CTNF 18/837,325 CTNF 89001 DETAILED ACTION The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. The instant First Office Action on the merits is in response to claims filed on 8/9/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 10 and 19 are the base independent claims. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed before the mailing of a first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Priority Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 / 103 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claims 1-2, 4-11, 13-16 and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by LEE et al (US 2023/0027824) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over LEE et al (US 2023/0027824) in view of DAI et al (US 2024/0080902). Regarding claim 1 , LEE discloses a method for determining a resource position of a channel, performed by a first type of terminal ( par 160; e.g. new type of UE with reduced capability ), comprising: determining, based on configuration information of an initial uplink bandwidth part (BWP) ( par 115-117; UE uses the msgA-PUSCH-config provided for the initial UL BWP ), a resource position of a physical layer channel used by the first type of terminal ( par 190-191; e.g. In this case, the R- UE may select/configure an initial UL BWP or initial UL R-BWP where the RACH preamble and PRACH resource selected by the UE are located ), wherein the initial uplink BWP comprises at least one of (examining note: since the claim shows a limitation in an alternative form, the prior art may teach either or both limitations, and this notice applies to subsequent occurrences of claim limitations that are in the alternative form) a first initial uplink BWP or a second initial uplink BWP ( par 169; e.g. The first initial UL BWP may be compatible with at least the first type of UEs, while a second initial UL BWP may be compatible with at least the second type of UEs ); and the configuration information indicates at least one of: whether the second initial uplink BWP is configured ( par 176; e.g. when the UE is prohibited to use the second initial UL BWP ) or a mapping relationship between the physical layer channel and the initial uplink BWP ( par 186; e.g. perform the RACH procedure in the initial UL BWP or initial UL R-BWP based on RACH configuration information dedicated to the R-UE; also par 117, par 170; e.g. the first initial UL BWP and the second initial UL BWP may provide different PRACH resources, and the configuration of the corresponding PRACH resources may be provided by SIB1 received in a first initial DL BWP mapped to the first initial UL BWP ). Regarding claim 2, LEE discloses: the first initial uplink BWP is a BWP for a second type of terminal to use, or for the first type of terminal and the second type of terminal to use; and the second initial uplink BWP is a BWP for the first type of terminal to use ( par 169; e.g. The first initial UL BWP may be compatible with at least the first type of UEs, while a second initial UL BWP may be compatible with at least the second type of UEs ). Regarding claim 4, LEE discloses: in response to the configuration information indicating that a network is configured with the first initial uplink BWP and the second initial uplink BWP ( par 163; e.g. the BS may provide two or more initial UL BWPs for the cell; par 186; e.g. the R-UE may (i) perform the RACH procedure in an initial UL BWP or initial UL R-BWP based on the same RACH configuration information as that provided to the legacy UE ), performing one of: determining that the resource position of the physical layer channel used by the first type of terminal is within the second initial uplink BWP; determining that the resource position of the physical layer channel used by the first type of terminal is within the first initial uplink BWP; or determining that the resource position of the physical layer channel used by the first type of terminal is within the first initial uplink BWP and the second initial uplink BWP ( par 216; e.g. ABS may transmit a RACH configuration for at least one of a plurality of UL BWPs (D05), and a UE may obtain the RACH configuration for the at least one of the plurality of UL BWPs. The plurality of UL BWPs may include a first UL BWP related only to a first type of UE with reduced capability to support a smaller bandwidth than a predetermined bandwidth and a second UL BWP related to a second type of UE, which is different from the first type of UE ). Regarding claim 5, the reference discloses subject matters of claim 4, without explicitly disclose some optional features in the child claim, however it is obvious in view of DAI, since DAI discloses: wherein, in response to the configuration information indicating that the network is configured with the first initial uplink BWP and the second initial uplink BWP, determining that the resource position of the physical layer channel used by the first type of terminal is within the second initial uplink BWP comprises: determining that the resource position of the physical layer channel used by the first type of terminal is within the second initial uplink BWP in response to the configuration information indicating that the network is configured with the first initial uplink BWP and the second initial uplink BWP, and the configuration information indicating that the resource position of the physical layer channel is within the first initial uplink BWP and the second initial uplink BWP ( par 73; e.g. the system information may indicate the configuration for the initial uplink BWP and a configuration for a target uplink BWP for RedCap UEs; also par 79 ). In view of the above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of communication protocol configured for the electronic system of DAI with the electronic system of LEE. One is motivated as such to decrease RACH failure ( DAI, par 70 ). Regarding claim 