DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a Non-Final Office Action rejection on the merits. Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-10, 12-16, 19, and 22-23 are currently pending and have been addressed below.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/12/2026 (related to the 103 Rejection) have been fully considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection. Applicant's amendments necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Rejection based on a newly cited reference(s) follows.
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/12/2026 (related to the 101 Rejection) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states, on pages 11-13, that the selection of a person and date mentioned by the Examiner is merely one application aspect in the configuration of amended claim 1, rather than the technical subject matter to which amended claim I is directed. The problem with conventional art lies in that "the user creates tasks independently in different e-office products, and the same task needs to be created repeatedly in different e-office products, resulting in low task creation efficiency" (see Par. [0004] of the subject application). In the claimed subject matter, in response to detecting a given condition, a machine or a computer is configured to display the preset panel and the target option. In particular, in response to detecting an invocation shortcut character input into the task type block or a predetermined or threshold number of clicks on a person selection component icon in the task type block, the person selection component panel and the target option in the person selection component panel is displayed.
It is to be noted that, in response to a specified operation being completed in the preset panel and the target option being selected, the task client transmits editing information of the task corresponding to the task type block wherein the editing information comprises index information of the task and editing data of the task corresponding to the index information of the task. That is, the index information and editing data correspond to one another and possess a relational link.
Subsequently, the task client receives an opening request of a task panel from the task server, wherein this opening request includes the index information of the task. Upon receiving the opening request, the task client creates and displays the task in the task panel based on the editing data of the task corresponding to the index information of the task. That is, the corresponding editing data of the task is obtained in accordance with the received index information of the task, which is included in this opening request.
Moreover, the task server determines the recipients of the opening request (i.e., identifying the one or more clients to create the task) based on the information regarding the relevant parties (one or more of the creator, executor, or follower) included in the editing data. That is, based on the editing data of the task, the task server pushes the task index information to not only the target client but also other associated clients. This avoids duplicate creation or independent creation in each round, and aligns task creation across clients.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant. These claim elements are considered to be abstract ideas because they are directed to “certain methods of organizing human activity” which include “managing interactions between people.” In this case, creating a task by selecting a person and a due date is an example of a social activity. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing interactions between people, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
The mere nominal recitation of generic computer components does not take the claim out of the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping. The preset panel is merely used to include a person selection component panel, a date selector panel, etc. In response to the invocation operation for the preset panel in the task type block of the first document, the preset panel is displayed and the target option is displayed in the preset panel. Specifically, as shown in FIG. 4 or 5, a task corresponding to the task type block 200 may be created by triggering a target option 400 of a preset panel 301 or a preset panel 302, and task creation efficiency of the user can be improved (Paragraph 0055). The person selection component panel is merely used to select a user (Paragraph 0067). The task server is merely used to receive the editing information of the task corresponding to the task type block and transmit the index information of the task to the target client (Paragraph 0092-0093). The target client is merely used to save the target type block after the target option is selected (Paragraph 0054). These elements of “preset panel,” “task server,” and “target client” are recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer element. At Step 2A Prong2, the preset panel is considered “field of use” since it’s just used to receive task inputs and display task information, but the panel/interface is not improved (MPEP 2106.05h). At Step 2B, this is considered a conventional computer function of “receiving or transmitting data over a network” and “storing information in a memory” (see MPEP 2106.05d). Also, the panels are merely used to arrange information (e.g., present information after the user selected the user and/or date) in a manner that assists users in processing information more quickly, which is not sufficient to show an improvement in computer functionality (see MPEP 2106.05a).
Lastly, the claim fails to recite any improvements to another technology or technical field, improvements to the functioning of the computer itself, use of a particular machine, effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, adding unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application, and/or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular environment. See 84 Fed. Reg. 55. Viewed individually or as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, the claim is not patent eligible.
Independent claims 10 and 19 recite similar features and therefore are rejected for the same reasons as independent claim 1. Claims 2-3, 6-7, 9, 12-16, and 22-23 are rejected for having the same deficiencies as those set forth with respect to the claims that they depend from, independent claims 1, 10, and 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-10, 12-16, 19, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without reciting significantly more.
Independent Claim 1
Step One - First, pursuant to step 1 in the January 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (“2019 PEG”) on 84 Fed. Reg. 53, the claim 1 is directed to a method which is a statutory category.
Step 2A, Prong One - Claim 1 recites: A method for task creation, comprising: creating, in response to an operation of adding a task into a first document, a task in the first document; displaying, in response to an invocation operation in the task of the first document, at least one of a person selection or a date selector and a target option, wherein the target option is configured to give a prompt that a task is to be triggered to be created in response to being selected, wherein displaying: in response to detecting an invocation shortcut character input into the task or a first number of clicks on a person selection in the task, displaying the person selection and the target option; transmitting editing information of the task corresponding to the task in response to a specified operation being completed and the target option being selected, to create the task corresponding to the task, wherein the editing information comprises index information of the task and editing data of the task corresponding to the index information of the task, the editing data of the task comprising at least one of a creator, an executor, or a follower of the task; and receiving an opening request of a task panel that comprises the index information of the task, such that creates and displays the task based on the corresponding editing data of the task that is obtained in accordance with the index information of the task, wherein at least one client is determined to receive the opening request based on at least one of the creator, the executor, or the follower of the task comprised in the editing data of the task. These claim elements are considered to be abstract ideas because they are directed to “certain methods of organizing human activity” which include “managing interactions between people.” In this case, creating a task by selecting a person and a due date is an example of a social activity. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing interactions between people, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 - The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 1 includes additional elements: a preset panel comprising at least one of a person selection component panel or a date selector panel and a target option; a target client; and a task server.
The preset panel is merely used to include a person selection component panel, a date selector panel, etc. In response to the invocation operation for the preset panel in the task type block of the first document, the preset panel is displayed and the target option is displayed in the preset panel. Specifically, as shown in FIG. 4 or 5, a task corresponding to the task type block 200 may be created by triggering a target option 400 of a preset panel 301 or a preset panel 302, and task creation efficiency of the user can be improved (Paragraph 0055). The person selection component panel is merely used to select a user (Paragraph 0067). The task server is merely used to receive the editing information of the task corresponding to the task type block and transmit the index information of the task to the target client (Paragraph 0092-0093). The target client is merely used to save the target type block after the target option is selected (Paragraph 0054). Merely stating that the step is performed by a computer component results in “apply it” on a computer (MPEP 2106.05f). These elements of “preset panel including a person selector panel or a date selector panel,” “task server,” and “target client” are recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer element. Also, the preset panel is considered “field of use” since it’s just used to receive task inputs and display task information, but the panel/interface is not improved (MPEP 2106.05h). Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B - The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the claims describe how to generally “apply” the concept of creating a task. The specification shows that the preset panel is merely used to include a person selection component panel, a date selector panel, etc. In response to the invocation operation for the preset panel in the task type block of the first document, the preset panel is displayed and the target option is displayed in the preset panel. Specifically, as shown in FIG. 4 or 5, a task corresponding to the task type block 200 may be created by triggering a target option 400 of a preset panel 301 or a preset panel 302, and task creation efficiency of the user can be improved (Paragraph 0055). The person selection component panel is merely used to select a user (Paragraph 0067). The task server is merely used to receive the editing information of the task corresponding to the task type block and transmit the index information of the task to the target client (Paragraph 0092-0093). The target client is merely used to save the target type block after the target option is selected (Paragraph 0054). In this case, the steps of “receiving task inputs” and “storing the updated task inputs” are considered well-understood, routine, and conventional functions of “receiving or transmitting data over a network” and “storing information in a memory” (MPEP 2106.05(d)). Further, instructions to display and/or arrange information in a graphical user interface may not be sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality (MPEP 2106.05a). Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Independent Claim 10
Step One - First, pursuant to step 1 in the January 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (“2019 PEG”) on 84 Fed. Reg. 53, the claim 10 is directed to a method which is a statutory category.
