DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Lacquer coated adhesive film.
The disclosure is objected to because it fails to show figures 1-3 as described in the specification at pages 5-6. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the phrase “in particular” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the phrase is part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
In claim 2, “the particles” has no antecedent basis (note that “pigments” is recited in claim 1). In addition, the term “preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following the term is part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 3 suffers the same deficiency of claim 2 with regards to the term “preferably”.
In claim 5, “the inorganic pigments” has no antecedent basis (Note that “inorganic pigments” is recited in claim 4).
Claim 6 suffers the same deficiency of claim 2 with regards to the term “preferably”.
Other claims are deemed indefinite in view of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ONO (US-4822670).
Claim 1: Ono teaches an adhesive sheet comprising a substrate and a lacquer coating, i.e. primer resin layer containing pigments with an average diameter larger than the layer thickness of the lacquer film (Ono, col. 2, lines 13-22; col. 3, lines 56-59 and 65-69; and col. 4, lines 42-46). The substrate includes a plastic material (Ono, col. 3, lines 46-52). As Ono teaches substrate being paper or plastic material as equivalent, it would have been obvious as matter of choice to select plastic material.
Claim 2: Ono teaches the diameter of the pigments be from 5 to 100 mm (col. 4, lines 43-46) which overlaps the claimed ranges of 2.0 - 12 µm and 4-6 µm.
Claim 3: Ono teaches the binder be present from 80 to 70 wt% and thus the content of the pigment becomes 20 to 30 wt% (col. 2, lines 62-68) which is within the claimed ranges of 1-50% and 10-30%..
Claims 4-5: Ono teaches the pigments be organic or inorganic pigments (col. 3, lines 105-19 and col. 4, lines 57-60) wherein the inorganic pigments are selected from white pigments (i.e. zinc oxide, titanium dioxide and silica), minerals (i.e. calcium carbonate and clay), metal effect pigments (i.e. lead carbonate, magnesium oxide).
Claims 7-8: The lacquer coating is a primer layer which is an adhesion promoter comprising ethylene-acrylic acid copolymer (Ono, paragraph bridging col. 3 and 4).
Claim 9: Ono teaches the plastic substrate comprising polypropylene, polyethylene, polycarbonate, polyvinyl chloride and polyvinylidene fluoride.
Claim 10: Ono teaches the plastic substrate comprises polyester which encompasses polyethylene terephthalate (PET) which is the most used polyester substrate in the art.
Claim 11: Ono teaches the lacquer coating be coated on both sides of the substrate, i.e. “at least on one side of a substrate” (col. 2, lines 13-16).
HOA (Holly) LE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788
/HOA (Holly) LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788