DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1-15 and 21, drawn to a medical instrument.
Group II, claim(s) 16, drawn to a medical system.
Group III, claims 17-19, drawn to a method for treating tumor tissue in a body cavity
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I and II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a medical instrument comprising a nozzle having a nozzle head configured to nebulize a therapeutic fluid to be introduced into a cavity of a body, a shaft, the shaft being at least substantially elongate and at least substantially rigid, the nozzle head being disposed on an end of the shaft and a flexible hose disposed within the shaft and fluidly connected to the nozzle head, wherein the nozzle head comprises an impact device having an impact body disposed in front of a nozzle opening of the nozzle head and substantially coaxial with the nozzle opening, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Reymond (WO 2020/048627 A1, English translation is used for referring to the specification) in view of Baran (EP 1433493 B1). Reymond discloses a medical instrument 1 (figure 1) comprising a nozzle 4 having a nozzle head 10 configured to nebulize (page 2, last paragraph, lines 1-3) a therapeutic fluid to be introduced into a cavity of a body, a shaft 2, the shaft being at least substantially elongate and at least substantially rigid (page 3, last paragraph, lines 4-5), the nozzle head 10 being disposed on an end of the shaft 2 and a flexible hose 3 disposed within the shaft 2 and fluidly connected to the nozzle head 10 but is silent regarding wherein the nozzle head comprises an impact device having an impact body disposed in front of a nozzle opening of the nozzle head and substantially coaxial with the nozzle opening. However, Baran teaches a design of a medical instrument wherein the nozzle head (head comprising element 1150 in figure 61) comprises an impact device 1152 having an impact body (body of element 1152) disposed in front of a nozzle opening 1150 of the nozzle head and substantially coaxial with the nozzle opening (see figure 61) for the purpose of collecting and recirculating the therapeutic liquid (paragraph 0125) thereby preventing the droplets from becoming too large to be therapeutically useful (paragraph 0124).
Groups I and III lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a medical instrument comprising a nozzle having a nozzle head configured to nebulize a therapeutic fluid to be introduced into a cavity of a body, a shaft, the shaft being at least substantially elongate and at least substantially rigid, the nozzle head being disposed on an end of the shaft and a flexible hose disposed within the shaft and fluidly connected to the nozzle head, wherein the nozzle head comprises an impact device having an impact body disposed in front of a nozzle opening of the nozzle head and substantially coaxial with the nozzle opening, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Reymond (WO 2020/048627 A1, English translation is used for referring to the specification) in view of Baran (EP 1433493 B1). Reymond discloses a medical instrument 1 (figure 1) comprising a nozzle 4 having a nozzle head 10 configured to nebulize (page 2, last paragraph, lines 1-3) a therapeutic fluid to be introduced into a cavity of a body, a shaft 2, the shaft being at least substantially elongate and at least substantially rigid (page 3, last paragraph, lines 4-5), the nozzle head 10 being disposed on an end of the shaft 2 and a flexible hose 3 disposed within the shaft 2 and fluidly connected to the nozzle head 10 but is silent regarding wherein the nozzle head comprises an impact device having an impact body disposed in front of a nozzle opening of the nozzle head and substantially coaxial with the nozzle opening. However, Baran teaches a design of a medical instrument wherein the nozzle head (head comprising element 1150 in figure 61) comprises an impact device 1152 having an impact body (body of element 1152) disposed in front of a nozzle opening 1150 of the nozzle head and substantially coaxial with the nozzle opening (see figure 61) for the purpose of collecting and recirculating the therapeutic liquid (paragraph 0125) thereby preventing the droplets from becoming too large to be therapeutically useful (paragraph 0124).
Groups II and III lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a medical instrument comprising a nozzle having a nozzle head configured to nebulize a therapeutic fluid to be introduced into a cavity of a body, a shaft, the shaft being at least substantially elongate and at least substantially rigid, the nozzle head being disposed on an end of the shaft and a flexible hose disposed within the shaft and fluidly connected to the nozzle head, wherein the nozzle head comprises an impact device having an impact body disposed in front of a nozzle opening of the nozzle head and substantially coaxial with the nozzle opening, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Reymond (WO 2020/048627 A1, English translation is used for referring to the specification) in view of Baran (EP 1433493 B1). Reymond discloses a medical instrument 1 (figure 1) comprising a nozzle 4 having a nozzle head 10 configured to nebulize (page 2, last paragraph, lines 1-3) a therapeutic fluid to be introduced into a cavity of a body, a shaft 2, the shaft being at least substantially elongate and at least substantially rigid (page 3, last paragraph, lines 4-5), the nozzle head 10 being disposed on an end of the shaft 2 and a flexible hose 3 disposed within the shaft 2 and fluidly connected to the nozzle head 10 but is silent regarding wherein the nozzle head comprises an impact device having an impact body disposed in front of a nozzle opening of the nozzle head and substantially coaxial with the nozzle opening. However, Baran teaches a design of a medical instrument wherein the nozzle head (head comprising element 1150 in figure 61) comprises an impact device 1152 having an impact body (body of element 1152) disposed in front of a nozzle opening 1150 of the nozzle head and substantially coaxial with the nozzle opening (see figure 61) for the purpose of collecting and recirculating the therapeutic liquid (paragraph 0125) thereby preventing the droplets from becoming too large to be therapeutically useful (paragraph 0124).
