DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "said gap" in last line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the slots" in last line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "the liquid outlet orifice" in last line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tamarit Rios (U.S. Pub. 2013/0037510).
Regarding claim 1, Tamarit Rios discloses a cap for a liquid container comprising:
a perimeter wall (22, 100) to be fit to an opening of a liquid container (6), and
a first surface (24, 120) having at least one mouthpiece (23, 700) that rises from said surface and with at least one first orifice (2, 710) for the outlet of liquid from the container, the first surface also having at least one second orifice (3, 300) for the inlet of air into the container, and this second orifice having a one-way valve (4, 310) that allows air to enter the container, but prevents liquid from coming out,
the cap further comprises an air supply system (figs. 9 and 10, space between first surface 120 and surface 720) that extends from an orifice or aperture arranged in the perimeter wall to the second orifice (to lead air to said second orifice from the perimeter wall.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Tamarit Rios discloses coupling means (threads 21, and threads seen in Fig. 13) integrated into the perimeter wall for coupling to the container.
Regarding claim 13, Tamarit Rios discloses a lid (7).
Regarding claim 14, Tamarit Rios discloses that the cover has internal projections (72, 73) which block the first and second orifices and a slot (bottom of 4, 310).
Regarding claim 15, Tamarit Rios discloses that the liquid outlet orifice (2, 710) is open.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 requires that the first body is arranged in a first body and that the perimeter wall is arranged in a second body formed by a second shape with a hole to insert the mouthpiece of the first body and the air supply system is at least one duct located between the first surface of the first body and the second surface of the second body in communication with the outside of the cap through at least one third orifice arranged in the perimeter wall of the second body to allow air to enter the air supply system.
Tamarit Rios’ perimeter wall is part of a single integral body and does not disclose at least one duct through a third orifice between the first surface of the first body and a second surface of a second body and it would not have been obvious to modify Tamarit Rios as required barring improper hindsight analysis. Claims 2-7, 9 and 10 depend from claim 2.
Regarding claim 8, Tamarit Rios discloses a cap wherein the first surface and the perimeter wall form a single body. However, Tamarit Rios does not disclose second channels connecting first channels to the perimeter wall. In fact, with reference to figure 4 of Tamarit Rios, it is considered that Tamarit Rios only discloses one large channel between the inside of the perimeter wall and the mouthpiece. None of the cited prior art documents discloses second channels and it would not have been obvious to modify Tamarit Rios as required barring improper hindsight analysis.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892, attached.
/MICHAEL J. MELARAGNO/ Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/PAUL R DURAND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754 February 23, 2026