DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This Office action is in response to the amendment of August 9, 2024 which canceled claims 1-9 and added new claims 10-22, amended the specification and provided a new abstract.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract should not include legal phraseology such as “comprising”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 2 and 4 “drive means” should be “drive device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 1 “drive means” should be “drive device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 11, 14, 15 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roller (USPN 4,305,919) in view of Sales (USPN 3,450,498).
With regards to claim 10, Roller discloses a nitric acid plant for producing nitric acid (see the title; labeled in the annotated figure below) by a dual-pressure process (see col. 3 lines 10-14), comprising: a machine train (labeled in the annotated figure) including: a drive device (4, the exhaust gas turbine), an air compressor (1, shown in the annotated figure), a nitrous gas compressor (2, shown in the annotated figure), and a gas expander (3, shown in the annotated figure), wherein the machine train is a single shaft machine (shown and noted in the annotated figure).
Roller does not disclose the air compressor is a compressor having an axial inlet or an axial outlet on a first end side of the machine train.
Sales discloses a nitric acid plant (see title and the annotated figure below) including a machine train (labeled in the annotated figure) including: a drive device (5), an air compressor (1), a nitrous gas compressor (11), and a gas expander (13), wherein the machine train is a coaxial system where the air compressor (1) is a compressor having an axial inlet (labeled in the annotated figure below; this limitation is presented broadly and since a portion of the inlet in Sales is axial the inlet may be considered as an axial inlet under a broadest reasonable interpretation) or an axial outlet on a first end side (labeled in the annotated figure) of the machine train (Note: the first end side is considered to be the half of the machine train mounted on one half of the shaft and the second end side is considered to be the half of the machine train mounted on the other half of the shaft; see claim 13 setting forth that both compressors are mounted on one end side of the machine train).
At the time of the effective filing date of the application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize an air compressor having an inlet arranged in an axial manner, as taught by Sales, instead of an air compressor having an inlet arranged in a radial manner, as in Roller, since air compressor having both axial and radial inlets are recognized as equivalence for their use in the air compression art of nitric acid plant machine trains and selection of either of these known equivalents to provide the compressed air would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art (Note MPEP 2144.06). Further, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art and arranging the inlets or outlets to be either axial or radial would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill and obvious to do in order to satisfy space or layout requirements for a specific application; see In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
With regards to claim 11, as set forth above Roller in view of Sales discloses the nitric acid plant of claim 10 and Sales further discloses wherein the gas expander (13) is configured with an axial inlet or an axial outlet (see the annotation of the figure in Sales provided above), wherein the gas expander is arranged at a second end side (see the annotation of the figure in Sales provided above) of the machine train opposite to the first end side.
At the time of the effective filing date of the application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the expander having an outlet arranged in an axial manner, as taught by Sales, instead of an expander having an outlet arranged in a radial manner, as in Roller, since expanders having both axial and radial outlets are recognized as equivalence for their use in gas expanding art in nitric acid plant machine trains and selection of either of these known equivalents to provide expand pressurized gas to provide power would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art (Note MPEP 2144.06). Further, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art and arranging the inlets or outlets to be either axial or radial would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill and obvious to do in order to satisfy space or layout requirements for a specific application; see In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
With regards to claim 14, as set forth above Roller in view of Sales discloses the nitric acid plant of claim 10 and each of Roller discloses that the drive device, the air compressor, the nitrous gas compressor and the gas expander are single shaft machines (as noted in the annotated figure of Roller, at the Nitrous Gas Compressor, all the devices are mounted on a single shaft).
With regards to claim 15, as set forth above Roller in view of Sales discloses the nitric acid plant of claim 10 in Roller the drive device, the air compressor, the nitrous gas compressor and the gas expander are adapted to run at the same speed of rotation (all devices are mounted on a single shaft and will rotate at the same speed), wherein the speed of rotation value may be varied during operation (as set forth this is a desired result the machine train as disclosed is capable of running at varying speed speeds, it is noted that the speeds vary during operation as the machine train spins during start up and shut down/turn off).
