DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Kezele does not explicitly teach generating motion compensation information by: respectively taking one of the plurality of predictive-frames as a first current frame to circularly determine a reference frame that is forward of a current frame according to the time sequence, and taking the reference frame as a new current frame and repeating the circular determination until the reference frame is the intra coding frame; accumulatively updating motion compensation information between the current frame and the reference frame in a circulation process; and obtaining, when the circulation process is stopped, the motion compensation information of the one of the plurality of predictive-frames relative to the intra coding frame.
In response, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Kezele teaches FIG. 1 shows the structure of an example compressed video 100. The compressed video 100 includes a plurality of frame encodings (shown as frame encodings 112, 114, 116, . . . 118, 120, . . . ) representative of a temporal sequence of frames, beginning with a first I-frame encoding 112 representative of a first I-frame at t=0, followed by an immediately subsequent first inter frame encoding 114 at t=1, followed by an immediately subsequent second inter frame encoding 116 at t=2, optionally followed by one or more additional inter frame encodings, followed by a second I-frame encoding 118 representative of a second I-frame at t=M, followed by an immediately subsequent further inter frame encoding 120 at t=M+1, optionally followed by one or more additional frame encodings. The plurality of frame encodings are segmented into one or more groups of pictures (GOPs), each of which may encompass a fixed or variable number of frame encodings, such as positive integer K number of frame encodings in GOP 1 102 shown in FIG. 1. The first GOP, GOP 1 102, includes the first I-frame encoding 112 and multiple (i.e., K−1) subsequent inter frame encodings (including first inter frame encoding 114 and second inter frame encoding 116) representative of inter frames subsequent to the first I-frame in the temporal sequence, and a second GOP, GOP 2 104, includes the second I-frame encoding 118 and multiple subsequent inter frame encodings (including further inter frame encoding 120) representative of inter frames subsequent to the second I-frame in the temporal sequence. As described above, each I-frame encoding 112, 118 includes image data 122 representative of a frame, and each inter frame encoding 114, 116, 120 includes motion information 124 and residual information 126 of the respective inter frame relative to one or more reference frames in the temporal sequence, which are used to generate the corresponding inter frame in combination with the one or more reference frames. In the present disclosure, the term “temporal information” may be used to refer to either or both of the motion information and/or residual information of a frame. In some examples, the motion information 124 of an inter frame encoding (such as 114, 116, or 120) includes a motion vector (MV) map of the corresponding frame relative to a reference frame, and the residual information 126 of the inter frame encoding includes a residual map of the corresponding frame relative to the reference frame. For example, the motion information 124 and residual information 126 of the first inter frame encoding 114 may include a motion vector (MV) map and a residual map used to define or generate the first inter frame relative to the first I-frame of the first I-frame encoding 112.
Thus, in decoding the compressed video 100, a decoder may first decode GOP 1 102. The decoder will decode the image data 122 of the first I-frame encoding 112 and use the resulting frame (i.e. an RGB image) as the video frame at t=0. The decoder will then decode or generate the first inter frame at t=1 by decoding the motion information 124 and residual information 126 from the first inter frame encoding 114, then applying video decompression techniques to reconstruct the inter frame at t=1 by transforming the image at t=0 using the motion information 124 and residual information 126. The second inter frame at t=2 is similarly decoded by transforming the reconstructed first inter frame at t=1 using the motion information 124 and residual information 126 decoded from the second inter frame encoding 116.
When a new GOP is encountered in the compressed video 100, such as GOP 2 104, the decoder begins the process again. The first frame encoding of the GOP is an I-frame encoding, such as second I-frame encoding 118 of GOP 2 104, and is decoded in the same manner as the first I-frame encoding 112, resulting in generation or decoding of a frame at t=K. Subsequent inter frames of the new GOP are decoded based on their respective previously decoded reference frames. [0059] – [0061].
The first inter frame is considered as the first current frame. The second inter frame at t=2 is similarly decoded by transforming the reconstructed first inter frame at t=1 using the motion information 124 and residual information 126 decoded from the second inter frame encoding 116. The second inter frame at t=2 is considered as the reference frame that is forward of the current frame because it will be transformed to reconstruct the inter frame at t=3 as the process continues. Then, the process continues to take the second inter frame at t=2 as the new current frame and repeat the circular determination. The motion information and residual information are generated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 14-15, and 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kezele et al. (US 2023/0169794 A1).
