DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 10 Nov 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-6 and 8-10 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the abstract and the claims overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 16 Sept 2025.
Specification
The substitute specification has been entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a valve unit in claim 1; a guide unit in Claim 1; a magnetic drive unit in Claim 4; a biasing unit in Claim 5; a utilization device in Claim 10. The examiner notes that “a tilting means” is also being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
The Specification describes the valve unit as: “the valve unit is arranged between a valve inlet for the inflow of the fluid flow and a valve outlet for the outflow of the fluid flow. In particular, the valve opening is part of the valve unit” ¶ 6
The Specification describes the guide unit as: “The valve device further comprises a guide unit with a guide element which is connected to the valve body and can be moved along a movement axis in order to transfer the valve unit from the closed state to the open state. The guide unit also comprises a counter-guide element for guiding the guide element along the movement axis. The guide unit comprises a tilting means, by means of which the guide element can be tilted, i.e. preferably aligned at an angle, to the movement axis for contacting, in particular in the closed state, between the valve seat and the valve body.” ¶ 3
The Specification describes the tilting means as: “The tilting means can define the center of rotation. Furthermore, the tilting means can be integrated into the guide element or the counter-guide element. When tilting, the tilting means can contact the guide element or the counter-guide element, in particular permanently or temporarily. Preferably, a gap exists between the guide means and the counter-guide means. The gap can have the smallest cross-section in the area of the tilting means. Preferably, the guide element and the counter-guide element can form a cardan joint through the tilting means. Tilting can occur in particular when the valve unit is transferred from the open state to the closed state or vice versa. Tilting can compensate for a coaxiality of the valve body and/or the movement axis to the valve seat, in particular due to tolerances. The tilting means can minimize or eliminate the gap between the guide means and the counter-guide means. The change of state of the valve unit between the open state and the closed state can be simplified as a result. For example, requirements for a drive unit can be reduced. Furthermore, the guidance provided by the guide unit can be improved so that wear and/or noise emissions can be reduced” ¶ 9-10
The Specification describes the magnetic drive unit as: “The magnetic drive unit can, for example, comprise an electric coil to move the magnetic armature.” ¶ 13
The Specification describes the biasing unit as: “The biasing unit can, e.g., comprise a spring, in particular in the form of a compression spring.” ¶ 14
The Specification describes the utilization device as: “the utilization device can comprise a fuel cell system, in particular for driving the vehicle.” ¶ 20
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hitachi Astemo Ltd (JP5178653B2; with references taken from Examiner provided English Machine Translation).
Regarding Claim 1, Hitachi Astemo Ltd disclose(s) a valve device (Figures 4-6) for a fluid system (¶ 8). The device having1:
a valve unit (plunger 4 and valve seat 61) with a valve seat (61) and a valve body (plunger 4), which contacts the valve seat in a closed state of the valve unit (Figure 4) to close a valve opening (62) and in an open state is remote from the valve seat to clear the valve opening for a fluid flow in the fluid system (¶ 17),
a guide unit (together 300, 220 and E1) having a guide element (300) which is connected to the valve body (plunger 4; Figures 4-6) and can be moved along a movement axis to transfer the valve unit from the closed state into the open state (¶ 17), and having a counter-guide element (220) for guiding the guide element along the movement axis (along O2 in Figures 4-6),
wherein the guide unit (together 300, 220 and E1) comprises a tilting means (contact point E1), by which the guide element (300) can be tilted relative to the movement axis (to O1 in Figures 4-6) for the contact between the valve seat and the valve body (Figures 5-6),
wherein the tilting means (contact point E1) is formed by a rolling section (Figures 5 and 6; as the guide unit leans and rolls about the contract point E1 as it tilts or straightens) on the guide element (300).
Regarding Claim 3, Hitachi Astemo Ltd disclose(s) wherein the counter-guide element (220) comprises a cylindrical interior (Figure 4 where 221 and 300 sits), in which the guide element is arranged so as to be moveable (Figures 4-6).
Regarding Claim 4, Hitachi Astemo Ltd disclose(s) wherein a magnetic drive unit (7 generally) is provided for moving the guide element (¶ 17), wherein the guide element is configured as a magnetic armature (¶ 17).
Regarding Claim 5, Hitachi Astemo Ltd disclose(s) wherein the valve body (plunger 4) is biased into the closed state by a biasing unit (by spring 9; ¶ 14 and 16 disclose where the valve is a normally closed valve), wherein the biasing unit (spring 9) is configured to bring the valve unit into the closed state when the drive unit is de-energized (¶16).