During a telephone conversation with John Reulbach III on 10/20/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-15 and 21. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 16-19 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species or invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention or species may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected invention or species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions have unity of invention (37 CFR 1.475(a)), applicant must provide reasons in support thereof. Applicant may submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. Where such evidence or admission is provided by applicant, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 8/12/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract uses the implied phrase “The invention relates”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the nozzle” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the nozzle” in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reymond (WO 2020/048627 A1, English translation is used for referring to the specification) in view of Kidooka (JP 2001104489 A, English translation is used for referring to the specification).
Reymond discloses a medical instrument 1 (figure 1) comprising a nozzle 4 having a nozzle head 10 configured to nebulize (page 2, last paragraph, lines 1-3) a therapeutic fluid to be introduced into a cavity of a body, a shaft 2, the shaft being at least substantially elongate and at least substantially rigid (page 3, last paragraph, lines 4-5), the nozzle head 10 being disposed on an end of the shaft 2 and a flexible hose 3 disposed within the shaft 2 and fluidly connected to the nozzle head 10 but is silent regarding wherein the nozzle head comprises an impact device having an impact body disposed in front of a nozzle opening of the nozzle head and substantially coaxial with the nozzle opening.
However, Kidooka teaches a design of a spray device (figure 1) wherein the nozzle head 16 comprises an impact device 30 having an impact body (body of element 30) disposed in front of a nozzle opening 17 of the nozzle head 16 and substantially coaxial with the nozzle opening 17 for the purpose of reflecting the liquid ejected from the hole toward the side (paragraph 0019) thereby spreading the fluid.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the nozzle head of Reymond to incorporate wherein the nozzle head comprises an impact device having an impact body disposed in front of a nozzle opening of the nozzle head and substantially coaxial with the nozzle opening as taught by Kidooka for the purpose of reflecting the liquid ejected from the hole toward the side (paragraph 0019) thereby spreading the fluid.
Regarding claim 2, Reymond is silent regarding wherein the impact body has a parabolic, triangular trapezoidal or pyramidal shape in a longitudinal section.
However, Kidooka teaches wherein the impact body (body of element 30) has a parabolic, triangular trapezoidal or pyramidal shape (see figure 1) in a longitudinal section for the purpose of reflecting the liquid ejected from the hole toward the side (paragraph 0019) thereby spreading the fluid.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the nozzle head to incorporate wherein the impact body has a parabolic, triangular trapezoidal or pyramidal shape in a longitudinal section as taught by Kidooka for the purpose of reflecting the liquid ejected from the hole toward the side (paragraph 0019) thereby spreading the fluid.
Regarding claim 3, Reymond is silent regarding wherein the impact device comprises a holding device, impact body being disposed on the holding device.
However, Kidooka teaches wherein the impact device 30 comprises a holding device (25 in figure 1 or 28 in figure 3), impact body 30 being disposed on the holding device 25, 28 (paragraphs 0019, 0025) for the purpose of connecting the impact device to the nozzle head (paragraphs 0019, 0025).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the nozzle head of Reymond to incorporate wherein the impact device comprises a holding device, impact body being disposed on the holding device as taught by Kidooka for the purpose of connecting the impact device to the nozzle head (paragraphs 0019, 0025).
Regarding claim 13, Reymond discloses wherein the hose 3 is movably disposed within a bore (hollow portion of element 2) of the shaft 2 (in order to connect via thread or during manufacturing, element 3 is movably disposed inside element 2).
Claims 1, 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reymond (WO 2020/048627 A1, English translation is used for referring to the specification) in view of Cheney (US 3,269,665).
