DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of the preliminary amendment filed 8/9/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Iizuma et al. (USPGPUB 2023/0020676, from hereinafter “Iizuma”).
Regarding claims 1, 9-11, and 18-20, Iizumi teaches a connector system and assembly device for optical fibers (connector 10), in particular plastics-based optical fibers (polymer optical fibers POF), having at least two connectors (ferrules 74) configured to be brought into engagement with one another and which each of the at least two connectors have at least one connector housing (16), at least one cable inlet (slots 24) arranged in the connector housing and at least one cover (strain relief boot 30) and which each of the at least two connectors are configured to accommodate at least one fiber receptacle which is introduced at least partially between the connector housing and the cover, wherein the fiber receptacle accommodates at least two cores of an optical cable (fiber optic cable 12 with optical fibers 14), wherein characterized in that the fiber receptacle is configured with at least one connector area and with at least one coding area, wherein the connector area has at least one core receptacle for each core to be accommodated, and at least one fixing receptacle which is formed substantially orthogonally to the core receptacle and into which a core fixing is introduced for fastening the cores in the fiber receptacle. Further, regarding claims 2-3, Iizumi teaches the connector system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the connector system has at least a first connector and at least a corresponding second connector, wherein the first connector is configured to accommodate a first fiber receptacle and the second connector accommodates is configured to accommodate a second fiber receptacle and the first fiber receptable has a first orientation form and second fiber receptable has a second orientation form which are brought correspondingly into engagement with one another (see Figures 1-15, paragraphs 27-37).
Regarding claims 4-5 and 12-14, Iizumi teaches the limitations that, the first orientation form and the second orientation form are formed such that when intermeshing, they prevent contact between the accommodated cores and/or at least the optical fibers present in the cores and that first and second orientation forms are formed as intermeshing protrusions in at least a partial ring shape (see Figure, paragraphs 27-37).
Regarding claims 6-7 and 15-16, Iizumi teaches that the coding area is configured for accommodating at least one coding element and is arranged on the connector area in a plane running orthogonally to plug-in direction of connector (see Figures 11-15).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Iizumi teaches that the fiber receptable is formed to accommodate at least two polymer optical fibers when it is taught that in one embodiment, the optical fibers 14 may be polymer optical fibers (POF) (see paragraph 27).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US Patent No. 7,534,050 to Kachmar.
/LISA M CAPUTO/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874