DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 12 August 2024 is acknowledged and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-10, 12-14, 16-19, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,959,211 to Wagner et al. (hereinafter referred to as Wagner).
With regards to claim 1, Wagner discloses a scanner assembly (see fig. 1, shown in operation in fig. 2, and in more detail in fig. 3, etc.) for performing non-destructive test (NDT), the scanner assembly comprising:
a support frame (fixture 22);
a first probe holder (pivot joint 56/ball 96);
a first probe assembly (sensor head 48) mechanically coupled with the first probe holder (see fig. 1-3) and configured to pivot relative to the first probe holder (see fig. 2 and 3); and
a first arm (piston 24) mechanically coupled to the support frame (see fig. 1) and configured to slide relative to the support frame to translate the first probe holder relative to the support frame (see fig. 2);
wherein the first probe assembly pivots from a first orientation (the orientation of fig. 1) to a second orientation (the orientation of fig. 2) as the first arm slides (when the probes are pressed against surface 12), to align the first probe assembly in the second orientation to scan an object under test (col. 4, ll. 1-12).
With regards to claim 2, Wagner discloses the scanner assembly of claim 1. Wagner further disclosed the first orientation comprising an inclined orientation relative to a surface of the object under test (see fig. 1), and the second orientation comprises an orientation parallel to the surface of the object under test (see fig. 2 and 3).
With regards to claim 3, Wagner discloses the scanner assembly of claim 1. Wagner further discloses the first probe assembly comprising at least one acoustic transducer (an ultrasound gauge; col., 4, ll. 18-23).
With regards to claim 4, Wagner discloses the scanner assembly of claim 1. Wagner further discloses the first probe holder providing an offset between the first probe assembly and the first arm to suppress mechanical interference between the first probe assembly and the first arm as the first probe assembly pivots (the sensor head is shown offset from the piston arm on the joint in fig. 3 so as to allow the sensor head to pivot).
With regards to claim 7, Wagner discloses the scanner assembly of claim 1. Wagner further discloses the first arm being configured to translate the first probe holder toward or away from the support frame (when the biasing spring 72 is compressed or released from compression, the probe holder moves away from or toward the support frame 22).
With regards to claim 8, Wagner discloses the scanner assembly of claim 1. Wagner further discloses:
a second probe holder (pivot joint 58/the corresponding ball 96);
a second probe assembly (sensor head 50) mechanically coupled with the second probe holder (see fig. 1-3) and configured to pivot relative to the second probe holder to provide an inclination of the second probe assembly relative to a surface of an object under test (see fig. 2 and 3); and
a second arm (piston 26) mechanically coupled to the support frame (see fig. 1) and configured to slide relative to the support frame to translate the second probe holder relative to the support frame (see fig. 2);
wherein the second probe assembly pivots from a first orientation (the orientation of fig. 1) to a second orientation (the orientation of fig. 2) as the second arm slides (when the probes are pressed against surface 12), to align the second probe holder in the second orientation to scan the object under test (col. 4, ll. 1-12) without colliding with an end (e.g., an upper edge) of the object under test (this motion to place the probes on a surface does not contact an edge of the surface being inspected).
With regards to claim 9, Wagner discloses the scanner assembly of claim 8. Wagner further discloses the second probe holder pivoting independently of the first probe holder (see fig. 2).
With regards to claim 10, Wagner discloses the scanner assembly of claim 8. Wagner further discloses the second probe holder being located in a different position along the support frame relative to the first probe holder and the end of the object under test (see fig. 2).
With regards to claim 12, Wagner discloses the scanner assembly of claim 1. Wagner further discloses the support frame and first probe assembly configured to assume an orientation parallel to a surface of the object under test after the first probe assembly touches down on the surface of the object under test (the pivoting of the sensor head 48 ensures that this element is parallel to the corresponding part of surface 12, and fixture 22 is parallel to parts of surface 12 such as the middle of the depression seen halfway down surface 12 in fig. 1).
With regards to claim 13, Wagner discloses the scanner assembly of claim 1. Wagner further discloses a plurality of probe holders (pivots 56-62 and corresponding balls 96), corresponding probe assemblies (sensor heads 48-54), and corresponding arms (pistons 24-30), of which the first probe holder, first probe assembly, and first arm comprise respective ones of the plurality of probe holders, corresponding probe assemblies, and corresponding arms (see fig. 1-3).
