DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7, 9-10, and 12-19 as amended in applicant’s response dated 20 November 2025 are presently under consideration. Claims 8 and 11 are cancelled by applicant’s amendment.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the indefiniteness rejections of record under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), and these rejections are withdrawn from further consideration.
Upon further search and consideration of applicant’s newly amended claims, the prior art rejections of record are maintained or otherwise updated to show where the newly amended limitations are disclosed, taught or made obvious.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have raised new issues of indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) detailed below.
Applicant’s arguments and remarks where applicable are addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 9-10, and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “the first connecting layer, the second connecting layer and the third connecting layer respectively and independently comprises an n-type layer and/or a p-type layer; the p-type layer comprises a hole transport layer or a p-type polycrystalline silicon layer; the n-type layer comprises an electron transport layer or an n-type polycrystalline silicon layer;” but claim 1 from which claim 7 depends already recites the first connecting layer can comprise a hole transport layer, a p-type polycrystalline silicon layer, an electron transport layer and/or an n-type polycrystalline silicon layer and thus it’s unclear if the n-type layer and/or p-type layer recited in claim 7 is defining additional layers in the first connecting layer or means to reference the n-type layer and/or p-type layer already recited in claim 1. As such the scope of claim 7 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claims 9-10, and 12-17 are also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 7.
Claim 13 recites “characterized in that, the first connecting layer, the second connecting layer and the third connecting layer also independently and respectively comprises any one or at least two combinations of transparent conductive electrode layer, buffer layer, tunneling layer, passivation layer or anti-reflection layer” but claim 1 from which claim 13 depends already defines the first connecting layer as comprising transparent conductive layer or a tunneling layer, and it’s unclear if the further recitations of these layers in claim 13 mean to reference these layer previously recited in claim 1 or are newly defined layers. As such the scope of claim 13 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claims 14-17 are also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-10, 13-14, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mailoa et al (US 2016/0163904).
Regarding claim 1 Mailoa discloses a laminated solar cell, characterized in that, the solar cell comprises a p-type silicon layer ([0053], [0034] Fig. 2B see: p-Type Si stack 202’ with crystalline p-type Si substrate), a perovskite layer (Abstract, [0080]-[0081], Fig. 2B see: top solar cell with perovskite material as metal halide semiconductor stack 210 includes metal halide semiconductor material 418 as methyl ammonium lead halide perovskite a first connecting layer ([0056]-[0057], Fig. 2B, 3-4, 6E see: at least Si emitter 204 and tunnel junction 206’ and hole transport layer 208′), a second connecting layer ([0056]-[0057], Fig. 2B, 3-4, 6E see: electron transport layer and transparent electrically conductive layer of top electrical contact 211’) and a third connecting layer ([0056]-[0057], Fig. 2B, 3-4, 6E see: BSF of bottom silicon cell), a first electrode layer ([0084], Fig. 2B see: top electrical contact 211’ which can include silver contact pad) and a second electrode layer ([0054], Fig. 2B see: bottom electrical contact 201’);
along a direction away from the p-type silicon layer (1), a front side of the p-type silicon layer (1) provides the first connecting layer (Fig. 2B see: at least Si emitter 204’ and tunnel junction 206’ and hole transport layer 208′), the perovskite layer (Abstract, [0080]-[0081], Fig. 2B see: top solar cell with perovskite material as metal halide semiconductor stack 210 includes metal halide semiconductor material 418 as methyl ammonium lead halide perovskite), the second connecting layer (electron transport layer and transparent electrically conductive layer of top electrical contact 211’) and the first electrode layer ([0084], Fig. 2B see: silver contact pad of top electrical contact 211’) connected in turn; and a back side of the p-type silicon layer (1) provides the third connecting layer (BSF of bottom silicon cell) and the second electrode layer ([0054], Fig. 2B see: bottom electrical contact 201’) connected in turn wherein,
the first connecting layer (Fig. 2B) comprises the hole transport layer (Fig. 2B see: hole transport layer 208′), an n-type polycrystalline silicon layer and a tunneling layer ([0102], Fig. 2B, see: n-type Si emitter 204’ wherein the base-emitter contact can be formed as a tunnel-oxide-passivated contact (TOPCon) with a 1.5 nm SiOx layer and a polycrystalline silicon layer (n-type emitter)).
