DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made to Applicant’s response filed 06/30/2026.
Claims 1-14 and 16-21 are pending.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-14, 16, 17, and 19-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected groups and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/30/2026.
Claims 3, 7, and 18 are currently under consideration to the extent that they read upon Applicant’s elected species.
NOTE: Applicant elected a pastille with an adhesion agent present at 2-32%, polyethylene glycol in an amount of 60-80%, and fragrance in an amount of at least 10%.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 7, and 18 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dykstra et al (US 10301579) and Keningley et al (WO 2021/170759) (both IDS references).
Dykstra teaches a laundry pastille comprising PEG 8000 in an amount of 95.5% and a microencapsulated perfume in an amount of 1.62% (see entire document, for instance, Table 3, composition F5).
Dykstra, while teaching the presence of PEG-8000 and microencapsulated perfume, does not expressly teach the presence of an adhesion component in an amount of 2-32%.
Keningley teaches a laundry pastille composition comprising 30-95% PEG 4000-12000, 0.1-30% perfume, and 0.1-60% secondary carrier (see entire document, for instance, claims 1 and 8). The secondary carrier is taught as being selected from the group including fatty acid and fatty alcohol (see entire document, for instance, page 4, last paragraph). Keningley teaches that beneficial agents can include fish and vegetable oils and waxes (see entire document, for instance, page 10, lines 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to utilize the 2-32% secondary carrier of the pastilles of Keningley in the pastilles of Dykstra. One would have been motivated to do so since Keningley teaches that utilizing a secondary carrier for a laundry pastille comprising PEG has various benefits, including stability (see Keningley, entire document, for instance, paragraph bridging pages 3 and 4). There would be a reasonable expectation in utilizing vegetable oil or fish oil as the carrier since Keningley teaches that said components are useful for the composition of Keningley, wherein the secondary carrier can be fatty acids and fatty alcohols.
Conclusion
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611