Regarding Claim 6, Hitachi Astemo Ltd disclose(s) wherein the tilting means (contact point E1) surrounds the guide element in a ring-like manner (the larger diameter portion 320 of armature 300 surrounds the smaller diameter portion 330 in a ring-like manner).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hitachi Astemo Ltd (JP5178653B2; with references taken from Examiner provided English Machine Translation) in view of Hattori et al (US 2019/0061718).
Regarding Claim 2, Hitachi Astemo Ltd disclose(s) wherein the valve seat comprises a support surface (Figures 4-6 at the surface of seat 61) for the valve body (the bottom of the plunger at 43 as seen in Figure 4), wherein the valve body comprises a contact surface (the bottom of the plunger 4 at 43), wherein the contact surface rests on the support surface in the closed state of the valve unit (Figure 4),
But fails to expressly disclose wherein the valve seat comprises a support surface, at least sections of which are conical, wherein the valve body comprises a contact surface, at least sections of which are round.
Hattori et al teach(es) wherein the valve seat (Figure 11) comprises a support surface (44d), at least sections of which are conical (¶ 61 at 44d1), for the valve body (Figure 11), wherein the valve body (42c) comprises a contact surface (the lower surface as seen in Figure 11), at least sections of which are round (¶ 54 discloses where they are spherically formed), wherein the contact surface rests on the support surface in the closed state of the valve unit (Figure 11a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hitachi Astemo Ltd with the system as taught by Hattori et al for the advantage of reducing the friction between the valve body and the valve seat, as taught by Hattori et al (¶ 87-88).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hattori et al (US 2019/0061718) in view of Hitachi Astemo Ltd (JP5178653B2; with references taken from Examiner provided English Machine Translation).
Regarding Claim 10, Hattori et al disclose(s) a fluid system (Figure 1). The system having2:
a fluid tank (4) for storing a fluid (¶ 30), a utilization device for utilizing the fluid (the wheel cylinders of ¶ 30), and a valve device, which is arranged between the fluid tank and the utilization device (Figure 1),
but fails to expressly disclose where the valve device is the valve device of Claim 1.
Hitachi Astemo Ltd teach(es) the valve device of Claim 1: a valve device (Figures 4-6) for a fluid system (¶ 8). The device having3:
a valve unit (plunger 4 and valve seat 61) with a valve seat (61) and a valve body (plunger 4), which contacts the valve seat in a closed state of the valve unit (Figure 4) to close the valve opening (62) and in an open state is remote from the valve seat to clear the valve opening for a fluid flow in the fluid system (¶ 17),
a guide unit (together 300, 220 and E1) having a guide element (300) which is connected to the valve body (plunger 4; Figures 4-6) and can be moved along a movement axis to transfer the valve unit from the closed state into the open state (¶ 17), and having a counter-guide element (220) for guiding the guide element along the movement axis (along O2 in Figures 4-6),
wherein the guide unit (together 300, 220 and E1) comprises a tilting means (contact point E1), by which the guide element (300) can be tilted relative to the movement axis (to O1 in Figures 4-6) for the contact between the valve seat and the valve body (Figures 5-6),
wherein the tilting means (contact point E1) is formed by a rolling section (Figures 5 and 6; as the guide unit leans and rolls about the contract point E1 as it tilts or straightens) on the guide element (300).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Hattori et al with the valve as taught by Hitachi Astemo Ltd for the advantage of combining prior art elements according to known methods (the solenoid valve of Hitachi Astemo Ltd within the hydraulic system of Hattori et al) to yield predictable results (to control the passage of hydraulic oil within the brake system).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 Nov 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant amends Claim 1 to incorporate the limitations “wherein the tilting means is formed by a rolling section on the guide element”. While these limitations incorporate some of the language of Claim 7, the limitations of Claim 1 change the scope of previously presented Claim 7 and therefore Hitachi Astemo Ltd disclose the limitations of Claim 1.
As discussed above, Hitachi Astemo Ltd discloses wherein the tilting means (contact point E1) is formed by a rolling section (Figures 5 and 6; as the guide unit leans and rolls about the contract point E1 as it tilts or straightens) on the guide element (300).
Therefore, these arguments are unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE GARDNER/
Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/REINALDO SANCHEZ-MEDINA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753
1 The transitional term “having” has been interpreted as open terminology, allowing for the inclusion of other components in addition to those recited. See MPEP 2111.03.
2 The transitional term “having” has been interpreted as open terminology, allowing for the inclusion of other components in addition to those recited. See MPEP 2111.03.
3 The transitional term “having” has been interpreted as open terminology, allowing for the inclusion of other components in addition to those recited. See MPEP 2111.03.