Claims 1-12 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim language in the following claims is not clearly understood:
As per claim 1, line 7, it is unclear whether “one or more processors” refers to “one or more processors” in line 3. (i.e., if they are the same, then use “the” or “said”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Israel et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0326744 (hereinafter Israel).
As per claim 1, Israel teaches the invention as claimed for searching for an investigation range of a failure occurring in a communication network, the search device comprising:
a generation unit, including one or more processors, configured to generate a graph in which a plurality of devices within a certain investigation range including a suspected failure location obtained by artificial intelligence (Al) are connected on the basis of a connection configuration of devices constituting a communication network ([40][41][85][86][91], e.g., generate an investigation subgraph/graph in which a plurality of nodes/devices (e.g., 602, fig. 6) within a certain investigation range (e.g., subgraph showing only part of the alerts) including location of the suspicious alert [41] obtained by enhanced system including ML/link prediction are connected on the basis of connection configuration of devices of the communication network); and
a search unit, including one or more processors, configured to input the graph to a search model capable of searching for an investigation range on the basis of past failure results and to cause the search model to infer whether to extend the investigation range of the graph ([47][67][69][72][87][91], e.g., input an subgraph to ML/link predication model [67] capable of investigating the subgraph (only part of the alerts) to infer next added nodes/alerts [91] based on past alerts results; predicting alert that would be next added (i.e., predicting next nodes as translated by the next alert would be next added) given a current investigation graph which contain only part of the alerts (those seen so far)),
wherein the generation unit is configured to add a neighboring device adjacent to a device in the graph to the graph in a case in which the investigation range of the graph needs to be extended ([91], e.g., add next alert nodes to generate an entire investigation graph given the current investigation graph which contains only part of the alerts (those seen so far)).
As per claim 2, Israel teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. Israel further teach wherein the search unit is configured to input failure isolation information from an operator to the search model during inference in the search model, and cause the inference to be performed using the failure isolation information ([47][87][91]).
As per claim 3, Israel teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. Israel further teach wherein the search unit is configured to cause inference as to whether the investigation range of the graph to which the neighboring device has been added needs to be further extended to be repeated one or more times according to a failure investigation result based on alarm information from the communication network ([41][91], e.g., cause prediction of next alert/node would be next added to generate entire investigation graph to be executed multiple times according to the link prediction execution based on alert information from the network).
As per claim 4, Israel teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. Israel further teach wherein the search model is a graph neural network that has learned investigation ranges isolated for past failure ([187][41][91][67][97], e.g., neural network trained by graph/subgraph).
As per claims 5 and 6, they are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1 above.
As per claims 7 and 10, they are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2 above.
As per claims 8 and 11, they are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3 above.
As per claims 9 and 12, they are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4 above.
Conclusion
be directed to Philip Lee whose telephone number is (571)272-3967. The examiner can normally be
reached on 6a-3p M-F.
Glenton Burgess can be reached on 571-272-3949. The fax phone number for the organization where this
application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair- direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR
CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHILIP C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454