6, LEE discloses: determining that the resource position of the physical layer channel used by the first type of terminal is within the first initial uplink BWP in response to the configuration information indicating that the network is configured with the first initial uplink BWP and the second initial uplink BWP, and the configuration information indicating that the resource position of the physical layer channel is within the first initial uplink BWP and not within the second initial uplink BWP ( par 224; e.g. based on that the first UL BWP is not available for the UE even though the UE is the first type of UE, the UE may be configured to determine that the predetermined condition is not satisfied and select the second UL BWP as the initial BWP ). Regarding claim 7, the reference discloses subject matters of claim 4, without explicitly disclose some optional features in the child claim, however it is obvious in view of DAI, since DAI discloses: monitoring the second initial uplink BWP in response to determining that the resource position of the physical layer channel used by the first type of terminal is within the second initial uplink BWP and that the first type of terminal performs random access; monitoring the first initial uplink BWP in response to determining that the resource position of the physical layer channel used by the first type of terminal is within the first initial uplink BWP and that the first type of terminal performs random access; or monitoring the first initial uplink BWP and the second initial uplink BWP in response to determining that resource position of the physical layer channel used by the first type of terminal is within the first initial uplink BWP and the second initial uplink BWP and that the first type of terminal performs random access ( par 131; e.g. based at least in part on RF re-tuning within the initial uplink BWP or BWP switching to a target uplink BWP not centered on the same frequency as CORESET #0, a UE may transmit an uplink transmission during a RACH procedure using a frequency band centered on a different frequency than the CORESET of a subsequent monitoring occasion in which a downlink communication may be received from a base station ). In view of the above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of communication protocol configured for the electronic system of DAI with the electronic system of LEE. One is motivated as such to decrease RACH failure ( DAI, par 70 ). Regarding claim 8, LEE discloses: wherein, in response to the configuration information indicating that the resource position of the physical layer channel used by the first type of terminal is within the first initial uplink BWP and the second initial uplink BWP ( par 163; e.g. the BS may provide two or more initial UL BWPs for the cell; par 186; e.g. the R-UE may (i) perform the RACH procedure in an initial UL BWP or initial UL R-BWP based on the same RACH configuration information as that provided to the legacy UE ), the first initial uplink BWP and the second initial uplink BWP meet one or more of following constraint conditions: a subcarrier spacing of the first initial uplink BWP being the same as a subcarrier spacing of the second initial uplink BWP ( par 123; if the active UL BWP and the initial UL BWP have same SCS and same CP length and the active UL BWP includes all RBs of the initial UL BWP ); the first initial uplink BWP containing the second initial uplink BWP; the second initial uplink BWP containing the first initial uplink BWP; or total frequency resources occupied by the first initial uplink BWP and the second initial uplink BWP being within a bandwidth range supported by the first type of terminal ( par 159-160; e.g. the maximum UL channel bandwidth supported by the UE needs to be greater than or equal to the bandwidth of an initial UL BWP, and the maximum DL channel bandwidth supported by the UE needs be greater than or equal to the bandwidth of the initial DL BWP ). Regarding claim 9, LEE discloses: receiving the configuration information sent by a base station ( par 193; e.g. The availability of the R-BWP may be obtained/ determined by system information (e.g. SIB1 or R-SIB1) transmitted by the cell; also see par 216 ). Regarding claim 10 , a method for determining a resource position of a channel, performed by a base station, comprising: sending configuration information ( par 95, par 163; e.g. the BS may provide two or more initial UL BWPs for the cell; also par 193 ) of an initial uplink bandwidth part (BWP) to a first type of terminal ( par 160; e.g. new type of UE with reduced capability ), wherein the initial uplink BWP comprises at least one of a first initial uplink BWP or a second initial uplink BWP ( par 169; e.g. The first initial UL BWP may be compatible with at least the first type of UEs, while a second initial UL BWP may be compatible with at least the second type of UEs ); and the configuration information indicates at least one of: whether the second initial uplink BWP is configured ( par 176; e.g. when the UE is prohibited to use the second initial UL BWP ) or a mapping relationship between the physical layer channel and the initial uplink BWP ( par 186; e.g. perform the RACH procedure in the initial UL BWP or initial UL R-BWP based on RACH configuration information dedicated to the R-UE; also par 117, par 170; e.g. the first initial UL BWP and the second initial UL BWP may provide different PRACH resources, and the configuration of the corresponding PRACH resources may be provided by SIB1 received in a first initial DL BWP mapped to the first initial UL BWP ). Regarding claim 11, LEE discloses: the first initial uplink BWP is a BWP for a second type of terminal to use, or for the first type of terminal and the second type of terminal to use; and the second initial uplink BWP is a BWP for the first type of terminal to use ( par 169; e.g. The first initial