DETAILED ACTION
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, KR20030047207 in view Park, US 12119195 [Translation of WO2021/177676].
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses (figs.1-7) an arc gas discharge device of an air circuit breaker, comprising:
a base (1-2) in which an arc extinguishing space (200), in which an arc generated by operation of a movable contact with respect to a stationary contact is extinguished, is formed [para 0013];
an arc extinguishing unit (4) which is installed in the arc extinguishing space (200) of the base (1-2) and discharges an arc gas upward;
a guide member (5) which is installed on the base (1-2) and guides the arc extinguishing unit (4) while a portion of the arc extinguishing unit (4) is restricted to slightly move the arc extinguishing unit (4) upward or downward in the arc extinguishing space (200); and
an elastic member (6) which provides an elastic force such that the arc extinguishing unit (4) is in close contact with the base (1-2) in the arc extinguishing space (200),
where, when a pressure of the arc gas is a predetermined pressure or more, the arc extinguishing unit (4) overcomes the elastic force of the elastic member (6) and moves upward, and an exhaust passage (h) is opened between the arc extinguishing unit (4) and the base (1-2) to discharge the arc gas [para 0033].
Kim fails to explicitly disclose a plurality of grids, extinguishes the arc, and discharges an arc gas upward.
Park discloses (figs.3-5) a circuit breaker (1) comprising an arc extinguishing unit (3) which is installed in an arc extinguishing space (2a) of a base (2), including a plurality of grids (30), extinguishes an arc, and discharges an arc gas upward.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit breaker of Kim, with the inclusion of the arc extinguishing device of Park, thereby providing a rapid cooling of the arc gases, quickly extinguishing the arc gases, thus preventing damages to associated components.
Regarding claim 2, Kim and Park further disclose where the guide member (Kim, 5) is a guide bolt which passes through a through portion formed in the arc extinguishing unit (4) and is fixed to the base (1-2).
Regarding claim 5, Kim and Park further disclose where the elastic member (Kim, 6) is a spring installed between a head of the guide bolt (5)and the arc extinguishing unit (4).
Regarding claim 6, Kim and Park further disclose where the head of the guide bolt (Kim, 5) is formed to be greater than a diameter of a cross section of the elastic member (6).
Regarding claim 7, Kim and Park further disclose where the through portion of the arc extinguishing unit (Kim, 4) is formed in a cylindrical shape such that the elastic member (6) is installed on an outer surface of the through bolt (5).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Park and further in view of Schultz et al, DE 3541514 [Schultz].
Regarding claim 3, Kim and Park further disclose where a cross-shaped groove (Park, 2c) is formed in the base (2); but silent on whether a nut is inserted into the cross-shaped groove not to be vertically come out; and the guide bolt is fastened to the nut.
Schultz discloses (fig.1) an arc extinguishing chamber (1) for a low-voltage circuit breaker comprising an upper cover (30) connected to a base (15), where a nut (41) is inserted into a cross-shaped groove (bore, 40) not to be vertically come out; and a guide bolt (37) is fastened to the nut (41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the circuit breaker of Kim, with the inclusion of the nut inserted within the groove (bore), taught by Schultz, thereby providing movement of the cover, releasing arc gases, while, positively securing the guiding bolt to the base.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, the prior art fails to teach or show, alone or in combination with an arc gas discharge device, comprising a cap which is inserted into the cross-shaped groove after the nut is inserted into the cross-shaped groove such that the nut is disposed at a fastening location.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art fails to teach or show, alone or in combination an arc gas discharge device, where cut surfaces are formed on an inner side of the seating groove and an inner side of the flange part; and when the arc extinguishing unit moves upward, portions of the cut surfaces overlap to form an exhaust passage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Domejean et al, Yang, Rival et al, Bresciani et al, Afshari et al, Rane et al and Turkmen are examples of circuit breakers comprising arc discharge devices configured similar to the present invention.
/WILLIAM A BOLTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831