Regarding claim 2 Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 1, and teaches where the p-type silicon layer (1) includes p-type monocrystalline silicon and/or p-type polycrystalline silicon ([0034], [0047], [0053], Fig. 2B see: p-Type Si stack 202’ with crystalline p-type Si substrate where “Crystalline silicon” means monocrystalline, multi-crystalline, or polycrystalline).
Regarding claim 4 Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 1, characterized in that, a structure of a material of the perovskite layer (2) is a three-dimensional crystal structure (Abstract, [0014], [0080]-[0081], Fig. 2B see: top solar cell with perovskite material as metal halide semiconductor stack 210 includes metal halide semiconductor material 418 as methyl ammonium lead halide perovskite which are three dimensional crystal structure perovskites).
Regarding claim 5 Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 4, characterized in that, the material of the perovskite layer (2) is ABX3, wherein A comprises any one or at least two combinations of FA, MA, Cs or Rb, B comprises any one or at least two combinations of Pb, Sn or Sr, and X comprises any one or at least two combinations of Br, I or CI Abstract, [0014], [0080]-[0081], Fig. 2B see: top solar cell with perovskite material as metal halide semiconductor stack 210 includes metal halide semiconductor material 418 as methyl ammonium lead halide where the halide is iodine with Br or Cl).
Regarding claim 6 Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 5, characterized in that, a thickness of the perovskite layer (2) is 10nm-3000 nm ([0082] see: metal halide semiconductor material 418 (perovskite layer) is about 150nm to about 2000nm thick).
Regarding claim 7 Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 1, characterized in that, the first connecting layer (3), the second connecting layer (4) and the third connecting layer (5) respectively and independently comprises an n-type layer and/or a p-type layer:
the p-type layer comprises a hole transport layer or a p-type polycrystalline silicon layer ([0083], [0102] see: hole transport layer 208′ (part of first connecting layer) as the p-type heterojunction contact in the perovskite solar cell is a hole transporting material, and the heavy doping of the BSF of the silicon solar cell can also be considered a hole transporting layer, and alternatively can be p-type polycrystalline when using a tunnel-oxide-passivated contact (TOPCon) as the base-back contact (third connecting layer));
the n-type layer comprises an electron transport layer or an n-type polycrystalline silicon layer ([0056]-[0058], [0077], [0079], [0102] see: electron transport layer (part of second connecting layer) and the heavy doping of the emitter of the silicon solar cell can also be considered an electron transporting layer, and alternatively can be n-type polycrystalline when using tunnel-oxide-passivated contact (TOPCon), base-emitter contact (part of first connecting layer));
Regarding claim 9 Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 7, characterized in that,
a material of the electron transport layer of the first connecting layer, the second connecting layer, and/or the third connecting layer comprises any one or at least two combinations of SnO2, TiO2, ZnO, BaSnO3, C60, graphene or fullerene derivatives ([0077], [0079] see: electron transport layer is TiO2 but can also be PCBM, SnO2, ZnO C60);
a material of the hole transport layer of the first connecting layer, the second connecting layer, and/or the third connecting layer comprises any one or at least two combinations of P3HT, Spiro-meoTAD, PEDOT: PSS, Nickel oxide, PTAA, MoO3, Cu2CN, Cu2O, CuI or Spiro-TTB ([0083], see: hole transport layer 208′ is spiro-OMeTAD).
Regarding claim 10 Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 9, characterized in that, a thickness of the electron transport layer is 1nm-1000 nm ([0077] see: TiO2 has a thickness of a minimum of about 1 nanometer to a maximum of about 500 nanometers); and a thickness of the hole transport layer is 1nm-1000 nm ([0083], see: spiro-OMeTAD has a thickness in the range of about 1 to about 500 nanometers).