Consider claim 14, Kezele teaches an electronic device (Fig. 2 shows an example of a device), comprising: at least one processor (The device 200 may include one or more processor devices, such as a processor. [0067]); and a storage apparatus, configured to store at least one program (The device may include non-transitory memories that may store instructions for execution by the processor. [0070].), wherein the at least one program, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to implement a feature extraction method for a video (The device may include non-transitory memories that may store instructions for execution by the processor to carry out examples described in the present disclosure. [0070].), which comprises: determining a plurality of groups of pictures of video data, wherein each group of pictures comprises, according to a time sequence, an intra coding frame and a plurality of predictive-frame (a decoder may first decode GOP1 102 and GOP2 104. GOP1and GOP2 includes I-frame and at least one predictive frame. [0060] – [0061] and Fig. 1); generating motion compensation information by: respectively taking one of the plurality of predictive-frames as a first current frame to circularly determine a reference frame that is forward of a current frame according to the time sequence (FIG. 1 shows the structure of an example compressed video 100. The compressed video 100 includes a plurality of frame encodings (shown as frame encodings 112, 114, 116, . . . 118, 120, . . . ) representative of a temporal sequence of frames, beginning with a first I-frame encoding 112 representative of a first I-frame at t=0, followed by an immediately subsequent first inter frame encoding 114 at t=1, followed by an immediately subsequent second inter frame encoding 116 at t=2, optionally followed by one or more additional inter frame encodings, followed by a second I-frame encoding 118 representative of a second I-frame at t=M, followed by an immediately subsequent further inter frame encoding 120 at t=M+1, optionally followed by one or more additional frame encodings. The plurality of frame encodings are segmented into one or more groups of pictures (GOPs), each of which may encompass a fixed or variable number of frame encodings, such as positive integer K number of frame encodings in GOP 1 102 shown in FIG. 1. The first GOP, GOP 1 102, includes the first I-frame encoding 112 and multiple (i.e., K−1) subsequent inter frame encodings (including first inter frame encoding 114 and second inter frame encoding 116) representative of inter frames subsequent to the first I-frame in the temporal sequence, and a second GOP, GOP 2 104, includes the second I-frame encoding 118 and multiple subsequent inter frame encodings (including further inter frame encoding 120) representative of inter frames subsequent to the second I-frame in the temporal sequence. As described above, each I-frame encoding 112, 118 includes image data 122 representative of a frame, and each inter frame encoding 114, 116, 120 includes motion information 124 and residual information 126 of the respective inter frame relative to one or more reference frames in the temporal sequence, which are used to generate the corresponding inter frame in combination with the one or more reference frames. In the present disclosure, the term “temporal information” may be used to refer to either or both of the motion information and/or residual information of a frame. In some examples, the motion information 124 of an inter frame encoding (such as 114, 116, or 120) includes a motion vector (MV) map of the corresponding frame relative to a reference frame, and the residual information 126 of the inter frame encoding includes a residual map of the corresponding frame relative to the reference frame. For example, the motion information 124 and residual information 126 of the first inter frame encoding 114 may include a motion vector (MV) map and a residual map used to define or generate the first inter frame relative to the first I-frame of the first I-frame encoding 112. Thus, in decoding the compressed video 100, a decoder may first decode GOP 1 102. The decoder will decode the image data 122 of the first I-frame encoding 112 and use the resulting frame (i.e. an RGB image) as the video frame at t=0. The decoder will then decode or generate the first inter frame at t=1 by decoding the motion information 124 and residual information 126 from the first inter frame encoding 114, then applying video decompression techniques to reconstruct the inter frame at t=1 by transforming the image at t=0 using the motion information 124 and residual information 126. The second inter frame at t=2 is similarly decoded by transforming the reconstructed first inter frame at t=1 using the motion information 124 and residual information 126 decoded from the second inter frame encoding 116. When a new GOP is encountered in the compressed video 100, such as GOP 2 104, the decoder begins the process again. The first frame encoding of the GOP is an I-frame encoding, such as second I-frame encoding 118 of GOP 2 104, and is decoded in the same manner as the first I-frame encoding 112, resulting in generation or decoding of a frame at t=K. Subsequent inter frames of the new GOP are decoded based on their respective previously decoded reference frames. [0059] – [0061]. The