Step 2A, Prong One - Claim 10 recites: A method for task creation, comprising: creating, in response to an operation of adding a task into a first document, a first task in the first document; converting, in response to a triggering operation in the first task of the first document, the first task into a second task, wherein the first task and the second task have different content, and the first task is associated with a person selection and the second task is associated with a date selector, wherein converting the first task into the second task comprises: in response to detecting an invocation shortcut character input into the first task or a first number of clicks on a person selection component icon in the first task, displaying the person selection and a target option, and converting, in response to a specified operation completed, the first task into the second task in a case that the target option is selected; transmitting editing information of a task corresponding to the second task in response to a specified operation being completed and a target option being selected, to create the task corresponding to the second task, wherein the editing information comprises index information of the task and editing data of the task corresponding to the index information of the task, the editing data of the task comprising at least one of a creator, an executor, or a follower of the task; and receiving an opening request of a task that comprises the index information of the task, such that creates and displays the task based on the corresponding editing data of the task that is obtained in accordance with the index information of the task, wherein at least one client is determined to receive the opening request based on at least one of the creator, the executor, or the follower of the task comprised in the editing data of the task. These claim elements are considered to be abstract ideas because they are directed to “certain methods of organizing human activity” which include “managing interactions between people.” In this case, creating a task by selecting a person and a due date is an example of a social activity. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing interactions between people, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 - The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 10 includes additional elements: a preset panel comprising at least one of a person selection component panel or a date selector panel and a target option; a target client; and a task server.
The preset panel is merely used to include a person selection component panel, a date selector panel, etc. In response to the invocation operation for the preset panel in the task type block of the first document, the preset panel is displayed and the target option is displayed in the preset panel. Specifically, as shown in FIG. 4 or 5, a task corresponding to the task type block 200 may be created by triggering a target option 400 of a preset panel 301 or a preset panel 302, and task creation efficiency of the user can be improved (Paragraph 0055). The person selection component panel is merely used to select a user (Paragraph 0067). The task server is merely used to receive the editing information of the task corresponding to the task type block and transmit the index information of the task to the target client (Paragraph 0092-0093). The target client is merely used to save the target type block after the target option is selected (Paragraph 0054). Merely stating that the step is performed by a computer component results in “apply it” on a computer (MPEP 2106.05f). These elements of “preset panel including a person selector panel or a date selector panel,” “task server,” and “target client” are recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer element. Also, the preset panel is considered “field of use” since it’s just used to receive task inputs and display task information, but the panel/interface is not improved (MPEP 2106.05h). Accordingly, alone and in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B - The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the claims describe how to generally “apply” the concept of creating a task. The specification shows that the preset panel is merely used to include a person selection component panel, a date selector panel, etc. In response to the invocation operation for the preset panel in the task type block of the first document, the preset panel is displayed and the target option is displayed in the preset panel. Specifically, as shown in FIG. 4 or 5, a task corresponding to the task type block 200 may be created by triggering a target option 400 of a preset panel 301 or a preset panel 302, and task creation efficiency of the user can be improved (Paragraph 0055). The person selection component panel is merely used to select a user (Paragraph 0067). The task server is merely used to receive the editing information of the task corresponding to the task type block and transmit the index information of the task to the target client (Paragraph 0092-0093). The target client is merely used to save the target type block after the target option is selected (Paragraph 0054). In this case, the step of “converting a task in response to a triggering operation” is considered a well-understood, routine, and conventional function of “receiving or transmitting data over a network” and “performing repetitive calculations” (MPEP 2106.05(d)). Further, instructions to display and/or arrange information in a graphical user interface may not be sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality (MPEP 2106.05a). Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Independent claim 19 is directed to an apparatus at step 1, which is a statutory category. Claim 19 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons at step 2a, prong one; step 2a, prong 2; and step 2b. Thus, the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-3, 6, 9, 12-13, and 22-23 are directed to additional functions of the preset panel. The person selection component panel is merely used to select a user (Paragraph 0067). The date selector panel is merely used to select a task deadline (Paragraph 0067) The panels are considered “field of use” (MPEP 2106.05h) at step 2A, Prong 2; as they’re just used to receive a selection from a user, but the interface is not improved. At step 2B, instructions to display and/or arrange information in a graphical user interface may not be sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality (MPEP 2106.05a). In this case, the panels are merely used to arrange information (e.g., present information after the user selected the user and/or date) in a manner that assists users in processing information more quickly, which is not sufficient to show an improvement in computer functionality (see MPEP 2106.05a). Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claims 7 and 15 are directed to additional elements such as: a preset key; a check box; a first content block type identifier; and a second content block type identifier. The preset key is merely used to create, in response to the specified operation completed in the preset panel, the task in the target client on the premise of being selected (Paragraph 0076). The check box is merely used to create the task in the target client in a case that the check box is selected (Paragraph 0072). The first content block type identifier is merely an identifier displayed in an associated zone of the first task type block (Paragraph 0117). The second content block type identifier is merely an identifier displayed in an associated zone of the second task type block (Paragraph 0117). These are considered “field of use” (MPEP 2106.05h) at step 2A, Prong 2; as they’re just used to receive an operation from the user to create the task, but the interface is not improved. At step 2B, these are considered a well-understood, routine, and conventional function of “receiving or transmitting data over a network” (MPEP 2106.05(d)). Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Dependent claims 14 and 16 are directed to additional elements such as: a first icon; and a second icon. The first icon is merely used to enter a task center after being triggered. The task center is integrated in an instant messaging client. The instant messaging client has an associated account relation with an online document (Paragraph 0116). The second icon is merely used to follow the task after being triggered (Paragraph 0116). These are considered “field of use” (MPEP 2106.05h) at step 2A, Prong 2; as they’re just used to receive an operation from the user to trigger an operation, but the interface is not improved. At step 2B, these are considered a well-understood, routine, and conventional function of “receiving or transmitting data over a network” (MPEP 2106.05(d)). Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9, 19, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kulkarni (US 2018/0075387 A1), in view of Fahrni et al. (US 2023/0097739 A1).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Kulkarni discloses a method for task creation, comprising (Paragraph 0005, Aspects are directed to an automated system, method, and computer readable storage device for generation of a work item in a work item tracking system from selected data in a productivity application document):
creating, in response to an operation of adding a task into a first document, a task type block in the first document (Paragraph 0044, As another example and as illustrated in FIG. 4B, a create work item command 404 may be provided in a contextual menu 408 that may be displayed when the user 102 highlights a string 122 or upon receiving an indication of a right-click. In some examples and as illustrated in FIG. 4C, additional work item-creation options 410 may be provided. For example, the additional work item-creation options 410 may include such options as a settings option, an option to create a work item, or an option to create a work item and generate a link for embedding into the document 114 that connects the document to the created work item 124 in the work item tracking system 106. As should be appreciated, the user interface examples illustrated in FIGS. 4A-C are for purposes of illustration. Aspects may be implemented in many different forms and should not be construed as limited to the illustrated examples; Paragraph 0045, An example of action item information mapped into work item fields 502a-c for generating a work item 124 in the work item tracking system 106 is illustrated in FIG. 5A. For example, information from the highlighted string 122 in FIG. 4C is shown parsed and mapped into a “title” field 502a, an “assigned to” field 502b, and a “due date” field 502c. In some examples, a user interface element, such as the example work item user interface element 504 illustrated in FIG. 5A, is displayed in the application user interface 202 when the work item extraction system 110 generates a work item; As stated in Paragraph 0053 & Figures 2-3 of Applicant’s specification, a task type block is a zone created after the operation of adding the task is triggered in the first document. Therefore, based on broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, element 504 in Fig. 5A discloses a task type block since it discloses a zone/block that is added after the operation of adding the task is triggered in the first document in Fig. 4C);