With regards to claim 14, Wagner discloses the scanner assembly of claim 1. Wagner further discloses a sensor separate from the probe assembly (e.g., sensor 86 within sensor head 54), the sensor configured to determine one or more attributes of the object under test (e.g., paint film thickness as per the abstract, col. 4, ll. 1-12, etc.).
With regards to claim 16, Wagner discloses a method for performing non-destructive test (NDT) using a scanner assembly (see fig. 1, shown in operation in fig. 2, and in more detail in fig. 3, etc.), the method comprising:
robotically (a robot/automation positions the tooling corresponding to the scanner assembly as per col. 3, l. 56 to col. 4, l. 18, as one example) manipulating a support frame (fixture 22) of the scanner assembly, the support frame coupled to a first arm (piston 24), the first arm coupled to a first probe holder (pivot joint 56/ball 96), the manipulating comprising translating the support frame toward an object under test (achieving the movement shown in fig. 1-2);
sliding the first arm relative to the support frame to translate the first probe holder relative to the support frame (see fig. 1-2 and col. 3, ll. 7-14); and
pivoting the first probe assembly from a first orientation (the orientation of fig. 1) to a second orientation (the orientation of fig. 2) relative to the first probe holder, as the first arm slides (from fig. 1 to fig. 2), to align the first probe assembly in a second orientation to scan the object under test (col. 4, ll. 1-12) without colliding with an end (e.g., an upper edge) of the object under test (this motion to place the probes on a surface does not contact an upper edge of the surface being inspected);
wherein the first orientation comprises an inclined orientation relative to a surface of the object under test (see fig. 1), and the second orientation comprises an orientation parallel to the surface of the object under test (see fig. 2).
With regards to claim 17, Wagner discloses the method of claim 16. Wagner further discloses pivoting the first probe assembly back to the first orientation relative to the first probe holder while maintaining the first probe assembly in an orientation parallel to the surface of the object under test (when the scanner assembly is moved to a new position as per col. 4, ll. 9-12, the sensor head pivots back to the orientation shown in fig. 1 while maintaining parallel contact with surface 12 according to where the sensor head and surface 12 interface).
With regards to claim 18, Wagner discloses the method of claim 16. Wagner further discloses manipulating the support frame of the scanner assembly to scan the first probe assembly along the surface of the object under test after the first probe assembly is aligned in an orientation parallel to the object under test (col. 4, ll. 9-12).
With regards to claim 19, Wagner discloses the method of claim 16. Wagner further discloses the scanner assembly comprising a plurality of probe holders (pivots 56-62 and corresponding balls 96), corresponding probe assemblies (sensor heads 48-54), and corresponding arms (pistons 24-30), of which the first probe holder, first probe assembly, and first arm comprise respective ones of the plurality of probe holders, corresponding probe assemblies, and corresponding arms (see fig. 1-3); and wherein the method comprises performing acoustic inspection with the probe assemblies (using an ultrasound gauge; col., 4, ll. 18-23).
With regards to claim 22, Wagner discloses the method of claim 16. Wagner further discloses:
performing lift-off of the first probe assembly from the surface of the object under test including sliding the first arm relative to the support frame to translate the first probe holder relative to the support frame (the assembly is repositioned at another location as per col. 4, ll. 18-23, at which point the contact process of fig. 1-2 would be repeated), as the first probe assembly pivots from the second orientation to the first orientation as the first arm slides (in the repositioning, the assembly would be removed, and the piston(s) would slide and move the sensor head(s) back to the first orientation shown in fig. 1); and
robotically manipulating the support frame to translate the first probe assembly away from the surface of the object under test (the robot/automation translates the first probe assembly in a manner opposite that going from fig. 1 to fig. 2 when moving the sensor head(s) away for repositioning or finishing testing).
With regards to claim 23, Wagner discloses the method of claim 16. Wagner further discloses determining one or more attributes of the object under test (e.g., paint film thickness as per the abstract, col. 4, ll. 1-12, etc.) using a sensor separate from the first probe assembly (e.g., sensor 86 within sensor head 54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of US 7,114,406 to Wright et al. (hereinafter referred to as Wright).