first inter frame is considered as the first current frame. The second inter frame at t=2 is similarly decoded by transforming the reconstructed first inter frame at t=1 using the motion information 124 and residual information 126 decoded from the second inter frame encoding 116. The second inter frame at t=2 is considered as the reference frame that is forward of the current frame because it will be transformed to reconstruct the inter frame at t=3 as the process continues. Then, the process continues to take the second inter frame at t=2 as the new current frame and repeat the circular determination. The motion information and residual information are generated. [0059] – [0061]), and taking the reference frame as a new current frame and repeating the circular determination until the reference frame is the intra coding frame ([0059] – [0061]); accumulatively updating motion compensation information between the current frame and the reference frame in a circulation process ([0059] – [0061]); and obtaining, when the circulation process is stopped, the motion compensation information of the one of the plurality of predictive-frames relative to the intra coding frame ([0059] – [0061]). for each group of pictures, extracting a first frame feature of the intra coding frame (a decoder may first decode GOP 1 102. The decoder will decode the image data 122 of the first I-frame encoding 112 and use the resulting frame (i.e. an RGB image) as the video frame at t=0. [0060]. The resulting frame (i.e. an RGB image) is considered to be first frame feature), and extracting a compensation feature of motion compensation information of the at least one predictive-frame relative to the intra coding frame (The decoder will then decode or generate the first inter frame at t=1 by decoding the motion information 124 and residual information 126 from the first inter frame encoding 114, then applying video decompression techniques to reconstruct the inter frame at t=1 by transforming the image at t=0 using the motion information 124 and residual information 126. [0060]. Residual information is considered to be a compensation feature); and updating the compensation feature according to the first frame feature to obtain a second frame feature of the at least one predictive-frame (The second inter frame at t=2 is similarly decoded by transforming the reconstructed first inter frame at t=1 using the motion information 124 and residual information 126 decoded from the second inter frame encoding 116. [0060]. Decoding the residual information from the second inter frame encoding is considered to be updating the compensation feature. Because the residual information decoded from the second inter frame encoding is performed after the reconstruction of the inter frame at t=1 and inter frame at t=1 is reconstructed by transforming the image at t=0, the updating is according to the first frame feature. The inter frame at t=2 is considered to be second frame feature.), so as to obtain a frame feature of a video frame in the video data (At 1004, the RGB CNN 604a processes the RGB spatial attention information 602a and the inter frame to generate spatially weighted inter-frame feature information 332, specifically RGB-mode spatially weighted inter-frame feature information 332a. At 1008, the MV CNN 604b processes the MV spatial attention information 602b and the MV map to generate MV-mode spatially weighted inter-frame feature information 332b. At 1012, the residual CNN 604c processes the residual spatial attention information 602c and the residual map to generate residual-mode spatially weighted inter-frame feature information 332c. [0114] – [0116] and Fig. 3A-Fig. 3B. See also [0111] – [0117]. Spatially weighted interframe feature information 332a, 332b, and 332c are considered to be a frame feature of a video frame).
Consider claim 17, Kezele teaches updating the compensation feature according to the first frame feature, comprises: splicing the first frame feature, the motion compensation information and the compensation feature to obtain a spliced image (the decoded frame information 212 of each frame encoding may be stored in the memory 208, including a decoded frame 214 (such as the image data 122 of an I-frame encoding or a reconstructed inter frame in RGB image format for an inter frame encoding), a decoded MV map 216 (or other motion information) of an inter frame encoding, and/or a decoded residual map 218 (or other residual information) of an inter frame encoding. [0071]; FIG. 3A is a schematic diagram showing data flows of a first example adaptive inference software system 222 (222A in this example embodiment) as implemented by the processor 202. The adaptive inference software system 222 takes a compressed video 100 as input. The adaptive inference software system 222 uses the inference module 226 to adaptively perform an inference task, based on adaptation decisions made by the decision module 224. A modified video decoder 236 is used to generate decoded video information 212 including not only decoded images (i.e. inter frames 214), but also motion vector (MV) maps 216 and residual maps 218, for all inter frames. [0083]. Fig. 3A-Fig. 3B); determining a first weight of the spliced image in a channel dimension, and a second weight of the spliced image in a spatial dimension, respectively (spatial salience information 602a-602c. [0111] – [0117] and Fig. 3A-3B, Fig. 6); and processing the first frame feature according to the first weight and the second weight to obtain an update parameter (At 1004, the RGB CNN 604a processes the RGB spatial attention information 602a and the inter frame to generate spatially weighted inter-frame feature information 332, specifically RGB-mode spatially weighted inter-frame feature information 332a. The above steps are repeated for each other modality (although it will be appreciated that, in some embodiments, each modality is processed in parallel and independently from each other modality). At 1005, the decision information determines whether the MV processing module 232 is to be used to process the MV map 216. If so, the method proceeds to step 1006; if not, to step 1009. At 1006, the MV processing module 232 processes the MV map 216 using a MV spatial attention module 306b to generate spatial salience information 602b. In some embodiments, the MV spatial attention information 602b is combined with MV map 216 to generate a spatially weighted MV map, such as a cropped ROI of the MV map 216. At 1008, the MV CNN 604b processes the MV spatial attention information 602b and the MV map to generate MV-mode spatially weighted inter-frame feature information 332b. At 1009, the decision information determines whether the residual processing module 234 is to be used to process the residual map 216. If so, the method proceeds to step 1010; if not, step 910 ends (and method 900 proceeds to step 912). At 1010, the residual processing module 234 processes the residual map 218 using a residual spatial attention module 306c to generate spatial salience information 602c. In some embodiments, the residual spatial attention information 602c is combined with residual map 218 to generate a spatially weighted residual map, such as a cropped ROI of the residual map 218. At 1012, the residual CNN 604c processes the residual spatial attention information 602c and the residual map to generate residual-mode spatially weighted inter-frame feature information 332c. Returning to FIG. 3A and FIG. 9, at step 912, the inter-frame feature information 332a, 332b, and/or 332c for each selected modality is processed by the inference module 226 to perform the inference task. The inference model 226 typically performs the inference task over many frames of the compressed video 100, such that the inference module 226 performs the inference task by processing a plurality of frame encodings of the compressed video 100, including the inter frame encoding 114 used to generate the inter-frame feature information 332a, 332b, and/or 332c. Thus, the operations of the decision module 224 determine whether the inter frame encoding 114 is included in the plurality of frame encodings processed by the inference module 226, and if so, extracts feature information from one or more selected modalities of the inter frame encoding 114 prior to processing by the inference module 226. [0111] – [0117] and Fig. 3A-3B, Fig. 6), and updating the compensation feature according to the update parameter (FIG. 11A shows operations of an example step 912 of method 900, as implemented by the inference module 226 (226A in this embodiment) shown in FIG. 3A. The inference module 226A includes three modality-specific multi-class or binary classifiers or other inference models, such as deep CNNs including one or more fully connected layers. These are shown as RGB inference model 310, MV inference model 312, and residual inference model 314. At 1102, 1102 the modality-specific feature information of each modality is processed by the respective modality-specific inference model 310, 2312, 314 to generate modality-specific inference information 334a, 334b, 334c of each modality. The modality-specific inference information 334a, 334b, 334c includes inference or prediction information sufficient to complete the inference task, such as logits or a normalized probability distribution across the classes of the inference task. At 1004, the modality-specific inference information 334a, 334b, 334c of all processed modalities is then fused by an inference fusion module 320 to generate inference information 330, such as a single logits or probability distribution across the classes of the inference task, to complete the inference task. In some embodiments, the inference fusion module 320 performs a simple fusion (such as averaging); in other embodiments, the inference fusion module 320 performs a more complex fusion operation, such as multiplicative log probs fusion (i.e. multiplying the logarithms of the probabilities of each modality). FIG. 3B shows an alternative architecture 222B of the adaptive inference software system 222A of FIG. 3A, whose operations are shown in FIG. 11B. In the alternative architecture 222B, the inference module 226B reverses the order of operations of the first example inference module 226A described with reference to FIG. 3A and FIG. 11A above. At 1152, the inputs 332a, 332b, 332c to the inference module 226B are first fused by a feature fusion module 350. At 1154, the fused feature information 356 generated thereby is processed by a single fused inference model 352 to generate the inference information 330, thereby completing the inference task. [0118] – [0119] and Fig. 3A-3B, Fig. 6).
