DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/09/24 was considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1 is method for fault response in an ESS. Claim 9 depending on claim 1 for again stating “a data processing device for carrying the method of claim 1” does not further limit subject matter for claim it depends from. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hinterberger et al. (Hinterberger), US publication no. 2019/0299799 A11.
As per claim 1, Hinterberger teaches a computer-implemented method for fault response in an energy storage system (ESS) [figure 8], wherein the ESS comprises:
a string of series-connected energy storage cabinets [figure 8], each cabinet comprising a plurality of energy storage modules for storing electrical energy [figures 1, 7; para 89], wherein:
the energy storage cabinets of a string are configured to be collectively charged by an external power source and discharged to a power grid [para 74, 89], and
the string of energy storage cabinets comprises at least two energy storage cabinets and a discharge resistor [36, figure 8] arranged such that the discharge resistor is selectively connectable to each or both of the two cabinets [figures 8, 19; para 80, 82, 91, 93],
the method comprising: detecting a failure of a first cabinet of the two cabinets [para 93]; and in response to detecting the failure of the first cabinet, selectively electrically connecting the discharge resistor to the first cabinet, thereby discharging electrical energy stored in the first cabinet via the discharge resistor [figures 8, 9; para 25, 48, 95].
Hinterberger teaches:
[0089] In this case, battery module 26 has the six battery cells 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, which are connected in series. To this end, the module terminal 46 is connected to the
battery cell terminal 60 of battery cell 10. The battery cell connection 58 of battery cell 10 is connected to the battery cell connection 60 of battery cell 12. Furthermore, the
battery cell connection 58 of battery cell 12 is connected to the battery cell terminal 60 of battery cell 14. Correspondingly, the other battery cells are connected, wherein the
battery cell connection 58 of battery cell 20 is connected to the module terminal 44 of battery module 26. During proper operation, the galvanic cells 68 of the battery cells 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20 are connected in series such that DC voltage is provided, which corresponds to the total of the DC voltages provided by the galvanic cells 68, at module terminals 44, 46 by means of the cell switch unit 32 of the battery module 26, which is correspondingly partially integrated in this case into the respective battery cells 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20. States of charge of the respective battery cells are
symbolically shown underneath the battery cells 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20. This is characterized as SOC (State Of Charge) in FIG. 7.
[0093] FIG. 8 shows a representation as in FIG. 7, in which, however, a failure 70 has occurred in the battery cell 14. This failure 70 is detected by means of the sensors
arranged in the battery cell 14 and transmitted to communication interface 56 of the control unit 48 by means of communication interface 54. The control unit 48 detects the
failed state 70 of the battery cell 14 and transmits control commands for the switching unit 32 of the other battery cells 10, 12, 16, 18, 20. They switch off their respective galvanic cells by means of the semiconductor switches 62, which are switched to the open state. Simultaneously, these semiconductor switches 64 are closed such that the respective bypass line of the battery cells 10, 12, 16, 18, 20 is activated. This means that battery cell 14 with its battery cell connections 58, 60 then is positioned directly at the module terminals 44, 46 by means of the respective bypass lines 66.
As per claim 2, Hinterberger teaches after said discharging of the electrical energy stored in the first cabinet, electrically bypassing the first cabinet, thereby electrically isolating the first cabinet from the string [figure 9; para 93-96].
As per claim 3, Hinterberger teaches electrically bypassing the first cabinet further comprises electrically disconnecting the first cabinet from the discharge resistor [para 95-97].
As per claim 4, Hinterberger teaches detecting a failure of the second cabinet; and in response to detecting the failure of the second cabinet, selectively electrically connecting the discharge resistor to the second cabinet, thereby discharging electrical
energy stored in the second cabinet via the discharge resistor [para 24, 25, 93, 100-101].
As per claim 5, Hinterberger teaches detecting the failure of the second cabinet at a same time as detecting the failure of the first cabinet, wherein: in response to detecting the failure of the first cabinet and the second cabinet, the discharge resistor is connected to the first cabinet and the second cabinet simultaneously [para 24-25, 93, 100-101].
As per claim 6, Hinterberger teaches after said discharging of the electrical energy stored in the second cabinet, electrically bypassing the second cabinet,
thereby electrically disconnecting the second cabinet from the string [para 93, 100-101].
As per claim 7, Hinterberger teaches electrically bypassing the second cabinet further comprises electrically disconnecting the second cabinet from the discharge resistor [para 93, 100-101].
As to claim 8, directed to a computer-readable medium storing the
computer readable instructions to perform the method of steps executed by the system
as set forth in claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected on the same basis as set forth
hereinabove.
As per claim 9, Hinterberger teaches a data processing device comprising means for carrying out the method of claim 1 [para 93-95].
As to claims 10-15, basically are the corresponding elements that are carried out the method of operating step in claims 1-7. Accordingly, claims 10-15 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1-7.
8. Examiner's note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. MPEP 2141.02 VI: “PRIOR ART MUST BE CONSIDERED IN ITS ENTIRETY, INCLUDING DISCLOSURES THAT TEACH AWAY FROM THE CLAIMS."
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Christensen et al., US publication no. 2012/0306452, discloses an electrochemical battery system, comprising: a first electrochemical cell; a memory in which command instructions are stored; and a processor configured to execute the command instructions during a discharge cycle of the first electrochemical cell to (i) establish a first discharge voltage of the first electrochemical cell based upon a first sensed discharge voltage, and (ii) permit a second discharge voltage of the first electrochemical cell after establishing the first discharge voltage, wherein the second discharge voltage is greater than the first discharge voltage.
Conclusion
/CHUN CAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 Hinterberger is cited by applicant.