Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/30/2025 and 8/9/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao et al (us 2020/0196169) (hereinafter Dao) in view of Kim et al (us 2023/0300651) (hereinafter Kim).
As regarding claim 16, Dao discloses receiving, from a policy control function (PCF) entity, first information requesting analytics for user equipment (UE) traffic (see Dao 0071 PCF sends request to NWDA (i.e. NWDA receives) regarding mobility management parameter relate to UE);
transmitting, to a network entity, a message requesting data for the analytics (see Dao 0009, NWDA request measurement data from a plurality of entities such as smf amf, udm ue…(Dao 0048-0049));
receiving, from the network entities second information associated with the UE based on the message (see Dao 0072, measurement data received from network entities and analyze by NWDA).
Dao is silent to the concept generating the analytics for the UE traffic based on the second information and transmitting, to the PCF entity, the generated analytics.
Kim teaches the concept generating the analytics for the UE traffic based on the second information and transmitting, to the PCF entity, the generated analytics (see Kim 0273, 0275, NWDAF derive analytics using collected data, and provide the generated analytic data to requesting PCF (see Kim 0205-0206)).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim to Dao because they're analogous art. A person would have been motivated to modify Dao with Kim’s teaching for the purpose of enable proactively update policy based on the analytic data (see Kim 0222).
As regarding claim 17, Dao-Kim discloses the first information includes a UE identity (ID) (see Dao 0107, UE IDs), an analytics ID (see Kim 0268 analytic ID), and an application ID (see Dao 0054,0074, application ID), wherein the second information includes the UEID (see Dao 0107, UE IDs), a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), and a data network name (DNN) (see Dao 0106-0107, S-NSSAI and DNN). The same motivation was utilized in claim 16 applied equally well to claim 17.
As regarding claim 18, Dao-Kim discloses the analytics includes third information on the UE traffic, wherein the third information includes at least one of information on a UE selection policy (URSP) or information on traffic descriptor (see Dao 0131, UE route selection policy (URSP information can be requested and provide).
As regarding claim 19, Dao-Kim discloses the network entity includes at least one of a session management function (SMF) entity or a user plane function (UPF) entity (see Dao 0009, NWDA request measurement data from a plurality of entities such as smf amf, udm ue…(Dao 0048-0049)).
As regarding claim 20, Dao-Kim discloses transmitting, to a network data analytics function (NWDAF) entity, first information requesting analytics for user equipment (UE) traffic (see Dao 0071 PCF sends request to NWDA regarding mobility management parameter relate to UE);
receiving, from the NWDAF entity, the analytics for the UE traffic, wherein the analytics for the UE traffic is based on second information collected for the analytics (see Kim 0273, 0275, NWDAF derive analytics using collected data, and provide the generated analytic data to requesting PCF (see Kim 0205-0206)). The same motivation was utilized in claim 16 applied equally well to claim 20.
As regarding claim 21, Dao-Kim discloses the first information includes a UE identity (ID) (see Dao 0107, UE IDs), an analytics ID (see Kim 0268 analytic ID), and an application ID (see Dao 0054,0074, application ID), wherein the second information includes the UEID (see Dao 0107, UE IDs), a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), and a data network name (DNN) (see Dao 0106-0107, S-NSSAI and DNN). The same motivation was utilized in claim 16 applied equally well to claim 21.
As regarding claim 22, Dao-Kim discloses the analytics includes third information on the UE traffic, wherein the third information includes at least one of information on a UE selection policy (URSP) or information on traffic descriptor (see Dao 0131, UE route selection policy (URSP information can be requested and provide).
As regarding claim 23, Dao-Kim discloses generating fourth information applying for the UE traffic based on the analytics and transmitting the fourth information is associated with at least one of an updated URSP or an updated traffic descriptor (see Kim 0222, update the policy for WLAN which further explain in 0266 of Kim is the WLAN usage experience of the UE). The same motivation was utilized in claim 16 applied equally well to claim 23.
As regarding claims 24-30, the limitations of claims 24-30 are similar to limitations of rejected claims 16-23 above, therefore rejected for the same rationale. Dao-Kim further discloses a transceiver and a controller (see Kim figure.4, transceiver 106 and processor 102).
Conclusion
/DUYEN M DOAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459