Consider claim 18, Kezele teaches determining the first weight of the spliced image in the channel dimension, and the second weight of the spliced image in the spatial dimension, respectively, comprises: extracting a splicing feature of the spliced image, wherein the splicing feature and the first frame feature have an identical size (FIG. 6 shows details of the operation of a set of three example modality-specific processing modules 230, 232, 234. The RGB processing module 230 receives the inter frame 214 as input. In the examples discussed herein, we assume that the inter frame 214 is a 3-channel image (i.e. Red, Green, and Blue channels) that can be expressed as a tensor of the size H×W×3, wherein H is the pixel height and W is the pixel width of the inter frame 214. The MV processing module 232 receives the MV map 216 as input. In the examples discussed herein, we assume that the MV map 216 is a 2-component vector field (i.e. horizontal (x) and vertical (y) vector components) that can be expressed as a tensor of the size H×W×2. The residual processing module 234 receives the residual map 218 as input. In the examples discussed herein, we assume that the residual map 218 is a 3-channel image (R, G, B channels) of motion-compensated RGB residuals that can be expressed as a tensor of the size H×W×3. [0106] and Fig. 6; In some embodiments, the spatial salience information 602a generated by the RGB spatial attention module 306a is soft spatial salience information, such as an attention map (e.g., dimensions H.sub.a×W.sub.a) indicating weight values at each pixel location that, when applied to one or multiple intermediate feature maps of the respective models 234, 232, 234 (note: the map may be downsampled to the corresponding feature map's spatial dimensions), weighs each feature map pixel location (over the totality of the map's channels) with an attentional weight indicating the degree in proportion to which each pixel or pixel region should affect the inference task. In some embodiments, the RGB spatial salience information 602s generated by the RGB spatial attention module 306a is hard spatial salience information, such as a ROI comprising a set of coordinates indicating a cropping operation to be performed on the inter frame 214, thereby limiting further processing of the inter frame 214 to the cropped ROI. The cropping operation may be a differentiable cropping operation, allowing this component to be trained with other components end-to-end. The pixel height and pixel width of the inter frame 214 could be reduced from H×W to a smaller region H.sub.r×W.sub.r, contained within H×W, while maintaining the same number of channels. The cropping operation may thus effectively be regarded as achieving the same result as a binary (i.e., hard) attention map, wherein a given pixel or pixel region is given a weight of either 1 or 0, although it may be implemented using a cropping operation. [0111]); pooling the splicing feature in the spatial dimension, and performing full connection on a pooling result to obtain the first weight of the spliced image in the channel dimension (At 1004, the RGB CNN 604a processes the RGB spatial attention information 602a and the inter frame to generate spatially weighted inter-frame feature information 332, specifically RGB-mode spatially weighted inter-frame feature information 332a. The above steps are repeated for each other modality (although it will be appreciated that, in some embodiments, each modality is processed in parallel and independently from each other modality). At 1005, the decision information determines whether the MV processing module 232 is to be used to process the MV map 216. If so, the method proceeds to step 1006; if not, to step 1009. At 1006, the MV processing module 232 processes the MV map 216 using a MV spatial attention module 306b to generate spatial salience information 602b. In some embodiments, the MV spatial attention information 602b is combined with MV map 216 to generate a spatially weighted MV map, such as a cropped ROI of the MV map 216. At 1008, the MV CNN 604b processes the MV spatial attention information 602b and the MV map to generate MV-mode spatially weighted inter-frame feature information 332b. At 1009, the decision information determines whether the residual processing module 234 is to be used to process the residual map 216. If so, the method proceeds to step 1010; if not, step 910 ends (and method 900 proceeds to step 912). At 1010, the residual processing module 234 processes the residual map 218 using a residual spatial attention module 306c to generate spatial salience information 602c. In some embodiments, the residual spatial attention information 602c is combined with residual map 218 to generate a spatially weighted residual map, such as a cropped ROI of the residual map 218. At 1012, the residual CNN 604c processes the residual spatial attention information 602c and the residual map to generate residual-mode spatially weighted inter-frame feature information 332c. Returning to FIG. 3A and FIG. 9, at step 912, the inter-frame feature information 332a, 332b, and/or 332c for each selected modality is processed by the inference module 226 to perform the inference task. The inference model 226 typically performs the inference task over many frames of the compressed video 100, such that the inference module 226 performs the inference task by processing a plurality of frame encodings of the compressed video 