DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Sakai et al. (US 20200091851 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Sakai discloses:
An actuator that sucks a workpiece to a tip of a shaft (7) to pick up the workpiece [0028], the actuator comprising:
a linear motion motor including a stator and a mover, the shaft being connected to the mover, the mover moving relative to the stator to move the shaft in an axial direction of the shaft [0042],
a brake device (4) that brakes the movement of the shaft in the axial direction [0029 & 0030],
a force sensor that detects a direction of a force acting on the mover in the axial direction of the shaft [0011 & 0054 & 0064 & 0082 & 0085 & 0086], and
an estimator configured to estimate a magnetic pole position of the mover, based on the direction of the force detected by the force sensor, without moving the shaft and the mover when the linear motion motor is energized in a stopped state of the movement of the shaft in the axial direction by the brake device [0011 & 0054 & 0064 & 0085 & 0086].
Regarding Claim 2, Sakai discloses:
the estimator executes first estimation processing and second estimation processing in the stopped state of the movement of the shaft in the axial direction by the brake device, to estimate the magnetic pole position of the mover [0007 & 0011 & 0054 & 0064 & 0065 & 0072 & 0073 & 0074 & 0075 & 0076 & 0077 & 0078 & 0082 & 0085 & 0086 & 0090 & 0091],
the first estimation processing is processing of estimating whether the mover is located at a section from n-n rad to n rad or a section from n rad to n+nrad, based on the direction of the force detected by the force sensor when the linear motion motor is energized such that a position of n rad in a range of a magnetic pole position between 0 and 2n rad is a first target position of the mover [0007 & 0011 & 0054 & 0064 & 0065 & 0072 & 0073 & 0074 & 0075 & 0076 & 0077 & 0078 & 0082 & 0085 & 0086 & 0090 & 0091], and
the second estimation processing is processing of estimating whether the mover is located at a section above a center in a section in which the mover is estimated to be located or a section below the center in the estimated section, based on the direction of the force detected by the force sensor when the linear motion motor is energized such that a position of the center in the estimated section is a second target position of the mover, after the execution of the first estimation processing [0007 & 008 & 0011 & 0054 & 0064 & 0065 & 0072 & 0073 & 0074 & 0075 & 0076 & 0077 & 0078 & 0082 & 0085 & 0086 & 0090 & 0091].
Regarding Claim 3, Sakai discloses:
the estimator estimates the magnetic pole position of the mover by repeatedly executing the second estimation processing a predetermined number of times while updating the second target position [0007 & 008 & 0011 & 0054 & 0064 & 0065 & 0070 & 0072 & 0073 & 0074 & 0075 & 0076 & 0077 & 0078 & 0080 & 0082 & 0084 & 0085 & 0086 & 0090 & 0091].
Regarding Claim 5, Sakai discloses:
A position estimation method of estimating a magnetic pole position of a mover in an actuator that sucks a workpiece to a tip of a shaft (7) to pick up the workpiece [0082], the actuator comprising:
a linear motion motor (2) including a stator and the mover, the shaft being connected to the mover, the mover moving relative to the stator to move the shaft in an axial direction of the shaft [0042],
a brake device (4) that brakes the movement of the shaft in the axial direction [0029 & 0030], and
a force sensor that detects a direction of a force acting on the mover in the axial direction of the shaft [0011 & 0054 & 0064 & 0082 & 0085 & 0086],
the position estimation method comprising:
estimating the magnetic pole position of the mover, based on the direction of the force detected by the force sensor, without moving the shaft and the mover when the linear motion motor is energized in a stopped state of the movement of the shaft in the axial direction by the brake device [0011 & 0054 & 0064 & 0085 & 0086].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai et al. (US 20200091851 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, @@@ does not teach:
the force sensor includes a stain gauge,
the strain gauge is provided on a connecting member connecting the mover of the linear motion motor and the shaft, to detect strain of the connecting member.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a strain gauge on a connecting member connecting the mover of the linear motion motor and the shaft, to detect strain of the connecting member in order to provide an accurate means of measuring the force imparted by the mover of the linear motion motor to the shaft thereby providing accurate readings to the estimator since the Examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that force sensors comprising material with a known modulus of elasticity and a strain gauge for measuring the deformation of the material for measuring forces between a driver and a driven object were well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2026/07/03 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 1, especially as it relates to the limitation of “an estimator configured to estimate a magnetic pole position of the mover, based on the direction of the force detected by the force sensor, without moving the shaft and the mover when the linear motion motor is energized in a stopped state of the movement of the shaft in the axial direction by the brake device”:
applicant’s assertion that the brake device of Sakai does not completely halt motion of the shaft and mover is not persuasive as Sakai discloses “The brake device 4 decreases the movement speed of the rod 7 in the axial direction and also stops the movement of the rod 7 in the axial direction. The brake device 4 of the present embodiment is attached to the rotating device 3. In the present embodiment, the axial direction of the rod 7 coincides with the direction of gravity. FIG. 2 is a perspective view showing the brake device 4 according to the present embodiment. FIG. 3 is a sectional view taken along line A-A shown in FIG. 2. FIG. 4 is a perspective view showing a brake slider 32 in the present embodiment.” [0029] furthermore the limitation states that the estimator “estimates a magnetic pole position of the mover, based on the direction of the force detected by the force sensor, without moving the shaft and the mover” which the estimator is capable of doing, but which is also possible based on the direction of operation of the shaft at the time of estimation based on the applicants interpretation of the prior art and regardless of the Applicant’s interpretation based on the disclosure in the prior art.
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 5, especially as it relates to the limitation of “an estimator configured to estimate a magnetic pole position of the mover, based on the direction of the force detected by the force sensor, without moving the shaft and the mover when the linear motion motor is energized in a stopped state of the movement of the shaft in the axial direction by the brake device”:
applicant’s assertion that the brake device of Sakai does not completely halt motion of the shaft and mover is not persuasive as Sakai discloses “The brake device 4 decreases the movement speed of the rod 7 in the axial direction and also stops the movement of the rod 7 in the axial direction. The brake device 4 of the present embodiment is attached to the rotating device 3. In the present embodiment, the axial direction of the rod 7 coincides with the direction of gravity. FIG. 2 is a perspective view showing the brake device 4 according to the present embodiment. FIG. 3 is a sectional view taken along line A-A shown in FIG. 2. FIG. 4 is a perspective view showing a brake slider 32 in the present embodiment.” [0029] furthermore the limitation states that the estimator “estimates a magnetic pole position of the mover, based on the direction of the force detected by the force sensor, without moving the shaft and the mover” which the estimator is capable of doing, but which is also possible based on the direction of operation of the shaft at the time of estimation based on the applicants interpretation of the prior art and regardless of the Applicant’s interpretation based on the disclosure in the prior art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/GREGORY W ADAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652