DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 28, 2026 and August 27, 2026 were being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the gap of claim 20, the end face set of claims 17 and 20 and the limitation of claim 19 reciting “connecting members on the other axial side are circumferentially offset by 90 degrees” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Present application’s specification and drawings fails to describe “a gap” in claim 20 and “the end face set” in claims 17 and 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Joda et al. (US2022/0193367).
Regarding claim 1, Joda discloses a tip bending section of an endoscope, comprising: multiple segments (Fig. 5A: adjacent tubular segments 502 [0062]); multiple connecting members, with at least one connecting member fixedly connected between every two adjacent segments of the multiple segments (Fig. 5A: adjacent tubular segments 502 are joined by respective ones of connecting segments 504 and 506 [0062]), the multiple connecting members being capable of being bent and deformed to allow the every two adjacent segments to be deflected relative to each other (connecting segments 504 and 506 are bent to allow deflection of the deflection region 108, as seen in Fig. 2 and 3 [0075-0076]); and at least one structure reinforcing piece, which is fixedly combined with the multiple connecting members, the at least one structure reinforcing piece is configured for improving the bending fatigue-resistant strength of the multiple connecting members (reinforcing members 508 and 510 form a reinforcing structure that allow for high-strength joints between the adjacent tubular segments 502 while still maintaining desired flexibility [0078-0079]; reinforcing members 508, 510 are embedded within connecting segments 504, 506 to strengthen connection between adjacent tubular segments [0063]) wherein the tip bending section is provided with a concave portion arranged on an inner side and/or outer side of the multiple connecting members along a radial direction of the tip bending section and configured to make a thickness of the multiple connecting members thinner along the radial direction of the tip bending section (a plurality of slits 522 and 524 may be concave, substantially V-shaped or U-shaped [0068]; Fig. 5C & 5D: slits 522 and 524 are a concave portion arranged on an outer side of the multiple connecting segments along a radial direction of the articulation member, making a thickness of the connecting segments 504, 506 thinner in the radial direction).
Regarding claim 3, Joda discloses the tip bending section of the endoscope according to claim 1, further disclosing wherein the multiple connecting members and the multiple segments are formed integrally; or, the multiple connecting members and the multiple segments are different parts and are fixedly assembled (connecting segments 504, 506 function as living hinges integrally formed with tubular segments 502 [0067]).
Regarding claim 4, Joda discloses the tip bending section of the endoscope according to claim 1, further disclosing wherein the at least one structure reinforcing piece has a lengthwise direction consistent with an axial direction of the tip bending section (Fig. 5B and 5D: reinforcing member 508 appears to run in a lengthwise, axial direction of the tip bending section, or deflection region 108 [0053])
Regarding claim 5, Joda discloses the tip bending section of the endoscope according to claim 1, further disclosing wherein the multiple connecting members, which are disposed between every two segments of the at least three adjacent segments of the multiple segments and located at the same orientation along the circumferential direction of the tip bending section, are arranged along an extension axis of the tip bending section (Fig. 5A & 5C: articulation member 404 is formed of multiple tubular segments 502, thus at least three segments 502, with connecting segments 504, 506 between each tubular segment 502, along an extension axis of the articulation member 404; extension axis is analogous to longitudinal axis of the shaft 102 and deflection region 108; connecting segments 504 and 506 appears to be located at the same orientation along the circumferential direction of the articulation member 404, since the connecting segments 504, 506 appears on the left and right side in the entirety of articulation member 404 in Fig. 5A); the at least three adjacent segments form a codirectional bending section with the same deflection direction (Fig. 2 & 3: catheter 100 is steerable in two directions, A and B [0053], the at least three adjacent segments 502 can deflect in the same direction, direction A or direction B); and the at least on structure reinforcing piece disposed on the codirection bending section extends through each segment of the codirectional bending section (reinforcing members 508, 510 are embedded within the connecting segments 504, 506, respectively, to strengthen the connections between adjacent tubular segments 502 [0063], highly suggestive that the reinforcing members 508, 510 are engaged the entire length of the articulation member 404, also evidenced by Figs. 5A, B, and D).
Regarding claim 6, Joda discloses the tip bending section of the endoscope according to claim 1, further disclosing wherein the at least one structure reinforcing piece is made of metal, fiber or resin (reinforcing members 508 and 510 may include coils, stranded wire cables, stiffer polymer materials, and other metal or polymer components [0071]).