100, including the inter frame encoding 114 used to generate the inter-frame feature information 332a, 332b, and/or 332c. Thus, the operations of the decision module 224 determine whether the inter frame encoding 114 is included in the plurality of frame encodings processed by the inference module 226, and if so, extracts feature information from one or more selected modalities of the inter frame encoding 114 prior to processing by the inference module 226. [0111] – [0118], Fig. 3A-3B and Fig. 6); and performing convolution on feature maps of a plurality of channels in the splicing feature (RGB CNN 604a, MV CNN 604b, and residual CNN 604c. A differentiable backbone model (shown as RGB CNN 604a, MV CNN 604B, or residual CNN 604c) is provided for each processed modality, each model (generically, 604) being denoted as m.sub.i(α.sub.i) parametrized by α.sub.i. Each model m.sub.i 604 is a CNN model in the illustrated embodiment, but in some embodiments may be a general DNN model or other differentiable function. At 1004, the RGB CNN 604a processes the RGB spatial attention information 602a and the inter frame to generate spatially weighted inter-frame feature information 332, specifically RGB-mode spatially weighted inter-frame feature information 332a. At 1008, the MV CNN 604b processes the MV spatial attention information 602b and the MV map to generate MV-mode spatially weighted inter-frame feature information 332b. At 1012, the residual CNN 604c processes the residual spatial attention information 602c and the residual map to generate residual-mode spatially weighted inter-frame feature information 332c. [0111] – [0118], Fig. 3A-3B and Fig. 6), and performing logistic regression on a convolution result to obtain the second weight of the spliced image in the spatial dimension (The modality selection module 238 processes the final feature vectors V.sub.i (or single final feature vector V) to generate the decision information 512 using a number N of Gumbel-Softmax operations 510. A single Gumbel-Softmax operation 510 may be used in some embodiments; in others, a set or a composition of Gumbel-Softmax is used to allow for multiple modalities to be modeled for the inter frame encoding 114. In some embodiments, reinforcement learning may be used in place of the Gumbel-Softmax operations 510. [0097] and Fig. 5).
Consider claim 19, Kezele teaches processing the first frame feature according to the first weight and the second weight to obtain the update parameter, comprises: multiplying the first frame feature by the first weight and the second weight to obtain the update parameter (At 1004, the RGB CNN 604a processes the RGB spatial attention information 602a and the inter frame to generate spatially weighted inter-frame feature information 332, specifically RGB-mode spatially weighted inter-frame feature information 332a. The above steps are repeated for each other modality (although it will be appreciated that, in some embodiments, each modality is processed in parallel and independently from each other modality). At 1005, the decision information determines whether the MV processing module 232 is to be used to process the MV map 216. If so, the method proceeds to step 1006; if not, to step 1009. At 1006, the MV processing module 232 processes the MV map 216 using a MV spatial attention module 306b to generate spatial salience information 602b. In some embodiments, the MV spatial attention information 602b is combined with MV map 216 to generate a spatially weighted MV map, such as a cropped ROI of the MV map 216. At 1008, the MV CNN 604b processes the MV spatial attention information 602b and the MV map to generate MV-mode spatially weighted inter-frame feature information 332b. At 1009, the decision information determines whether the residual processing module 234 is to be used to process the residual map 216. If so, the method proceeds to step 1010; if not, step 910 ends (and method 900 proceeds to step 912). At 1010, the residual processing module 234 processes the residual map 218 using a residual spatial attention module 306c to generate spatial salience information 602c. In some embodiments, the residual spatial attention information 602c is combined with residual map 218 to generate a spatially weighted residual map, such as a cropped ROI of the residual map 218. At 1012, the residual CNN 604c processes the residual spatial attention information 602c and the residual map to generate residual-mode spatially weighted inter-frame feature information 332c. Returning to FIG. 3A and FIG. 9, at step 912, the inter-frame feature information 332a, 332b, and/or 332c for each selected modality is processed by the inference module 226 to perform the inference task. The inference model 226 typically performs the inference task over many frames of the compressed video 100, such that the inference module 226 performs the inference task by processing a plurality of frame encodings of the compressed video 100, including the inter frame encoding 114 used to generate the inter-frame feature information 332a, 332b, and/or 332c. Thus, the operations of the decision module 224 determine whether the inter frame encoding 114 is included in the plurality of frame encodings processed by the inference module 226, and if so, extracts feature information from one or more selected modalities of the inter frame encoding 114 prior to processing by the inference module 226. [0111] – [0117] and Fig. 3A-3B, Fig. 6).
