DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's response with amendments filed on 02/19/2026 has been received and entered. Applicant has amended claims 1, 8 and 12-15. Claims 1-15 have been examined on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 03/17/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Drawings replacement sheets have been received and entered. Objection to the drawings has been withdrawn.
Claims 12 and 13 have been amended to address rejections under 35 USC § 112. Accordingly, these rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed on 02/19/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1 and 8 (claim 1 as amended includes language of claim 8 as originally presented), under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Abitbol et al. (US 20110273669 A1), cited in the IDS submitted on 03/17/2026.
Applicants argues:
“Paragraph [0073] of Itsuji describes determining the thickness of the eye lens based on the strength of the signal, and paragraph [0075] describes that changes in the focal position of the eye cause changes in the shape of the eye lens, or more specifically, the thickness of the eye lens, and that movement information of this shape change is output to authentication unit 104 as biometric information. However, Itsuji does not teach or suggest determining the thickness of the lens based on the direction of reflected light emission.” (Applicant’s Remarks, pages 8-9)
Itsuji (¶[0068-80]) discloses a terahertz wave projected and introduced through eye lens to the retina. The reflected terahertz wave contains information on a retina pattern obtained from difference of a blood vessel pattern on the retina and from other living tissues, and additional information in superposition on terahertz wave absorption/reflection characteristics obtained from the thickness shape of the eye lens existing in the transmission route of the terahertz wave as variation of the terahertz wave reaching a detection device. The information on the blood vessel pattern on the retina can be obtained by detecting the difference in the transmission characteristics. Since the eye lens exists in the terahertz wave transmission path, the eye lens affects the transmission characteristics of the terahertz. The eye lens incessantly changes its thickness for focusing, thus changing the terahertz wave transmission path in eye lens. Therefore, the intensity of the reflected terahertz wave from the scanning spot on the retina is changed by the difference in the living tissues in the retina pattern, as well as the transmission path length of the terahertz wave caused by the thickness change of eye lens. Accordingly, Itsuji’s determination of eye lens thickness and, ultimately, of retina characteristics inherent to a living body, is not based on the “emission direction of reflected light from at least one of a front surface and a back surface of at least one of a crystalline lens and a cornea of the target person on which light is incident from a point light source”, but on (at least in part) the intensity and transmission path length of the reflected terahertz wave based on changes of the thickness of the eye lens, as correctly summarized and argued by the applicant.
However, Abitbol discloses a multifunctional ophthalmic measurement system for measurement of aberrations in the eye, and for measurement of the topography of the cornea of the eye (see abstract). Abitbol, in ¶[0098-0102] and FIGS. 8 and 9, discloses a method of measuring the thickness of the cornea (80) and the crystalline lens (82). As shown in FIG. 8 and ¶[0098-0100], four surfaces of the eye, the anterior and posterior cornea and the anterior and posterior lens surfaces, can be imaged using the four Purkinje images (P1, P2, P3 and P4) of a Placido ring pattern (shown in FIG. 3A) used for illumination (other forms of illumination may be used). As illustrated in FIG. 9 and discussed in ¶[0101-0102], the thickness of the cornea (note that the parameters of the lens can also be measured by this method – see ¶[0101]) is determined, using the Purkinje system, from the known angular geometry of the illumination (incident light from LED light source 90) and the camera system where the Purkinje reflections, P1 and P2 in this case, are imaged. Therefore, Abitbol teaches another method of measuring the thickness of the cornea and crystalline lens based on the angular geometry of the reflections of their anterior and posterior surfaces and a reference axis (in this case, the incident angle of the incident light). Accordingly, Abitbol teaches determining the thickness of the cornea and crystalline lens based on the “emission direction of reflected light from at least one of a front surface and a back surface of at least one of a crystalline lens and a cornea of the target person on which light is incident from a point light source”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-10, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20150294464 A1), hereinafter Kim, in view of Lowe et al. (US 10599934 B1), hereinafter Lowe, Itsuji et al. (US 20070030115 A1), hereinafter Itsuji, and Abitbol et al. (US 20110273669 A1, cited in the IDS submitted on 03/17/2026), hereinafter Abitbol.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an information processing apparatus (see FIG. 1, [0048-49]) comprising:
at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions (control program is stored in a memory equipped in a control unit of the iris recognition camera– see [0094]) to:
apply a stimulus including at least one of light, (“eye blinking” – see [0050]) of a target person (an external signal generator, such as an indicator LED and/or a voice guider configured to generate voice guidance, may be further mounted [on the iris recognition camera] to induce eye blinking of a user – see [0048-53]); and
determine whether or not the target person is a living body, on the basis of a correlation between the stimulus and the vital reaction that occurs in the target person to which the stimulus is applied (when captured for iris identification, a user may be induced to blink according to indicator LED flickering; if a user iris is captured while blinking in accordance with the indicator LED or voice guidance from the voice guider, the size of an iris area in the captured image changes, and it can be determined whether the iris is that of a living eye or a fake iris by measuring change in the iris area in the image – see {0081-0086] and FIG. 10; see also [0087-88] and FIG. 11; other eye measurement methods (e.g., vital reactions such as pupil/iris ratio due to reflection, gaze point) are discussed in Table 1 and [0097-0116]),
Kim discloses recognizing IR LEDs reflected in the iris and/or the pupil in the captured iris image, and determining whether the iris is that of a living eye by measuring a change in the number or location of IR LEDs reflected in the iris and/or the pupil (see [0039]).
