DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claim 11, the recitation “a communication module” is recited on line 6. It is unclear “a communication module”, on line 6 is the same “a communication module of a power tool”, on line 2 or different one. Clarification is required.
Claims 12-29 are rejected due to dependencies on the base claim 1.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the state of the battery pack" (emphasis added), in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (hereinafter Zhu, US 2019/0344419 A1).
For claim 18, Zhu discloses a power tool system (Fig. 1 of Zhu discloses a power tool – see Zhu, Fig. 1, paragraph [0066]), comprising:
a storage module, configured to store a predetermined time in advance (Fig. 9 of Zhu discloses a storage module 22, configured to store a predetermined time in advance – see Zhu, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0065], [0072], [0079], [0113] and [0133]. It is noted that Zhu discloses the storage module 22 which does not store specific time in advance. However, the storage module 22 of Zhu is used to store parameters to rotate motor reversely and forwardly for a preset time – see paragraph [0132]-[0133]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Zhu’s storage module to include storing a predetermined time in advance for purpose of controlling power tool efficiently);
a detection module, configured to detect a conduction signal of a switch (Fig. 9 of Zhu discloses a detection module 24, configured to detect a conduction signal of a switch “Start switch”/“turbo switch” – see Zhu, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0067] and [0106]);
a control module of a power tool, configured to: control, after receiving the conduction signal of the switch, a motor to operate; detect an operation time of the motor; and detect a signal of a battery pack, in response to the operation time being the predetermined time, so as to determine a state of the battery pack based on the signal of the battery pack (Figs. 9-14 of Zhu discloses a control module 23/11 of a power tool, configured to: control, after receiving the conduction signal of the switch “Start switch”/“turbo switch”, a motor 13 to operate; detect an operation time of the motor; and detect a signal of a battery pack, in response to the operation time being the predetermined time, so as to determine a state of the battery pack 3 based on the signal of the battery pack 3 – see Zhu, Figs. 9-a4, paragraphs [0086], [0096], [0106]-0107],[0113], [0132]-[0133], and [0137]).
For claim 19, Zhu in view of Yang disclose the power tool system according to claim 18, wherein, the state of the battery pack comprises: the battery pack operating normally; and the battery pack being malfunctioned (see Zhu, Figs. 9-14, paragraphs [0102] and [0116]).
Claims 11-12 and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong et al. (hereinafter Zhong, CN 110401385 A) in view of Zhu et al. (hereinafter Zhu, US 2019/0344419 A1).
For claim 11, Zhong discloses a power tool system (Fig. 1 of Zhong discloses a power tool 100 – see Zhong, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0040] and [0058]), comprising: a switch (Fig. 1 of Zhong discloses a switch 31 included in driving module 30 – see Zhong, Fig. 1, paragraph [0058]); a motor connected to the switch (Fig. 1 of Zhong discloses a motor 10 connected to the switch 31 – see Zhong, Fig. 1, paragraph [0058]); a control module of a power tool connected to the motor (Fig. 1 of Zhong discloses a control module 40/200 of a power tool 100 connected to the motor 10 – see Zhong, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0060]-[0061] and [0090]); a power supply module of the power tool connected to the control module of the power tool (Fig. 1 of a power supply module 20 of the power tool 100 connected to the control module 40 of the power tool 100 – see Zhong, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0060]-[0061]); and a battery pack configured to supply power to the power supply module of the power tool (see Zhong, Figs. 3 and 14-15, paragraphs [0018], [0070], and [0077]-[0078]).
Zhong discloses a power tool system which is silent for comprising a communication module of a power tool connected to the control module of the power tool; and the battery pack which is silent for comprising a communication module.
However, Zhu discloses a power tool system which comprises a communication module of a power tool connected to the control module of the power tool and the battery pack which comprises a communication module (Figs. 1 and 9-14 of Zhu disclose a power tool system which comprises a communication module 14 of a power tool 1 connected to the control module 11 of the power tool 1 and the battery pack 3 which comprises a communication module 33 – see Zhu, Figs. 1 and 9-14, paragraphs [0066] and [0094]-0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Zhong to incorporate teaching of Zhu for purpose of managing power usage efficiently and exchanging data between modules of device to work together.
