DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 08/03/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that both groups share special technical feature that clearly defines a contribution over the cited prior art. This is not found persuasive for the reasons as state in the rejection of claims 1, 3-4, 6 and 8-12 below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 13 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 08/03/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6 and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boer et al (WO 2010060712 A1).
Claim 1 recited the following limitations:
A fat composition comprising a fat phase and an aqueous phase,
wherein the fat phase is between 10% and 95% w/w of the composition,
the aqueous phase is between 5% and 90% w/w of the composition, and
wherein the fat phase comprises a fat component of palm oil and/or fractions thereof and a post-crystallization control component,
wherein the post crystallization control component comprises a non-ionic surfactant and glycerol partial esters at a ratio of between 1:0.5 to 1:10;
wherein the fat component comprises a combination of POP and PPO at a range of 25% to 35% w/w of the total fat component, POO at a range of 20% to 35% w/w of the total fat component, PPP at a range of 3% to 10% w/w of the total fat component, OOO at a range of 5% to 10% w/w of the total fat component, and POS at a range of 2% to 6% w/w of the total fat component, wherein P is palmitic acid, O is oleic acid, and S is stearic acid.
In regard to claim 1, Boer et al discloses a “fat containing emulsion comprising palm oil and sorbitan fatty acid ester” ([0001]). Boer et al discloses “[a]n emulsion comprising 20-85 % of a fat phase and an emulsifier, wherein the fat phase comprises HHH, HOH, HOO triacylglycerides wherein H is palmitic or stearic acid and 0 is oleic acid and wherein the ratio of HHH /HOH is from 0.05 to 0.27, the ratio HOO/HHH is from 3 to 8 and wherein HOH the palmitic acid level in the H fractions is at least 60 % and wherein the emulsifier comprises sorbitan ester of fatty acid wherein at least 40% of the sorbitan ester of fatty acid is a sorbitan mono ester of fatty acid” (Claim 1, Abstract, page 4 lines 1-16).
In regard to the triglycerides composition and particular ratios as claimed, Boer et al discloses:
Some examples of HHH TAGs are the mono-acyl TAGs PPP (tripalmitine) , SSS (tristearine) , but also the mixed TAGs PSP, PPS, SPS, and PSS. The order of the fatty acid in the denotation of the TAGs indicates the symmetry of the TAGs. PSP and SPS are symmetrical TAGs having the same fatty acid on the 1- and 3- position. PPS and PSS are asymmetrical TAGs having different types of fatty acids on the 1- and 3- position. HHH is the total sum of all HHH-type TAGs as described above in the fat.
The TAG HOH represents TAGs with on the middle position an oleic acid. The H may be palmitic or stearic, but is not necessarily the same in a single TAG. The group of HOH TAGs comprises POS, POP, and SOS. HOH is the total sum of the HOH- type TAGs present in the fat (page 6 lines 10-24).
HOO TAGs are TAGs that have two oleic acid residues, one in the middle position, and one on one of the outer (1- or 3-) position of the glycerol ester. The HOO TAG also contains 1 H residue on one of the outer positions, being either palmitic or stearic acid. Thus two types of HOO TAGs may be present, POO and SOO. HOO is the total sum of HOO TAGs as described above present in the fat.
HHH is the total sum of all HHH-type TAGs as described above and HOH is the total sum of the HOH-type TAGs as described above present in the fat.
The ratio of HHH /HOH is from 0.05 to 0.27, and the ratio HOO/HHH is from 3 to 8. Preferably the ratio of HHH /HOH is from 0.10 to 0.25, more preferably from 0.15 to 0.20. In a preferred embodiment the ratio HOO/HHH is from 3.25 to 6, and more preferred from 3.25 to 5.75.
In another preferred embodiment, in the HOH TAGs the level of palmitic acid of the H fractions is at least 60%; this means that of all H in the total HOH group at least 60% of the H residues is palmitic acid. More preferably at least 70% is palmitic acid, and most preferred at least 80% is palmitic.
Suitable emulsions according to the present invention may also comprise HHO TAGs. HHO TAGs consist of TAGs with one oleic acid on one of the terminal positions and one H residue in the middle position and one H residue on one of the terminal positions. H may be palmitic acid or stearic acid. The group of HHO TAGS comprises PPO, SSO, SPO, and PSO. In a preferred embodiment the ratio of HOH/HHO is more than 3, preferably more than 4, more preferably between 3 and 7, and most preferably between 4 and 7.
In a preferred embodiment of the present invention the ratio of HOO/ (HOH+HHH) is from 0.65 to 0.8, more preferably from 0.65 to 0.75 and most preferably from 0.65 to 0.7. The ratio HOO/ (HOH+HHH) is the ratio of all HOO TAGs present in the fat to the combined sum of all HOH TAGs and all HHH TAGs present in the fat (page 7 lines 5-32).