Regarding claim 13 Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 7, characterized in that, the first connecting layer ([0102], Fig. 2B see: included tunnel junction 206’ and emitter 204’ can include a silicon oxide tunnel oxide in a TOPCon arrangement or intrinsic amorphous silicon tunneling/passivating layer in a HIT heterojunction arrangement), the second connecting layer ([0084], [0100], Fig. 2B see: top electrical contact 211’ includes transparent conductive electrode layer such as silver nanowires or ITO and an LiF antireflective layer) and the third connecting layer ([0102], Fig. 2B see: P-type stack 202’ BSF can include a silicon oxide tunnel oxide in a TOPCon arrangement or intrinsic amorphous silicon tunneling/passivating layer in a HIT heterojunction arrangement)) also independently and respectively comprises any one or at least two combinations of transparent conductive electrode layer, buffer layer, tunneling layer, passivation layer or anti-reflection layer.
Regarding claim 14 Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 13, characterized in that, a material of the transparent conductive electrode layer of the first connecting layer, the second connecting layer, and/or the third connecting layer comprises any one or at least two combinations of ITO, IZO, AZO, BZO or silver nanowires ([0084], [0100], Fig. 2B see: top electrical contact 211’ includes transparent conductive electrode layer such as silver nanowires or ITO, AZO);
a material of the buffer layer of the first connecting layer, the second connecting layer, and/or the third connecting layer comprises SnO.sub.2 and/or MoO.sub.3;
a material of the tunneling layer of the first connecting layer, the second connecting layer, and/or the third connecting layer comprises any one or at least two combinations of SiO2, nc-Si:H or nc-SiO2 ([0102], Fig. 2B see: emitter 204’ can include a silicon oxide tunnel oxide in a TOPCon arrangement, P-type stack 202’ BSF can include a silicon oxide tunnel oxide in a TOPCon arrangement).
Regarding claim 18 Mailoa discloses solar cell of claim 1, characterized in that, a material of the first electrode layer and/or the second electrode layer comprises any one or at least two combinations of silver, aluminum, gold, copper, titanium, chromium, nickel or palladium ([0074], [0084] see: bottom electrode includes titanium, palladium and silver and top contact includes silver pad).
Regarding claim 19 Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 18, characterized in that, a thickness of the first electrode layer and/or the second electrode layer is 1nm-1000 nm ([0074], [0084] see: bottom electrode includes 20nm titanium, 20nm palladium and 300 nm silver and top contact includes 300nm silver pad).
Claims 1-7, 9-10, and 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Messmer et al (The race for the best silicon bottom cell: Efficiency and cost evaluation of perovskite–silicon tandem solar cells, Prog Photovolt Res Appl. 2021;29:744–759).
Regarding claim 1 Messmer discloses a laminated solar cell, characterized in that, the solar cell comprises a p-type silicon layer (Fig. 1 see: c-Si(p) substrate or Fig. 2 see: c-Si(p) substrate), a perovskite layer ([FA0.75Cs0.25Pb(I0.8Br0.2)3 layer), a first connecting layer (Fig. 2, see: a-Si(i)/a-Si(n)/ITO/PTAA/PFN layers or Fig. 1 Tables 1-2 see: oxide/poly-Si(n)/ PTAA layers), a second connecting layer (Tables 1-2 or Fig. 2 see: C60/SnOx/ITO/MgF2 layers) and a third connecting layer (Fig. 2 see: a-Si(i)/a-Si(p)/ITO layers or Fig. 1 Tables 1-2 see: Rear p-TOPCon), a first electrode layer (upper Ag layer) and a second electrode layer (bottom Ag layer);