Regarding claim 8, Joda discloses the tip bending section of the endoscope according to claim 1, further disclosing wherein the at least one structure reinforcing piece is in a form of a single strand or more than two strands, or, the at least one structure reinforcing piece is of a mesh structure, an extension axis of the tip bending section passes through a mesh surface formed by the structure reinforcing piece of the mesh structure (reinforcing member 508, 510 may be a helically round flat ribbon wire, coils, or stranded wire cables [0071]).
Regarding claim 10, Joda discloses the tip bending section of the endoscope according to claim 1, further disclosing wherein the at least one structure reinforcing piece is exposed in the concave portion and fixedly combined with a bottom wall of the concave portion (Fig. 5C and 5D: reinforcing members 508 is exposed in the concave section that is the slit 522 and 524; reinforcing members 508, 510 are embedded within the connecting segments 504, 506 [0063], appearing to be fixed to the bottom wall of the slit 522, 524).
Regarding claim 11, Joda discloses the tip bending section of the endoscope according to claim 1, further disclosing wherein the at least one structure reinforcing piece and the multiple connecting members are engaged everywhere along an extension axis of the tip bending section (articulation member 404 includes a pair of reinforcing members 508, 510 extending therethrough, further shown, reinforcing members 508, 510 are embedded within the connecting segments 504, 506, respectively, to strengthen the connections between adjacent tubular segments 502 [0063], highly suggestive that the reinforcing members 508, 510 and the connecting segments 504, 506 are engaged the entire length of the articulation member 404).
Regarding claim 12, Joda discloses the tip bending section of the endoscope according to claim 11, further disclosing wherein each segment is an integral injection molded part and the at least one structure reinforcing piece is an injection molded embedded piece wrapped in the integral injection molded part (reinforcing members 508, 510 are embedded within tubular segments 502 through direct overmold to form a bond between the tubular segments 502 and the connecting member 504, 506 [0078-0081]; direct overmold is a known manufacturing process that is a multi-step injection molding process wherein a base component, such as the reinforcing member 508, 510, is placed within a mold, wherein the overmold material, in this case, the material of the tubular segments 502, is injected into the mold around the base component, reinforcing members 508, 510, so that the tubular segments 502 can be bonded with the reinforcing members 508, 510, similar to applicant’s claim 12).
Regarding claim 13, Joda discloses the tip bending section of the endoscope according to claim 11, further disclosing wherein the at least one structure reinforcing piece is bonded and fixed to the multiple segments and the multiple connecting members (reinforcing members 508, 510 are embedded within the tubular segments 502 through direct overmold to form a bond between the tubular segments 502 and the connecting members 504, 506 [0078]).
Regarding claim 14, Joda discloses an endoscope, comprising: a handle for grasping and operating (handle 112); a tip arranged on a terminal of a distal end of the endoscope for illumination and/or imaging (distal end 110); and an insertion tube connected to a distal end of the handle for inserting into an organism (tubular shaft 102 [0053]), the insertion tube comprising a tip bending section (deflection region 108 [0053]) and an extension section (proximal portion 104 [0053]), the tip bending section being arranged between the extension section and the tip (Fig. 1: deflection region 108 is between the proximal portion 104 and distal end 110), the tip bending section being capable of being bent under a control of the handle so as to be capable of controlling a direction of the insertion tube impelled in the organism (steering actuator 118 on the handle 112 may be manipulated by operator to deflect the steerable distal portion 106, deflection region 108 [0056-0057]); wherein the tip bending section is the tip bending section according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Joda discloses the tip bending section of the endoscope according to claim 4, further disclosing wherein the at least one structure reinforcing piece has a portion wrapped by the multiple segments, and also has a portion exposed within the concave portion and fixedly combined with a bottom wall of the concave portion (Annotated Fig. 5D: reinforcing piece 508 comprises a portion that is wrapped by the tubular segment 502 and another portion that is exposed in the concave section that is the slit 522 and 524; reinforcing members 508, 510 are embedded within the connecting segments 504, 506 [0063], appearing to be fixed to the bottom wall of the slit 522, 524).