With regards to claim 5, Wagner teaches the scanner assembly of claim 4. While Wagner teaches that any known pivotal attachment can be used to attach sensor heads to pistons (col. 3, ll. 30-34), Wagner does not expressly teach the first probe holder comprising a fork structure configured to hold the first probe assembly.
Wright teaches the feature of using a fork structure to pivotably hold a probe assembly so as to follow the surface of an object under test (see attachment 18 in fig. 1-2, 7, etc., holding probe 14; also see col. 7, ll. 46-54).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to similarly have the first probe holder of Wagner comprise a fork structure configured to hold the first probe assembly in a manner similarly to Wright. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to pivotably hold the probe assembly. Moreover, the use of such a fork structure would merely provide one known, specific configuration for holding the probe assembly, and nothing about the basic operation of the system of Wagner would change. The result of this combination would thus be predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art, and this combination accordingly amounts to no more than the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions.
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner as applied to claim 16 and 19, and further in view of US 7,168,322 to Bardoux et al. (hereinafter referred to as Bardoux).
With regards to claim 20, Wagner teaches the method of claim 19. Wagner teaches that other sensors may be used to take desired measurements (col. 4, ll. 18-23), but does not expressly teach the performing the acoustic inspection comprising using the first probe assembly in a transmit mode, and another probe assembly amongst the corresponding probe assemblies in a receive mode.
Bardoux (see fig. 5-6) teaches using locating probes (5, 6) on either side of a longitudinal weld structure (1), and performing acoustic inspection of the longitudinal weld structure using time-of-flight measurements (abstract). In this type of measurement, one of the probes is in a transmit mode, and another probe is in a receive mode. Bardoux also teaches that this sort of measurement may be applied to investigate welds in flat surfaces (fig. 5) and curved surfaces (fig. 6).
The method and system taught by Wagner is not limited to measuring only paint film thickness, and in view of the teaching of Bardoux that the surfaces being ultrasonically inspected may be curved, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the scanner of assembly and method of Wagner so as to comprise performing an acoustic inspection using time-of-flight diffraction like in Bardoux, wherein the first probe assembly is in a transmit mode, and another probe assembly amongst the corresponding probe assemblies is in a receive mode. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to determine the quality of welds, etc., as in Bardoux in an object being inspected without needing to specifically adapt the sensor assembly specifically to the curvature of that object, thereby enabling scanning to be performed more efficiently.
With regards to claim 21, Wagner teaches the method of claim 16. Wagner teaches that other sensors may be used to take desired measurements (col. 4, ll. 18-23), but does not expressly teach performing acoustic inspection of a longitudinal weld structure using the scanner assembly.
Bardoux (see fig. 5-6) teaches using locating probes (5, 6) on either side of a longitudinal weld structure (1), and performing acoustic inspection of the longitudinal weld structure using time-of-flight measurements (abstract). Bardoux teaches that this sort of measurement may be applied to investigate welds in flat surfaces (fig. 5) and curved surfaces (fig. 6).
The method and system taught by Wagner is not limited to measuring only paint film thickness, and in view of the teaching of Bardoux that the surfaces being ultrasonically inspected may be curved, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the scanner of assembly and method of Wagner so as to comprise performing acoustic inspection of a longitudinal weld structure using the scanner assembly, such as by using time-of-flight diffraction like in Bardoux. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so in order to determine the quality of welds, etc., as in Bardoux in an object being inspected without needing to specifically adapt the sensor assembly specifically to the curvature of that object, thereby enabling scanning to be performed more efficiently.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2009/0178465 to Ethridge et al. discloses a related system wherein pivotable probes conform to a flat or curved surface to scan welds therein.
US 9,746,445 to Hafenrichter et al. discloses a related apparatus comprising a plurality of probes with adjustable heights supported by a frame, and each of the probes is conformable to the surface of an object being inspected.
US 2021/0302390 to Spay et al. discloses a related system for inspecting weld joints formed in flat or cylindrical surfaces.
/JS/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JUDY NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858