along a direction away from the p-type silicon layer (Figs. 1or 2 see: c-Si(p) substrate), a front side of the p-type silicon layer (1) provides the first connecting layer (Fig. 2, see: a-Si(i)/a-Si(n)/ITO/PTAA/PFN layers or Fig. 1 Tables 1-2 see: oxide/poly-Si(n)/ PTAA layers), the perovskite layer ([FA0.75Cs0.25Pb(I0.8Br0.2)3 layer), the second connecting layer (Tables 1-2 or Fig. 2 see: C60/SnOx/ITO/MgF2 layers) and the first electrode layer (top Ag electrode) connected in turn; and a back side of the p-type silicon layer (1) provides the third connecting layer (Fig. 2 see: a-Si(i)/a-Si(p)/ITO layers or Fig. 1 Tables 1-2 see: Rear p-TOPCon) and the second electrode layer (bottom Ag layer) connected in turn wherein
the first connecting layer (Fig. 2) comprises a hole transport layer(Fig. 2, see: PTAA/PFN layers), a transparent conductive electrode layer (Fig. 2, see: ITO layer) and an n-type emitter (Fig. 2, see: a-Si(n) layer), or,
the first connecting layer (Fig. 1, Tables 1-2, PTAA layer and Front n-TOPCon) comprises the hole transport layer (PTAA layer), an n-type polycrystalline silicon layer (poly-Si(n) layer) and a tunneling layer (1.4 nm silicon oxide layer), or
the first connecting layer comprises an electron transport layer, a p-type polycrystalline silicon layer and a tunneling layer.
Regarding claim 2 Messmer discloses the solar cell of claim 1, characterized in that, the p-type silicon layer (1) includes p-type monocrystalline silicon and/or p-type polycrystalline silicon (Table 1 and top of page 749 see: p-type c-Si wafer is a crystalline silicon wafer and thus considered monocrystalline).
Regarding claim 3 Messmer discloses the solar cell of claim 1, characterized in that, a resistivity of the p-type silicon layer (1) is 0.0001-1000 Ω-cm; and a thickness of the p-type silicon layer (1) is 1 μm -500 μm (Table 1 and top of page 749 see: p-type c-Si wafer is 180-μm-thick, 1-Ω-cm p-type c-Si wafer).
Regarding claim 4 Messmer discloses the solar cell of claim 1, characterized in that, a structure of a material of the perovskite layer (2) is a three-dimensional crystal structure (Fig. 2 see: ([FA0.75Cs0.25Pb(I0.8Br0.2)3 perovskite absorber layer which is a three-dimensional crystal structure).
Regarding claim 5 Messmer discloses the solar cell of claim 4, characterized in that, the material of the perovskite layer (2) is ABX3, wherein A comprises any one or at least two combinations of FA, MA, Cs or Rb, B comprises any one or at least two combinations of Pb, Sn or Sr, and X comprises any one or at least two combinations of Br, I or CI (Fig. 2 see: ([FA0.75Cs0.25Pb(I0.8Br0.2)3 perovskite absorber layer).
Regarding claim 6 Messmer discloses the solar cell of claim 5, characterized in that, a thickness of the perovskite layer (2) is 10 nm-3000 nm (Table 1 and page 748 see: perovskite absorber layer has a thickness of 480 nm).
Regarding claim 7 Messmer discloses the solar cell of claim 1, characterized in that, the first connecting layer (Fig. 1 and Table 1 see: n-TOPCon layer of n-type polycrystalline silicon layer and PFN/PTAA hole transport layer), the second connecting layer (Fig. 1 and Table 1 see: SnOx and C60 electron transport layers) and the third connecting layer (Fig. 1 and Table 1 see: p-TOPCon layer of p-type polycrystalline silicon layer) respectively and independently comprises an n-type layer and/or a p-type layer: the p-type layer comprises a hole transport layer or a p-type polycrystalline silicon layer; the n-type layer comprises an electron transport layer or an n-type polycrystalline silicon layer;
Regarding claim 9 Messmer discloses the solar cell of claim 7, characterized in that, a material of the electron transport layer of the first connecting layer, the second connecting layer, and/or the third connecting layer comprises any one or at least two combinations of SnO2, TiO2, ZnO, BaSnO3, C60, graphene or fullerene derivatives (Fig. 1 and Table 1 see: SnOx and C60 electron transport layers); a material of the hole transport layer of the first connecting layer, the second connecting layer, and/or the third connecting layer comprises any one or at least two combinations of P3HT, Spiro-meoTAD, PEDOT: PSS, Nickel oxide, PTAA, MoO3, Cu2CN, Cu2O, CuI or Spiro-TTB (page 746, Fig. 1 and Table 1 see: PFN/PTAA hole transport layer).