Regarding claim 16, Joda discloses the tip bending section of the endoscope according to claim 1, further disclosing wherein the multiple segments comprises a distal-end segment, a plurality of intermediate segments, and a proximal-end segment, which are arranged from a distal end towards a proximal end of the tip bending section (Fig. 5C: articulation member 404 is comprised of multiple tubular segments 502, one of which is a distal-end segment appearing as the bottom-most segment in Fig. 5C, another of which is a proximal-end segment appearing as the top-most segment in Fig. 5C, and the segments in between are intermediate segments)
Regarding claim 17, Joda discloses the tip bending section of the endoscope according to claim 1, further disclosing wherein each segment of the tip bending section is connected by two connecting members of the multiple connecting members (each tubular segment 502 comprises is connected to two connecting members 504 and 506 on what appears to be the left and right side in Fig. 5A), a working channel is provided inside the tip bending section (center lumen 516 may be a working channel [0072]), each segment has an end face set around the working channel (Annotated Fig. 5D: although not illustrated, each tubular segment 502 comprises an end face defined by slits 522 and 524, a cross-section taken at the x-z plane at the dotted line in annotated Fig. 5D would illustrate the surface of the end face, which would appear similar to Fig. 5B), and the two connecting members are connected to the end face at a position near an extension axis of the tip bending section, and are arranged respectively on opposite sides of the tip bending section in a radial direction (Fig. 5B: connecting members 504 and 506 are connected to the end face as the connecting members 504 and 506 connect the tubular segments 502 together; Fig. 5A: connecting segments 504 and 506 are on radially opposite sides of one another, separated by 180 degrees; since reinforcing members 508 and 510 are embedded within the connecting segments 504, 506, and since Fig. 5B illustrates wherein reinforcing members 508 and 510 are radially opposite, it is strongly suggested that connecting segments 504 and 506 are radially opposite).
Regarding claim 18, Joda discloses the tip bending section of the endoscope according to claim 1, further disclosing wherein each of said connecting members is arranged along an extension axis of the tip bending section (connecting segments 504 and 506 are arranged along an extension axis of the articulation members, which appears to be the longitudinal axis of the y-axis in Fig. 5A), each of said segments forms a codirectional bending section deflected in the same direction (Fig. 5C: tubular segments 502 bend in the same direction, either direction A or direction B indicted by the arrows in Fig. 5C).
Regarding claim 20, Joda discloses the tip bending section of the endoscope according to claim 1, further disclosing wherein a working channel is provided inside the tip bending section (center lumen 516 may be a working channel [0072]), each segment has an end face set around the working channel (Annotated Fig. 5D: although not illustrated, each tubular segment 502 comprises an end face defined by slits 522 and 524, a cross-section taken at the x-z plane at the dotted line in annotated Fig. 5D would illustrate the surface of the end face, which would appear similar to Fig. 5B), the multiple connecting members are connected to the end face at a position near an extension axis of the tip bending section (Fig. 5B: connecting members 504 and 506 are connected to the end face as the connecting members 504 and 506 connect the tubular segments 502 together), and a gap is provided between a side of the multiple connecting members away from the extension axis of the tip bending section and an outer wall of the tip bending section (Fig. 5B: steering wire lumens 512 and 514 are interpreted as a gap provided between a side of the multiple connecting members away from the extension axis and an outer wall of the tip bending section, see Annotated Fig. 5B below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joda in view of Kohno et al. (US2016/0100748).
Regarding claim 7, Joda discloses the tip bending section of the endoscope according to claim 6. While Joda discloses wherein the structure reinforcing piece is made of one of metal or a polymer, Joda does not further specify any particular metals or polymers, therefore failing to disclose the structure reinforcing piece to be made of one of stainless steel, tungsten, cotton, linen, nylon and PP. In the same field of endeavor, Kohno discloses an endoscope comprising at least two segments (multiple joints 30 [0031]), a connecting member arranged between two adjacent segments and fixedly connected with the two adjacent segments (rounded corners or circular shape that connect the plurality of joint pieces together 30 [0031]), the connecting member being capable of being bent and deformed to allow the two adjacent segments to be deflected relative to each other (by connecting a plurality of joint pieces 30 together so to shift from each other every 90 degrees alternately in the circumferential direction, free end 5b can bend with respect to base 5a [0031]), wherein the connecting member is made from a metal, particularly stainless steel (joint pieces 30 are made from stainless steel [0031]). Since Joda fails to specify a particular type of metal, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used any metal typically used in the vertebral endoscope art, including stainless steel as taught by Kohno as the metal material of Joda.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joda in view of Kaneko (US2017/0156567).