Kim fails to disclose using a picture as a stimulus; and, the information processing apparatus, wherein the correlation includes a correlation between the stimulus and an emission direction of reflected light from at least one of a front surface and a back surface of at least one of a crystalline lens and a cornea of the target person on which light is incident from a point light source or from a picture that imitates the point light source.
However, Lowe discloses a system and method for preventing access to a secure system based on determining a captured video to be an alternative representation of a live person, the method including presenting a stimulus on a user interface of a device (see abstract) wherein the stimulus includes a picture (a stimulus can presented by playing back a pre-rendered video file; a stimulus may be a moving animation that includes high contrast; warping, convergence, waves, looming illusions, distortion, fading, blur, color, facial image, change in illumination intensity, or other aspects – see col. 6, line 45 through col. 8, line 28).
In addition, Itsuji discloses a method and apparatus for identification of a living body (see abstract) including wherein the correlation includes a correlation between the stimulus and an (an impulse wave of a pulse width of about 10 psec is employed as the electromagnetic wave; the retina pattern and eye lens shape of a person are utilized as the biological information; In FIG. 6, retina 601 is an inside wall of the eyeball, functioning like a film of a camera; eye lens 602 functions like a lens of a camera and adjusts the focus by adjusting the thickness of eye lens 602 – see {0068-69]; the reflected terahertz wave detected by electromagnetic wave-detecting section 101 contains information on a retina pattern obtained from difference of a blood vessel pattern on retina 601 from other living tissues, and additional information in superposition on terahertz wave absorption/reflection characteristics obtained from the thickness shape B of the eye lens existing in the transmission route of the terahertz wave as variation of the terahertz wave reaching electromagnetic wave-detecting section 101 – see [0070]; electromagnetic wave-detecting section 101 projects a terahertz wave onto retina 602; the intensity of the reflected terahertz wave from the scanning spot on retina 601 is changed by the difference in the living tissues (difference between the blood vessel pattern and other living tissue) in the retina pattern, and transmission path length of the terahertz wave caused by the thickness change of eye lens 602 – see [0071]; a larger thickness of the eye lens gives a smaller signal intensity of the obtained electromagnetic wave; with a certain signal processing method, a smaller thickness of the eye lens gives a smaller signal intensity of the obtained electromagnetic wave – see [0072-73]; see also [0068-80] and “Response to Amendment/Arguments” section above).
Itsuji fails to disclose the correlation based on the emission direction of reflected light from at least one of a front surface and a back surface of at least one of a crystalline lens and a cornea.
However, Abitbol discloses a multifunctional ophthalmic measurement system for measurement of aberrations in the eye, and for measurement of the topography of the cornea of the eye (see abstract) including the correlation based on the emission direction of reflected light from at least one of a front surface and a back surface of at least one of a crystalline lens and a cornea (FIG. 8 illustrates a method of measuring the corneal thickness of an eye; because of the small differences in refractive index of the intra-ocular fluids, it is difficult to detect the various interface surfaces within the anterior region of the eye, and hence the thicknesses of these regions, i.e. the cornea 80 and the lens 82; the Placido ring pattern is activated in a manner which enables the detection of the reflections from all of these surfaces, and hence the determination of the thickness parameters of the cornea 80 and lens 82; these four surfaces of the eye--the anterior and posterior cornea and the anterior and posterior lens surfaces--can be imaged using the four Purkinje images of the rings – see [0098]; in addition to the measurement of the corneal surface parameters, it is to be understood that this method can also be used for plotting the lens surface topography – see [0101]; the corneal thickness is regarded as an important parameter; a separate measurement of the central corneal thickness is thus also generally required; FIG. 9 shows a Purkinje type measurement system to enable this; light from a single source such as a LED 90 may be directed at a significant angle of incidence onto the cornea 92, and the first two Purkinje reflections, P1 and P2 are imaged on a camera disposed to image these reflections; if the angle of incidence is sufficiently large, the lateral displacement of the LED images in the camera will enable the corneal thickness to be determined from the known angular geometry of the illumination and camera systems – see [0102]; see [0098-0102], FIGS. 8 and 9 and “Response to Amendment/Arguments” section above)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus in Kim to include a picture as stimulus, as taught by Lowe; and, wherein the correlation includes a correlation between the stimulus and an emission direction of reflected light from at least one of a front surface and a back surface of at least one of a crystalline lens and a cornea of the target person on which light is incident from a point light source or from a picture that imitates the point light source, as taught by Itsuji and Abitbol. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because stimuli can be presented in a way that is seamless to a user's other interactions and a stimuli type or approach can be selected based on usability or visual appearance concerns, with a goal of reducing visual jarring for the user, while still generating a detectable response, as recognized by Lowe (see col. 8, lines 18-28); and, because the combined use of the eye lens information in retina identification improves real-time detectableness in the identification, thereby preventing effectively pretension to be the subject person by collection and imitating a retina pattern, or direct cutting-out of the pattern, thus improving the security in identification, as recognized by Itsuji (see [0039] and [0079]); and, because positional information is necessary to fully characterize the anterior structure of the eye, as recognize by Abitbol (see [0102]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim, Lowe, Itsuji and Abitbol disclose all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 1 above. Furthermore, Kim discloses the information processing apparatus, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to apply the stimulus to a first part (“iris”/”pupil”) of the target person, and the correlation includes a correlation between the stimulus and the vital reaction in a second part (“eye blinking”, which is a reaction of the eyelids) of the target person that is different from the first part to which the stimulus is applied (capturing an iris image while turning ON/OFF the light source mounted on the front side or one side of the camera with a predetermined cycle, measuring a ratio of pupil size to iris size in the captured iris image, determining that the iris is that of a living eye if there is a change in the ratio of pupil size to iris size, capturing an iris image while turning ON/OFF the IR LEDs mounted on the front side or one side of the camera with a predetermined cycle, recognizing IR LEDs reflected in the iris and/or the pupil in the captured iris image, determining whether the iris is that of a living eye by measuring a change in the number or location of IR LEDs reflected in the iris and/or the pupil, capturing an iris image while inducing eye blinking using the external signal generator such as the indicator LED and/or the voice guider, measuring a change in iris area in the captured iris image, and determining that the iris is that of a living eye if there is a change in the iris area – see [0108]; see also [0081-86]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim, Lowe, Itsuji and Abitbol disclose all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 1 above. Furthermore, Kim discloses the information processing apparatus, wherein the vital reaction includes an eye blink (generate voice guidance, so as to induce a user to blink during a predetermined cycle when capturing an iris image – see [0082]; when captured for iris identification, a user may be induced to blink according to indicator LED flickering – see [0083]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim, Lowe, Itsuji and Abitbol disclose all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 1 above. Furthermore, Lowe discloses that a stimulus can be designed so that a visual space in a user's field of view occupied by the stimulus (e.g., assuming the particular screen size and device-to-face distance) corresponds to a primary high visual acuity region of the user's retina known as the fovea, which is the most densely populated region of the retina (see col. 7, lines 17-22); and, that distance issues can be solved by adaptive stimulus velocity and visual scale adjustment based on a real time (e.g., frame-to-frame) viewing distance estimate (see col. 10, lines 10-13).
Kim and Lowe fail to disclose the information processing apparatus, wherein the vital reaction includes a reaction of adjusting focus of a crystalline lens of the target person.
However, Itsuji discloses a method and apparatus for identification of a living body (see abstract) including wherein the vital reaction includes a reaction of adjusting focus of a crystalline lens (“eye lens”) of the target person (an impulse wave of a pulse width of about 10 psec is employed as the electromagnetic wave; the retina pattern and eye lens shape of a person are utilized as the biological information; In FIG. 6, retina 601 is an inside wall of the eyeball, functioning like a film of a camera; eye lens 602 functions like a lens of a camera and adjusts the focus by adjusting the thickness of eye lens 602 – see {0068-69]; the reflected terahertz wave detected by electromagnetic wave-detecting section 101 contains information on a retina pattern obtained from difference of a blood vessel pattern on retina 601 from other living tissues, and additional information in superposition on terahertz wave absorption/reflection characteristics obtained from the thickness shape B of the eye lens existing in the transmission route of the terahertz wave as variation of the terahertz wave reaching electromagnetic wave-detecting section 101 – see [0070]; in the terahertz wave transmission path, eye lens 602, for example, exists; naturally, the eye lens 602 affects the transmission characteristics of the terahertz; the eye lens 602 incessantly changes its thickness for focusing; this thickness change is considered to change incessantly the terahertz wave transmission path in eye lens 602 - see [0071]; electromagnetic wave-detecting section 101 projects a terahertz wave onto retina 602; the intensity of the reflected terahertz wave from the scanning spot on retina 601 is changed by the difference in the living tissues (difference between the blood vessel pattern and other living tissue) in the retina pattern, and transmission path length of the terahertz wave caused by the thickness change of eye lens 602 – see [0072]; a larger thickness of the eye lens gives a smaller signal intensity of the obtained electromagnetic wave; with a certain signal processing method, a smaller thickness of the eye lens gives a smaller signal intensity of the obtained electromagnetic wave – see [0073]; see also [0068-80]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus in Kim to include wherein the vital reaction includes a reaction of adjusting focus of a crystalline lens of the target person, and the correlation includes a correlation between the stimulus and an emission direction of reflected light from at least one of a front surface and a back surface of the crystalline lens on which light is incident from a point light source or from a picture that imitates the point light source, as taught by Itsuji. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because the combined use of the eye lens information in retina identification improves real-time detectableness in the identification, thereby preventing effectively pretension to be the subject person by collection and imitating a retina pattern, or direct cutting-out of the pattern, thus improving the security in identification, as recognized by Itsuji.