Regarding claim 1, Reymond discloses a medical instrument 1 (figure 1) comprising a nozzle 4 having a nozzle head 10 configured to nebulize (page 2, last paragraph, lines 1-3) a therapeutic fluid to be introduced into a cavity of a body, a shaft 2, the shaft being at least substantially elongate and at least substantially rigid (page 3, last paragraph, lines 4-5), the nozzle head 10 being disposed on an end of the shaft 2 and a flexible hose 3 disposed within the shaft 2 and fluidly connected to the nozzle head 10 but is silent regarding wherein the nozzle head comprises an impact device having an impact body disposed in front of a nozzle opening of the nozzle head and substantially coaxial with the nozzle opening.
However, Cheney teaches a design of a nebulizer (figure 4) wherein the nozzle head 4 comprises an impact device 40 having an impact body (body of element 40) disposed in front of a nozzle opening (opening in element 4) of the nozzle head 4 and substantially coaxial with the nozzle opening (opening in element 4) for the purpose of breaking down the droplets into mist (column 3, lines 45-50).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the nozzle head of Reymond to incorporate wherein the nozzle head comprises an impact device having an impact body disposed in front of a nozzle opening of the nozzle head and substantially coaxial with the nozzle opening as taught by Cheney for the purpose of breaking down the droplets into mist (column 3, lines 45-50).
Regarding claim 3, Reymond is silent regarding wherein the impact device comprises a holding device, the impact body being disposed on the holding device.
However, Cheney teaches wherein the impact device comprises a holding device (see “H” in figure 10 below), the impact body (body of element 40) being disposed on the holding device (see “H” in figure 10 below) for the purpose of breaking down the droplets into mist (column 3, lines 45-50) and to hold the holding device at the position (figure 10).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the nozzle head of Reymond to incorporate wherein the impact device comprises a holding device, the impact body being disposed on the holding device as taught by Cheney for the purpose of breaking down the droplets into mist (column 3, lines 45-50) and to hold the holding device at the position (figure 10).
Regarding claim 4, Reymond is silent regarding wherein the holding device is L-shaped or U-shaped, wherein the impact body is disposed at a first end of the holding device; and wherein a second end of the holding device is attached to at least one of the nozzle head or the shaft.
However, Cheney teaches wherein the holding device (see “H” in figure 10 above) is L-shaped or U-shaped (see figure 10), wherein the impact body (body of element 40) is disposed at a first end (end of element “H” where element 40 is present) of the holding device; and wherein a second end (end of element “H” in figure 10 above in contact with element 4 or element 3) of the holding device is attached to at least one of the nozzle head or the shaft for the purpose of removably attaching the impact body (column 3, lines 59-75) such that the droplets are broken into mist (column 3, lines 45-50).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the nozzle head of Remond to incorporate wherein the holding device is L-shaped or U-shaped, wherein the impact body is disposed at a first end of the holding device; and wherein a second end of the holding device is attached to at least one of the nozzle head or the shaft as taught by Cheney for the purpose of removably attaching the impact body (column 3, lines 59-75) such that the droplets are broken into mist (column 3, lines 45-50).
Claims 1, 3, 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reymond (WO 2020/048627 A1, English translation is used for referring to the specification) in view of Borgschulte et al. (US 9,027,548 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Reymond discloses a medical instrument 1 (figure 1) comprising a nozzle 4 having a nozzle head 10 configured to nebulize (page 2, last paragraph, lines 1-3) a therapeutic fluid to be introduced into a cavity of a body, a shaft 2, the shaft being at least substantially elongate and at least substantially rigid (page 3, last paragraph, lines 4-5), the nozzle head 10 being disposed on an end of the shaft 2 and a flexible hose 3 disposed within the shaft 2 and fluidly connected to the nozzle head 10 but is silent regarding wherein the nozzle head comprises an impact device having an impact body disposed in front of a nozzle opening of the nozzle head and substantially coaxial with the nozzle opening.
However, Borgschulte teaches a design of an aerosol generating device (figure 1) wherein the nozzle head (area of element 4 comprising element 11) comprises an impact device 33 (figure 2b) having an impact body (body of element 33) disposed in front of a nozzle opening (opening in element 4) of the nozzle head and substantially coaxial with the nozzle opening for the purpose of generating aerosol using an alternative well-known technique (column 2, lines 54-62).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the nozzle head of Reymond to incorporate wherein the nozzle head comprises an impact device having an impact body disposed in front of a nozzle opening of the nozzle head and substantially coaxial with the nozzle opening as taught by Borgschulte for the purpose of generating aerosol using an alternative well-known technique (column 2, lines 54-62).
