the production fluids and the fluid within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365) results in the thermal expansion of the fluid within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365)(White: Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 12, White discloses a method for managing pressure buildup within a component of subsea production equipment using compressible particles (White: Abstract), the method comprising:
Providing a packing of compressible particles (White: Abstract) by: impregnating the compressible particles (White: Abstract) into a cross-linked polymer matrix (White: Paragraph [0223], [0224], [0230]), or encapsulating the compressible particles (White: Abstract) within an elastomeric coating (White: Paragraph [0236], [0238]);
Affixing the packing to an interior surface of a fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365) that is defined within a component of subsea production equipment (White: Paragraph [0230]);
Deploying the subsea production equipment within a subsea environment as part of a subsea production system (White: Figure 3B) ;
Increasing a fluid pressure within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365) via at least one of thermal expansion or mechanical straining of the fluid within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365)(White: Claim 1); and
Attenuating the increase in the fluid pressure via reversible volumetric contraction (White: Paragraph [0119]) of the compressible particles (White: Abstract) within the packing (White: Paragraph [0135], [0152], [0153]).
White does not disclose the subsea production equipment comprising a subsea tree deployed within a subsea environment as part of a subsea production system.
Yalcin discloses subsea production equipment (utilizing compressible particle) comprising a subsea tree deployed within a subsea environment as part of a subsea production system (Yalcin: Paragraph [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention’s filing to have utilized the compressible particles of White in the tree of Yalcin with the predictable result of having the compressible particles function as intended in the various components of an undersea production that they may be found in or travelling through.
Regarding Claim 13, White discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the reversible volumetric contraction (White: Paragraph [0119]) of the compressible particles (White: Abstract) is within a range between 10% and 30% of an initial unpressurized volume of the compressible particles (White: Abstract) when the fluid pressure within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365) is in a range between 15 pounds per square inch (psi) and 10,000 psi (White: Paragraph [0048], [0135]).
Regarding Claim 14, White discloses the method of claim 12, comprising increasing the fluid pressure within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365) via mechanical straining of the fluid within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365) by mechanically actuating at least one closure mechanism that defines at least one end of the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365).
Regarding Claim 15, White discloses the method of claim 12, comprising increasing the fluid pressure within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365) via thermal expansion of the fluid within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365) by producing production fluids from at least one subsea well corresponding to the subsea production equipment, wherein heat transfer between the production fluids and the fluid within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365) results in the thermal expansion of the fluid within the fluid-filled closed volume (White: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365)(White: Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 16, White discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the subsea production equipment comprises a control system, a manifold, or a pipeline system deployed within a subsea environment as part of a subsea production system (White: Figure 3B).
Claims 17-20 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gordon (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0309906) in view of Yalcin.
Regarding Claim 17, Gordon discloses a method for managing pressure buildup within a component of subsea production equipment using compressible particles (Gordon: Abstract), the method comprising:
Positioning the compressible particles (Gordon: Abstract) within a containment area that is defined by a filter screen (Gordon: 312), a piston, or a diaphragm that enables pressure communication between the compressible particles (Gordon: Abstract) within the containment area and fluid within a fluid-filled closed volume (Gordon: Figure 3A, B: space between 312 and 314) defined within a component of subsea production equipment;
Deploying the subsea production equipment within a subsea environment as part of a subsea production system; increasing a fluid pressure within the fluid-filled closed volume (Gordon: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365) via at least one of thermal expansion or mechanical straining of the fluid within the fluid-filled closed volume (Gordon: Figure 3B: space between upper and lower 365); and attenuating the increase in the fluid pressure via reversible volumetric contraction (Gordon: Paragraph [0110]) of the compressible particles (Gordon: Abstract) within the containment area.
Gordon does not disclose the subsea production equipment comprising a subsea tree deployed within a subsea environment as part of a subsea production system.
Yalcin discloses subsea production equipment (utilizing compressible particle) comprising a subsea tree deployed within a subsea environment as part of a subsea production system (Yalcin: Paragraph [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention’s filing to have utilized the compressible particles of Gordon in the tree of Yalcin with the predictable result of having the compressible particles function as intended in the various components of an undersea production that they may be found in or travelling through.
Regarding Claim 18, Gordon discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the reversible volumetric contraction (Gordon: Paragraph [0119]) of the compressible particles (Gordon: Abstract) is within a range between 10% and 30% of an initial unpressurized volume of the compressible particles (Gordon: Abstract) when the fluid pressure within the fluid-filled closed volume (Gordon: Figure 3B: space between 312 and 314) is in a range between 15 pounds per square inch (psi) and 10,000 psi (Gordon: Paragraph [0154]).
Regarding Claim 19, Gordon discloses the method of claim 17, comprising increasing the fluid pressure within the fluid-filled closed volume (Gordon: Figure 3B: space between 312 and 314) via mechanical straining (through filter/screens) of the fluid within the fluid-filled closed volume (Gordon: Figure 3B: space between 312 and 314) by mechanically actuating at least one closure mechanism that defines at least one end of the fluid-filled closed volume (Gordon: Figure 3B: space between 312 and 314).
Regarding Claim 20, Gordon discloses the method of claim 17, comprising increasing the fluid pressure within the fluid-filled closed volume (Gordon: Figure 3B: space between 312 and 314) via thermal expansion of the fluid within the fluid-filled closed volume (Gordon: Figure 3B: space between 312 and 314) by producing production fluids from at least one subsea well corresponding to the subsea production equipment, wherein heat transfer between the production fluids and the fluid within the fluid-filled closed volume (Gordon: Figure 3B: space between 312 and 314) results in the thermal expansion of the fluid within the fluid-filled closed volume (Gordon: Figure 3B: space between 312 and 314)(Gordon: Claim 14).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see reply, filed February 25, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the new combination of reference as seen above.
Conclusion
DOUGLAS S. WOOD
Examiner
Art Unit 3672
/DOUGLAS S WOOD/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
/MATTHEW R BUCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672