displaying, in response to an invocation operation for a preset panel in the task type block of the first document, the preset panel comprising at least one of a person selection component panel or a date selector panel and a target option in the preset panel, wherein the target option is configured to give a prompt that a task corresponding to the task type block is to be triggered to be created in a target client in response to being selected (Paragraph 0045, An example of action item information mapped into work item fields 502a-c for generating a work item 124 in the work item tracking system 106 is illustrated in FIG. 5A. For example, information from the highlighted string 122 in FIG. 4C is shown parsed and mapped into a “title” field 502a, an “assigned to” field 502b, and a “due date” field 502c. In some examples, a user interface element, such as the example work item user interface element 504 illustrated in FIG. 5A, is displayed in the application user interface 202 when the work item extraction system 110 generates a work item. In some examples, a user interface element, such as the example work item created user interface element 506 illustrated in FIG. 5A, is displayed in the application user interface 202 when a work item 124 is successfully created in the work item tracking system 106. An example of the work item created user interface element 506 displayed in the application user interface 202 upon successful creation of a work item 124 is illustrated in FIG. 5B; Examiner interprets the “create user interface element” as the “target option, wherein the target option is configured to give a prompt that a task corresponding to the task type block is to be triggered to be created in a target client in response to being selected”), …;
Fig. 5A
transmitting, to a task server, editing information of the task corresponding to the task type block in response to a specified operation being completed in the preset panel and the target option being selected, to create the task corresponding to the task type block in the target client (Paragraph 0030, In some examples, work items 124 are defined, viewed, and edited via a work item tracking system client 116, such as a purpose-built client operating on a client computing device operating system, a web-hosted client, project team management software, or other suitable tool. According to an aspect, a work item 124 can be defined via a productivity application 108 executing on a client computing device 104; Paragraph 0035, With reference again to FIG. 1, according to aspects, the example operating environment 100 includes a work item extraction system 110, illustrative of a software module, system, or device communicatively attached to the application 108 and operative to receive a string 122 comprising information relating to an action item, parse the string for one or more attributes for defining a work item 124, and transmit the parsed attributes to the work item tracking system 106. According to an aspect, the parsed attributes are configured in a selected arrangement such that the parsed attributes maps to one or more fields in a work item creation form for creation of the work item in the work item tracking system 106. According to an aspect, the work item extraction system 110 communicates with the server 112 to generate the work item 124; Paragraph 0039, According to an aspect, the work item extraction system 110 comprises a work item generator 306, operative to connect to the work item tracking system server 112, create a work item 124, and map the parsed action item information into work item fields for generating the work item in the work item tracking system 106; Paragraph 0045, An example of action item information mapped into work item fields 502a-c for generating a work item 124 in the work item tracking system 106 is illustrated in FIG. 5A. For example, information from the highlighted string 122 in FIG. 4C is shown parsed and mapped into a “title” field 502a, an “assigned to” field 502b, and a “due date” field 502c. In some examples, a user interface element, such as the example work item user interface element 504 illustrated in FIG. 5A, is displayed in the application user interface 202 when the work item extraction system 110 generates a work item. In some examples, a user interface element, such as the example work item created user interface element 506 illustrated in FIG. 5A, is displayed in the application user interface 202 when a work item 124 is successfully created in the work item tracking system 106. An example of the work item created user interface element 506 displayed in the application user interface 202 upon successful creation of a work item 124 is illustrated in FIG. 5B), wherein the editing information comprises index information of the task and editing data of the task corresponding to the index information of the task (Paragraph 0035, With reference again to FIG. 1, according to aspects, the example operating environment 100 includes a work item extraction system 110, illustrative of a software module, system, or device communicatively attached to the application 108 and operative to receive a string 122 comprising information relating to an action item, parse the string for one or more attributes for defining a work item 124, and transmit the parsed attributes to the work item tracking system 106. According to an aspect, the parsed attributes are configured in a selected arrangement such that the parsed attributes maps to one or more fields in a work item creation form for creation of the work item in the work item tracking system 106. According to an aspect, the work item extraction system 110 communicates with the server 112 to generate the work item 124; Paragraph 0039, According to an aspect, the work item extraction system 110 comprises a work item generator 306, operative to connect to the work item tracking system server 112, create a work item 124, and map the parsed action item information into work item fields for generating the work item in the work item tracking system 106; Examiner interprets the one or more fields as the index information of the task), the editing data of the task comprising at least one of a creator, an executor, or a follower of the task; and receiving, from the task server, an opening request of a task panel that comprises the index information of the task, such that the target client creates and displays the task in the task panel based on the corresponding editing data of the task that is obtained in accordance with the index information of the task, wherein at least one client comprising the target client is determined to receive the opening request based on at least one of the creator, the executor, or the follower of the task comprised in the editing data of the task (Paragraph 0029, The work item tracking system 106 allows users to define work items 124 associated with a project 126. A work item 124 may have one or more fields comprising data related to an attribute of the work item. In one example, a work item 124 includes a “title” field, which may comprise data representing a title of the work item. In another example, a work item 124 includes an “assigned to” field, which may comprise data representing a name of an individual and/or group that is responsible for completing the work item. In another example, a work item 124 includes a “due date” field, which may comprise data representing a target date for completion of the work item; Paragraph 0030, In some examples, work items 124 are defined, viewed, and edited via a work item tracking system client 116, such as a purpose-built client operating on a client computing device operating system, a web-hosted client, project team management software, or other suitable tool. According to an aspect, a work item 124 can be defined via a productivity application 108 executing on a client computing device 104. Client computing devices 104 may be connected via a network 120 connection to the server 112, and are operative to send and receive data associated with various work items 124 via the network connection; It can be noted that the claim language is written in alternative form. The limitation taught by Kulkarni is based on at least an executor of the task).
Fig. 5A
Although Kulkarni discloses wherein the preset panel comprises a person selection component panel (see item 502b, assigned to attendee 1), Kulkarni does not specifically disclose how the user interacts with the person selection component panel to select a person for the task.
However, Fahrni et al. discloses … the preset panel comprising at least one of a person selection component panel or a date selector panel and a target option in the preset panel, wherein the target option is configured to give a prompt that a task corresponding to the task type block is to be triggered to be created in a target client in response to being selected, wherein displaying the preset panel and the target option comprises: in response to detecting an invocation shortcut character input into the task type block or a first number of clicks on a person selection component icon in the task type block, displaying the person selection component panel and the target option in the person selection component panel (see Figure 4 and related text in Paragraph 0031, The assignor can request to assign a task by selecting or indicating a user to whom the task should be assigned and can indicate a due date by which the task should be completed. In some implementations, an assignor can enter the assignee user name or address into a text entry field or select the assignee user from a list of users in order to assign a task to the assignee. In other implementations, the assignor can select a user by clicking on a visual representation of an assignee user (e.g., a picture, icon, or avatar of the assignee user) or by clicking a series of other interactive graphical elements (e.g., buttons); It can be noted that the claim language is written in alternative form. The limitation taught by Fahrni et al. is based on a person selection component panel. Also, Examiner interprets the “assign task button” as the “target option in the preset panel”).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the preset panel comprising a person selection component panel of the invention of Kulkarni to further specify how the user interacts with the person selection component panel to select a person for the task of the invention of Fahrni et al. because doing so would allow the method to select the assignee user from a list of users in order to assign a task to the assignee (see Fahrni et al., Paragraph 0031). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 19 (Currently Amended), Kulkarni discloses an electronic device, comprising: one or more processors; and a storage unit configured to store one or more programs, wherein when the one or more programs are executed by the one or more processors, the one or more processors are caused to (Paragraph 0006, Examples are implemented as a computer process, a computing system, or as an article of manufacture such as a device, computer program product, or computer readable media. According to an aspect, the computer program product is a computer storage media readable by a computer system and encoding a computer program of instructions for executing a computer process);
create, in response to an operation of adding a task into a first document, a task type block in the first document (Paragraph 0044, As another example and as illustrated in FIG. 4B, a create work item command 404 may be provided in a contextual menu 408 that may be displayed when the user 102 highlights a string 122 or upon receiving an indication of a right-click. In some examples and as illustrated in FIG. 4C, additional work item-creation options 410 may be provided. For example, the additional work item-creation options 410 may include such options as a settings option, an option to create a work item, or an option to create a work item and generate a link for embedding into the document 114 that connects the document to the created work item 124 in the work item tracking system 106. As should be appreciated, the user interface examples illustrated in FIGS. 4A-C are for purposes of illustration. Aspects may be implemented in many different forms and should not be construed as limited to the illustrated examples; Paragraph 0045, An example of action item information mapped into work item fields 502a-c for generating a work item 124 in the work item tracking system 106 is illustrated in FIG. 5A. For example, information from the highlighted string 122 in FIG. 4C is shown parsed and mapped into a “title” field 502a, an “assigned to” field 502b, and a “due date” field 502c. In some examples, a user interface element, such as the example work item user interface element 504 illustrated in FIG. 5A, is displayed in the application user interface 202 when the work item extraction system 110 generates a work item; As stated in Paragraph 0053 & Figures 2-3 of Applicant’s specification, a task type block is a zone created after the operation of adding the task is triggered in the first document. Therefore, based on broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, element 504 in Fig. 5A discloses a task type block since it discloses a zone/block that is added after the operation of adding the task is triggered in the first document in Fig. 4C);
