DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: object receiving unit, feed adjusting unit, and feeding unit in claims 9-16 and product receiving unit, send adjusting unit, and product sending port in claims 16-18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Sakai et al.(US Patent 6,153,013).
Sakai et al. discloses an apparatus which can be used in battery manufacturing comprising a plurality of processing blocks(102, 103, 104, 105) each including a processing space which is cut off from air, which has a sending port and receiving port.(Figure 1) The blocks are connected by a connection block which cuts the space inside it off from the outside air and which is flexible enough to allow a change in relative positions of the sending and receiving ports since it is a bellows which can expand or contract by as much as 60 mm.(Col. 4, ll. 6-10)
Regarding claim 2, the blocks are set up to allow continuous movement of product from one block to the next.((110)
Regarding claim 3, the connecting block includes an annular flange portion(Figure 2) and can be circular.(Col. 4, ll. 29)
Regarding claim 4, the connecting block can be made of a series of O-rings which can each expand by a small amount, which can therefore change the relative positions of the blocks by moving them apart.(Col. 4, ll. 30-48) This structure has a flange(Figure 3B) and the O-ring is made of nitrile rubber.
Regarding claim 6, the connecting block can be a bellows shape.(Figure 2)
Regarding claim 7, the connecting block and process blocks are joined by an O-ring(22) which is a sealing member that is elastic.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai et al. as applied to claim 3 above and further in view of Chemical Composition of Stainless Steel.
Sakai et al. discloses the bellows can be made of stainless steel, but does not disclose the specific composition of that stainless steel.(Col. 4, ll. 22) Chemical Composition of Stainless Steel discloses that many types of stainless steel are made without molybdenum and with 10-30% chromium.(Table) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to use any composition stainless steel as the steel in Sakai et al. since these are all well-known and conventional compositions for stainless steel and would have been obvious for that reason.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakai et al. as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Vincent et al.(US Patent 10,159,169)
Sakai et al. does not disclose the specifics of how the bellows is joined to the processing blocks though it does show an annular sealing member.(Figure 2). Vincent et al. is directed to a similar type structure joining two elements with an O-ring and discloses the flexible member is connected using a fastening bolt(102F) on the far side of the O-ring(Figure 1C), which would be on an outer circumferential side in Sakai et al.(Figure 2) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to join the bellows and processing blocks of Sakai et al. with a fastening bolt on an outer circumferential side of the annular sealing member since Sakai etal.is silent as to how the bellows and processing block are joined leading one to look to similar structures and Vincent et al. is directed to a similar structure which as a fastening bolt on the outside of the O-ring thus combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 9, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest an object receiving unit, feed adjusting unit and feeding unit as described in the disclosure or their equivalents in combination with processing blocks which have sending and receiving ports and are cut off from the outside air. Regarding claim 16, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest an product receiving unit, send adjusting unit and product sending port as described in the disclosure or their equivalents in combination with processing blocks which have sending and receiving ports and are cut off from the outside air. Regarding claim 19, the prior art does not teach or reasonably suggest the processing blocks including an extruder, a sheet molder, a coater, a press laminator and a cutter.
Conclusion
BARBARA J. MUSSER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/BARBARA J MUSSER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746