Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 12, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US App. 20220069051) in view of Won et al. (US App. 20210376038).
In regards to claim 1, Lee teaches a display substrate (See at least Abstract), comprising a display area and a peripheral area surrounding the display area (see Figs. 3AA, 11AA, 11C), wherein the display area comprises at least one segment of an arc-shaped display boundary (CDA); the display area comprises M rows of sub-pixels provided on a base substrate, at least one row of sub-pixels among the M rows of sub-pixels comprise a plurality of sub-pixels arranged sequentially in a first direction, at least one sub-pixel among the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a pixel circuit and a light emitting element connected with the pixel circuit (See Fig. 11AA, PX1), and pixel circuits of the at least one row of sub-pixels among the M rows of sub-pixels are connected with at least one constant voltage signal line extending in the first direction (see Fig. 7 ELVDD); and N rows of sub-pixels close to the arc-shaped display boundary are arranged in a stepped manner (see Fig. 10, CDA area has PX2 and MDA has PX3), where both N and M are positive integers, and N is less than or equal to M (See Figs. 11AA and 10 where PX1 is greater than PX2) the peripheral area comprises a first bezel area located on a side of the display area in a second direction, the second direction intersecting with the first direction (see Figs. 1 and 3AA);
and a constant voltage signal line connected by pixel circuits of at least one row of sub-pixels among the N rows of sub-pixels close to the arc-shaped display boundary (see Fig. 7 and 10 ELVDD or ELVSS).
Lee is not relied upon to teach the first bezel area comprises at least one first area constant voltage power supply line provided on the base substrate; is connected with the first area constant voltage power supply line of the first bezel area through a first adapter line.
However, Won teaches the first bezel area comprises at least one first area constant voltage power supply line provided on the base substrate (see Fig. 14); is connected with the first area constant voltage power supply line of the first bezel area through a first adapter line (see Fig. 13D and 14).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the
Pixel of Lee to include the power supply line of Won in order to expand a display area of the display apparatus (see Para. 5).
In regard to claim 19, Lee teaches a display substrate, comprising a display area and a peripheral area surrounding the display area, wherein the display area comprises at least one segment of an arc-shaped display boundary(see at leat Abstract and Fig. 3AA);
the display area comprises M rows of sub-pixels provided on a base substrate, at least one row of sub-pixels among the M rows of sub-pixels comprise a plurality of sub-pixels arranged sequentially in a first direction (See Fig. 11AA, PX1), at least one sub-pixel among the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a pixel circuit and a light emitting element connected with the pixel circuit, and pixel circuits of the at least one row of sub-pixels among the M rows of sub-pixels are connected with at least one constant voltage signal line extending in the first direction (see Fig. 7); and N rows of sub-pixels close to the arc-shaped display boundary are arranged in a stepped manner (see Fig. 10, CDA area has PX2 and MDA has PX3), where both N and M are positive integers, and N is less than or equal to M (See Figs. 11AA and 10 where PX1 is greater than PX2); the peripheral area comprises a first bezel area located on a side of the display area in a
second direction and a first corner area located at a perimeter of the arc-shaped display
boundary, and the first bezel area is in communication with the first comer area (see Figs. 1 and 3AA); and he second direction intersects with the first direction (see Figs. 1 and 3AA); a constant voltage signal line connected by pixel circuits of at least one row of sub-pixels among the N rows of sub-pixels close to the arc-shaped display (see Fig. 7 and 10 ELVDD or ELVSS).
Lee is not relied upon to teach the first bezel area comprises at least one first area constant voltage power supply line provided on the base substrate; and
boundary is connected with the first area constant voltage power supply line of the first bezel area through a first adapter line; and a portion of the first adapter line is located in the first comer area.
However, Won teaches the first bezel area comprises at least one first area constant voltage power supply line provided on the base substrate (see Fig. 14); and
boundary is connected with the first area constant voltage power supply line of the first bezel area through a first adapter line (see Fig. 13D and 14); and a portion of the first adapter line is located in the first comer area (see Fig. 13D and 14).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the
Pixel of Lee to include the power supply line of Won in order to expand a display area of the display apparatus (see Para. 5).
Regarding claim 2, Won in view of Lee teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Lee further teaches wherein a constant voltage signal line connected by pixel circuits of a row of sub-pixels closest to the first bezel area among the N rows of sub-pixels close to the arc-shaped display boundary is connected with the first area constant voltage power supply line of the first bezel area through the first adapter line (see Figs. 4B, 13D, and 14).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the
Pixel of Lee to include the power supply line of Won in order to expand a display area of the display apparatus (see Para. 5).
Regarding claim 12, Won in view of Lee teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Lee further teaches wherein the peripheral area further comprises a second bezel area located on at least one side of the display area in the first direction (see Figs. 1, 4B, 13D, and 14);
the second bezel area comprises at least one second area constant voltage power supply line provided on the base substrate (see Figs. 1, 4B, 13D, and 14 where sub connections lines such as SCL and PL2 branch from a main line);
the second area constant voltage power supply line is connected with the first area constant voltage power supply line (see Figs. 1, 4B, 13D, and 14 where sub connections lines such as SCL and PL2 branch from a main line); and
the constant voltage signal line connected by the pixel circuits of the at least one row of sub-pixels among the M rows of sub-pixels is electrically connected with the second area constant voltage power supply line through a second adapter line (see Figs. 1, 4B, 13D, and 14 more than one branch).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the
Pixel of Lee to include the power supply line of Won in order to expand a display area of the display apparatus (see Para. 5).
In regard to claim 18, Lee in view of Won teaches a display apparatus, comprising a display substrate according to claim 1 (See Abstract of Lee).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US App. 20220069051) in view of Won et al. (US App. 20210376038) and Du et al. (US App. 20220319437).
Regarding claim 13, Lee in view of Won teach all the limitations of claim 12. Lee is not relied upon to teach wherein the second bezel area further comprises at least one gate drive circuit provide on the base substrate; and the second area constant voltage power supply line is located on a side of the gate drive circuit close to the display area.
However, Du teaches wherein the second bezel area further comprises at least one gate drive circuit provide on the base substrate; and the second area constant voltage power supply line is located on a side of the gate drive circuit close to the display area (see Fig. 1A).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the
pixel of Lee to include the power supply line of Won with the gate driver in the pixel for greater screen size (See Para. 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-11, 14-17, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure includes: Cao et al. (US app. 20220080697) disclosing peripheral wiring, and Park et al. (US App. 20230030747) disclosing px1 is in the bezel.
/MATTHEW YEUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625