DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 9-13, 20-22, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bao et al. (hereinafter Bao)(US 2022/0015057).
Regarding claim 1, Bao teaches a positioning method, performed by a core network device corresponding to a target user equipment (UE), comprising(Fig. 1; Fig. 12):
receiving a location request sent by a location requestor, wherein the location request comprises an observer UE list and an identifier (ID) of the target UE(P[0052], LMF may process the location requests for the UE i.e, received from the AMF; Fig. 12. Provide recommendation of Anchor UEs; also P[0150] );
sending a first location request to a current serving access and mobility management function (AMF) corresponding to a first observer UE in the observer UE list(P[0053], location response from the LMF via AMF; P[0140]), and
obtaining location information of the target UE sent by the current serving AMF corresponding to the first observer UE(P[0059], UE may send the measurement quantities back to the LMF via AMF).
Regarding claim 2, Bao teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein before sending the first location request to the current serving AMF corresponding to the first observer UE in the observer UE list, the method further comprises: requesting a discovery service from each observer UE, wherein the discovery service is used to discover the target UE; and obtaining a discovery notification sent by the current serving AMF corresponding to the first observer UE, wherein the discovery notification is used to indicate that the first observer UE has discovered the target UE(P[0124], at block 717, server may send message to target UE; P[0125], initiated by server in determining and sending the UE-UE PRS configuration; anchor UEs(observer UE) may be proactively searched (discovered) and configured for UE-UE PRS exchange with the target UE; LMF in the RAN implies serving AMF; item 732 in Fig. 7A also P[0128], server sends UE-UE PRS configuration to the target UE) .
Regarding claim 3, Bao teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein before requesting the discovery service from each observer UE, the method further comprises: determining whether a discovery service needs to be requested from each observer UE(P[0128], server determines the PRS configuration for each UE to serve as an anchor UE; P[0125], anchor UEs(observer UE) may be proactively searched (discovered) and configured for UE-UE PRS exchange with the target UE).
Regarding claim 5, Bao teaches the method according to claim 3, wherein determining whether the discovery service needs to be requested from each observer UE comprises: determining that the discovery service needs to be requested from each observer UE, wherein in response to the target UE being is identified as a UE with a low power consumption determines to be good candidates for being anchor UEs, e.g., one or more neighbor UEs (P[0125], availability of one or more UEs that the server determines to be good candidates for being anchor UEs, e.g., one or more neighbor UEs (of the target UE ) that are (or will be) close to (within a threshold distance of) the target UE and/or that are (or will be) close to (within a threshold distance) means low power consumption).
Regarding claim 7, Bao teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the first observer UE is an observer UE corresponding to an AMF that first sends the discovery notification to the core network device among AMFs corresponding to all observer UEs(P[0125], anchor UEs may be proactively searched (discovery) for and configured (reconfigured) for UE-UE PRS exchange with the target UE. This may help maintain positioning of the target UE as the target UE moves from outside the null zone to inside the null zone; P[0127], At stage 930, the TRPs may send availability messages to the server indicating any UEs that are available to serve as anchor UEs and/or indicating values of parameters (e.g., PRS parameters, power level, etc.) that the server may use to determine which UEs are available to serve as anchor UEs.).
Regarding claim 9, Bao teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: sending the location information of the target UE to the location requestor (P[0043], the core network may communicate with the external client (e.g., a computer system), e.g., to allow the external client to request and/or receive location information regarding the UE (e.g., via the GMLC )).
Regarding claim 10, Bao teaches the method according to claim 1 or 9, wherein the location requestor is a location service (LCS) client or an application function (AF)(external client 130 in Fig. 1; P[0053], location request to AMF to LMF by the external client).