Regarding claim 10 Messmer discloses the solar cell of claim 9, characterized in that, a thickness of the electron transport layer is 1nm-1000 nm (Table 1 see: 25nm SnOx layer and 10 nm C60 layer); and a thickness of the hole transport layer is 1nm-1000 nm (Table 1 see: 11nm PTAA layer).
Regarding claim 12 Messmer discloses the solar cell of claim 10, characterized in that, a thickness of the n-type polycrystalline silicon layer is 1nm-200 nm (Fig. 1 and Table 1 see: n-TOPCon layer of 30nm n-type polycrystalline silicon layer); a thickness of the p-type polycrystalline silicon layer is 1nm-200 nm (Fig. 1 and Table 1 see: p-TOPCon layer of 100nm p-type polycrystalline silicon layer).
Regarding claim 13 Messmer discloses the solar cell of claim 7, characterized in that, the first connecting layer (Fig. 1 and Table 1 see: ITO interconnect layer and silicon oxide tunneling layer in n-TOPCon stack), the second connecting layer (Fig. 1 and Table 1 see: ITO layer on top of perovskite cell and MgF2 antireflective layer) and the third connecting layer (Fig. 1 and Table 1 see: silicon oxide tunneling layer in p-TOPCon stack and rear SiNx passivation layer) also independently and respectively comprises any one or at least two combinations of transparent conductive electrode layer, buffer layer, tunneling layer, passivation layer or anti-reflection layer.
Regarding claim 14 Messmer discloses the solar cell of claim 13, characterized in that, a material of the transparent conductive electrode layer of the first connecting layer, the second connecting layer, and/or the third connecting layer comprises any one or at least two combinations of ITO, IZO, AZO, BZO or silver nanowires (Fig. 1 and Table 1 see: ITO layer on top of perovskite cell and ITO interconnect layer);
a material of the buffer layer of the first connecting layer, the second connecting layer, and/or the third connecting layer comprises SnO2 and/or MoO3;
a material of the tunneling layer of the first connecting layer, the second connecting layer, and/or the third connecting layer comprises any one or at least two combinations of SiO2, nc-Si:H or nc-SiO2 (Fig. 1 and Table 1 see: n-TOPCon stack and p-TOPCon stack each include silicon oxide tunneling layer).
Regarding claim 15 Messmer discloses the solar cell of claim 14, characterized in that,
a thickness of the transparent conductive electrode layer is 1nm-1000 nm (Fig. 1 and Table 1 see: 75nm thick ITO layer on top of perovskite cell and 20 nm thick ITO interconnect layer);
a thickness of the buffer layer is 1nm-1000 nm;
a thickness of the tunneling layer is 1nm-100 nm (Fig. 1 and Table 1 see: n-TOPCon stack and p-TOPCon stack each include silicon oxide tunneling layer that is 1.4 nm thick).
Regarding claim 16 Messmer discloses the solar cell of claim 13, characterized in that,
a material of the passivation layer of the first connecting layer, the second connecting layer, and/or the third connecting layer comprises any one or at least two combinations of PEAI, FPEAI, EDTA, PMMA, Al2O3, silicon nitride or silicon nitride (Fig. 1 and Table 1 see: rear SiNx passivation layer); and
a material of the anti-reflective layer comprises LiF and/or MgF2 (Fig. 1 and Table 1 see: MgF2 antireflective layer).
Regarding claim 17 Messmer discloses the solar cell of claim 16, characterized in that, a thickness of the anti-reflective layer is 1nm-500 nm (Fig. 1 and Table 1 see: 92 nm thick MgF2 antireflective layer).
