DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
“a lower lip of the exposed portion of the front panel is configured to hold the second display device while a lower lip of a remaining portion of the front panel holds the first display device”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-4,6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 2010/0124006) in view of Jones et al. (US 2011/0230178), further in view of Son et al. (US 2019/0004764).
As to Claim 1, Chang discloses A display system comprising: a first display device (fig.2-4, 12-14; display panel 32), a second display device (fig.2-4, 12-14, display panel 42), a display device mounting support configured to have an open position and a closed position (fig.3-4, 8, 10, 12-14, housing 41 in conjunction with slide rails 51, slide frame 52, may be in an open position (pulled outward) or closed position (pushed inward); para.0048-0050),
wherein, in the closed position, the display device mounting support is configured to hold only the first display device,
wherein the display device mounting support comprises a sliding part configured change the display device mounting support from the closed position to the open position by sliding in an outward direction from a backside of the first display device so as to expose only a portion of a front panel of the display device mounting support (fig. 8, 10, 12-14, housing 41 in conjunction with slide rails 51, slide frame 52, may be in open position when sliding outward direction (direction I) from a backside of the display panel 32 exposing a portion of the front panel of housing 41); para.0048-0050,
wherein, in the open position, a lower lip of the exposed portion of the front panel is configured to hold the second display device (fig.10, 12-14, lower edge surface of exposed housing 41 (read as lower lip) holds display panel 42) while a lower lip of a remaining portion of the front panel holds the first display device (fig.10, 12-14, remaining portion lower edge surface of exposed housing 41 holds display panel 31 (slide frame 52))),
the first display device and the second display device being configured to be magnetically coupled to each other,
wherein the first display device determines whether the second display device is magnetically coupled to the first display device, and
wherein, based on the first display device determining that the second display device is magnetically coupled to the first display device, the first display device wirelessly controls the second display device to display a second content image that is related to a first content image that is being displayed on the first display device.
Chang does not expressly disclose wherein, in the closed position, the display device mounting support is configured to hold only the first display device,
the first display device and the second display device being configured to be magnetically coupled to each other,
wherein the first display device determines whether the second display device is magnetically coupled to the first display device, and
wherein, based on the first display device determining that the second display device is magnetically coupled to the first display device, the first display device wirelessly controls the second display device to display a second content image that is related to a first content image that is being displayed on the first display device.
Jones et al. discloses a mounting support (fig.2, second portion 230) and removable second device 250), wherein, in the closed position, the display device mounting support is configured to hold only the first display device (fig.2(c ) – (d); device in closed-detached configuration, where the second portion 230 only holds the first portion 220, since the second removable device 250 is detached; para.0052-0053).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chang with the teachings of Jones et al., by implementing the display panel (42) as a detachable device as disclosed by Jones et al., the motivation being to be able to attach and detach separate devices that can be used an integrated display and communicate wirelessly.
Chang in view of Jones et al. do not expressly disclose, but Son et al. discloses: a first display device (fig.3, display 301) and a second display device (fig.3, display 302), the first display device and the second display device being configured to be magnetically coupled to each other (fig.3, first display 301 and second display 302 magnetically coupled via magnets 310, 312; para.0060, 0093-0094), wherein the first display device determines whether the second display device is magnetically coupled to the first display device (fig.3,6; para.0091,0093-0093), and wherein, based on the first display device determining that the second display device is magnetically coupled to the first display device, the first display device wirelessly controls the second display device to display a second content image that is related to a first content image that is being displayed on the first display device (fig.6,7-8; para.0059,0091, 0097-0100,0103,0108; first display may display an execution screen and the second display displays derived information related to first display, or the second display may display portion of image displayed on the first display).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Chang in view of Jones et al., with the teachings of Son et al., the motivation being to control one or both displays to output individually or simultaneously a screen according to the coupling form of the two display devices, thereby improving user’s experience convenience and usability of the electronic devices.
As to Claim 3, Chang in view of Jones et al., as modified by Son et al., disclose wherein the second content image is a partial image of the first content image (Son-fig.7 (705), para.0108).