Regarding claim 11, Bao teaches a positioning method, performed by applied to a current serving access and mobility management function (AMF) corresponding to an observer UE, comprising(Fig. 1; AMF): obtaining a first location request sent by a core network device corresponding to a target UE(item 1420 in Fig. 14; provide to the network entity identifications of the one or more UEs available for the sidelink assisted positioning of the first UE);
determining location information of the target UE by triggering the observer UE to perform a positioning procedure and a ranging procedure(items 1310, 1320 and 1330 in Fig. 13, receiving PRS measurements by the server from the anchor UEs; P[0139], provide location information or ranging signaling to the target UE); and
sending the location information of the target UE to the core network device corresponding to the target UE(item 1330 in Fig. 13, sending the PRS measurement to the server; item 1360 determine target UE location).
Regarding claim 12, Bao teaches the method according to claim 11, wherein before obtaining the first location request sent by the core network device corresponding to the target UE, the method further comprises: performing a discovery service for the target UE according to a discovery request of the core network device corresponding to the target UE; and sending a discovery notification to the core network device corresponding to the target UE, wherein the discovery notification is used to indicate that a first the observer UE has discovered the target UE(P[0124], at block 717, server may send message to target UE; P[0125], initiated by server in determining and sending the UE-UE PRS configuration; anchor UEs(observer UE) may be proactively searched (discovery service) and configured for UE-UE PRS exchange with the target UE; LMF in the RAN implies serving AMF; item 1410 in fig. 14 is discovery corresponding to target UE, identify one or more UEs available for a positioning reference signal exchange with the first UE for sidelink assisted positioning of the first UE; item 1420 in Fig. 14 is discovery notification, provide to the network entity one or more UEs available for the sidelink positioning of the first UE) .
Regarding claim 13, Bao teaches the 13. (Original) The method according to claim 12, wherein performing the discovery service for the target UE according to the discovery request of the core network device corresponding to the target UE comprises: obtaining the discovery request sent by the core network device corresponding to the target UE; invoking a discovery procedure to trigger the observer UE to perform the discovery service for the target UE ; and obtaining the discovery notification sent by the observer UE(Fig. 15, item 1520; also items 1330 in Fig. 13; PRS measurement received by the server and determining the target UE location).
Claim 20-22, 26 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1, 11, 15 and 1 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao et al. (hereinafter Bao)(US 2022/0015057) in view of Edge et al. (hereinafter Edge)(US 2020/0053638).
Regarding claim 4, Bao teaches all the particulars of the claim except the method, wherein determining whether the discovery service needs to be requested from each observer UE comprises: obtaining a privacy configuration file and a subscriber permanent identifier (SUPI) of the target UE by invoking a service operation from a unified data management (UDM); determining whether to allow the target UE to be located according to the privacy configuration file of the target UE; invoking the service operation from the UDM according to the SUPI of the target UE to request the UDM to return a network address of a current serving AMF corresponding to the target UE, wherein in response to allowing the target UE is allowed to be located; and determining that the discovery service needs to be requested from each observer UE, wherein in response to the UDM not returning the network address of the current serving AMF corresponding to the target UE is not returned by the UDM. However, Edge teaches in an analogous art obtaining a privacy configuration file and a subscriber permanent identifier (SUPI) of the target UE by invoking a service operation from a unified data management (UDM); determining whether to allow the target UE to be located according to the privacy configuration file of the target UE; invoking the service operation from the UDM according to the SUPI of the target UE to request the UDM to return a network address of a current serving AMF corresponding to the target UE, wherein in response to allowing the target UE is allowed to be located; and determining that the discovery service needs to be requested from each observer UE, wherein in response to the UDM not returning the network address of the current serving AMF corresponding to the target UE is not returned by the UDM(P[0031], P[0118-0124]; NEF does not have the address of the serving AMF; NEF invoked subscribe service operations towards the UDM for the target UE for location reporting; multiple UE locations for some triggering event and includes the UE identity (SUPI or GPSI) and information on location accuracy; UDM invokes subscriber service operation towards the serving AMF for the target UE; AMF obtains multiple UE locations ). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to obtain a privacy configuration file and a subscriber permanent identifier (SUPI) of the target UE by invoking a service operation from a unified data management (UDM); determining whether to allow the target UE to be located according to the privacy configuration file of the target UE; invoking the service operation from the UDM according to the SUPI of the target UE to request the UDM to return a network address of a current serving AMF corresponding to the target UE, wherein in response to allowing the target UE is allowed to be located; and determining that the discovery service needs to be requested from each observer UE, wherein in response to the UDM not returning the network address of the current serving AMF corresponding to the target UE is not returned by the UDM in order to have unified location for UE.
