DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Cecchelli et al. (US-20200378460).
Regarding claim 9, Cecchelli et al. discloses an electric brake apparatus (300) comprising :a bracket member (200) fixed to a support member of a brake mechanism (at least figs 4-5); and an electric actuator (300) joined to the bracket member and operable to actuate the brake mechanism (at least figs 4-5),wherein the electric actuator includes a motor portion (at least at portion 330/360, [0065), and wherein the electric actuator is engaged with the bracket member by inserting the electric actuator into the bracket member (fig 2, at least at 240) along an axial direction of the motor portion (fig 2-3, at least at portion 330/360, [0065).
Regarding claim 10, Cecchelli et al. discloses wherein a holding unit (fig 2, at least at or near 250) configured to hold the motor portion (330/360) is provided to the bracket member (200).
Regarding claim 11, Cecchelli et al. discloses wherein the holding unit is disposed on a distal end side of the motor portion (figs 3-5 at least at 330/360).
Regarding claim 12, Cecchelli et al. discloses wherein the holding unit has a rail structure (at least fig 2a, rail structure at sides of 250 where 360 travels along).
Regarding claim 13, Cecchelli et al. discloses wherein an elastic engagement unit (at least fig 3, 350) is provided between the bracket member (200) and the electric actuator (300),wherein the elastic engagement unit includes a protruding engagement portion (355/245) provided on one of the bracket member and the electric actuator and a recessed engagement portion (355/245) provided on the other of the bracket member and the electric actuator ([0066] and figs 2-3), and wherein first and second engagement portions are engaged with each other with the aid of elastic deformation of one of the first and second engagement portions ([0066] and figs 2-5).
Regarding claim 14, Cecchelli et al. discloses wherein the electric actuator includes an output spindle portion (310) arranged in such a manner that axes of the motor portion (330/360) and the output spindle portion extend in parallel with each other (fig 3a), and the output spindle portion is engaged with a holding tube (240/110) by fitting the output spindle portion to the holding tube provided to the bracket member (figs 4-5).
Regarding claim 15, Cecchelli et al. discloses wherein the holding tube includes a press-fit portion to which the output spindle portion is press-fitted (figs 3-4 and [0053], wherein as shown in FIG. 4d, the receiving portion is configured to receive a respective projecting element 350 of the electromechanical actuator 300, better shown in FIG. 3, extending laterally and parallel to the pull spindle 310 and provided with an end tooth 355 that is kept by the locking portion of the respective bayonet slot 245 below the actuator mounting surface 230).
Regarding claim 16, Cecchelli et al. discloses wherein the bracket member is made from synthetic resin ([0074]), and a containing tube (at least the semi-circular cylindrical portion of 250) configured to contain the motor portion is molded integrally with the bracket member (fig 2).
Regarding claim 17, Cecchelli et al. discloses wherein the holding unit has a rail structure (at least fig 2a, rail structure at sides of 250 where 360 travels along).
Regarding claim 18, Cecchelli et al. discloses wherein an elastic engagement unit (at least fig 3, 350) is provided between the bracket member (200) and the electric actuator (300),wherein the elastic engagement unit includes a protruding engagement portion (355/245) provided on one of the bracket member and the electric actuator and a recessed engagement portion (355/245) provided on the other of the bracket member and the electric actuator ([0066] and figs 2-3), and wherein first and second engagement portions are engaged with each other with the aid of elastic deformation of one of the first and second engagement portions ([0066] and figs 2-5).
Regarding claim 19, Cecchelli et al. discloses wherein an elastic engagement unit (at least fig 3, 350) is provided between the bracket member (200) and the electric actuator (300),wherein the elastic engagement unit includes a protruding engagement portion (355/245) provided on one of the bracket member and the electric actuator and a recessed engagement portion (355/245) provided on the other of the bracket member and the electric actuator ([0066] and figs 2-3), and wherein first and second engagement portions are engaged with each other with the aid of elastic deformation of one of the first and second engagement portions ([0066] and figs 2-5).
Regarding claim 20, Cecchelli et al. discloses wherein an elastic engagement unit (at least fig 3, 350) is provided between the bracket member (200) and the electric actuator (300),wherein the elastic engagement unit includes a protruding engagement portion (355/245) provided on one of the bracket member and the electric actuator and a recessed engagement portion (355/245) provided on the other of the bracket member and the electric actuator ([0066] and figs 2-3), and wherein first and second engagement portions are engaged with each other with the aid of elastic deformation of one of the first and second engagement portions ([0066] and figs 2-5).
Conclusion
/JAMES K HSIAO/Examiner, Art Unit 3616