DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
Preliminary Amendment dated 08/12/2024 has been formally entered and amended claims 1-12 submitted with Preliminary Amendment dated 08/12/2024 are being examined on the merits.
Claim Objections
Following claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 line 1 “A database” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is – the [[A]] database – in light of its antecedent in claim 4 line 3 “a database”.
Each of claim 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, 12 recite “can…” encompassing limitation which needs to be corrected. As an example suggested correction of claim 1 “the database associating an odor component with an induced emotion that can occur due to the odor component”, claim 1 lines 4-5 “the database associating an odor component with an induced emotion that can occur due to the odor component”, claim 4 lines 4-5 “the database associating an odor component with an induced emotion that can occur due to the odor component”, claim 8 “An odor classification indicator configured such that odor components are arranged in association with respective induced emotions that can occur due to the odor components” is – the database associating an odor component with an induced emotion that [[can]] occurs due to the odor component — the database associating an odor component with an induced emotion that [[can]] occurs due to the odor component—and -- An odor classification indicator configured such that odor components are arranged in association with respective induced emotions that [[can]] occurs due to the odor components-- respectively to avoid optional limitation interpretation which would raise question as to whether the limitation proceeding “can be” is even required or not required. Similar correction is suggested for each of claims 3, 6, 9, 12.
Claim 3 “wherein the database is configured such that odor components are arranged in association with respective induced emotions using at least two or more index values that can compartmentalize emotions” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is – wherein the database is configured [[such]] in a manner that odor components are arranged in association with respective induced emotions using at least two or more index values that can compartmentalize emotions —to avoid intended result/functional limitation interpretation (see MPEP 2111.04) which would raise question as to whether the limitation proceeding “such that” necessarily follows from preceding limitations and thus unclear as to whether this limitation is even required or not required.
Claim 6 “wherein the database is configured such that odor components are arranged in association with respective induced emotions that can occur due to the odor components” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is – wherein the database is configured [[such]] in a manner that odor components are arranged in association with respective induced emotions that can occur due to the odor components —to avoid intended result/functional limitation interpretation (see MPEP 2111.04) which would raise question as to whether the limitation proceeding “such that” necessarily follows from preceding limitations and thus unclear as to whether this limitation is even required or not required.
Claim 8 “odor classification indicator configured such that odor components are arranged in association with respective induced emotions that can occur due to the odor components” needs to be corrected. A suggested correction is – odor classification indicator configured [[such]]in a manner that odor components are arranged in association with respective induced emotions that can occur due to the odor components-- to avoid intended result/functional limitation interpretation (see MPEP 2111.04) which would raise question as to whether the limitation proceeding “such that” necessarily follows from preceding limitations and thus unclear as to whether this limitation is even required or not required.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 3, 6-7, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 in line 1 recites “emotion-inducing device” and in the body recites “an inference means that infers a current emotion; and an analysis means that obtains… odor information bringing the current emotion closer to an expected emotion, the database associating an odor component with an induced emotion” which as a whole render this claim unclear. More specifically, there does not appear to be any link between emotion-inducing feature of the device in the preamble and the structures, arrangement of structures and corresponding structural functions recited in the body of the claim. That is, it is unclear how the structures, arrangement of structures and corresponding structural functions defined in the body of the claim form emotion-inducing device recited in the preamble as none of structures, arrangement of structures are defined in the claim as doing anything clearly related to inducing-emotion. It is unclear as to how, without an emission structure that actually emits at least one type of odor component based on the odor information, the device is actually able to induce the targeted emotion in the user. Examiner suggests merging 2 into claim 1 to cure the noted issue.
Claim 6 line 2 recites “the database” which renders this claim unclear. More specifically, it is unclear as to claim 6 line 2 “the database” is referencing claim 6 line 1 “A database” and/or claim 4 line 3 “a database”.
Dependent claims 3, 7 when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because the additional recited limitations fail to cure the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue in their respective base claims. Consequently, dependent claims 3, 7 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) based on their direct/indirect dependency on their respective base claims.