As to Claim 4, Chang in view of Jones et al., as modified by Son et al., disclose wherein the first display device determines whether the second display device is attached by detecting magnetic force between a first magnet provided on one surface of the first display device and a second magnet provided on one surface of the second display device (Son-para.0063, 0068-0069).
As to Claim 6, Chang in view of Jones et al. as modified by Son et al. disclose wherein when the second display device is detached from the first display device, the second display device displays the second content image (Jones-para. 0053, 0070; Son-para.0059, 0063)
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 2010/0124006) in view of Jones et al. (US 2011/0230178), further in view of Son et al. (US 2019/0004764), and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2015/0317120).
As to Claim 2, Chang in view of Jones et al., as modified by Son et al. disclose wherein a screen of the first display device is larger than a screen of the second display device (Chang-fig.12, display panel 32 is larger than display panel 42).
Chang in view of Jones as modified by Son et al. do not expressly disclose wherein the second content image is an enlarged image of the first content image.
Kim et al. discloses a second display displaying second content image that is an enlarged image of a first content image (fig.11, display 1110A displays an enlarged image of a thumbnail of display 1120A; fig.11B; fig.12A, display 1220A displays enlarged image 1221A of image content 1211A of display 1210A; para.0119,0191,0201).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Chang in view of Jones et al., with the teachings of Kim et al., the motivation being to output content on one or more displays and outputting menus or information associated with any other display.
Claim(s) 7-13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US 2010/0124006) in view of Jones et al. (US 2011/0230178), further in view of Son et al. (US 2019/0004764), and further in view of Yoon et al. (US 2013/0198766).
As to Claim 7, Chang in view of Jones et al., as modified by Son et al. do not expressly disclose wherein the first display device identifies a plurality of objects from the second content image using an image recognition technology and transmits object information including information for each identified object to the second display device, and wherein the second display device displays an object list based on the object information.
Yoon et al. discloses a display unit where a plurality of objects (fig.3, persons) in a first display region are identified and information related to each identified object is displayed in a list in a second display region (fig.3, list 310; para.0047-0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Chang in view of Jones et al, as modified by Son et al., with the teachings of Yoon et al, such that the first display may identify a plurality of persons from a video launched on the second display device, and provide a list corresponding to each identified person (as disclosed by Yoon) to the second display. The motivation being to provide a user with information related to plurality of persons (objects) appearing in a video.
As to Claim 8, Chang in view of Jones et al., as modified by Son et al. and Yoon et al., disclose wherein the second display device receives a command and selects an object item from the object list based on the command, and displays a content list related to the object item according to the received command (Yoon- fig.3,7- when user selects one of the identified persons, it displays a content list (710,720,730) related to the selected object).
As to Claim 9, Chang in view of Jones et al., as modified by Son et al. and Yoon et al., disclose wherein the content list includes a plurality of contents representing a search result for the object item (Yoon-fig.3, list 310; para.0048).
As to Claim 10, Chang in view of Jones et al., as modified by Son et al. and Yoon et al., disclose wherein the second display device receives a command to select one of a plurality of contents and plays the one of the plurality of contents based on the command (Yoon-para.0046,0073-0074).
As to Claim 11, Chang in view of Jones et al., as modified by Son et al. and Yoon et al., disclose wherein each object is either a person or an object (Yoon-fig.3; para.0047-0048).
As to Claim 12, Chang in view of Jones et al., as modified by Son et al. and Yoon et al., disclose wherein the first display device receives a command for object extraction from a remote control device (Yoon-para.0040,0044), captures an image at a time of receiving the command, and identifies the plurality of objects from the captured image (Yoon-fig.3; para.0046-0048).
As to Claim 13, Chang in view of Jones et al., as modified by Son et al. and Yoon et al., disclose wherein the second display device searches for a plurality of contents related to the object according to the selection of the object item (Yoon-fig.3, para.0048-0049).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection applied as necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO-892 form.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DISMERY MERCEDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627