DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because:
Claim 1, line 6, “an arc cover” should be -the arc cover-.
Appropriate correction is required.
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Rival et al, US 10020144 [Rival].
Regarding claim 1, Rival discloses (figs.1 and 3-6) an air circuit breaker (100) having an arc cover (136), comprising:
an operation unit (14) in which arc is generated by operating a movable contact (12) with respect to a stationary contact (10);
an arc extinguishing unit (24) installed on an upper side of the operation unit (14) and configured to primarily extinguish the arc; and
an arc cover (136) which is installed on an upper side of the arc extinguishing unit (24), has a chamber (110) formed such that a high-temperature gas passing through the arc extinguishing unit (24) stays therein, and has at least one guide panel partitioning an interior of the chamber (110) into a plurality of parts [see fig.6] and having an opening (20) on one side thereof, and in which the high-temperature gas is discharged to an outlet (132) in a first direction along a passage guided by the guide panel.
Regarding claim 2, Rival further discloses where, the arc cover (136) is formed such that a cross-sectional area of an inlet (at 20) through which the high-temperature gas is introduced is greater than a cross-sectional area of the outlet (132).
Regarding claim 3, Rival further discloses where the guide panel of the arc cover (136) is installed horizontally with respect to a horizontal plane [see fig.6].
Regarding claim 4, Rival further discloses where an inner rib [see fig.6] is vertically formed in an inner side surface of the arc cover (136) and the guide panel.
Regarding claim 7, Rival further discloses where outer rib [see fig.6] is vertically formed on an outer side surface of the arc cover (136), and the outer rib and the inner rib are formed at positions corresponding to each other.
Regarding claim 8, Rival further discloses where guide panel is formed as a plurality of guide panels [see interior of 110].
Regarding claim 9, Rival further discloses where the outlet (132) in the first direction is formed on both side surfaces of the air circuit breaker (100).
Regarding claim 10, Rival further discloses where a sealing member (38) is installed between the arc extinguishing unit (24) and the arc cover (136) to prevent the high-temperature gas from leaking.
Regarding claim 11, Rival further discloses where a shield panel (22), in which a plurality of through-holes (20) is formed, is installed between the arc extinguishing unit (24) and the arc cover (136) to control a flow rate of the gas.
Regarding claim 12, Rival further discloses where the shield panel (22) is coupled to or integrally formed with a lower end of the arc cover (136).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art fails to teach or show, alone or in combination, the claimed air circuit breaker, where the inner rib is formed in an arch shape.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art fails to teach or show, alone or in combination, the claimed air circuit breaker, air circuit breaker where the inner rib is formed as a plurality of inner ribs, and each inner rib protrudes at a different height.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art fails to teach or show, alone or in combination, the claimed air circuit breaker, where a closed part of the shield panel in which the through-holes are not formed is positioned below an opening formed by the guide panel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rivals, Boily, Das et al, Raabe et al, Hodges et al, Shea et al, Yee et al, Davis et al and Pochopien et al are examples of exhaust or vent assemblies configured similar to the present invention.
/WILLIAM A BOLTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831