Claim Interpretation Under 35 U.S.C 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claims that invoke 35 U.S.C 112 (f)
Generic Placeholder
Specification Support in instant application specification as-filed dated 08/12/2024
at least 1
“inference means”
Fig. 2A, [0013-0015], [0020], [0041-0042] NIRS, electrocardiogram, measurement equipment
at least 1
“analysis means”
[0013-0015], [0024], [0026], [0041] , [0043-0043] database, computer, control unit
at least 2
“emission means”
[0013-0015], [0039], [0041], [0047] container, absorbent, valve, computer, emission equipment
at least 4
“inference step of inferring”
Fig. 2A, [0013-0015], [0020], [0041-0042] NIRS, electrocardiogram, measurement equipment
at least 4
“analysis step of obtaining”
[0013-0015], [0024], [0026], [0041] , [0043-0043] database, computer, control unit
At least 4-5
“emission step of emitting”
[0013-0015], [0039], [0041], [0047] container, absorbent, valve, computer, emission equipment
at least 5
“evaluation step of evaluating”
[0013-0015], [0024], [0026], [0041] , [0043-0043] database, computer, control unit
Claim Interpretation
Claims terms where relevant are being interpreted in light of definitions enumerated in instant application specification as-filed [0013-0014], [0016], [0019], [0038], [0043-0044] .
Please note that USPTO personnel are to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the supporting disclosure. In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997). Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim should not be read into the claim. E-Pass Techs., Inc. v. 3Com Corp., 343 F.3d 1364, 1369, 67 USPQ2d 1947, 1950 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (claims must be interpreted "in view of the specification" without importing limitations from the specification into the claims unnecessarily). In re Prater, 415 F.2d 1393, 1404-05, 162 USPQ 541, 550-551 (CCPA 1969). See also In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321-22, 13 USPQ2d 1320, 1322 (Fed. Cir. 1989) ("During patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow.... The reason is simply that during patent prosecution when claims can be amended, ambiguities should be recognized, scope and breadth of language explored, and clarification imposed.... An essential purpose of patent examination is to fashion claims that are precise, clear, correct, and unambiguous. Only in this way can uncertainties of claim scope be removed, as much as possible, during the administrative process.").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Yigal et al. (Pub. No.: WO 2019220428 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Yigal”).
As per independent Claim 1, Yigal discloses an emotion-inducing device (Yigal in at least abstract, fig. 1-2, [0002], [0006-0019], [0021-0024], [0027-0028], [0031], [0033-0035], [0037-0040], [0042-0066], [0065], [0070-0074], [0081-0083], [0089], [0092], [0096], [0099-00104], [00106], [00113], [00116-00117], [0121], [00123-00124] for example discloses relevant subject-matter. More pertinently, Yigal in at least fig. 1, [0006], [0014] for example discloses emotion-inducing device. See at least Yigal [0006] “a system for monitoring and modifying an emotional state of a subject… when the indicated current emotional state is different from the target emotional state, to operate the at least one stimulation device to generate a stimulus that has been previously identified as facilitating changing the current emotional state to the target emotional state”) comprising:
an inference means that infers a current emotion (Yigal fig. 1, [0006], [0031], [0037], [0071-0072] for example an inference means that infers a current emotion. See at least Yigal [0031]: “an emotional state modification system includes one or more sensors for sensing various biometric features or functions of a person (referred to herein as a subject) that are related to, e.g., may be affected by, an emotional state of the subjec”; [0037]:” a processor may incorporate a Synsis™ emotion measurement engine to relate one or more physiological measurements (in some cases, one or more environmental measurements, in addition) to one or more emotional states”); and
an analysis means that obtains, based on a database, odor information bringing the current emotion closer to an expected emotion (Yigal fig. 1, [0006], [0014], [0039], [0081-0083], [0113]. See at least Yigal [0113]:” If modification of the emotional state is indicated, system controller 18 may operate one or more modification stimulation devices 16 via modification device control module 40 to generate one or more stimuli (block 140). For example, a stimulus may be selected by processing module 38, e.g., in accordance with a database stored on data storage 44 of processing module 38. The database may correlate stimuli with previously measured changes in emotional state”; [0082-0083]:” processing module 38 may determine that one or more olfactory stimuli are to be generated to change an emotional state of subject 14…a change in the emotional state toward a target emotional state may he facilitated by one or more scents that may be released by operation of olfactory stimulation device 28 via modification device control module 40…For example, a floral, fruity, or other scent that is generally considered to be pleasant may facilitate reduction of stress… an olfactory stimulation device 28 may be configured … to use a fragrance to increase arousal, to serve as a positive reinforcement, or to reduce stress.”),
the database associating an odor component with an induced emotion that can occur due to the odor component (Yigal in at least [0024], [0044], [0074], [0082], [0113]. See at least Yigal [0113]:” a stimulus may be selected by processing module 38, e.g., in accordance with a database stored on data storage 44 of processing module 38. The database may correlate stimuli with previously measured changes in emotional state”; [0082] “processing module 38 may determine that one or more olfactory stimuli are to be generated to change an emotional state of subject 14. For example, a change in the emotional state toward a target emotional state may he facilitated by one or more scents that may be released by operation of olfactory stimulation device 28 via modification device control module 40”;).