display, in response to an invocation operation for a preset panel in the task type block of the first document, the preset panel comprising at least one of a person selection component panel or a date selector panel and a target option in the preset panel, wherein the target option is configured to give a prompt that a task corresponding to the task type block is to be triggered to be created in a target client in response to being selected (Paragraph 0045, An example of action item information mapped into work item fields 502a-c for generating a work item 124 in the work item tracking system 106 is illustrated in FIG. 5A. For example, information from the highlighted string 122 in FIG. 4C is shown parsed and mapped into a “title” field 502a, an “assigned to” field 502b, and a “due date” field 502c. In some examples, a user interface element, such as the example work item user interface element 504 illustrated in FIG. 5A, is displayed in the application user interface 202 when the work item extraction system 110 generates a work item. In some examples, a user interface element, such as the example work item created user interface element 506 illustrated in FIG. 5A, is displayed in the application user interface 202 when a work item 124 is successfully created in the work item tracking system 106. An example of the work item created user interface element 506 displayed in the application user interface 202 upon successful creation of a work item 124 is illustrated in FIG. 5B; Examiner interprets the “create user interface element” as the “target option, wherein the target option is configured to give a prompt that a task corresponding to the task type block is to be triggered to be created in a target client in response to being selected”), wherein displaying the preset panel and the target option comprises: in response to detecting an …, displaying the person selection component panel and the target option in the person selection component panel;
Fig. 5A
transmit, to a task server, editing information of the task corresponding to the task type block in response to a specified operation being completed in the preset panel and the target option being selected, to create the task corresponding to the task type block in the target client (Paragraph 0030, In some examples, work items 124 are defined, viewed, and edited via a work item tracking system client 116, such as a purpose-built client operating on a client computing device operating system, a web-hosted client, project team management software, or other suitable tool. According to an aspect, a work item 124 can be defined via a productivity application 108 executing on a client computing device 104; Paragraph 0035, With reference again to FIG. 1, according to aspects, the example operating environment 100 includes a work item extraction system 110, illustrative of a software module, system, or device communicatively attached to the application 108 and operative to receive a string 122 comprising information relating to an action item, parse the string for one or more attributes for defining a work item 124, and transmit the parsed attributes to the work item tracking system 106. According to an aspect, the parsed attributes are configured in a selected arrangement such that the parsed attributes maps to one or more fields in a work item creation form for creation of the work item in the work item tracking system 106. According to an aspect, the work item extraction system 110 communicates with the server 112 to generate the work item 124; Paragraph 0039, According to an aspect, the work item extraction system 110 comprises a work item generator 306, operative to connect to the work item tracking system server 112, create a work item 124, and map the parsed action item information into work item fields for generating the work item in the work item tracking system 106; Paragraph 0045, An example of action item information mapped into work item fields 502a-c for generating a work item 124 in the work item tracking system 106 is illustrated in FIG. 5A. For example, information from the highlighted string 122 in FIG. 4C is shown parsed and mapped into a “title” field 502a, an “assigned to” field 502b, and a “due date” field 502c. In some examples, a user interface element, such as the example work item user interface element 504 illustrated in FIG. 5A, is displayed in the application user interface 202 when the work item extraction system 110 generates a work item. In some examples, a user interface element, such as the example work item created user interface element 506 illustrated in FIG. 5A, is displayed in the application user interface 202 when a work item 124 is successfully created in the work item tracking system 106. An example of the work item created user interface element 506 displayed in the application user interface 202 upon successful creation of a work item 124 is illustrated in FIG. 5B), wherein the editing information comprises index information of the task and editing data of the task corresponding to the index information of the task (Paragraph 0035, With reference again to FIG. 1, according to aspects, the example operating environment 100 includes a work item extraction system 110, illustrative of a software module, system, or device communicatively attached to the application 108 and operative to receive a string 122 comprising information relating to an action item, parse the string for one or more attributes for defining a work item 124, and transmit the parsed attributes to the work item tracking system 106. According to an aspect, the parsed attributes are configured in a selected arrangement such that the parsed attributes maps to one or more fields in a work item creation form for creation of the work item in the work item tracking system 106. According to an aspect, the work item extraction system 110 communicates with the server 112 to generate the work item 124; Paragraph 0039, According to an aspect, the work item extraction system 110 comprises a work item generator 306, operative to connect to the work item tracking system server 112, create a work item 124, and map the parsed action item information into work item fields for generating the work item in the work item tracking system 106; Examiner interprets the one or more fields as the index information of the task), the editing data of the task comprising at least one of a creator, an executor, or a follower of the task; and receive, from the task server, an opening request of a task panel that comprises the index information of the task, such that the target client creates and displays the task in the task panel based on the corresponding editing data of the task that is obtained in accordance with the index information of the task, wherein at least one client comprising the target client is determined to receive the opening request based on at least one of the creator, the executor, or the follower of the task comprised in the editing data of the task (Paragraph 0029, The work item tracking system 106 allows users to define work items 124 associated with a project 126. A work item 124 may have one or more fields comprising data related to an attribute of the work item. In one example, a work item 124 includes a “title” field, which may comprise data representing a title of the work item. In another example, a work item 124 includes an “assigned to” field, which may comprise data representing a name of an individual and/or group that is responsible for completing the work item. In another example, a work item 124 includes a “due date” field, which may comprise data representing a target date for completion of the work item; Paragraph 0030, In some examples, work items 124 are defined, viewed, and edited via a work item tracking system client 116, such as a purpose-built client operating on a client computing device operating system, a web-hosted client, project team management software, or other suitable tool. According to an aspect, a work item 124 can be defined via a productivity application 108 executing on a client computing device 104. Client computing devices 104 may be connected via a network 120 connection to the server 112, and are operative to send and receive data associated with various work items 124 via the network connection; It can be noted that the claim language is written in alternative form. The limitation taught by Kulkarni is based on at least an executor of the task).
Fig. 5A
Although Kulkarni discloses wherein the preset panel comprises a person selection component panel (see item 502b, assigned to attendee 1), Kulkarni does not specifically disclose how the user interacts with the person selection component panel to select a person for the task.
However, Fahrni et al. discloses… the preset panel comprising at least one of a person selection component panel or a date selector panel and a target option in the preset panel, wherein the target option is configured to give a prompt that a task corresponding to the task type block is to be triggered to be created in a target client in response to being selected, wherein displaying the preset panel and the target option comprises: in response to detecting an invocation shortcut character input into the task type block or a first number of clicks on a person selection component icon in the task type block, displaying the person selection component panel and the target option in the person selection component panel (see Figure 4 and related text in Paragraph 0031, The assignor can request to assign a task by selecting or indicating a user to whom the task should be assigned and can indicate a due date by which the task should be completed. In some implementations, an assignor can enter the assignee user name or address into a text entry field or select the assignee user from a list of users in order to assign a task to the assignee. In other implementations, the assignor can select a user by clicking on a visual representation of an assignee user (e.g., a picture, icon, or avatar of the assignee user) or by clicking a series of other interactive graphical elements (e.g., buttons); It can be noted that the claim language is written in alternative form. The limitation taught by Fahrni et al. is based on a person selection component panel. Also, Examiner interprets the “assign task button” as the “target option in the preset panel”).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the preset panel comprising a person selection component panel of the invention of Kulkarni to further specify how the user interacts with the person selection component panel to select a person for the task of the invention of Fahrni et al. because doing so would allow the method to select the assignee user from a list of users in order to assign a task to the assignee (see Fahrni et al., Paragraph 0031). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claims 2 and 22 (Previously Presented), which are dependent of claims 1 and 19, the combination of Kulkarni and Fahrni et al. discloses all the limitations in claims 1 and 19. Although Kulkarni discloses wherein the preset panel comprises a person selection component panel (see item 502b, assigned to attendee 1), Kulkarni does not specifically disclose how the user interacts with the person selection component panel to select a person for the task.
