DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“expansion mechanism” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6, 9, 12-13, 16, 18-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 12, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 13, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 16, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 18, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 19, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 20, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto (JP H01256762), hereinafter referred to as Matsumoto, in view of Matsubayashi (JP 2006125722), hereinafter referred to as Matsubayashi.
Re claim 1, Matsumoto teaches a refrigeration device configured to be used in a heating mode and a cooling mode, comprising:
a compressor (e.g. 1), a plurality of utilization side heat exchangers (e.g. 19 and 23), an expansion mechanism (e.g. 15) and a heat source side heat exchanger (e.g. 10) fluidly connected in series to constitute a refrigeration circuit (see Fig 2),
a first refrigerant pipe (e.g. 22), which extends from the compressor to a first utilization side heat exchanger (e.g. 23) of the plurality of utilization side heat exchangers and comprises a first valve (e.g. 25) configured to at least fully open and fully close the first refrigerant pipe,
a second refrigerant pipe (e.g. 2), which extends from the compressor to a second utilization side heat exchanger (e.g. 19) of the plurality of utilization side heat exchangers and comprises a second valve (e.g. 6) configured to at least fully open and fully close the second refrigerant pipe,
a controller (Fig. 3), which is configured to control the operation of the first valve and the second valve (e.g. description, “In this operation, the first solenoid valve 6 is opened, the second solenoid valve 25 is closed”),
Matsumoto does not teach the limitation of wherein when the first utilization side heat exchanger and the second utilization side heat exchanger are both operated when the refrigeration device is used in the heating mode, the controller is configured to compare a predetermined capacity of the heat source side heat exchanger and/or the compressor with a required capacity of the first utilization side heat exchanger and the second utilization side heat exchanger, and when the required capacity exceeds the predetermined capacity, the controller is configured to close the first valve or the second valve.
However, Matsubayashi teaches a refrigeration device comprising wherein when a first utilization side heat exchanger (21) and the second utilization side heat exchanger (3a) are both operated when the refrigeration device is used in a heating mode, the controller is configured to compare a predetermined capacity of the heat source side heat exchanger and/or the compressor with a required capacity of the first utilization side heat exchanger and the second utilization side heat exchanger, and when the required capacity exceeds the predetermined capacity, the controller is configured to close the first valve or the second valve (e.g. description “when hot water supply and heating are requested to operate simultaneously, the priority of operation is the order of hot water supply and heating, and the required total heat quantity of hot water supply and heating exceeds the heat pump maximum heat quantity (maximum capacity) In addition, the operation control means controls to temporarily stop the heating operation and perform only the hot water supply operation. By this control, restrictions during hot water supply operation due to a shortage of heat supplied by the heat pump are suppressed, so that it is possible to minimize the ease of use and comfort”; the examiner notes that the way Matsubayashi stops the operation of one side heat exchanger is to close the valve).
Therefore, at the time the invention was filed it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Matsumoto and integrated wherein when the first utilization side heat exchanger and the second utilization side heat exchanger are both operated when the refrigeration device is used in the heating mode, the controller is configured to compare a predetermined capacity of the heat source side heat exchanger and/or the compressor with a required capacity of the first utilization side heat exchanger and the second utilization side heat exchanger, and when the required capacity exceeds the predetermined capacity, the controller is configured to close the first valve or the second valve, as suggested by Matsubayashi, in order to increase performance during simultaneous operation (see Matsubayashi abstract).
Re claim 2, Matsumoto, as modified, teaches the refrigeration device according to claim 1. Matsubayashi further teaches wherein the predetermined capacity is a maximum capacity of the heat source side heat exchanger and/or the compressor (e.g. description, “heat pump maximum heat quantity (maximum capacity) ”).
Re claim 3, Matsumoto, as modified, teaches the refrigeration device according to claim 1. Matsumoto, as modified, further teaches wherein the controller is configured to close the first valve or the second valve based on a predetermined user priority (e.g. Matsubayashi description “when hot water supply and heating are requested to operate simultaneously, the priority of operation is the order of hot water supply and heating”).
Re claim 5, Matsumoto, as modified, teaches the refrigeration device according to claim 1. Matsumoto further teaches wherein the first and second refrigerant pipes extend in parallel from the compressor (see Fig 2), preferably via a branching pipe arranged on a downstream side of the compressor (see 112b above).
Re claim 6, Matsumoto, as modified, teaches the refrigeration device according to claim 1. Matsumoto further teaches wherein the first utilization side heat exchanger is a hot water supply unit (e.g. Y), preferably a coil in a water tank (see 112b above), for producing domestic hot water, when the refrigeration device is used in a heating mode (e.g. description “has an indoor cooling/heating/air conditioning function and a hot water heating function”).
Re claim 7 and 17, Matsumoto, as modified, teaches the refrigeration device according to claim 1. Matsumoto further teaches wherein a second utilization side heat exchanger is an air conditioning indoor unit for heating a space in which the second utilization side heat exchanger is positioned when the refrigeration device is used in a heating mode and/or for cooling the space in which the second utilization side heat exchanger is positioned when the refrigeration device is used in a cooling mode (see Fig 2).
Re claim 8 and 18-19, Matsumoto, as modified, teaches the refrigeration device according to claim 1. Matsumoto further teaches wherein, downstream of the second valve in the second refrigerant pipe, a plurality of second utilization side heat exchangers are arranged in parallel (see Fig 2, A-D).
Re claim 9, Matsumoto, as modified, teaches the refrigeration device according to claim 1. Matsumoto further teaches wherein the refrigeration device further comprises a switching device (4), preferably a four-way switching valve (4), and wherein the switching device is configured to switch the refrigeration circuit from the heating mode to the cooling mode (see Fig 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 10-16, 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. (See PTO-892).
/NELSON J NIEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 02/04/2026