As per dependent Claim 2, Yigal further discloses emotion-inducing device further comprising an emission means that emits at least one type of odor component based on the odor information (Yigal in at least fig. 1, [0081] “an olfactory stimulation device 28 may include an atomizer.Math. a canister or compartment that encloses a source of a scent and with controllable openings that may be opened or closed, or another device configured to release a scent into an ambient atmosphere”).
As per dependent Claim 3, Yigal further discloses emotion-inducing device wherein the database is configured such that odor components are arranged in association with respective induced emotions using at least two or more index values that can compartmentalize emotions (Yigal [0038-0039] “emotional state medics may indicate the emotional state as a multidimensional (e.g., vector) value, where each dimensional axis represents a range of emotional states between two opposite emotional states. For example, an axis may represent emotional valence (e.g., positive or pleasant emotional states versus negative or unpleasant emotional states), arousal (e.g , excited or interested versus unexcited or disinterested), dominance (e.g., controlling versus submission), engagement (e.g., expressive versus unexpressive), or other ranges of emotional states… processor may be configured to evaluate the emotional state in accordance one or more predetermined metric scales”;[0082] “processing module 38 may determine that one or more olfactory stimuli are to be generated to change an emotional state of subject 14”).
As per independent Claim 4, Yigal discloses an emotion-inducing method (Yigal in at least abstract, fig. 1-2, [0002], [0006-0019], [0021-0024], [0027-0028], [0031], [0033-0035], [0037-0040], [0042-0066], [0065], [0070-0074], [0081-0083], [0089], [0092], [0096], [0099-00104], [00106], [00113], [00116-00117], [0121], [00123-00124] for example discloses relevant subject-matter. More pertinently, Yigal in at least fig. 1-2, [0021], [0024] for example discloses emotion-inducing method. See at least Yigal [0021] “a method for monitoring and modifying an emotional state of a subject… when the indicated current emotional state is different from the target emotional state, operating at least one stimulation device to generate a stimulus that has been previously identified as facilitating changing the current emotional state to the target emotional state”) comprising:
an inference step of inferring a current emotion (Yigal fig. 1-2, [0023], [00100-00101], [0104]. See at least [0100] “Sensor data may be received from one or more subject state sensors 12 by processing module 38 of system controller 18, e.g., via sensor communication module 36 (block 110… The sensed imaged or physiological parameters may be biometric features that are, at least in some cases, correlated with or affected by changes in an emotional state of subject 14”; [00104] “one or more algorithms known in the art for determining an emotional state may be applied … heartbeat data or other physiological data to calculate one or more metrics that are indicative of an emotional state…calculation may yield a calculated emotional valence, a metric indicative of arousal, or a metric indicative of one or more other components of an emotional state.”);
an analysis step of obtaining, based on a database, odor information bringing the current emotion closer to an expected emotion (Yigal fig. 1-2, [0021], [0082-0083]; [00103], [00105-00106], [00113]. See at least [0082-0083]:” processing module 38 may determine that one or more olfactory stimuli are to be generated to change an emotional state of subject 14…a change in the emotional state toward a target emotional state may he facilitated by one or more scents that may be released by operation of olfactory stimulation device 28 via modification device control module 40…For example, a floral, fruity, or other scent that is generally considered to be pleasant may facilitate reduction of stress… an olfactory stimulation device 28 may be configured … to use a fragrance to increase arousal, to serve as a positive reinforcement, or to reduce stress.” [00103] “Processor 42 of processing module 38 may operate in accordance with programmed instructions, e.g. as stored on data storage 44, to calculate an emotional state from the received sensor data”; [00105] “calculated current emotional state of subject 14 may be compared with a target emotional state to determine if the current emotional state is to be modified (block 130). … characteristics or metrics that are indicative of a target emotional state may be stored in data storage 44. A target emotional state may be determined on the basis of a range of emotional state metrics that are predetermined as suitable for subject 14”; [0113] “If modification of the emotional state is indicated, system controller 18 may operate one or more modification stimulation devices 16 via modification device control module 40 to generate one or more stimuli (block 140). For example, a stimulus may be selected by processing module 38, e.g., in accordance with a database stored on data storage 44 of processing module 38. The database may correlate stimuli with previously measured changes in emotional state.”),
the database associating an odor component with an induced emotion that can occur due to the odor component (Yigal in at least [0024], [0082], [0113]. See at least Yigal [0113]:” a stimulus may be selected by processing module 38, e.g., in accordance with a database stored on data storage 44 of processing module 38. The database may correlate stimuli with previously measured changes in emotional state”; [0082] “processing module 38 may determine that one or more olfactory stimuli are to be generated to change an emotional state of subject 14. For example, a change in the emotional state toward a target emotional state may he facilitated by one or more scents that may be released by operation of olfactory stimulation device 28 via modification device control module 40”;); and
an emission step of emitting at least one type of odor component based on the odor information (Yigal fig. 1-2, [0081] “an olfactory stimulation device 28 may include an atomizer.Math. a canister or compartment that encloses a source of a scent and with controllable openings that may be opened or closed, or another device configured to release a scent into an ambient atmosphere”).