With regards to claim 22, as set forth above Roller in view of Sales disclose the nitric acid plant of claim 10 in Roller the drive device is a gas turbine (as labeled in the figure).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roller in view of Sales as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Henckens et al (USPN 4,263,267).
With regards to claim 12 as set forth above Roller in view of Sales disclose the invention substantially as claimed with the base reference to Roller additionally teaching that the air compressor, the drive device, the nitrous gas compressor, and the gas expander are arranged on a single shaft. Roller does not disclose that the air compressor, the drive device, the nitrous gas compressor, and the gas expander are arranged in the aforementioned sequence.
Henckens et al disclose a nitric acid system including a machine train (see Fig. 1) comprising an air compressor (1), a drive device (10), a nitrous gas compressor (6), and a gas expander 11 are arranged in the aforementioned sequence along a drive axis of the machine train (see Fig. 1).
At the time of the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the elements on the single shaft of Roller in a sequence as taught by Henckens et al in dependence upon the particular layout and desired locations of other elements at a nitric acid plant. Further, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art; see In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roller in view of Sales as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Dziobek et al (USPN 7,258,849).
With regards to claim 13 as set forth above Roller in view of Sales disclose the invention substantially as claimed with the base reference to Roller additionally teaching that the air compressor, the drive device, the nitrous gas compressor, and the gas expander are arranged on a single shaft. Roller does not disclose that the air compressor and the nitrous gas compressor are arranged at the first end side of the machine train.
Dziobek et al disclose a similar nitric acid plant having a machine train with a single shaft holding an air compressor (2) and the nitrous gas compressor (16) arranged at the first end side (left half of the machine train) of the machine train and having a drive device (26) and an expander (23) located on the second end side of the machine train.
At the time of the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to rearrange the elements on the single shaft of Roller in a sequence as taught by Dziobek et al in dependence upon the particular layout and desired locations of other elements at a nitric acid plant. Further, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art; see In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Claim(s) 16-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roller in view of Sales as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Nissler et al (USPN 2018/0073512).
With regards to claims 16-21, as set forth above Roller in view of Sales disclose the invention substantially as claimed but do not disclose wherein the air compressor has an air filter connected upstream of it (cl. 16) or that a feed pipe is arranged between the air compressor and the air filter (cl. 20 & 21); the inlet of the air compressor has an air filter connected upstream of it (cl. 17); an air filter is oriented in alignment with the air compressor (cl. 18), or an air filter is oriented and elevatedly mounted in alignment with the inlet of the air compressor (cl. 19).
As shown in the annotated Fig. 6 of Nissler et al below, Nissler teaches of a multi-compressor machine train (labeled in the annotated figure below) having an air compressor (labeled in the annotated figure) with an air filter (FIT) connected upstream of it (cl. 16), a feed pipe (CFC) is arranged between the air compressor and the air filter (cl. 20); an inlet of the air compressor (labeled in the annotated figure) having an air filter connected upstream of it (cl. 17); the air filter is oriented in alignment with the air compressor (clearly shown in Fig. 6, cl. 18), and the air filter is oriented and elevatedly mounted (labeled in the annotated figure) in alignment with the inlet of the air compressor (cl. 19).
At the time of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide an elevated, aligned and upstream filter assembly as taught by Nissler et al to the air compressor in the machine train of Roller in order to provide cleaning of the air provided to the compressor thus preventing damage to the compressor and increased lifespan thereof. It also would have been obvious to do so in order to provide the cleanest and purest air possible for the nitric acid process.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Vlaming et al discloses a nitric acid plane with a compressor (1) having axial inlets and outlets, and an expander (associated with system 17) having an axial inlet and outlet).
Conclusion
/CHARLES G FREAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
CGF
October 17, 2026