UL BWP may be compatible with at least the first type of UEs, while a second initial UL BWP may be compatible with at least the second type of UEs ). Regarding claim 13, the reference discloses subject matters of claim 11, without explicitly disclose some optional features in the child claim, however it is obvious in view of DAI, since DAI discloses: wherein the configuration information indicates that a network is configured with the first initial uplink BWP and the second initial uplink BWP ( par 73; e.g. the system information may indicate the configuration for the initial uplink BWP and a configuration for a target uplink BWP for RedCap UEs; also par 79 ). In view of the above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of communication protocol configured for the electronic system of DAI with the electronic system of LEE. One is motivated as such to decrease RACH failure ( DAI, par 70 ). Regarding claim 14, the reference discloses subject matters of claim 11, without explicitly disclose some optional features in the child claim, however it is obvious in view of DAI, since DAI discloses: wherein the configuration information indicates that a network is configured with the first initial uplink BWP and the second initial uplink BWP, and the configuration information indicates that the resource position of the physical layer channel is within the first initial uplink BWP and the second initial uplink BWP ( par 73; e.g. the system information may indicate the configuration for the initial uplink BWP and a configuration for a target uplink BWP for RedCap UEs; also par 79 ). In view of the above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of communication protocol configured for the electronic system of DAI with the electronic system of LEE. One is motivated as such to decrease RACH failure ( DAI, par 70 ). Regarding claim 15, LEE discloses: wherein the configuration information indicates that a network is configured with the first initial uplink BWP and the second initial uplink BWP ( par 163; e.g. the BS may provide two or more initial UL BWPs for the cell; par 186; e.g. the R-UE may (i) perform the RACH procedure in an initial UL BWP or initial UL R-BWP based on the same RACH configuration information as that provided to the legacy UE ), and the configuration information indicates that the resource position of the physical layer channel is within the first initial uplink BWP and not within the second initial uplink BWP ( par 224; e.g. based on that the first UL BWP is not available for the UE even though the UE is the first type of UE, the UE may be configured to determine that the predetermined condition is not satisfied and select the second UL BWP as the initial BWP ). Regarding claim 16, LEE discloses: wherein the configuration information indicates that the resource position of the physical layer channel used by the first type of terminal is within the first initial uplink BWP and the second initial uplink BWP ( par 163; e.g. the BS may provide two or more initial UL BWPs for the cell; par 186; e.g. the R-UE may (i) perform the RACH procedure in an initial UL BWP or initial UL R-BWP based on the same RACH configuration information as that provided to the legacy UE ), and the first initial uplink BWP and the second initial uplink BWP meet one or more of following constraint conditions: a subcarrier spacing of the first initial uplink BWP being the same as a subcarrier spacing of the second initial uplink BWP ( par 123; if the active UL BWP and the initial UL BWP have same SCS and same CP length and the active UL BWP includes all RBs of the initial UL BWP ); the first initial uplink BWP containing the second initial uplink BWP; the second initial uplink BWP containing the first initial uplink BWP; or total frequency resources occupied by the first initial uplink BWP and the second initial uplink BWP being within a bandwidth range supported by the first type of terminal ( par 159-160; e.g. the maximum UL channel bandwidth supported by the UE needs to be greater than or equal to the bandwidth of an initial UL BWP, and the maximum DL channel bandwidth supported by the UE needs be greater than or equal to the bandwidth of the initial DL BWP ). Regarding claims 19-20, LEE also discloses a communication device comprising a memory and a processor ( par 234 ) or a non-transitory computer storage medium ( par 238 ) for performing the method of claim 1 similarly to the mapping above. Regarding claims 21-22, LEE also discloses a communication device comprising a memory and a processor ( par 234 ) or a non-transitory computer storage medium ( par 238 ) for performing the method of claim 10 similarly to the mapping above. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to YAOTANG WANG whose telephone number is (571)272-4023. The examiner can normally be reached 10:00-18:00 ET (M, W, TH & alternate F). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, HADI ARMOUCHE can be reached at 571-270-3618. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /YAOTANG WANG/SCE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409 Application/Control Number: 18/837,325 Page 2 Art Unit: 2409 Application/Control Number: 18/837,325 Page 4 Art Unit: 2409 Application/Control Number: 18/837,325 Page 5 Art Unit: 2409 Application/Control Number: 18/837,325 Page 6 Art Unit: 2409 Application/Control Number: 18/837,325 Page 7 Art Unit: 2409 Application/Control Number: 18/837,325 Page 8 Art Unit: 2409 Application/Control Number: 18/837,325 Page 9 Art Unit: 2409 Application/Control Number: 18/837,325 Page 10 Art Unit: 2409 Application/Control Number: 18/837,325 Page 11 Art Unit: 2409 Application/Control Number: 18/837,325 Page 12 Art Unit: 2409 Application/Control Number: 18/837,325 Page 13 Art Unit: 2409 Application/Control Number: 18/837,325 Page 14 Art Unit: 2409 Application/Control Number: 18/837,325 Page 15 Art Unit: 2409