In regard to the fat phase content, Boer et al discloses “[e]mulsions according to the invention comprise 20-85 wt% fat, preferably 40-80 wt% fat, and more preferably 50 to 65 wt% of fat” (page 8 lines 24-26).
Boer et al discloses “[p]referably 0.05 to 2 wt% of sorbitan ester of fatty acid is present in the emulsion according to the invention” (page 8 lines 28-29).
Boer et al discloses “[i]n preferred embodiment the emulsion of the present invention comprises an aqueous phase” (page 11 lines 7-8).
Boer et al further discloses the following exemplary embodiments of the fat composition:
Product 1, according to the invention:
Composition of product:
Fatphase: 60% fatblend,
0.25% Span 60 0.10%
Monoglycerides (Dimodan HP)
0.10% Lecithin (Sunlec M)
Water phase 39.15% water
0.4% salt
Span 60 characteristics:
Degree of esterification between mono-, di-, and tri- fatty acid ester of sorbitol
61.5 % mono esters
34 % di esters
4.5 % tri esters Composition of fatty acid moieties
54 % palmitic acid 44 % stearic acid
2 % oleic acid
Fatblend: is mix of 24% palm oil 12% of a dry fractionated palm olein (iodine value 55), and 64% of sunflower oil. The oil is characterised by the following:
Triglyceride profile
HHH 1.9 % (w/w) ,
HOH 11.4% (w/w),
HHO 2.1 % (w/w) ,
HLH 5 % (w/w) ,
HOO 9.2 % (w/w)
Ratios of triglycerides
HHH/HOH 0.167 OR HOH/HHH 6
HHH/HOO 0.207 OR HOO/HHH 4.84
HOO/ (HHH+HOH) 0.69
H being palmitic acid or stearic acid
O is oleic acid and L is linoleic acid
90% of H in HOH is palmitic acid
Solid fat content at 5°C is 16.3 %, SFC at 20<0>C is 3.8%.
Level of saturated fatty acids is 25.8 % (w/w)
Symmetry ratio of the H20 triglycerides HOH/HHO is 5.4 (pages 16-17)
Boer et al discloses Product 2 (Example 2) and product 3 (Example 3) (pages 24-25 and 30-31).
Further in regard to the concentrations recitations, it is noted that:
Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05, II A).
Further, regarding the concentrations ranges as examined above, it is noted that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
In regard to claim 3, Boer et al discloses:
The emulsifier comprises sorbitan ester of fatty acid. Sorbitan ester of fatty acid, maybe mono-, di, or tri- ester (page 8 lines 1-4).
In regard to claim 6, Boer et al discloses:
Suitably the fatty acid in the sorbitan ester of fatty acid is selected from the group comprising, lauric acid, myristic acid, palmitic acid, stearic acid, or oleic acid. The sorbitan fatty acid ester in the present invention may be a mix of sorbitan esters with different fatty acids. In a preferred embodiment the fatty acid in the sorbitan ester of fatty acid is a ratio of stearic to palmitic fatty acid between 3 to 1 and 1 to 3, more preferred between 2 to 1 and 1 to 2, and most preferred between 6 to 4 and 4 to 6. Another preferred embodiment of the invention is that the degree of esterification of the sorbitan esters is such that in the sum of mono-, di-, and tri- esters the mono-esters account for at least 40 %, more preferred at least 50% and most preferred for at least 60%. In a preferred embodiment the combined amount of stearic acid and palmitic acid in the sorbitan ester of fatty acid is at least 40% of the total amount of fatty acids in the sorbitan ester (page 8 lines 6-22).
In regard to claims 4 and 8, Boer et al discloses:
Boer et al discloses “[a]n emulsion comprising 20-85 % of a fat phase and an emulsifier, wherein the fat phase comprises HHH, HOH, HOO triacylglycerides wherein H is palmitic or stearic acid and 0 is oleic acid and wherein the ratio of HHH /HOH is from 0.05 to 0.27, the ratio HOO/HHH is from 3 to 8 and wherein HOH the palmitic acid level in the H fractions is at least 60 % and wherein the emulsifier comprises sorbitan ester of fatty acid wherein at least 40% of the sorbitan ester of fatty acid is a sorbitan mono ester of fatty acid” (Claim 1, Abstract, page 4 lines 1-16).
In regard to claims 9 and 11, Boer et al discloses ‘[t]he emulsion according to the invention optionally contain other ingredients such as preservatives, vitamins, taste and flavour components, colorants such as beta-carotene, antioxidants” (page 11 lines 31-32, page 12 lines 1-2). In regard to claim 11, Boer et al discloses that composition further comprises milk (page 11 lines 20-24).
In regard to claim 10, Boer et al discloses lecithin and sorbitan esters (page 10 lines 10-14; page 8 lines 1-4).
In regard to claim 12, Boer et al discloses margarine or spread (page 1).
Conclusion
/VERA STULII/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791