However, Fahrni et al. discloses wherein displaying, in response to the invocation operation for the preset panel in the task type block of the first document, the preset panel and the target option in the preset panel comprises: displaying, in response to an invocation operation for the person selection component panel in the task type block of the first document, the person selection component panel and the target option in the person selection component panel (Paragraph 0031, The assignor can request to assign a task by selecting or indicating a user to whom the task should be assigned and can indicate a due date by which the task should be completed. In some implementations, an assignor can enter the assignee user name or address into a text entry field or select the assignee user from a list of users in order to assign a task to the assignee. In other implementations, the assignor can select a user by clicking on a visual representation of an assignee user (e.g., a picture, icon, or avatar of the assignee user) or by clicking a series of other interactive graphical elements (e.g., buttons)).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the preset panel comprising a person selection component panel of the invention of Kulkarni to further specify how the user interacts with the person selection component panel to select a person for the task of the invention of Fahrni et al. because doing so would allow the method to select the assignee user from a list of users in order to assign a task to the assignee (see Fahrni et al., Paragraph 0031). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claims 3 and 23 (Previously Presented), which are dependent of claims 1 and 19, the combination of Kulkarni and Fahrni et al. discloses all the limitations in claims 1 and 19. Although Kulkarni discloses wherein the preset panel comprises a date selector panel (see item 502c, due date), Kulkarni does not specifically disclose how the user interacts with the date selector panel to select a date.
However, Fahrni et al. discloses wherein displaying, in response to the invocation operation for the preset panel in the task type block of the first document, the preset panel and the target option in the preset panel comprises: displaying, in response to an invocation operation for the date selector panel in the task type block of the first document, the date selector panel and the target option in the date selector panel (Paragraph 0032, In the task management application graphical user interface, the assignee can make a variety of changes to the properties of the task defined by the data object including changing the completion status, the task name, the due date, as well as notes and comments related to the task).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the preset panel comprising a date selector panel of the invention of Kulkarni to further specify how the user interacts with the date selector panel to select a date of the invention of Fahrni et al. because doing so would allow the method to define the properties of the task by providing a due date (see Fahrni et al., Paragraph 0032). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 6 (Previously Presented), which is dependent of claim 1, the combination of Kulkarni and Fahrni et al. discloses all the limitations in claim 1. Although Kulkarni discloses wherein the preset panel comprises a person selection component panel (see item 502b, assigned to attendee 1 based on a text string) and a date selector panel (see item 502c, due date based on a text string), Kulkarni does not specifically disclose how the user interacts with the panel to select an executor or a deadline of the task.
However, Fahrni et al. discloses wherein the specified operation comprises: an operation of selecting the executor and/or the follower of the task (Paragraph 0031, The assignor can request to assign a task by selecting or indicating a user to whom the task should be assigned and can indicate a due date by which the task should be completed. In some implementations, an assignor can enter the assignee user name or address into a text entry field or select the assignee user from a list of users in order to assign a task to the assignee. In other implementations, the assignor can select a user by clicking on a visual representation of an assignee user (e.g., a picture, icon, or avatar of the assignee user) or by clicking a series of other interactive graphical elements (e.g., buttons); It can be noted that the claim language is written in alternative form. The limitation taught by Fahrni et al. is based on selecting an executor (e.g., assignee));
or an operation of selecting reminder time and/or a deadline of the task (Paragraph 0032, In the task management application graphical user interface, the assignee can make a variety of changes to the properties of the task defined by the data object including changing the completion status, the task name, the due date, as well as notes and comments related to the task); It can be noted that the claim language is written in alternative form. The limitation taught by Fahrni et al. is based on selecting a deadline of the task).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the preset panel comprising a person selection component panel and a date selector panel of the invention of Kulkarni to further specify how the user interacts with the panel to select an operation for the task of the invention of Fahrni et al. because doing so would allow the method to select the assignee user from a list of users in order to assign a task to the assignee and/or select a due date (see Fahrni et al., Paragraphs 0031-0032). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 7 (Previously Presented), which is dependent of claim 2, the combination of Kulkarni and Fahrni et al. discloses all the limitations in claim 2. Kulkarni further discloses wherein the target option comprises: a preset key configured to create, in response to the specified operation completed in the preset panel, the task in the target client on the premise of being selected; or a check box, wherein prompt information is correspondingly displayed near the check box, and the prompt information is configured to give a prompt of creating, in response to the specified operation completed in the preset panel, the task in the target client in a case that the check box is selected (Paragraph 0030, In some examples, work items 124 are defined, viewed, and edited via a work item tracking system client 116, such as a purpose-built client operating on a client computing device operating system, a web-hosted client, project team management software, or other suitable tool. According to an aspect, a work item 124 can be defined via a productivity application 108 executing on a client computing device 104; Paragraph 0045, An example of action item information mapped into work item fields 502a-c for generating a work item 124 in the work item tracking system 106 is illustrated in FIG. 5A. For example, information from the highlighted string 122 in FIG. 4C is shown parsed and mapped into a “title” field 502a, an “assigned to” field 502b, and a “due date” field 502c. In some examples, a user interface element, such as the example work item user interface element 504 illustrated in FIG. 5A, is displayed in the application user interface 202 when the work item extraction system 110 generates a work item. In some examples, a user interface element, such as the example work item created user interface element 506 illustrated in FIG. 5A, is displayed in the application user interface 202 when a work item 124 is successfully created in the work item tracking system 106. An example of the work item created user interface element 506 displayed in the application user interface 202 upon successful creation of a work item 124 is illustrated in FIG. 5B; It can be noted that the claim language is written in alternative form. The limitation taught by Kulkarni is based on selecting a preset key configured to create, in response to the specified operation completed in the preset panel, the task in the target client on the premise of being selected. Examiner interprets the “create user interface element” as the “preset key configured to create”).
Fig. 5A
Regarding claim 9 (Previously Presented), which is dependent of claim 3, the combination of Kulkarni and Fahrni et al. discloses all the limitations in claim 3. Although Kulkarni discloses wherein the preset panel comprises a date selector panel (see item 502c, due date), Kulkarni does not specifically disclose how the user interacts with the date selector panel to select a date.
However, Fahrni et al. discloses wherein displaying, in response to the invocation operation for the date selector panel in the task type block of the first document, the date selector panel and the target option in the date selector panel comprises: displaying, in response to the invocation operation for the date selector panel in the task type block of the first document by clicking on a date selector icon, the date selector panel and the target option in the date selector panel (Paragraph 0032, In the task management application graphical user interface, the assignee can make a variety of changes to the properties of the task defined by the data object including changing the completion status, the task name, the due date, as well as notes and comments related to the task).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the preset panel comprising a date selector panel of the invention of Kulkarni to further specify how the user interacts with the date selector panel to select a date of the invention of Fahrni et al. because doing so would allow the method to define the properties of the task by providing a due date (see Fahrni et al., Paragraph 0032). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kulkarni (US 2018/0075387 A1), in view of Newhouse et al. (US 2020/0372432 A1).