Regarding claim 9, Kim, Lowe, Itsuji and Abitbol disclose all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 8 above.
Furthermore, Lowe discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to apply the stimulus by outputting to the target person a picture of at least one of an object that is gradually enlarged and an object that is gradually reduced (a stimulus can be designed so that a visual space in a user's field of view occupied by the stimulus (e.g., assuming the particular screen size and device-to-face distance) corresponds to a primary high visual acuity region of the user's retina known as the fovea, which is the most densely populated region of the retina - see col. 7, lines 17-22; distance issues can be solved by adaptive stimulus velocity and visual scale adjustment based on a real time (e.g., frame-to-frame) viewing distance estimate - see col. 10, lines 10-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus in Kim to include wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to apply the stimulus by outputting to the target person a picture of at least one of an object that is gradually enlarged and an object that is gradually reduced, as taught by Lowe. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide fast localization and approximation of eye position, as recognized by Lowe (see col. 10, lines 9-10).
Regarding claim 10, Kim, Lowe, Itsuji and Abitbol disclose all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 8 above.
Furthermore, Lowe discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to apply the applying unit applies the stimulus by outputting to the target person a picture of an object that is enlarged or reduced and then becomes out of focus (a stimulus can be designed so that a visual space in a user's field of view occupied by the stimulus (e.g., assuming the particular screen size and device-to-face distance) corresponds to a primary high visual acuity region of the user's retina known as the fovea, which is the most densely populated region of the retina - see col. 7, lines 17-22; distance issues can be solved by adaptive stimulus velocity and visual scale adjustment based on a real time (e.g., frame-to-frame) viewing distance estimate - see col. 10, lines 10-13; stimulus types can be stimuli that include warping, convergence, waves, looming illusions, distortion, fading, blur, color, facial image, change in illumination intensity, or other aspects – see col. 7, lines 57-61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus in Kim to include wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to apply the applying unit applies the stimulus by outputting to the target person a picture of an object that is enlarged or reduced and then becomes out of focus (a stimulus can be designed so that a visual space in a user's field of view occupied by the stimulus, as taught by Lowe. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because a stimuli type or approach can be selected based on usability or visual appearance concerns, with a goal of reducing visual jarring for the user, while still generating a detectable response, as recognized by Lowe (see col. 8, lines 25-28).
Regarding claim 14, all limitations correspond to the method performed by the apparatus of claim 1. Therefore, claim 14 is being rejected on the same basis as claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses a non-statutory recording medium on which a computer program that allows a computer to execute an information processing method is recorded (a control program according to the present invention, and the control program is stored in a memory equipped in a control unit of the iris recognition camera – see [0094]). The remaining limitations of claim 15 are similar in scope to those of claim 1. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20150294464 A1), Lowe et al. (US 10599934 B1), Itsuji et al. (US 20070030115 A1), and Abitbol et al. (US 20110273669 A1), as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20150324981 A1), hereinafter Kim’981, and Ravindran et al. (US 10311645 B1), hereinafter Ravindran.
Regarding claim 4, Kim, Lowe, Itsuji and Abitbol disclose all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 3 above.
Furthermore, Kim discloses the iris area of a living eye definitely changes when blinking for a predetermined time (see [0088] and FIG. 11).
Lowe discloses the information processing apparatus, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to apply the stimulus by outputting a picture [[animation/facial image]], toward the target person, and the correlation includes a correlation between the stimulus and at least one of a time of the eye blink (“blink event”) (presenting different types of stimuli including animations - see col. 6, lines 57-64; and facial images as they have higher tracking affinity than other types of stimuli - see col. 8, lines 11-17; and, blink events may be determined to be predictable with specific stimulus velocity and cycle configurations, and accordingly, blink events can be part of expected/observed responses, and used for comparison - see col. 9, line 48-51).
Kim and Lowe fail to disclose a picture of a living body blinking, toward the target person, and the correlation includes a correlation between the stimulus and a frequency of the eye blink.