Regarding claim 18 Messmer discloses the solar cell of claim 1, characterized in that, a material of the first electrode layer and/or the second electrode layer comprises any one or at least two combinations of silver, aluminum, gold, copper, titanium, chromium, nickel or palladium (Figs. 1-2, Table 1 see: electrode contacts are Ag (silver)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mailoa et al (US 2016/0163904) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-10, 13-14, and 18-19 above.
Regarding claim 3 Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose where a resistivity of the p-type silicon layer (1) is 0.0001 Ω-cm -1000 Ω-cm; and a thickness of the p-type silicon layer (1) is 1 μm -500 μm. However, Mailoa generally teaches where n-type Si wafers are selected as having a resistivity of 1-5 Ω-cm, 300 μm thickness (para [0086]). As such it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to similarly select a p-type silicon wafer having a resistivity of 1-5 Ω-cm, and 300 μm thickness in an embodiment of Mailoa employing a p-type wafer (p-type silicon layer (1)) as such a modification would have amounted to the mere selection of known silicon wafer electrical properties for their intended use in a tandem silicon perovskite solar cell to accomplish the entirely expected result of forming a bottom silicon wafer solar cell.
Claims 12, 14 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mailoa et al (US 2016/0163904) as applied to claims 1-7, 9-10, 13, and 18-19 above, and further in view of Geerligs et al (US 2018/0374977).
Regarding claim 12 Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 11, but does not explicitly disclose a thickness of the n-type polycrystalline silicon layer is 1nm-200 nm; a thickness of the p-type polycrystalline silicon layer is 1nm-200 nm.
Geerligs discloses a tandem silicon perovskite solar cell where the bottom silicon solar cell has polysilicon/polycrystalline silicon base and emitter contacts (Geerligs, [0013]-[0014]) where Geerligs teaches the polysilicon passivating contacts has a thickness generally of 5 to 500 nm with 10-200 nm being more optimal (Geerligs [0015]).
Geerligs and Mailoa are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of tandem silicon perovskite solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mailoa in view of Geerligs such that a thickness of the n-type polycrystalline silicon layer of Mailoa is 10~200 nm and a thickness of the p-type polycrystalline silicon layer is 10~200 nm as taught by Geerligs (Geerligs [0015]) as Geerligs teaches this range is optimal for polysilicon passivating contacts in such a tandem silicon perovskite solar cell (Geerligs [0015]).
Regarding claim 14 Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 13, characterized in that, a material of the transparent conductive electrode layer comprises any one or at least two combinations of ITO, IZO, AZO, BZO or silver nanowires ([0084], [0100], Fig. 2B see: top electrical contact 211’ includes transparent conductive electrode layer such as silver nanowires or ITO, AZO);
a material of the buffer layer comprises SnO.sub.2 and/or MoO.sub.3;
and regarding the claim 14 limitation where “a material of the tunneling layer comprises any one or at least two combinations of SiO2, nc-Si:H or nc-SiO2 “ at para [0102] and Fig. 2B see: Mailoa discloses emitter 204’ can include a silicon oxide tunnel oxide in a TOPCon arrangement, P-type stack 202’ BSF can include a silicon oxide (SiOx) tunnel oxide in a TOPCon arrangement where “SiOx” is considered to meet the limitation of “SiO2”, however in the alternative where it’s not clear “SiOx” meets the limitation of “SiO2”, Geerligs teaches for such polysilicon/polycrystalline silicon base and emitter contacts, this thin tunneling dielectric layer is normally silicon oxide (e.g. silicon dioxide) (Geerligs, [0009], [0056]-[0057], [0074]-[0075] Figs. 2 and 5 see: thin dielectric film 38 between secondary layer 40 of polysilicon and crystalline silicon substrate 32 and second thin tunnel oxide film 138 between a rear surface secondary layer 140 of polysilicon and the crystalline silicon substrate 32).