As per dependent Claim 5, Yigal further discloses emotion-inducing method further comprising an evaluation step of evaluating the current emotion after the emission step (Yigal in at least fig. 2, [0045], [0116]. See at least [0048] “if the monitoring indicates that, during the stimulation, the emotional state is changing toward a target state, generation of the stimulation may continue”; [0116] “as the stimuli are being generated by modification stimulation devices 16, system controller 18 may continue to receive data from subject state sensors 12 so as to continue to monitor the current emotional state of subject 14 as the state is modified by the stimuli. “).
As per dependent Claim 6, Yigal further discloses a database for use in the emotion-inducing method wherein the database is configured such that odor components are arranged in association with respective induced emotions that can occur due to the odor components (Yigal, [0082-0083] “processing module 38 may determine that one or more olfactory stimuli are to be generated to change an emotional state of subject 14… a floral, fruity, or other scent that is generally considered to be pleasant may facilitate reduction of stress … acrid or otherwise unpleasant scent may induce alertness….use a fragrance to increase arousal, to serve as a positive reinforcement, or to reduce stress.”), wherein the odor components are arranged using at least two or more index values that can compartmentalize emotions (Yigal [0038-0039] “emotional state medics may indicate the emotional state as a multidimensional (e.g., vector) value, where each dimensional axis represents a range of emotional states between two opposite emotional states. For example, an axis may represent emotional valence (e.g., positive or pleasant emotional states versus negative or unpleasant emotional states), arousal (e.g , excited or interested versus unexcited or disinterested), dominance (e.g., controlling versus submission), engagement (e.g., expressive versus unexpressive), or other ranges of emotional states… processor may be configured to evaluate the emotional state in accordance one or more predetermined metric scales”; [0082] “processing module 38 may determine that one or more olfactory stimuli are to be generated to change an emotional state of subject 14”).
As per dependent Claim 7, Yigal further discloses the database wherein the index values include an arousal level and a pleasantness level (Yigal in at least [0038-0039],[0082-0083]. See at least Yigal [0038-0039] “emotional state medics may indicate the emotional state as a multidimensional (e.g., vector) value, where each dimensional axis represents a range of emotional states between two opposite emotional states. For example, an axis may represent emotional valence (e.g., positive or pleasant emotional states versus negative or unpleasant emotional states), arousal (e.g , excited or interested versus unexcited or disinterested), dominance (e.g., controlling versus submission), engagement (e.g., expressive versus unexpressive), or other ranges of emotional states… processor may be configured to evaluate the emotional state in accordance one or more predetermined metric scales”;[0082] “processing module 38 may determine that one or more olfactory stimuli are to be generated to change an emotional state of subject 14”).
Claims 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (English translation of KR 2020119388 A, hereinafter referred to as “Cho-ET”).
As per independent Claim 8, Cho-ET discloses an odor classification indicator (Cho-ET in at least [0017], fig. 6, fig. 9, [0031-0032], [0038-0040] for example discloses relevant subject-matter. More pertinently Cho-ET in fig. 6, [0031] discloses odor classification indicator.) configured such that odor components are arranged in association with respective induced emotions that can occur due to the odor components (Cho-ET, fig. 6, [0031] See Cho-ET [0032] “scents corresponding to each scent are depicted”).
As per dependent Claim 9, Cho-ET further discloses the odor classification indicator wherein the odor components that can cause contrasting induced emotions are arranged in symmetrical domains (Cho-ET fig. 6).