Zhong in view of Zhu disclose the control module of the power tool (Fig. 1 of Zhong discloses the control module 40 of the power tool 100) is configured to: receive a conduction signal of the switch (Fig. 1 of Zhong discloses the control module which receives a conduction signal of the switch 31 – see Zhong, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0090]-[0092]); detect the conduction signal to control the motor to operate (Fig. 1 of Zhong discloses the control module 40 configured to detect the conduction signal to control the motor 10 to operate – see Zhong, Fig. 1, paragraph [0061]-[0061]); detect an operation time of the motor (see Zhu, Figs. 9-14, paragraphs [0065], [0070],[0072], [0079] and [0133]. It is noted that Zhu’s control module controls the motor (motor is started, protected and perform corresponding function) at certain time which implies that Zhu’s control module configured to detect an operation time of the motor); control the communication module of the power tool and the communication module of the battery pack to establish communication there between, in response to the operation time being a predetermined time, enabling the power tool to obtain a state of the battery pack (see Zhu, Figs. 9-14, paragraphs [0065], [0070],[0072] and [0079], [0095]-[0096], [0102], [0107]-[0108], [0129] and [0133]).
For claim 12, Zhong in view of Zhu disclose the power tool system according to claim 11, wherein, the state of the battery pack comprises: the battery pack operating normally; and the battery pack being malfunctioned (see Zhu, Figs. 9-14, paragraphs [0102] and [0116]).
For claim 14, Zhong in view of Zhu disclose the power tool system according to claim 12, wherein, the control module of the power tool is configured to control the motor to continue operating in response to detecting that a signal of the communication terminal of the battery pack is normal (Figs. 9-14 of Zhu disclose the control module 11 of power tool 1 which is configured to control the motor 13 to continue operating in response to detecting that a signal of the communication terminal 33 of the battery pack 3 is normal -- see Zhu, Figs. 9-14, paragraphs [0086]-[0088], [0096]-[0097], [0099] and [0102]);
the control module of the power tool is configured to control the motor to stop operating in response to detecting that the signal of the communication terminal of the battery pack is abnormal (Figs. 9-14 of Zhu disclose the control module 11 of the power tool 1 is configured to control the motor 13 to stop operating in response to detecting that the signal of the communication terminal of the battery pack 3 is abnormal – see Zhu, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0070], [0086]-[0088], [0116], [0129] and [0135]).
For claim 15, Zhong in view of Yang disclose the power tool system according to claim 12, wherein, the control module of the power tool is configured to control the motor to continue operating in response to detecting that a signal of the communication terminal of the battery pack is normal (see Zhu, Figs. 9-14, paragraphs [0086]-[0088], [0096]-[0097], [0099] and [0102]);
the control module of the power tool is configured to control the motor to stop operating in response to detecting no signal of the communication terminal of the battery pack (see Zhu, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0086]-[0088] , [0096] and [0097], last five lines).
Claims 16 and 17 are "method" claims which are either same or similar to that of the "a power tool system" claims 11 and 12, respectively. Explanation is omitted.
Claims 20-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (hereinafter Zhu, US 2019/0344419 A1 in view of Yang (CN 111409044A).
For claim 20, Zhu disclose all limitations as applied to claim 18 above. Zhu discloses the power tool system which does not disclose details structure of the battery pack comprising a positive-electrode power terminal of the battery pack, a negative-electrode power terminal of the battery pack, a CO port of the battery pack, and a DO port of the battery pack; wherein, the battery pack takes the positive-electrode power terminal and the negative-electrode power terminal to connect to the power tool to provide power to the power tool.
However, Yang discloses the power tool system which comprises details structure of the battery pack, wherein the battery pack comprises a positive-electrode power terminal of the battery pack, a negative-electrode power terminal of the battery pack, and a DO port of the battery pack; wherein, the battery pack takes the positive-electrode power terminal and the negative-electrode power terminal to connect to the power tool to provide power to the power tool. (Figs. 1 and 4 of Yang disclose the power tool system which comprises details structure of the battery pack 10, wherein the battery pack 10 comprises a positive-electrode power terminal B+, a negative electrode power terminal B-, and a DO port BD of the battery pack ; wherein, the battery pack takes the positive-electrode power terminal B+ and the negative-electrode power terminal B- to connect to the power tool 20 to provide power to the power tool 20 – see Yang, Figs. 1 and 4, paragraphs [0033], [0037] and [0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Zhu to incorporate teaching of Yang for purpose of providing the necessary current to drive the motor of power tool.
Zhu in view of Yang discloses the battery pack which further comprises a CO port of the battery pack (Fig. 9 of Zhu discloses the battery pack 3 which comprises a CO port connected to tool body -- see Zhu, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0095]-[0097]).