Kim’981 discloses an electronic device for providing bioeffect image (see abstract) including outputting a picture of a , to induce blinking (a memory unit included in a display driver may store second image data BIO_RGB for a behavior inducing image for inducing a predetermined behavior of a user; the behavior inducing image may be a conformity image or a blinking inducing image that induces a user to blink eyes of the user based on a conformity effect – see [0132-0135], FIG. 7).
Kim’981 fails to disclose the blinking in the image is done by a living body.
However, Ravindran discloses a system and method for presenting subjects with images or video in a virtual or augmented reality system and monitoring in real time the behaviors and responses of the subject (see abstract) wherein the actions in the images are performed by a living body (the system may provide prompts including imitative model (e.g., a therapist or supervisor in real life, or alternatively as an avatar in the virtual environment, demonstrating a desired action so that the user can imitate – see col. 9, lines 33-36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus in Kim to include the information processing apparatus, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to apply the stimulus by outputting a picture of an animation/facial image, toward the target person, and the correlation includes a correlation between the stimulus and at least one of a time of the eye blink, as taught by Lowe; outputting a picture of blinking, toward the target person, as taught by Kim’981; and, actions in the images are performed by a living body, as taught by Ravindran. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because a stimuli type or approach can be selected based on usability or visual appearance concerns, as recognized by Lowe (see col. 8, lines 18-28); to induce a behavior of the user, for example, eye-blinking of the user by the conformity effect or subliminal learning, as recognized by Kim’981 (see [0135]); and, to provide prompts of varying supportiveness, as recognized by Ravindran (col. 9, lines 24-25).
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20150294464 A1), Lowe et al. (US 10599934 B1), Itsuji et al. (US 20070030115 A1), and Abitbol et al. (US 20110273669 A1), as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Lemos (US 20070066916 A1), and Szymkowiak et al. (WO 2010136786 A2, cited in the IDS submitted on 04/17/2025), hereinafter Szymkowiak.
Regarding claim 5, Kim, Lowe, Itsuji and Abitbol disclose all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 3 above.
Kim, Lowe, Itsuji and Abitbol fail to disclose the information processing apparatus, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to apply the stimulus by outputting toward the target person at least one of a picture and a sound that increases tension of the target person, and the correlation includes a correlation between the stimulus and at least one of a time of the eye blink, a speed of moving eyelids by the eye blink, and a frequency of the eye blink.
However, Lemos discloses a system and method for determining human emotion by analyzing a combination of eye properties of a user including, for example, pupil size, blink properties, eye position (or gaze) properties, or other properties (see abstract) including to apply the stimulus by outputting toward the target person at least one of a picture and a sound that [[produces “negative”/”unpleasant” response]] of the target person, and the correlation includes a correlation between the stimulus and at least one of a time of the eye blink, a speed of moving eyelids by the eye blink, and a frequency of the eye blink (stimuli may comprise any real stimuli, or any analog or electronic stimuli that can be presented to users; any combination of stimuli relating to any one or more of a user's five senses (sight, sound, smell, taste, touch) may be presented – see [0011]; various physiological data may be measured while the user is presented with images or other stimuli known to elicit a positive (e.g., pleasant), neutral, or negative (e.g., unpleasant) response based on known emotional models – see [0074]; collected blink data may include, for example, blink frequency, blink duration, blink potention, blink magnitude, or other blink data – see [0078]; see also [0082-83]; an unpleasant response may be manifested in quick, half-closed blinks and frequent surprise blinks; quicker blinks may occur when there is a stronger emotional reaction – see [0151]).
Lemos does not explicitly disclose the stimulus increasing tension (just causing a negative or unpleasant response).
However, Szymkowiak discloses a biometric identity verification and emotional stress state evaluation method (see page 1, lines 4-7) wherein the applied stimulus increases tension (the biometric security method comprises the step of manipulating an emotional state of the user; a higher stress state is induced by exposing the user to a one or more sounds rated as being both extremely arousing and extremely unpleasant (e.g. an argument, baby crying, bee-buzzing or sirens); the skilled person will understand that the biometric security method may use other mechanisms of inducing different stress states (e.g. variable lighting conditions <e.g. strobe frequencies>, temperature, galvanic stress etc.; the biometric security method may detect the induction of a particular stress state from other physiological variables, such as, altered pulse rate, blood pressure, pupil dilation, body temperature and respiration rate etc. - see page 13 line 17 through page 15, line 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus in Kim to include the information processing apparatus, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to apply the stimulus by outputting toward the target person at least one of a picture and a sound that induces a negative/unpleasant response of the target person, and the correlation includes a correlation between the stimulus and at least one of a time of the eye blink, a speed of moving eyelids by the eye blink, and a frequency of the eye blink, as taught by Lemos; and, the applied stimulus increases tension, as taught by Szymkowiak. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to improve the accuracy of a determination of a user's emotions and leverage the potential value in interpreting eye blinks as emotional indicators, as recognized by Lemos (see [0006]); and, to provide another path of emotional processing of stimuli, as recognized by Szymkowiak (see page 13 line 17 through page 15, line 1).