Consider claim 20, Kezele teaches updating the compensation feature according to the update parameter, comprises: pooling the compensation feature in the spatial dimension, and adding a pooling result to the update parameter (FIG. 11A shows operations of an example step 912 of method 900, as implemented by the inference module 226 (226A in this embodiment) shown in FIG. 3A. The inference module 226A includes three modality-specific multi-class or binary classifiers or other inference models, such as deep CNNs including one or more fully connected layers. These are shown as RGB inference model 310, MV inference model 312, and residual inference model 314. At 1102, 1102 the modality-specific feature information of each modality is processed by the respective modality-specific inference model 310, 2312, 314 to generate modality-specific inference information 334a, 334b, 334c of each modality. The modality-specific inference information 334a, 334b, 334c includes inference or prediction information sufficient to complete the inference task, such as logits or a normalized probability distribution across the classes of the inference task. At 1004, the modality-specific inference information 334a, 334b, 334c of all processed modalities is then fused by an inference fusion module 320 to generate inference information 330, such as a single logits or probability distribution across the classes of the inference task, to complete the inference task. In some embodiments, the inference fusion module 320 performs a simple fusion (such as averaging); in other embodiments, the inference fusion module 320 performs a more complex fusion operation, such as multiplicative log probs fusion (i.e. multiplying the logarithms of the probabilities of each modality). FIG. 3B shows an alternative architecture 222B of the adaptive inference software system 222A of FIG. 3A, whose operations are shown in FIG. 11B. In the alternative architecture 222B, the inference module 226B reverses the order of operations of the first example inference module 226A described with reference to FIG. 3A and FIG. 11A above. At 1152, the inputs 332a, 332b, 332c to the inference module 226B are first fused by a feature fusion module 350. At 1154, the fused feature information 356 generated thereby is processed by a single fused inference model 352 to generate the inference information 330, thereby completing the inference task. [0117] – [0119] and Fig. 3A-3B, Fig. 6).
Consider claim 21, Kezele teaches the motion compensation information comprises a motion vector and a residual (Fig. 1, Fig. 3A – Fig. 3B); and updating the compensation feature according to the first frame feature to obtain the second frame feature of the one of the plurality of predictive-frame (The second inter frame at t=2 is similarly decoded by transforming the reconstructed first inter frame at t=1 using the motion information 124 and residual information 126 decoded from the second inter frame encoding 116. [0060]. Decoding the residual information from the second inter frame encoding is considered to be updating the compensation feature. Because the residual information decoded from the second inter frame encoding is performed after the reconstruction of the inter frame at t=1 and inter frame at t=1 is reconstructed by transforming the image at t=0, the updating is according to the first frame feature. The inter frame at t=2 is considered to be second frame feature.), comprises: updating an initial vector feature of the motion vector and an initial residual feature of the residual respectively according to the first frame feature to obtain a target vector feature and a target residual feature (The second inter frame at t=2 is similarly decoded by transforming the reconstructed first inter frame at t=1 using the motion information 124 and residual information 126 decoded from the second inter frame encoding 116. [0060]. Decoding the residual information from the second inter frame encoding is considered to be updating the compensation feature. Because the residual information decoded from the second inter frame encoding is performed after the reconstruction of the inter frame at t=1 and inter frame at t=1 is reconstructed by transforming the image at t=0, the updating is according to the first frame feature. The inter frame at t=2 is considered to be second frame feature.); and determining the second frame feature of the at least one predictive-frame according to the target vector feature and the target residual feature (The second inter frame at t=2 is similarly decoded by transforming the reconstructed first inter frame at t=1 using the motion information 124 and residual information 126 decoded from the second inter frame encoding 116. [0060]. Decoding the residual information from the second inter frame encoding is considered to be updating the compensation feature. Because the residual information decoded from the second inter frame encoding is performed after the reconstruction of the inter frame at t=1 and inter frame at t=1 is reconstructed by transforming the image at t=0, the updating is according to the first frame feature. The inter frame at t=2 is considered to be second frame feature.).
Consider claim 1, claim 1 recites the method implemented by the device recited in claim 14. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 2, claim 2 recites the method implemented by the device recited in claim 17. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 3, claim 3 recites the method implemented by the device recited in claim 18. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 4, claim 4 recites the method implemented by the device recited in claim 19. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 5, claim 5 recites the method implemented by the device recited in claim 20. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 6, claim 6 recites the method implemented by the device recited in claim 21. Thus, it is rejected for the same reasons.
Consider claim 15, claim 15 recites a storage medium comprising computer-executable instructions (The device may include non-transitory memories that may store instructions for execution by the processor to carry out examples described in the present disclosure. [0070].), wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by a computer processor (The device 200 may include one or more processor devices, such as a processor. [0067]), are used to perform the feature extraction method for the video according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 and 14).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAT C CHIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486