For claim 21, Zhu in view of Yang disclose the power tool system according to claim 20, wherein, the control module of the power tool is configured to detect a high level signal and a low level signal at the DO port of the battery pack (see Yang, Fig. 4, paragraphs [0037]-[0038] and [0056]);
the control module of the power tool is configured to control the power tool to continue operating in response to detecting the DO port of the battery pack being at the low level signal (see Zhu, Figs. 9-14, paragraphs [0086]-[0088], [0096]-[0097], [0099] and [0102]; and
the control module of the power tool is configured to control the power tool to stop operating in response to detecting the DO port of the battery pack being at the high level signal (see Zhu, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0086]-[0088] , [0096] and [0097], last five lines).
For claim 22, Zhu in view of Yang disclose the power tool system according to claim 20, wherein, the control module of the power tool is configured to detect a high level signal and a low level signal at the DO port of the battery pack (see Yang, Fig. 4, paragraphs [0037]-[0038] and [0056]);
the control module of the power tool is configured to control the power tool to continue operating in response to detecting the DO port of the battery pack being at the low level signal (see Zhu, Figs. 9-14, paragraphs [0086]-[0088], [0096]-[0097], [0099] and [0102]); and
the control module of the power tool is configured to control the power tool to stop operating in response to detecting no signal at the DO port of the battery pack (see Zhu, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0086]-[0088] , [0096] and [0097], last five lines).
For claim 23, Zhu disclose all limitations as applied to claim 18 above. Zhu discloses the power tool system which does not disclose details structure of the battery pack comprising a positive-electrode power terminal of the battery pack, a negative-electrode power terminal of the battery pack and a COM port of the battery pack; wherein, the battery pack takes the positive-electrode power terminal and the negative-electrode power terminal to connect to the power tool to provide power to the power tool.
However, Yang discloses the power tool system which comprises details structure of the battery pack, wherein the battery pack comprises a positive-electrode power terminal of the battery pack, a negative-electrode power terminal of the battery pack, and a COM port of the battery pack; wherein, the battery pack takes the positive-electrode power terminal and the negative-electrode power terminal to connect to the power tool to provide power to the power tool. (Figs. 1 and 4 of Yang disclose the power tool system which comprises details structure of the battery pack 10, wherein the battery pack 10 comprises a positive-electrode power terminal B+, a negative electrode power terminal B-, and a COM port BD of the battery pack ; wherein, the battery pack takes the positive-electrode power terminal B+ and the negative-electrode power terminal B- to connect to the power tool 20 to provide power to the power tool 20 – see Yang, Figs. 1 and 4, paragraphs [0033], [0037] and [0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Zhu to incorporate teaching of Yang for purpose of providing the necessary current to drive the motor of power tool.
For claim 24, Zhu in view of Yang disclose the power tool system according to claim 23, wherein, the control module of the power tool is configured to detect COM port information of the battery pack (Figs. 9-14 of Zhu discloses the control module 21 of the power tool is configured to detect COM port information of the battery pack 3 – see Zhu, Fig. 9-14, paragraphs [0102] and [0116]);
the control module of the power tool is configured to control the power tool to continue operating in response to detecting that the COM port information of the battery pack is normal (Figs. 9-14 of Zhu in view of Yang disclose the control module 11 of power tool 1 which is configured to control the motor 13 to continue operating in response to detecting that a signal of the communication terminal 33 of the battery pack 3 is normal -- see Zhu, Figs. 9-14, paragraphs [0086]-[0088], [0096]-[0097], [0099] and [0102]);
the control module of the power tool is configured to control the power tool to stop operating in response to detecting that the COM port information of the battery pack is abnormal (Figs. 9-14 of Zhu in view of Yang disclose the control module 11 of the power tool 1 is configured to control the motor 13 to stop operating in response to detecting that the signal of the communication terminal of the battery pack 3 is abnormal – see Zhu, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0070], [0086]-[0088], [0116], [0129] and [0135]).
For claim 25, Zhu in view of Yang disclose the power tool system according to claim 24, wherein, in response to detecting that the COM port information of the battery pack is normal, the power tool is configured to establish communication with the battery pack to obtain the state of the battery pack (see Zhu, Figs. 9-14, paragraphs [0102] and [0116]).
For claim 26, Zhu in view of Yang disclose the power tool system according to claim 24, wherein, the COM port information of the battery pack detected by the control module of the power tool is a voltage of the COM port of the battery pack (see Zhu, Figs. 9-14, paragraphs [0086]-[0087] and [0096]-[0097]).