Regarding claim 6, Kim, Lowe, Itsuji and Abitbol disclose discloses all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 3 above.
Kim, Lowe, Itsuji and Abitbol fail to disclose the information processing apparatus, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to apply the applying unit applies the stimulus by outputting toward the target person at least one of a picture and a sound that increases tension of the target person and at least one of a picture and a sound that relieves the tension of the target person, and the correlation includes a correlation between the stimulus and at least one of a time of the eye blink, a speed of moving eyelids by the eye blink, and a frequency of the eye blink.
However, Lemos discloses a system and method for determining human emotion by analyzing a combination of eye properties of a user including, for example, pupil size, blink properties, eye position (or gaze) properties, or other properties (see abstract) including to apply the applying unit applies the stimulus by outputting toward the target person at least one of a picture and a sound that [[produces “negative”/”unpleasant” response]] of the target person and at least one of a picture and a sound that relieves the tension of the target person, and the correlation includes a correlation between the stimulus and at least one of a time of the eye blink, a speed of moving eyelids by the eye blink, and a frequency of the eye blink (stimuli may comprise any real stimuli, or any analog or electronic stimuli that can be presented to users; any combination of stimuli relating to any one or more of a user's five senses (sight, sound, smell, taste, touch) may be presented – see [0011]; various physiological data may be measured while the user is presented with images or other stimuli known to elicit a positive (e.g., pleasant), neutral, or negative (e.g., unpleasant) response based on known emotional models; a soothing voice may address a user to place the user in a relaxed state of mind; the soothing voice may (or may not) be accompanied by pleasant visual or other stimuli – see [0074]; collected blink data may include, for example, blink frequency, blink duration, blink potention, blink magnitude, or other blink data – see [0078]; see also [0082-83]; an unpleasant response may be manifested in quick, half-closed blinks and frequent surprise blinks; quicker blinks may occur when there is a stronger emotional reaction – see [0151]).
Lemos does not explicitly disclose the stimulus increasing tension (just causing a negative or unpleasant response).
However, Szymkowiak discloses a biometric identity verification and emotional stress state evaluation method (see page 1, lines 4-7) wherein the applied stimulus increases tension (the biometric security method comprises the step of manipulating an emotional state of the user; a higher stress state is induced by exposing the user to a one or more sounds rated as being both extremely arousing and extremely unpleasant (e.g. an argument, baby crying, bee-buzzing or sirens); the skilled person will understand that the biometric security method may use other mechanisms of inducing different stress states (e.g. variable lighting conditions <e.g. strobe frequencies>, temperature, galvanic stress etc.; the biometric security method may detect the induction of a particular stress state from other physiological variables, such as, altered pulse rate, blood pressure, pupil dilation, body temperature and respiration rate etc. - see page 13 line 17 through page 15, line 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus in Kim to include the information processing apparatus, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to apply the applying unit applies the stimulus by outputting toward the target person at least one of a picture and a sound that produces “negative”/”unpleasant” response of the target person and at least one of a picture and a sound that relieves the tension of the target person, and the correlation includes a correlation between the stimulus and at least one of a time of the eye blink, a speed of moving eyelids by the eye blink, and a frequency of the eye blink, as taught by Lemos; and, the applied stimulus increases tension, as taught by Szymkowiak. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to improve the accuracy of a determination of a user's emotions and leverage the potential value in interpreting eye blinks as emotional indicators, as recognized by Lemos (see [0006]); and, to provide another path of emotional processing of stimuli, as recognized by Szymkowiak (see page 13 line 17 through page 15, line 1).
Regarding claim 7, Kim, Lowe, Itsuji and Abitbol disclose all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 3 above.
Furthermore, Lowe discloses the information processing apparatus, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to apply the applying unit applies the stimulus by outputting a task (“blink event”), (a blank screen can be displayed in a post-stimulus phase – see col. 6, lines 33-34; presenting different types of stimuli including animations - see col. 6, lines 57-64; in response to moving high-contrast stimulus, a user's eye generally follows the stimulus with a smooth pursuit, loses interest, and then returns, via a saccade, to a previous gaze location - see col. 6, line 67 through col. 7, line 3; and, blink events may be determined to be predictable with specific stimulus velocity and cycle configurations, and accordingly, blink events can be part of expected/observed responses, and used for comparison - see col. 9, line 48-51; examiner’s note: in this case, the task is to follow the stimulus and by displaying a blank screen post-stimulus, the target person is effectively encourage to rest).