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended), Kulkarni discloses a method for task creation, comprising (Paragraph 0005, Aspects are directed to an automated system, method, and computer readable storage device for generation of a work item in a work item tracking system from selected data in a productivity application document):
creating, in response to an operation of adding a task into a first document, a first task type block in the first document (Paragraph 0044, As another example and as illustrated in FIG. 4B, a create work item command 404 may be provided in a contextual menu 408 that may be displayed when the user 102 highlights a string 122 or upon receiving an indication of a right-click. In some examples and as illustrated in FIG. 4C, additional work item-creation options 410 may be provided. For example, the additional work item-creation options 410 may include such options as a settings option, an option to create a work item, or an option to create a work item and generate a link for embedding into the document 114 that connects the document to the created work item 124 in the work item tracking system 106. As should be appreciated, the user interface examples illustrated in FIGS. 4A-C are for purposes of illustration. Aspects may be implemented in many different forms and should not be construed as limited to the illustrated examples; Paragraph 0045, An example of action item information mapped into work item fields 502a-c for generating a work item 124 in the work item tracking system 106 is illustrated in FIG. 5A. For example, information from the highlighted string 122 in FIG. 4C is shown parsed and mapped into a “title” field 502a, an “assigned to” field 502b, and a “due date” field 502c. In some examples, a user interface element, such as the example work item user interface element 504 illustrated in FIG. 5A, is displayed in the application user interface 202 when the work item extraction system 110 generates a work item; As stated in Paragraph 0053 & Figures 2-3 of Applicant’s specification, a task type block is a zone created after the operation of adding the task is triggered in the first document. Therefore, based on broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, element 504 in Fig. 5A discloses a task type block since it discloses a zone/block that is added after the operation of adding the task is triggered in the first document in Fig. 4C);
[editing], in response to a triggering operation for a preset control in the first task type block of the first document, the first task type block into a second task type block, wherein the first task type block and the second task type block have different content block types (Figure 5A, item 502b, Attendee 1; Paragraph 0030, In some examples, work items 124 are defined, viewed, and edited via a work item tracking system client 116, such as a purpose-built client operating on a client computing device operating system, a web-hosted client, project team management software, or other suitable tool), and the first task type block is associated with a person selection component panel and the second task type block is associated with a date selector panel, …, displaying a preset panel comprising the person selection component panel and a target option in the preset panel, and converting, in response to a specified operation completed in the preset panel, the first task type block into the second task type block in a case that the target option is selected (Paragraph 0045, An example of action item information mapped into work item fields 502a-c for generating a work item 124 in the work item tracking system 106 is illustrated in FIG. 5A. For example, information from the highlighted string 122 in FIG. 4C is shown parsed and mapped into a “title” field 502a, an “assigned to” field 502b, and a “due date” field 502c. In some examples, a user interface element, such as the example work item user interface element 504 illustrated in FIG. 5A, is displayed in the application user interface 202 when the work item extraction system 110 generates a work item. In some examples, a user interface element, such as the example work item created user interface element 506 illustrated in FIG. 5A, is displayed in the application user interface 202 when a work item 124 is successfully created in the work item tracking system 106. An example of the work item created user interface element 506 displayed in the application user interface 202 upon successful creation of a work item 124 is illustrated in FIG. 5B; Examiner interprets the “create user interface element” as the “target option, wherein the target option is configured to give a prompt that a task corresponding to the task type block is to be triggered to be created in a target client in response to being selected”);
transmitting, to a task server, editing information of the task corresponding to the task type block in response to the specified operation being completed in the preset panel and the target option being selected, to create the task corresponding to the second task type block in the target client (Paragraph 0030, In some examples, work items 124 are defined, viewed, and edited via a work item tracking system client 116, such as a purpose-built client operating on a client computing device operating system, a web-hosted client, project team management software, or other suitable tool. According to an aspect, a work item 124 can be defined via a productivity application 108 executing on a client computing device 104; Paragraph 0035, With reference again to FIG. 1, according to aspects, the example operating environment 100 includes a work item extraction system 110, illustrative of a software module, system, or device communicatively attached to the application 108 and operative to receive a string 122 comprising information relating to an action item, parse the string for one or more attributes for defining a work item 124, and transmit the parsed attributes to the work item tracking system 106. According to an aspect, the parsed attributes are configured in a selected arrangement such that the parsed attributes maps to one or more fields in a work item creation form for creation of the work item in the work item tracking system 106. According to an aspect, the work item extraction system 110 communicates with the server 112 to generate the work item 124; Paragraph 0039, According to an aspect, the work item extraction system 110 comprises a work item generator 306, operative to connect to the work item tracking system server 112, create a work item 124, and map the parsed action item information into work item fields for generating the work item in the work item tracking system 106; Paragraph 0045, An example of action item information mapped into work item fields 502a-c for generating a work item 124 in the work item tracking system 106 is illustrated in FIG. 5A. For example, information from the highlighted string 122 in FIG. 4C is shown parsed and mapped into a “title” field 502a, an “assigned to” field 502b, and a “due date” field 502c. In some examples, a user interface element, such as the example work item user interface element 504 illustrated in FIG. 5A, is displayed in the application user interface 202 when the work item extraction system 110 generates a work item. In some examples, a user interface element, such as the example work item created user interface element 506 illustrated in FIG. 5A, is displayed in the application user interface 202 when a work item 124 is successfully created in the work item tracking system 106. An example of the work item created user interface element 506 displayed in the application user interface 202 upon successful creation of a work item 124 is illustrated in FIG. 5B), wherein the editing information comprises index information of the task and editing data of the task corresponding to the index information of the task (Paragraph 0035, With reference again to FIG. 1, according to aspects, the example operating environment 100 includes a work item extraction system 110, illustrative of a software module, system, or device communicatively attached to the application 108 and operative to receive a string 122 comprising information relating to an action item, parse the string for one or more attributes for defining a work item 124, and transmit the parsed attributes to the work item tracking system 106. According to an aspect, the parsed attributes are configured in a selected arrangement such that the parsed attributes maps to one or more fields in a work item creation form for creation of the work item in the work item tracking system 106. According to an aspect, the work item extraction system 110 communicates with the server 112 to generate the work item 124; Paragraph 0039, According to an aspect, the work item extraction system 110 comprises a work item generator 306, operative to connect to the work item tracking system server 112, create a work item 124, and map the parsed action item information into work item fields for generating the work item in the work item tracking system 106; Examiner interprets the one or more fields as the index information of the task), the editing data of the task comprising at least one of a creator, an executor, or a follower of the task; and receiving, from the task server, an opening request of a task panel that comprises the index information of the task, such that the target client creates and displays the task in the task panel based on the corresponding editing data of the task that is obtained in accordance with the index information of the task, wherein at least one client comprising the target client is determined to receive the opening request based on at least one of the creator, the executor, or the follower of the task comprised in the editing data of the task (Paragraph 0029, The work item tracking system 106 allows users to define work items 124 associated with a project 126. A work item 124 may have one or more fields comprising data related to an attribute of the work item. In one example, a work item 124 includes a “title” field, which may comprise data representing a title of the work item. In another example, a work item 124 includes an “assigned to” field, which may comprise data representing a name of an individual and/or group that is responsible for completing the work item. In another example, a work item 124 includes a “due date” field, which may comprise data representing a target date for completion of the work item; Paragraph 0030, In some examples, work items 124 are defined, viewed, and edited via a work item tracking system client 116, such as a purpose-built client operating on a client computing device operating system, a web-hosted client, project team management software, or other suitable tool. According to an aspect, a work item 124 can be defined via a productivity application 108 executing on a client computing device 104. Client computing devices 104 may be connected via a network 120 connection to the server 112, and are operative to send and receive data associated with various work items 124 via the network connection; It can be noted that the claim language is written in alternative form. The limitation taught by Kulkarni is based on at least an executor of the task).
Fig. 5A
Although Kulkarni discloses wherein information in the first task type block and the second task type block may be defined or edited (see Paragraph 0030; item 502b, assigned to attendee 1; and item 502c, due date), Kulkarni does not specifically disclose how the user interacts with the first task type block and/or the second task type block to convert the first task type block into a second task type block (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraph 0114 & Figure 9D, edit the user interface to display the person assign to the task).