Regarding claim 19, Joda discloses the tip bending section of the endoscope according to claim 1, further disclosing wherein a middle segment of three adjacent segments of the multiple segments is provided with one group of said connecting members on each of two axial sides thereof (Fig. 5A & 5C: multiple segments of three adjacent tubular segments 502, all of which comprise connecting segments 504, 506 on two axial sides). While Joda teaches wherein the slits may have different cut width, depth, shape, and locations on either side of the articulation member to fine tune the curve characteristics [0090], Joda fails to explicitly disclose the connecting member in the group of said connecting members on one axial side and the connecting member in the group of said connecting members on the other axial side are circumferentially offset by 90 degrees, and the two groups of said connecting members on the axial sides of the middle segment respectively produce swinging motion with intersecting swing axes. However, in the same field of endeavor, Kaneko teaches a tip bending section of an endoscope (Fig. 5: bending tube 1), comprising: multiple segments (bending pieces 2 and 3 [0023]); multiple connecting members, with at least one connecting member fixedly connected between every two adjacent segments of the multiple segments (Fig. 4: link portion 3a [0025]), the multiple connecting members being capable of rotating to allow the every two adjacent segments to be deflected relative to each other (bending pieces 2 and 3 may deflect relative to one another when link portion 3a is rotated relative to cute 2a [0027, 0034]).
Kaneko further teaches wherein a middle segment of the three adjacent segments of the multiple segments is provided with one group of said connecting members on each of two axial sides thereof (bending pieces 2 and 3 all comprises two link portions 3a on radially opposing sides or two axial sides, as seen in Fig. 1), but fails to disclose the connecting member in the group of said connecting members on one axial side and the connecting member in the group of said connecting members on the other axial side are circumferentially offset by 90 degrees (although the third bending piece is not illustrated in Fig. 1, the cut 2a strongly suggests a third bending piece is attached; Fig. 1 illustrates wherein link portions 3a and cuts 2a are circumferentially offset by 90 degrees between adjoining bending pieces), and the two groups of said connecting members on the axial sides of the middle segment respectively produce swinging motion with intersecting swing axes (the circumferentially offset 90 degrees between adjoining bending pieces are to allow the bending pieces to be alternately bendable in an up-down direction and a right-left direction [0024]).
In view of Kaneko, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included 90 degree circumferentially offset connecting members, as taught by Kaneko, as it is well known in the art to allow bending sections more degrees of movement by deflecting in two planes rather than one.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has incorporated the limitations of claim 9 into claim 1 and argues that the slits 522 and 524 do not reduce the thickness of the connecting segments 504 and 506 on the outer wall of the articulation member 404 along the radial direction of the tip bending section, arguing that the reinforcing member 508 in Joda actually increase the radial thickness of the portions of the outer wall of the articulation member 404 where they are provided. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The slits 522 and 524 of Joda read on the language of claim 1 as recited. Illustrated in Fig. 5C and supported by [0068], the slits 522 and 524 are concave, and substantially U -shaped or V-shaped. The slits are formed on the outer side of the connecting segments 504 and 506 along a radial direction, meaning the slits 522 and 524 have radial length/depth from the connecting segments 504 and 506. In addition, since the slits 522 and 524 comprise radial depth into the connecting segments 504 and 506, slits 522 and 524 contribute to the thinner radial thickness of the connecting segments 504 and 506. In Fig. 5C, the thickness of connecting segment 504 is much thinner than the tubular segments 502 because the slits 522 and 524 make the connecting segment 504 thinner.
Applicant also argues that the location and the function of the slits 522 and 524 in Joda differs from the concave portion provided on the connecting member 214 in present application. While the examiner does not agree or disagree with this statement, the location and function of the slits 522 and 524 in Joda do not have to exactly match the location and function of the concave portion in present application. As long as the structure of slits 522 and 524 reads on the language of claim 1, then the slits 522 and 524 meets the claim.
For the reasons stated above, the applicant’s arguments were not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LI-TING SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANHTUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795, 10/23/26