Geerligs and Mailoa are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of tandem silicon perovskite solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mailoa in view of Geerligs such that a material of the tunneling layer of Mailoa comprises any one or at least two combinations of SiO2, nc-Si:H or nc-SiO2 as taught by Geerligs (Geerligs, [0009], [0056]-[0057], [0074]-[0075], Figs. 2 and 5 see: thin dielectric film 38 between secondary layer 40 of polysilicon and crystalline silicon substrate 32 and second thin tunnel oxide film 138 between a rear surface secondary layer 140 of polysilicon and the crystalline silicon substrate 32 where the thin tunneling dielectric layer is normally silicon oxide (e.g. silicon dioxide)) as such a modification would have amounted to the mere selection of a known tunneling dielectric material for its intended use in the known environment of a bottom silicon solar cell with polysilicon contacts in a perovskite/silicon tandem cell to accomplish an entirely expected result of providing good passivation and a sufficient transmission of majority charge carriers, and a sufficiently low transmission of minority charge carriers (Geerligs, [0009]).
Regarding claim 16 Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 13, characterized in that, a material of the anti-reflective layer comprises LiF and/or MgF2 (Mailoa, [0100] see: anti-reflective coating of LiF).
Mailoa does not explicitly disclose where a material of the passivation layer comprises any one or at least two combinations of PEAI, FPEAI, EDTA, PMMA, Al2O3, silicon nitride or silicon nitride.
Geerligs teaches passivating front and back contact stacks for bottom silicon solar cells in a perovskite/silicon tandem solar cell stack comprising silicon nitride and/or Al2O3 (Geerligs, [0009], [0056]-[0057], [0073]-[0075] Figs. 2 and 5 see: thin dielectric film 38 between secondary layer 40 of polysilicon and crystalline silicon substrate 32 and second thin tunnel oxide film 138 between a rear surface secondary layer 140 of polysilicon and the crystalline silicon substrate 32 where the thin tunneling dielectric layers can be aluminium oxide and passivating layer stacks 36 and 136 can each include a layer of SiNx:H).
Geerligs and Mailoa are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of tandem silicon perovskite solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mailoa in view of Geerligs such that a material of the passivation layer of Mailoa comprises any one or at least two combinations of PEAI, FPEAI, EDTA, PMMA, Al2O3, silicon nitride or silicon nitride as in Geerligs (Geerligs, [0009], [0056]-[0057], [0073]-[0075] Figs. 2 and 5 see: thin dielectric film 38 between secondary layer 40 of polysilicon and crystalline silicon substrate 32 and second thin tunnel oxide film 138 between a rear surface secondary layer 140 of polysilicon and the crystalline silicon substrate 32 where the thin tunneling dielectric layers can be aluminium oxide and passivating layer stacks 36 and 136 can each include a layer of SiNx:H) as such a modification would have amounted to the mere selection of a known tunneling dielectric material for its intended use in the known environment of a bottom silicon solar cell with polysilicon contacts in a perovskite/silicon tandem cell to accomplish an entirely expected result of providing good passivation and a sufficient transmission of majority charge carriers, and a sufficiently low transmission of minority charge carriers (Geerligs, [0009]) or would have provided the additional benefit of functioning as an antireflective layer and providing hydrogen to the tunnel oxide region in the case of silicon nitride as taught by Geerligs ([0083]).
Regarding claim 17 modified Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 16, characterized in that, a thickness of the anti-reflective layer is 1nm-500 nm (Mailoa, [0100] see: anti-reflective coating of LiF at a thickness of 111 nm).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mailoa et al (US 2016/0163904) in view of Geerligs et al (US 2018/0374977) as applied to claims 1-7, 9-10, 12-14, and 16-19 above, and further in view of BUSH et al (US 2018/0309077).
Regarding claim 15 modified Mailoa discloses the solar cell of claim 14, characterized in that, a thickness of the tunneling layer is 1nm-100 nm ([0102] see: silicon oxide layer thickness of 1.5nm) but does not explicitly disclose where a thickness of the transparent conductive electrode layer is 1nm-1000 nm; a thickness of the buffer layer is 1nm-1000 nm.
