DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2, 4, 5, 7, 11, and 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/30/2026 (hereinafter “Response”).
Applicant's election with traverse of Species B in the Response is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims 11 (Species C) and 12 (Species D) are not “separate and distinct from the elected Species B”. Applicant argues that although the features of claims 11 and 12 are depicted using the axially aligned electric motor arrangement of Figures 1 and 2 (i.e., nonelected species A), claims 11 and 12 recite no particular motor arrangement and should be further included in elected Species B.
Examiner notes that although Applicant takes the position in the Response that claims 11 and 12 are included in the elected Species, this is not found persuasive because the features of Species C, which are present in claim 11 (illustrated in Figures 9, 9A, and 9B) and the features of Species D, which are present in claim 12 (illustrated in Figure 10) lack unity of invention (see MPEP 1893.03(d), discussing this standard which is different than the “independent and distinct” of the US restriction practice – MPEP 803) because the groups do not share the same or corresponding technical features. The coupling device of Species C and the freewheel device of Species D both appear to be unique technical features to the respective species regardless of their inclusion an axially aligned or axially offset electric motor arrangement.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: 10 recites “the gear ring” in line 3, which should be changed to “the ring gear”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 102017003945 A1 to Wissmuller et al (hereinafter Wissmuller).
Regarding claim 1, Wissmuller discloses [an electric auxiliary drive system (11) for a bicycle] (Fig. 2; paragraphs 0001, 0013), comprising:
[a pedal crankshaft (12) for operation by a rider;
an epicyclic gearing mechanism (15) configured to determine a transmission ratio between the pedal crankshaft and an output shaft (13, 14, 29) for transmitting rotation to a rear wheel of the bicycle, the epicyclic gearing mechanism comprising
a sun gear (23) secured for rotation with the output shaft,
a ring gear (24),
a set of planet gears (22) between the sun gear and the ring gear, and
a planet carrier (16) secured for rotation with the pedal crankshaft and supporting the planet gears] (Fig. 2; paragraphs 0009, 0018, 0022);
[an electric assist motor (21) having a rotor drivingly connected to a gear secured to or integral with the sun gear to drive the output shaft] (Fig. 2; paragraph 0023; e.g., the rotor connected to a second sun gear mounted to the right of the sun gear 23 on element 13); and
[an electric control motor (30), drivingly connected to the ring gear for controlling the transmission ratio between the output shaft and the pedal crankshaft] (Fig. 2; paragraph 0021).
Regarding claim 3, Wissmuller further discloses [the output shaft comprises an axially extending central tubular portion (13) which coaxially surrounds a length of the pedal crankshaft] (Fig. 1 paragraph 0013).
Regarding claim 6, Wissmuller further discloses [a chain-ring (14, 29) integral with the output shaft and having a peripheral shape that allows the chain-ring to drive a sprocket mounted to a rear wheel hub of the bicycle] (Fig. 2; paragraph 0015), [wherein the chain ring and the sprocket define a transmission ratio that is numerically less than 1] (e.g., the sprocket mounted to a rear wheel hub shown in Fig. 1 from DE 102013206710 A1, which is cited in paragraph 0002 and is interpreted as the transmission ratio being numerically less than 1).
Regarding claim 8, Wissmuller further discloses [the electric control motor and the electric assist motor are both arranged radially offset or outside the pedal crankshaft] (Fig. 1), [each of the electric control motor and electric assist motor having a respective rotor drivingly connected with a respective single stage spur gear arrangement (20, 35) for speed reduction] (Fig. 1; paragraph 0014).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wissmuller in view of US 2015/0122565 A1 to Deleval.
Regarding claim 9, Wissmuller discloses the electric auxiliary drive system of claim 1, but does not appear to explicitly disclose sensors, a controller, or a battery.
Deleval discloses [an electric auxiliary drive system (disclosed as a “motive power unit”) for a bicycle (40)] (Fig. 3; paragraph 0028) comprising:
[a first rotation sensor (35) for sensing rotation of a rotor of an electric control motor (MV);
a second rotation sensor (36) for sensing rotation of a rotor of an electric assist motor (MT);
[a torque sensor operatively connected to the pedal crankshaft or the planet carrier to detect a pedalling torque applied to the electric auxiliary drive system by the rider] (paragraphs 0082 – 0085);
[an electronic controller (38) electrically connected to said sensors] (Fig. 9; paragraph 0041);
[a rechargeable battery unit (30), electrically connected to the electronic controller] (Fig. 9; paragraphs 0031, 0039); and
Deleval further discloses [the electronic controller is configured for rotating the electric assist motor in a forward direction while rotating the electric control motor in an opposite direction of rotation, in order to spin the gear ring and the sun gear in opposite directions of rotation so as to achieve a freewheeling condition] (paragraphs 0077 – 0078 disclose this feature as being handled by “power electronics”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art of electric auxiliary drive systems for bicycles, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Wissmuller’s device in view of Deleval’s teachings to create an improved Wissmuller/Deleval system because the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art and would provide greater flexibility and control of gear changing, and/or a rechargeable battery.
Regarding claim 10, claim 9 contains all limitations of claim 10. Similar considerations apply, claim 10 being unpatentable for the same reasons as presented with respect to claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2012/0010036 A1 – discloses an auxiliary drive system for a bicycle comprising axially offset electric motors and an epicyclic gearing mechanism.
/Tyler Ferguson/Examiner, Art Unit 3611
/VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611