However, Newhouse et al. discloses converting, in response to a triggering operation for a preset control in the first task type block of the first document, the first task type block into a second task type block, wherein the first task type block and the second task type block have different content block types, and the first task type block is associated with a person selection component panel and the second task type block is associated with a date selector panel, wherein converting the first task type block into the second task type block comprises: in response to detecting an invocation shortcut character input into the first task type block or a first number of clicks on a person selection component icon in the first task type block, displaying a preset panel comprising the person selection component panel and a target option in the preset panel, and converting, in response to a specified operation completed in the preset panel, the first task type block into the second task type block in a case that the target option is selected (Paragraph 0183, The user can type expressions, prefixes, and/or symbols that can be interpreted by content management system 106 to define tasks, users to whom the tasks are assigned, due dates, etc.; Paragraph 0192, In some implementations, GUI 1300 can include graphical element 1304 for specifying a user responsible for performing a task. For example, a user of client device 240 can provide input to CMS client 242 selecting task 1204 presented on GUI 1300. The user can, for example, select the text of task 1204 by providing explicit input selecting task 1204 or by hovering a cursor over task 1204. In response to the selection of task 1204, CMS client 242 can present graphical element 1304. In some implementations, graphical element 1304 can be automatically displayed for a task without having the corresponding task selected by a user. The user can select graphical element 1304 to cause CMS client 242 to present a user selection control for selecting one or more users to assign to the selected task. This can be an additional way to assign a task to a user in addition to or as an alternative to using mentions as discussed above. In some implementations, a representation of the users assigned to a task can be displayed in place of graphical element 1304. In some implementations, where there are multiple users assigned to a task, the representation of the users assigned to a task can be a face pile, as described above; Examiner interprets “updating the user interface with the assigned user” as “converting the first task type block into a second task type block.” Also, using “mentions” as “detecting an invocation shortcut character input into the first task type block “).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first task type block of the invention of Kulkarni to further specify how the user interacts with the first task type block to convert the first task type block into a second task type block (e.g., edit the user interface to display the person assign to the task) of the invention of Newhouse et al. because doing so would allow the method to display a representation of the users assigned to a task (see Newhouse et al., Paragraph 0192). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), which is dependent of claim 10, the combination of Kulkarni and Newhouse et al. discloses all the limitations in claim 10. Although Kulkarni discloses wherein information in the first task type block may be defined or edited (see Paragraph 0030 & item 502b, assigned to attendee 1), Kulkarni does not specifically disclose how the user interacts with the first task type block to convert the first task type block into a second task type block (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraph 0114 & Figure 9D, edit the user interface to display the person assign to the task).
However, Newhouse et al. discloses wherein converting, in response to the specified operation completed in the preset panel, the first task type block into the second task type block in the case that the target option is selected comprises: converting, in response to a specified operation completed in the person selection component panel, the first task type block into the second task type block in the first document in the case that the target option is selected (Paragraph 0192, In some implementations, GUI 1300 can include graphical element 1304 for specifying a user responsible for performing a task. For example, a user of client device 240 can provide input to CMS client 242 selecting task 1204 presented on GUI 1300. The user can, for example, select the text of task 1204 by providing explicit input selecting task 1204 or by hovering a cursor over task 1204. In response to the selection of task 1204, CMS client 242 can present graphical element 1304. In some implementations, graphical element 1304 can be automatically displayed for a task without having the corresponding task selected by a user. The user can select graphical element 1304 to cause CMS client 242 to present a user selection control for selecting one or more users to assign to the selected task. This can be an additional way to assign a task to a user in addition to or as an alternative to using mentions as discussed above. In some implementations, a representation of the users assigned to a task can be displayed in place of graphical element 1304. In some implementations, where there are multiple users assigned to a task, the representation of the users assigned to a task can be a face pile, as described above; Examiner interprets “updating the user interface with the assigned user” as “converting the first task type block into a second task type block”), wherein the second task type block displays a date selector icon and personnel information selected through the person selection component panel (Paragraph 0191, In some implementations, GUI 1300 can include graphical element 1302 for specifying a due date for a task. For example, a user of client device 240 can provide input to CMS client 242 selecting task 1204 presented on GUI 1300. The user can, for example, select the text of task 1204 by providing explicit input selecting task 1204 or by hovering a cursor over task 1204. In response to the selection of task 1204, CMS client 242 can present graphical element 1302. In some implementations, graphical element 1302 can be automatically displayed for a task without having the corresponding task selected by a user. The user can select graphical element 1302 to cause CMS client 242 to present an input (e.g., a text field or calendar control) for selecting a due date for the selected task. After receiving user input selecting the due date for the selected task, CMS client 242 can send the due date for the task to content management system 106 to update the task data with the new due date; Paragraph 0192, The user can select graphical element 1304 to cause CMS client 242 to present a user selection control for selecting one or more users to assign to the selected task. This can be an additional way to assign a task to a user in addition to or as an alternative to using mentions as discussed above. In some implementations, a representation of the users assigned to a task can be displayed in place of graphical element 1304. In some implementations, where there are multiple users assigned to a task, the representation of the users assigned to a task can be a face pile, as described above).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first task type block of the invention of Kulkarni to further specify how the user interacts with the first task type block to convert the first task type block into a second task type block (e.g., edit the user interface to display the person assign to the task) of the invention of Newhouse et al. because doing so would allow the method to display a representation of the users assigned to a task (see Newhouse et al., Paragraph 0192). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kulkarni (US 2018/0075387 A1), in view of Newhouse et al. (US 2020/0372432 A1), in further view of Rosenstein et al. (US 12,217,215 B1).
Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), which is dependent of claim 10, the combination of Kulkarni and Fahrni et al. discloses all the limitations in claim 10. Although Kulkarni discloses wherein information in the first task type block may be defined or edited (see Paragraph 0030; item 502b, assigned to attendee 1; item 502c, due date), Kulkarni does not specifically disclose how the user interacts with the first task type block to convert the first task type block into a second task type block (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraph 0114 & Figure 9D, edit the user interface to display the person assign to the task).
However, Newhouse et al. discloses wherein converting, in response to the specified operation completed in the preset panel, the first task type block into the second task type block in the case that the target option is selected comprises: converting, in response to a specified operation completed in the date selector panel, the first task type block into the second task type block in the first document in the case that the target option is selected (Paragraph 0191, In some implementations, GUI 1300 can include graphical element 1302 for specifying a due date for a task. For example, a user of client device 240 can provide input to CMS client 242 selecting task 1204 presented on GUI 1300. The user can, for example, select the text of task 1204 by providing explicit input selecting task 1204 or by hovering a cursor over task 1204. In response to the selection of task 1204, CMS client 242 can present graphical element 1302. In some implementations, graphical element 1302 can be automatically displayed for a task without having the corresponding task selected by a user. The user can select graphical element 1302 to cause CMS client 242 to present an input (e.g., a text field or calendar control) for selecting a due date for the selected task. After receiving user input selecting the due date for the selected task, CMS client 242 can send the due date for the task to content management system 106 to update the task data with the new due date), wherein the second task type block displays the person selection component icon … (Paragraph 0191, In some implementations, GUI 1300 can include graphical element 1302 for specifying a due date for a task. For example, a user of client device 240 can provide input to CMS client 242 selecting task 1204 presented on GUI 1300. The user can, for example, select the text of task 1204 by providing explicit input selecting task 1204 or by hovering a cursor over task 1204. In response to the selection of task 1204, CMS client 242 can present graphical element 1302. In some implementations, graphical element 1302 can be automatically displayed for a task without having the corresponding task selected by a user. The user can select graphical element 1302 to cause CMS client 242 to present an input (e.g., a text field or calendar control) for selecting a due date for the selected task. After receiving user input selecting the due date for the selected task, CMS client 242 can send the due date for the task to content management system 106 to update the task data with the new due date; Paragraph 0192, The user can select graphical element 1304 to cause CMS client 242 to present a user selection control for selecting one or more users to assign to the selected task. This can be an additional way to assign a task to a user in addition to or as an alternative to using mentions as discussed above. In some implementations, a representation of the users assigned to a task can be displayed in place of graphical element 1304. In some implementations, where there are multiple users assigned to a task, the representation of the users assigned to a task can be a face pile, as described above).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first task type block of the invention of Kulkarni to further specify how the user interacts with the first task type block to convert the first task type block into a second task type block (e.g., edit the user interface to display the person assign to the task) of the invention of Newhouse et al. because doing so would allow the method to display a representation of the users assigned to a task (see Newhouse et al., Paragraph 0192). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Although the combination of Kulkarni and Newhouse et al. discloses wherein the second task type block displays a person selection component icon (Paragraph 0191, a representation of the users assigned to a task), the combination of Kulkarni and Newhouse et al. does not specifically disclose wherein the wherein the second task type block displays time information selected through the date selector panel.