Kim, Lowe, Itsuji and Abitbol fail to disclose the task increasing tension and a correlation between the stimulus and at least one of a time of the eye blink (“blink event”), a speed of moving eyelids by the eye blink, and a frequency of the eye blink
However, Lemos discloses a system and method for determining human emotion by analyzing a combination of eye properties of a user including, for example, pupil size, blink properties, eye position (or gaze) properties, or other properties (see abstract) including to apply the applying unit applies the stimulus by outputting a[[stimuli that produces “negative”/”unpleasant” response]], and the correlation includes a correlation between the stimulus and at least one of a time of the eye blink, a speed of moving eyelids by the eye blink, and a frequency of the eye blink (stimuli may comprise any real stimuli, or any analog or electronic stimuli that can be presented to users; any combination of stimuli relating to any one or more of a user's five senses (sight, sound, smell, taste, touch) may be presented – see [0011]; various physiological data may be measured while the user is presented with images or other stimuli known to elicit a positive (e.g., pleasant), neutral, or negative (e.g., unpleasant) response based on known emotional models – see [0074]; collected blink data may include, for example, blink frequency, blink duration, blink potention, blink magnitude, or other blink data – see [0078]; see also [0082-83]; an unpleasant response may be manifested in quick, half-closed blinks and frequent surprise blinks; quicker blinks may occur when there is a stronger emotional reaction – see [0151]).
Lemos does not explicitly disclose the stimulus increasing tension (just causing a negative or unpleasant response).
However, Szymkowiak discloses a biometric identity verification and emotional stress state evaluation method (see page 1, lines 4-7) wherein the applied stimulus increases tension (the biometric security method comprises the step of manipulating an emotional state of the user; a higher stress state is induced by exposing the user to a one or more sounds rated as being both extremely arousing and extremely unpleasant (e.g. an argument, baby crying, bee-buzzing or sirens); the skilled person will understand that the biometric security method may use other mechanisms of inducing different stress states (e.g. variable lighting conditions <e.g. strobe frequencies>, temperature, galvanic stress etc.; the biometric security method may detect the induction of a particular stress state from other physiological variables, such as, altered pulse rate, blood pressure, pupil dilation, body temperature and respiration rate etc. - see page 13 line 17 through page 15, line 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus in Kim to include the information processing apparatus, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to apply the applying unit applies the stimulus by outputting a task of the target person and by encouraging the target person to take a rest to relieve the tension of the target person, and the correlation includes a correlation between the stimulus and at least one of a time of the eye blink (“blink event”), as taught by Lowe; to apply the applying unit applies the stimulus by outputting stimuli that produces “negative”/”unpleasant” response, and the correlation includes a correlation between the stimulus and at least one of a time of the eye blink, a speed of moving eyelids by the eye blink, and a frequency of the eye blink, as taught by Lemos; and, the applied stimulus increases tension, as taught by Szymkowiak. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to improve a stimulus-onset-based kinetic response, as recognized by Lowe (see col. 6, lines 25-26); to improve the accuracy of a determination of a user's emotions and leverage the potential value in interpreting eye blinks as emotional indicators, as recognized by Lemos (see [0006]); and, to provide another path of emotional processing of stimuli, as recognized by Szymkowiak (see page 13 line 17 through page 15, line 1).
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 20150294464 A1), Lowe et al. (US 10599934 B1), Itsuji et al. (US 20070030115 A1), and Abitbol et al. (US 20110273669 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sakai (US20210073364A1).
Regarding claim 11, Kim, Lowe, Itsuji and Abitbol disclose all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 1 above.
Kim, Lowe, Itsuji and Abitbol fail to disclose the information processing apparatus, wherein the vital reaction includes a movement of a face of the target person and a movement of a line of sight of the target person.
However, Sakai discloses a biometric authentication device, method and recording medium
That detects, from a face image, a line-of-sight position; determines that the subject of the face image is a living body when one or more prescribed conditions including a case in which the line-of-sight position matches a display position of the symbol at the image-capturing timing are all satisfied; and outputs an authentication result indicating success of the authentication when the subject is determined to be a living body and the biometric authentication is successful (see abstract) wherein the vital reaction includes a movement of a face of the target person and a movement of a line of sight of the target person (the biometric authentication device 10 detects a line-of-sight position of the subject from the face image, determines that the subject is a living body when the line-of-sight position coincides with a display position of the symbol at the image capturing timing, and performs biometric authentication, based on the face image – see [0033]; see also [0015-17]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus in Kim to include wherein the vital reaction includes a movement of a face of the target person and a movement of a line of sight of the target person, as taught by Sakai. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to improve reliability of biometric authentication by a method having a lower processing load, as recognized by Sakai (see [0018]).
Regarding claim 12, Kim, Lowe, Itsuji, Abitbol and Sakai disclose all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 11 above.