For claim 27, Zhu in view of Yang disclose the power tool system according to claim 26, wherein, the normal COM port information of the battery pack is that the voltage of the COM port of the battery pack is within a predetermined operating voltage range (see Zhu, Figs. 9-14, paragraphs [0086]-[0087], [0096]-[0097], [0115], [0125] and [0137]).
For claim 28, Zhu in view of Yang disclose the power tool system according to claim 27, wherein the COM port information of the battery pack being abnormal is that the voltage of the COM port of the battery pack is greater than an upper limit of the predetermined operating voltage range or lower than a lower limit of the predetermined operating voltage range (see Zhu, Figs. 9-14, paragraphs [0115], [0137], [0145]).
For claim 29, Zhu in view of Yang disclose the power tool system according to claim 23, wherein, the control module of the power tool is configured to detect COM port information of the battery pack (Figs. 9-14 of Zhu discloses the control module 21 of the power tool is configured to detect COM port information of the battery pack 3 – see Zhu, Fig. 9-14, paragraphs [0102] and [0116]);
the control module of the power tool is configured to control the power tool to continue operating in response to detecting that the COM port information of the battery pack is normal (see Zhu, Figs. 9-14, paragraphs [0086]-[0088], [0096]-[0097], [0099] and [0102]);
the control module of the power tool is configured to control the power tool to stop operating in response to detecting no COM port information of the battery pack (see Zhu, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0086]-[0088] , [0096] and [0097], last five lines).
Claims 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong et al. (hereinafter Zhong, CN 110401385 A) in view of Zhu et al. (hereinafter Zhu, US 2019/0344419 A1, further in view of Yang (CN 111409044A).
For claim 13, Zhong in view of Yang disclose all limitation as applied to claim 11 above. Zhong in view of Zhu discloses the power tool system comprises the power tool which does not disclose details structure of the power tool and the battery pack, wherein the power tool comprises a positive-electrode terminal, a negative-electrode terminal, and a communication terminal; and the battery pack comprises a positive-electrode power terminal, a negative electrode power terminal, and a communication terminal;
the power tool is connected to the battery pack by enabling the positive-electrode terminal of the power tool to be connected to the positive-electrode power terminal of the battery pack and enabling the negative-electrode terminal of the power tool to be connected to the negative-electrode power terminal of the battery pack, and battery pack is configured to supply power to the power tool;
the battery pack is configured to establish the communication by enabling the communication terminal of the battery pack to be connected to the communication terminal of the power tool.
However, Yang discloses the power tool system which comprises details structure of the power tool and the battery pack, wherein the power tool comprises a positive-electrode terminal, a negative-electrode terminal, and a communication terminal; and the battery pack comprises a positive-electrode power terminal, a negative electrode power terminal, and a communication terminal (Figs. 1 and 4 of Yang disclose the power tool system which comprises details structure of the power tool 20 and the battery pack 10, wherein the power tool 20 comprises a positive-electrode termina T+, a negative-electrode terminal T-, and a communication terminal TD; and the battery pack 10 comprises a positive-electrode power terminal B+, a negative electrode power terminal B-, and a communication terminal BD – see Yang, Figs. 1 and 4, paragraphs [0033], [0037] and [0047]);
the power tool is connected to the battery pack by enabling the positive-electrode terminal of the power tool to be connected to the positive-electrode power terminal of the battery pack and enabling the negative-electrode terminal of the power tool to be connected to the negative-electrode power terminal of the battery pack, and battery pack is configured to supply power to the power tool (Figs. 1 and 4 of Yang disclose the power tool 20 connected to the battery pack 10 by enabling the positive-electrode terminal T+ of the power tool 20 to be connected to the positive-electrode power terminal B+ of the battery pack 10 and enabling the negative-electrode terminal T- of the power tool 20 to be connected to the negative-electrode power terminal B- of the battery pack 10, and battery pack 10 is configured to supply power to the power tool 20 – see Yang, Figs. 1 and 4, paragraph [0037]);
the battery pack is configured to establish the communication by enabling the communication terminal of the battery pack to be connected to the communication terminal of the power tool (Fig. 4 of Yang discloses the battery pack 10 which is configured to establish the communication by enabling the communication terminal BD of the battery pack 10 to be connected to the communication terminal TD of the power tool 20 – see Yang, Fig. 4, paragraph [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Zhong in view of Zhu to incorporate teaching of Yang for purpose of providing the necessary current to drive the motor of power tool.
Conclusion
/THAI T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837
Jul 29, 2026