Regarding claim 6, Bao teaches all the particulars of the claim except the method, wherein the observer UE list comprises a SUPI of an observer UE; requesting the discovery service from each observer UE comprises: invoking a service operation from the a UDM with the SUPI of each observer UE to request the UDM to return a network address of a current serving AMF corresponding to each observer UE; and sending a discovery request to the current serving AMF corresponding to each observer UE according to the network address of the current serving AMF corresponding to each observer UE, to allow the current serving AMF corresponding to each observer UE to invoke a discovery procedure to trigger each observer UE to perform the discovery service for the target UE. However, Edge teaches in an analogous art wherein the observer UE list comprises a SUPI of an observer UE; requesting the discovery service from each observer UE comprises: invoking a service operation from the a UDM with the SUPI of each observer UE to request the UDM to return a network address of a current serving AMF corresponding to each observer UE ; and sending a discovery request to the current serving AMF corresponding to each observer UE according to the network address of the current serving AMF corresponding to each observer UE, to allow the current serving AMF corresponding to each observer UE to invoke a discovery procedure to trigger each observer UE to perform the discovery service for the target UE(P[0118], NEF does not have the address of the serving AMF; P[0119], NEF invokes operation towards the UDM; requested of multiple UE locations for some triggering event and includes the UE identity (SUPI) and information on location accuracy of the cell ID; P[0120], UDM invokes an operation towards current serving AMF for the target UE; P0121], AMF sends an acknowledgement; P[0124], AMF obtains location of the multiple UE locations by invoking location reporting procedure). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention wherein the observer UE list comprises a SUPI of an observer UE; requesting the discovery service from each observer UE comprises: invoking a service operation from the a UDM with the SUPI of each observer UE to request the UDM to return a network address of a current serving AMF corresponding to each observer UE; and sending a discovery request to the current serving AMF corresponding to each observer UE according to the network address of the current serving AMF corresponding to each observer UE, to allow the current serving AMF corresponding to each observer UE to invoke a discovery procedure to trigger each observer UE to perform the discovery service for the target UE in order to have unified location for UE.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao et al. (hereinafter Bao)(US 2022/0015057) in view of Hu et al. (hereinafter Hu)(US 2024/0397470).
Regarding claim 8, Bao teaches all the particulars of the claim except the method, wherein after obtaining the discovery notification sent by the current serving AMF corresponding to the first observer UE, the method further comprises: releasing discovery services of other observer UEs except the first observer UE. However, Hu teaches in an analogous art wherein after obtaining the discovery notification sent by the current serving AMF corresponding to the first observer UE, the method further comprises: releasing discovery services of other observer UEs except the first observer UE(P[0057], one anchor UE for SL positioning and prohibiting SL anchor UE re-selection). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention wherein after obtaining the discovery notification sent by the current serving AMF corresponding to the first observer UE, the method further comprises: releasing discovery services of other observer UEs except the first observer UE in order to have improved efficiency.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao et al. (hereinafter Bao)(US 2022/0015057) in view of Ouyang et al. (hereinafter Ouyang)(WO 2022/237529).