BUSH teaches for such perovskite solar cells, the top contact transparent conductive electrode layer is 1nm-1000 nm (BUSH, [0046]-[0047] Fig. 1 see: top contact 114 of a TCO such as ITO with a thickness of 60nm to 500 nm preferably 100nm on buffer layer 112).
BUSH and modified Mailoa are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of tandem silicon perovskite solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Mailoa in view of BUSH such that a thickness of the transparent conductive electrode layer is 1nm-1000 nm as in BUSH (BUSH, [0046]-[0047] Fig. 1 see: top contact 114 of a TCO such as ITO with a thickness of 60nm to 500 nm preferably 100nm on buffer layer 112) as such a modification would have amounted to the mere selection of a known transparent conductive electrode layer thickness for its intended use in a top contact of a perovskite solar cell to accomplish the entirely expected result of extraction of photogenerated current.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Messmer et al (The race for the best silicon bottom cell: Efficiency and cost evaluation of perovskite–silicon tandem solar cells, Prog Photovolt Res Appl. 2021;29:744–759) as applied to claims 1-7, 9-10, and 12-18 above, and further in view of Mailoa et al (US 2016/0163904).
Regarding claim 19 Messmer discloses the solar cell of claim 18, but does not explicitly disclose a thickness of the electrode layer or where a thickness of the electrode layer is 1˜1000 nm.
Mailoa discloses a solar cell characterized in that a thickness of the electrode layer is 1˜1000 nm ([0074], [0084] see: bottom electrode includes 20nm titanium, 20nm palladium and 300 nm silver and top contact includes 300nm silver pad).
Messmer and Mailoa are combinable as they are both concerned with the field of tandem silicon perovskite solar cells.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the solar cell of Messmer in view of Mailoa such that a thickness of the electrode layer of Messmer is 1˜1000 nm as taught by Mailoa ([0074], [0084] see: bottom electrode includes 20nm titanium, 20nm palladium and 300 nm silver and top contact includes 300nm silver pad) as such a modification would have amounted to the mere selection of a known electrode layer thickness for its intended use in a tandem silicon perovskite solar cell to accomplish the entirely expected result of extraction of photogenerated current.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 20 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 8-11 of the response filed 20 November 2025 that the prior art of Mailoa et al (US 2016/0163904) does not teach or disclose the claim 1 limitations of the first connecting layer comprising the hole transport layer, an n-type polycrystalline silicon layer and a tunneling layer.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. As recited above, Mailoa discloses the first connecting layer (Fig. 2B) comprises the hole transport layer (Fig. 2B see: hole transport layer 208′), an n-type polycrystalline silicon layer and a tunneling layer ([0102], Fig. 2B, see: n-type Si emitter 204’ wherein the base-emitter contact can be formed as a tunnel-oxide-passivated contact (TOPCon) with a 1.5 nm SiOx layer and a polycrystalline silicon layer (n-type emitter)).
Applicant argues on page 11 of the response filed 20 November 2025 that the prior art of Messmer et al (The race for the best silicon bottom cell: Efficiency and cost evaluation of perovskite–silicon tandem solar cells, Prog Photovolt Res Appl. 2021;29:744–759) does not teach or disclose the claim 1 limitations to the first connecting layer.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not found persuasive. As recited above Messmer discloses the first connecting layer (Fig. 2) comprises a hole transport layer(Fig. 2, see: PTAA/PFN layers), a transparent conductive electrode layer (Fig. 2, see: ITO layer) and an n-type emitter (Fig. 2, see: a-Si(n) layer), or, the first connecting layer (Fig. 1, Tables 1-2, PTAA layer and Front n-TOPCon) comprises the hole transport layer (PTAA layer), an n-type polycrystalline silicon layer (poly-Si(n) layer) and a tunneling layer (1.4 nm silicon oxide layer).
Applicant’s further arguments and remarks are moot as they depend from the arguments rebutted above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726