Furthermore, Kim discloses the information processing apparatus, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to apply the stimulus by irradiating the target person with light from a predetermined direction, examiner’s note: the stimuli (light and sound) are generated from the light source, IR LED and voice guider, all mounted on the camera and thus being irradiated/outputted from a predetermined direction (that of the camera)).
Kim fails to disclose outputting a picture from a predetermined direction to the target person.
However, Lowe discloses outputting a picture from a predetermined direction to the target person (a stimulus can be presented by playing back a pre-rendered video file; a stimulus may be a moving animation that includes high contrast; warping, convergence, waves, looming illusions, distortion, fading, blur, color, facial image, change in illumination intensity, or other aspects – see col. 6, line 45 through col. 8, line 28; stimuli are presented on a display to a user in a device, generally in front of the user as illustrated in FIGs. 1 and 2, thus outputted from a predetermined direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus in Kim to include outputting a picture from a predetermined direction to the target person, as taught by Lowe. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because stimuli can be presented in a way that is seamless to a user's other interactions and a stimuli type or approach can be selected based on usability or visual appearance concerns, as recognized by Lowe (see col. 8, lines 18-28).
Regarding claim 13, Kim, Lowe, Itsuji, Abitbol and Sakai disclose all the claimed subject matter recited in claim 12 above.
Furthermore, Lowe discloses the information processing apparatus, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to authenticate further comprising an authentication unit that authenticates the target person by using an image generated by an imaging apparatus imaging the target person, wherein the predetermined direction is a direction in which the imaging apparatus exists when viewed from the target person (a stimulus can be presented by playing back a pre-rendered video file; a stimulus may be a moving animation that includes high contrast; warping, convergence, waves, looming illusions, distortion, fading, blur, color, facial image, change in illumination intensity, or other aspects – see col. 6, line 45 through col. 8, line 28; stimuli are presented on a display to a user in a device, generally in front of the user as illustrated in FIGs. 1 and 2, thus outputted from a predetermined direction; the stimuli can be presented as part of an authentication process – see col. 6, lines 58-59; an authentication engine can determine, by comparing the second set of ocular data to the one or more reference patterns, that the second subject is a live person; responsive to determining that the second subject is a live person, the authentication engine can initiate an authentication process for determining if the live person is authorized to access the secured system; if the gathered ocular data matches reference data for a particular user, access to the secured system as the particular user can be granted; if the gathered ocular data does not match any known reference data, access to the secured system as a particular user can be denied (e.g., and another type of authentication process can be performed). – col. 11, lines 41-67).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus in Kim to include the information processing apparatus, wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to authenticate further comprising an authentication unit that authenticates the target person by using an image generated by an imaging apparatus imaging the target person, wherein the predetermined direction is a direction in which the imaging apparatus exists when viewed from the target person, as taught by Lowe. One would have been motivated to make such a combination because an optokinetic response can generally be consistent and characterizable and can therefore be used for biometric authentication, as a passive approach that does not rely on user compliance, as recognized by Lowe (see col. 4, lines 25-29).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Berquam et al. (US 20220404949 A1) - Systems and Methods for Augmented Reality with Precise Tracking.
Kato et al. (US 20150085256 A1) - Ophthalmological Device – Kato discloses that in order to measure a dimension along the eye axis of a target portion (e.g., the depth of an anterior chamber and the thickness of a crystalline lens) it is necessary to receive light reflected from the anterior surface (front side) of the target portion and light reflected from the posterior surface (back side) of the target portion. For example, if only the thickness of the crystalline lens is measured, light may be linearly scanned on a scanning line that is set to connect the first incidence position (the position where maximum light is reflected from the anterior surface of the crystalline lens) and the second incidence position (the position where maximum light is reflected from the posterior surface of the crystalline lens). See [0004], [0047] and [0053].
Komogortsev (US 20190392145 A1) - Detection of Print-Based Spoofing Attacks.
Marcos Muñoz (US 20150173610 A1) - Piece of Apparatus for Measuring the Topography and Thickness of The Cornea and a Measuring Method Employed to this End.
Martin (US 20160188958 A1) - Detecting Facial Liveliness - Relevant Sections: Figs. 3A-B, corneal reflection position changes.
Takagi et al. (US 5975701 A) - Ophthalmologic Apparatus.
Yoshizo et al. (US 5471261 A) – Apparatus for Obtaining Images of Cornea Endothelium - Relevant sections: Summary (col. 3, lines 20-30; col. 5, line 62 through col. 6, line 10); Description (col. 12, lines 9-20).
Watanabe et al. (JP 2005242593 A) - Personal Identification Device - cited by the JPO in the ISA Written Opinion of the PCT application associated with the instant application.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DORIANNE ALVARADO DAVID/Examiner, Art Unit 2499 /PHILIP J CHEA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2499