Regarding claim 14, Bao teaches the method according to claim 11, wherein determining the location information of the target UE by triggering the observer UE to perform the positioning procedure and the ranging procedure (P[0139], provide location information or ranging signaling to the target UE ) comprises: sending a second location request to the LMF corresponding to the observer UE(item 715, 721 (has LMF) in Fig. 7; P[0122], sends UE-UE PRS request to server), wherein the second location request comprises an observer UE list and an identifier (ID) of the target UE sending a second location request to the LMF corresponding to the observer UE(item 1420 in Fig. 14, provide to the network entity identifications of UEs available for the sidelink assisted positioning of the first UE(target UE)), wherein the second location request comprises an observer UE list of the target UE, wherein determining the location information of the target UE by triggering the observer UE to perform the positioning procedure and the ranging procedure comprises: the second location request is used to: make the LMF corresponding to the observer UE perform the positioning procedure according to the second location request to locate each observer UE in the observer UE list to obtain positioning measurement information, make the LMF corresponding to the observer UE perform the ranging procedure according to the second location request to allow each observer UE in the observer UE list to perform ranging on the target UE to obtain ranging measurement information, and make the LMF corresponding to the observer UE determine location information of the target UE according to all positioning measurement information and all ranging measurement information corresponding to all observer UEs; and receiving the location information of the target UE sent by the LMF corresponding to the observer UE((items 1310, 1320 and 1330 in Fig. 13, receiving PRS measurements by the server from the anchor UEs; P[0139], provide location information or ranging signaling to the target UE; item 1330 in Fig. 13, sending the PRS measurement to the server; item 1360 determine target UE location).
Bao did not teach specifically selecting a location management function (LMF) corresponding to the observer UE; sending a second location request to the LMF corresponding to the observer UE, wherein the second location request comprises an identifier (ID) of the target UE. However, Ouyang teaches in an analogous art selecting a location management function (LMF) corresponding to the observer UE (item S402 in figure 4; LMF selection); sending a second location request to the LMF corresponding to the observer UE, an identifier (ID) of the target UE(item S401-S403 in Fig. 4; information includes the terminal identification information of the reference point ). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention selecting a location management function (LMF) corresponding to the observer UE; sending a second location request to the LMF corresponding to the observer UE, an identifier (ID) of the target UE in order to have improved efficiency.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ouyang et al. (hereinafter Ouyang)(WO 2022/237529) in view of Bao et al. (hereinafter Bao)(US 2022/0015057).
Regarding claim 15, Ouyang teaches a positioning method, performed by applied to a location management function (LMF) corresponding to an observer UE, comprising: receiving a second location request sent by a current serving access and mobility management function (AMF) corresponding to the observer UE, wherein the second location request comprises an observer UE list and an identifier (ID) of a target UE; determining location information of the target UE by triggering a positioning procedure for each observer UE in the observer UE list and a ranging procedure between each observer UE in the observer UE list and the target UE according to the second location request; and sending the location information of the target UE to the current serving AMF corresponding to the observer UE(Ouyang: Fig. 4; also pages 16-17).
Ouyang did not teach specifically observer UE list. However, Bao teaches in an analogous art UE list(((items 1310, 1320 and 1330 in Fig. 13, receiving PRS measurements by the server from the anchor UEs; P[0139], provide location information or ranging signaling to the target UE; item 1330 in Fig. 13, sending the PRS measurement to the server; item 1360 determine target UE location). There
Regarding claim 16, (similar to claim 14), Ouyang in view of Bao teaches the method according to claim 15, wherein determining the location information of the target UE by triggering the positioning procedure for each observer UE in the observer UE list and the ranging procedure between each observer UE in the observer UE list and the target UE according to the second location request comprises: obtaining positioning measurement information corresponding to each observer UE by performing the positioning procedure according to the second location request to locate each observer UE in the observer UE list; obtaining ranging measurement information corresponding to each observer UE by performing the ranging procedure according to the second location request to allow each observer UE in the observer UE list to perform ranging on the target UE; obtaining the positioning measurement information and the ranging measurement information sent by each observer UE; and determining the location information of the target UE according to all positioning measurement information and all ranging measurement information corresponding to all observer UEs(Ouyang: Fig. 4; Pages 16-17; items 1310, 1320 and 1330 in Fig. 13, receiving PRS measurements by the server from the anchor UEs; P[0139], provide location information or ranging signaling to the target UE; item 1330 in Fig. 13, sending the PRS measurement to the server; item 1360 determine target UE location).
Conclusion
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647