As per dependent Claim 10, Cho-ET further discloses the odor classification indicator wherein the odor classification indicator is color-coded for each of the odor components and/or each of the induced emotions (Cho-ET fig. 6).
As per dependent Claim 11, Cho-ET further discloses the odor classification indicator wherein the odor components are arranged in an annular or circular shape (Cho-ET fig. 6).
As per dependent Claim 12, Cho-ET further discloses the odor classification indicator wherein the odor components are indicated on a coordinate plane composed of two index axes that can compartmentalize emotions (Cho-ET, fig. 9, [0038-0039] “models that index emotions…indexation methods used in psychological research. In this quantification method, emotion can correspond to a graph divided into two axes, arousal and valence; by recognizing speech through a machine learning process using these indicators, arousal and valence values can be obtained to distinguish emotions”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and/or the claims.
Prior art US 10485890 B1 to Sabankaya discloses a device and method for selectively inducing various emotional states of an user with aromatherapy compositions similar to that disclosed. More specifically, a method for selectively inducing various emotional states of an occupant in a vehicle with multiple aromatherapy compositions that strategically infuses eclectic aromatherapy compositions into an interior passenger compartment of a vehicle. The aromatherapy compositions are formulated to achieve various emotional states. A vehicle occupant selects an appropriate aromatherapy composition based on the desired emotional state. The occupant may change compositions at regular durations when a new emotional state is desired. The composition is integrated into the ventilation system of the vehicle causing the composition to vaporize and be drawn into the vehicle passenger compartment for diffusion into the passenger compartment.
Non-patent literature “Influence of aroma intensity and nasal pungency on the ‘mood signature’ of common aroma compounds in a mixed ethnic population” to Jin et al. for disclosing odor classification indicator configured such that odor components are arranged in association with respective induced emotions that can occur due to the odor components (fig. 7-8) similar to that disclosed
Prior art US 20050075532 A1 to Lee et al. discloses apparatus and method for inducing emotions, wherein biosignals from a user are fedback and thus an emotion desired by a user can be accurately induced in accordance with the fedback biosignals similar to that disclosed.
Prior art US 20070167690 A1 to Miyazaki et al. (see fig. 8A, fig. 10A, discloses odor classification indicator configured such that odor components are arranged in association with respective induced emotions that can occur due to the odor components optionally in a symmetrical annular or circular shape/configuration (see fig. 11) similar to that disclosed.
Prior art US 20070167690 A1 to Kotake et al. method that includes storing information indicating an emotion of a subject, and information indicating an activity of the subject; generating learning data representing a relationship between the stored information indicating the emotion of the subject, and the stored information indicating the activity of the subject and storing the learning data into a memory; estimating, after the learning data is generated, a current emotion of the subject based on information indicating a current activity of the subject obtained by an obtaining unit, and the learning data stored in the memory; and providing driving assistance of the vehicle based on the estimated current emotion. More pertinently, Kotake in fig. 7-10 discloses classification of emotion information (fig. 8-10) optionally in a symmetrical annular or circular shape/configuration (see fig. 7) similar to that disclosed.
Prior art US 20110253800 A1 to Doty et al. discloses digital odor generator that can be used to administer various odors alone or in various combinations to a patient or subject similar to that disclosed. The digital odor generator of the invention can also be used to administer olfactory tests remotely over the Internet or other network and to collect the results and tabulate data over such networks.
Prior art US 20200269865 A1 to Yoon et al. system and method for stimulating a user based on biometric data obtained from the user similar to that disclosed. More specifically, a method of recognizing an emotion of a driver and an corresponding apparatus. The method includes receiving emotion recognition information including at least one of vehicle state information and driver emotion state information, determining whether a dominant emotion state exists among one or more emotion states possessed by the driver on the basis of the emotion recognition information and an emotion recognition model, and performing a reaction inducing interaction with respect to the driver determined on the basis of the determined dominant emotion state together with the driver when the dominant emotion state of the driver is determined to exist.
Prior art US 20050148479 A1 to Barthel discloses a fragrance release system similar to that disclosed. More specifically, fragrance release system having a substantially rotationally symmetric container having a chamber accommodating a multitude of particles for deodorizing or fragrancing an open or closed space, the particles comprising a carrier material and at least one fragrance, and the container having a plurality of orifices through which emission of the fragrances of the particles from the accommodation chamber outward is possible.
/SUNITA REDDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791