However, Rosenstein et al. discloses wherein the second task type block displays the person selection component icon and time information selected through the date selector panel (Column 15, lines 55-64, For illustrative purposes, FIG. 3 may represent default values of the display parameters (e.g., prior to filtering out distractions). The various user interface elements may correspond to features available to a user accessing the first unit of work via the first work unit page. By way of non-limiting illustration, a user interface element 302 may display a title of the first unit of work (e.g., Task X). A user interface element 304 may display an assignee of the first unit of work (e.g., User A). A user interface element 305 may display an assignor of the first unit of work (e.g., User B). A user interface element 306 may display a due date of the first unit of work. A user interface element 308 may display a unit of work description for the first unit of work. A user interface element 309 may display notifications and/or alerts and/or provide functionality of accessing the notifications and/or alerts).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first task type block of the invention of Kulkarni and Newhouse et al. to further specify how the user interacts with the first task type block to convert the first task type block into a second task type block (e.g., edit the user interface to display the time information) of the invention of Rosenstein et al. because doing so would allow the method to display an assignee of the first unit of work and a due date of the first unit of work (see Rosenstein et al., Column 15, lines 55-64). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 14 (Previously Presented), which is dependent of claim 12, the combination of Kulkarni, Fahrni et al., and Rosenstein et al. discloses all the limitations in claim 12. Although Kulkarni discloses wherein information in the first task type block may be defined or edited (see Paragraph 0030 & item 502b, assigned to attendee 1), Kulkarni does not specifically disclose how the user interacts with the first task type block to convert the first task type block into a second task type block (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraph 0114 & Figure 9D, edit the user interface to display the person assign to the task).
However, Newhouse et al. discloses converting the first task type block into a second task type block (Paragraph 0192, The user can select graphical element 1304 to cause CMS client 242 to present a user selection control for selecting one or more users to assign to the selected task. This can be an additional way to assign a task to a user in addition to or as an alternative to using mentions as discussed above. In some implementations, a representation of the users assigned to a task can be displayed in place of graphical element 1304. In some implementations, where there are multiple users assigned to a task, the representation of the users assigned to a task can be a face pile, as described above; Examiner interprets “updating the user interface with the assigned user” as “converting the first task type block into a second task type block”), wherein the second task type block further displays a first icon and a second icon, wherein the first icon is configured to enter a task center after being triggered, and the second icon is configured to follow the task after being triggered (Paragraph 0007, The tasks can be assigned to particular users and/or be assigned due dates. The content item can be shared with other users or followed by other users such that updates to the content item (e.g., updates to the tasks) can cause notifications to be sent to the users with whom the content item is shared or who follow the content item. When the content item is shared with or added to a project, the content item can be shared with all members of the project; Paragraph 0111, If the user is currently a member of project 340, the user can select graphical element 452, which can be displayed with an alternate label such as “invite project members,” to invite another user or users to join the project; Examiner interprets “user interface elements for sharing or adding content of the project” as the “first icon and the second icon”).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first task type block of the invention of Kulkarni to further specify how the user interacts with the first task type block to convert the first task type block into a second task type block, wherein the second task type block further displays a first icon and a second icon of the invention of Newhouse et al. because doing so would allow the method to invite or share content with other users (see Newhouse et al., Paragraphs 0007 & 0111). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 15 (Previously Presented), which is dependent of claim 10, the combination of Kulkarni and Newhouse et al. discloses all the limitations in claim 10. Although the combination of Kulkarni and Newhouse discloses a first type block and a second task type block, the combination of Kulkarni and Newhouse et al. does not specifically disclose a content block type identifier in an associated zone of the first task type block (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraph 0117 and related text in Figures 9G1 and 9G2, checkbox).
However, Rosenstein et al. discloses displaying, in a case that a focus is located on the … task type block, a …content block type identifier in an associated zone of the … task type block; and displaying, in a case that a focus is located on the … task type block, a … content block type identifier in an associated zone of the … task type block (Column 14, lines 41-46, In some implementations, user interface component 112 may be configured to effectuate presentation of a user interface and/or a user interface portion configured to receive user input conveying context information. The user interface and/or user interface portion may include one or more of a menu, drop-down menu, check boxes, and/or other features. By way of non-limiting illustration, a pop up menu may be displayed within a work unit page for a unit of work).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first task type block and the second task type block of the invention of Kulkarni and Newhouse et al. to further incorporate content block type identifier (e.g., checkbox) of the invention of Rosenstein et al. because doing so would allow the task type block to include one or more check boxes (see Rosenstein et al., Column 14, lines 41-46). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 16 (Original), which is dependent of claim 14, the combination of Kulkarni, Newhouse et al., and Rosenstein et al. discloses all the limitations in claim 14. Although Kulkarni discloses wherein information in the first task type block may be defined or edited (see Paragraph 0030 & item 502b, assigned to attendee 1), Kulkarni does not specifically disclose wherein the user interacts with the first task type block to convert the first task type block into a second task type block, wherein the first icon is configured to enter a task center after being triggered (see Applicant’s specification, Paragraph 0114 & Figure 9D).
However, Newhouse et al. discloses wherein the task center is integrated in an instant messaging client (Paragraph 0007, The tasks can be assigned to particular users and/or be assigned due dates. The content item can be shared with other users or followed by other users such that updates to the content item (e.g., updates to the tasks) can cause notifications to be sent to the users with whom the content item is shared or who follow the content item. When the content item is shared with or added to a project, the content item can be shared with all members of the project; Paragraph 0111, If the user is currently a member of project 340, the user can select graphical element 452, which can be displayed with an alternate label such as “invite project members,” to invite another user or users to join the project; Paragraph 0145, Content management system 106 can record or store information describing the users' activities within content management system 106. For example, content management system 106 can store information describing interactions (e.g., messaging, mentioning, sharing, collaborating on a content item, etc.) between users, which content items a user views and/or edits, which projects a user has viewed or is a member, and/or which groups or teams a user is a member).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the first task type block of the invention of Kulkarni to further specify how the user interacts with the first task type block to convert the first task type block into a second task type block, wherein the second task type block further displays a second icon configured to enter a task center after being triggered of the invention of Newhouse et al. because doing so would allow the method to invite or share content with other users (see Newhouse et al., Paragraphs 0007 & 0111). Further, the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in combination each element would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Nouri et al. (US 2023/0206152 A1) – discloses a high level task feature information may be presented in a board representation 308 form and may include but is not limited to task name, due date if known, assigned user(s) 310, checklist of items (e.g., subtask information), and completion status of task and checklist items. Of course, each board representation 308 of each task may display more or less information and/or different information than that which is depicted in FIG. 3. Similarly, each board representation 308 of each task may display information that is different from another board representation (see at least Figure 3 and related text in Paragraph 0036).
Maan et al. (US 2021/0342785 A1) – discloses using interface 900 a user may select default values for new items added to a board. Specifically, a user may enter values that will be added to new board items. For example, the user may select cell values for some or all of Person 902, Status 904, Date 906, Dropdown 908, Formula 910, Agenda 912 (or other fields) using interface 900 that will populate on the board every time a new item is added (see at least Figure 9 and related text in Paragraph 0378).
Zeng (CN 112668283 A) – discloses adding task identifier in the text row in response to receiving a task adding instruction of a target text. A task adding control is displayed for adding the task in response to the selection operation of the target text line in the text line. The task adding control is provided with a task information interaction window. A corresponding target task is generated in the text row based on the task information input by a first user in the task information interaction window and the target text (see at least Abstract).
/MARJORIE PUJOLS-CRUZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3624