DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9, 10, 15, 17, 20, 21, 32, 33, 35, & 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chemel et al. (US 2011/0001438; hereinafter “Chemel”).
Regarding claim 1, Chemel discloses a photocosmetic device comprising: a first light source unit including a light source, a second light source unit including a light source, and a housing in which the first light source unit and the second light source unit are housed (e.g. ¶¶ 50-56); and a light exit surface from which light of the light source of each of the first light source unit and the second light source unit is emitted to an outside of the housing (e.g. ¶¶ 192 – day lighting structures – emitting light outside the housing), an optical axis of the first light source unit and an optical axis of the second light source unit are non-parallel to each other and cross each other on an outside of the housing (e.g. ¶¶ 334 – “In FIG. 20A, a fixture is shown where the LED light bars are emitting directional light distribution, which may be best for lighting tall aisles. One LED light bar 2004 is emitting a 10 degree beam angle while the other two light bars 2002 are emitting 60 degree beam angles, generating an aggregate beam pattern 2010. In FIG. 20B, the fixture is emitting uniform light distribution, which may be best for lighting open spaces. All three LED light bars 2008 are emitting the same 30 degree beam angle, generating an aggregate beam pattern 2012.”).
Regarding claim 2, Chemel discloses each of the first light source unit and the second light source unit includes, as the light source, an LED array including a plurality of LEDs arranged in an array (e.g. ¶¶ 28 – plurality of LED light strips).
Regarding claim 3, Chemel discloses a light transmission member allowing the light of the light source of each of the first light source unit and the second light source unit to pass through, wherein the light exit surface is at least partially constituted by a surface of the light transmission member (e.g. ¶¶ 56 – “wherein the surface of a sensor module lens is arranged to be close to a bottom plane of the fixture to achieve a maximum of sensor input angles, and wherein at least one of the plurality of LED light bars is modified by an optical assembly to emit a different beam pattern. The sensor may have swappable lenses. A variety of lenses may be carried on a lens wheel and rotated into place. The sensor enclosure may accept at least one of a PIR, ambient light, radiation, and particulate sensor, each of which is field-installable and field-swappable.”).
Regarding claim 4, Chemel discloses a cooler disposed to cool the light transmission member (e.g. ¶¶ 63 - heatsink).
Regarding claim 9, Chemel discloses the housing includes a first housing part in which the first light source unit is housed and a second housing part in which the second light source unit is housed, the first housing part and the second housing part are disposed separately from each other in a direction in which the first light source unit and the second light source unit are arranged (e.g. Fig. 20A).
Regarding claim 10, Chemel discloses a plurality of light source units including the first light source unit and the second light source unit, each of the plurality of light source units including a light source, wherein the plurality of light source units are housed in the housing, light of the plurality of light source units are emitted to the outside of the housing from the light exit surface, each of the plurality of light source units further includes a light guide member configured to guide light of the light source toward the light exit surface (e.g. ¶¶ 167, 304, etc. – different beam angles).
Regarding claim 15, Chemel discloses each of the plurality of light source units, the light guide member has a light incident surface through which the light of the light source enters and a light emerging surface from which the light entered through the light incident surface is emerged to the light exit surface, and light emerging surface has a lens surface, and light emerging surfaces of respective light guide members of the plurality of light source units are disposed such that rays of the light of the plurality of light source units cross one another on the outside of the housing (e.g. ¶¶ 167, 304, etc.).
Regarding claim 17, Chemel discloses each of the plurality of light source units further includes a light blocking member configured to reduce light traveling from the light source toward at least one of remainder of the plurality of light source units, andin each of the plurality of light source units, the light blocking member is disposed to surround side surfaces of the light guide member (e.g. ¶¶ 149-151).
Regarding claim 20, Chemel discloses a heat dissipation part configured to dissipate heat generated in the light source of each of the plurality of light source units, wherein the housing includes a first case in which the heat dissipation part is housed and a second case which protrudes from the first case along a first axis and in which respective light guide members of the plurality of light source units are housed, the plurality of light source units are arranged along a second axis perpendicular to the first axis, and a maximum dimension along the second axis of the first case is greater than a maximum dimension along the second axis of the second case (e.g. ¶¶ 165, 392, etc.).
Regarding claim 21, Chemel discloses an area of a first projection region is greater than an area of a second projection region, the first projection region being a region enclosed by a first projection line obtained by projecting a circumference of the first case on an imaginary plane perpendicular to the first axis, the second projection region being a region enclosed by a second projection line obtained by projecting a circumference of the second case on the imaginary plane (e.g. Figs 20A/B).
Regarding claim 32, Chemel discloses a light emitting unit including the first light source unit and the second light source unit; the housing in which the light emitting unit is housed; a light transmission member having a light incident surface through which light of the light emitting unit enters and a light emerging surface from which the light entered through the light incident surface is emerged to the outside of the housing; and a dew condensation inhibitor configured to prevent dew condensation from occurring on the light transmission member and/or to inhibit a dew condensation water on the light transmission member generated by dew condensation from staying on the light transmission member (e.g. ¶¶ 66, 401, etc.).
Regarding claim 33, Chemel discloses the dew condensation inhibitor includes a hydrophobic coating provided to at least one of the light incident surface or the light emerging surface of the light transmission member (e.g. ¶¶ 66 – evaporative cooling substance).
Regarding claims 35 and 37, Chemel discloses the housing has a housing space in which the light emitting unit is housed, and the dehumidifying material is disposed in the housing space (e.g. ¶¶ 180, 401).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796