Regarding claim 3, Reymond is silent regarding wherein the impact device comprises a holding device, the impact body being disposed on the holding device.
However, Borgschulte teaches wherein the impact device 33 comprises a holding device (integrated structure formed by elements 32, 31, 34), the impact body being disposed on the holding device (integrated structure formed by elements 31, 32, 34) for the purpose of providing electrical power for generating aerosol using an alternative well-known technique (column 2, lines 54-62).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the nozzle head of Reymond to incorporate wherein the impact device comprises a holding device, the impact body being disposed on the holding device as taught by Borgschulte for the purpose of providing electrical power for generating aerosol using an alternative well-known technique (column 2, lines 54-62).
Regarding claim 5, Reymond is silent regarding further comprising a charging device for electrostatically charging the therapeutic fluid disposed on the holding device.
However, Borgchulte teaches further comprising a charging device (integrated structure formed by elements 34 and 31, electric charge could be used for electrostatically charging the therapeutic fluid) for electrostatically charging the therapeutic fluid disposed on the holding device for the purpose of generating aerosol using an alternative well-known technique (column 2, lines 54-62).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the nozzle head of Reymond to incorporate further comprising a charging device for electrostatically charging the therapeutic fluid disposed on the holding device as taught by Borgchulte for the purpose of generating aerosol using an alternative well-known technique (column 2, lines 54-62).
Regarding claim 6, Reymond is silent regarding wherein the charging device is disposed on a side of the holding device opposite the impact body.
However, Borgchulte teaches wherein the charging device 31, 34 is disposed on a side of the holding device (integrated structure formed by elements 32, 31, 34) opposite the impact body 33 (element 33 and 31, 34 are located on opposite side with respect to element 32) for the purpose of generating aerosol using an alternative well-known technique (column 2, lines 54-62).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the nozzle head of Reymond to incorporate wherein the charging device is disposed on a side of the holding device opposite the impact body as taught by Borgchulte for the purpose of generating aerosol using an alternative well-known technique (column 2, lines 54-62).
Regarding claim 7, Reymond is silent regarding wherein the charging device comprises a conductive foil.
However, Borgchulte teaches wherein the charging device 31, 34 comprises a conductive foil 34 (column 3, lines 4-5) for the purpose of generating aerosol using an alternative well-known technique (column 2, lines 54-62).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the nozzle head to incorporate wherein the charging device comprises a conductive foil as taught by Borgchulte for the purpose of generating aerosol using an alternative well-known technique (column 2, lines 54-62).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reymond (WO 2020/048627 A1) in view of Kidooka (JP 2001104489 A) and further in view of Lichte (US 4,969,879).
Regarding claim 9, Reymond/Kidooka (hereinafter referred as “modified Reymond”) discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above in claim 1. Reymond further discloses the nozzle head 10 has a connection 11 at an end of the nozzle head 10 opposite to the nozzle opening 8. Modified Reymond is silent regarding wherein the connection is a plug-in connection; and wherein the hose is plugged directly onto the plug-in connection.
However, Lichte teaches a design of a connector (figure 3) for medical tubing wherein the connection includes a plug-in connection 210 wherein the hose (integrated structure formed by elements 220, 310) is plugged directly onto the plug-in connection 210 for the purpose of a well-known connector means to connect two tubes in a sealing manner (column 2, lines 1-9).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the connection of modified Reymond to incorporate wherein the hose is plugged directly onto the plug-in connection as taught by Lichte for the purpose of a well-known connector means to connect two tubes in a sealing manner (column 2, lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 10, modified Reymond discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above in claim 1. Reymond is silent regarding further comprising a clamping sleeve disposed on the hose, the clamping sleeve being configured to press the inner circumferential surface of an end of the hose against an outer circumferential surface of the plug-in connection.
However, Lichte teaches further comprising a clamping sleeve 250 disposed on the hose 220, 310, the clamping sleeve 250 being configured to press the inner circumferential surface (inner circumferential surface of element 310) of an end of the hose against an outer circumferential surface (outer surface of element 210) of the plug-in connection 210 for the purpose of a well-known connector means to connect two tubes in a sealing manner (column 2, lines 1-9).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the connection of Reymond to incorporate further comprising a clamping sleeve disposed on the hose, the clamping sleeve being configured to press the inner circumferential surface of an end of the hose against an outer circumferential surface of the plug-in connection for the purpose of a well-known connector means to connect two tubes in a sealing manner (column 2, lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 11, modified Reymond discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above in claim 1. Modified Reymond is silent regarding wherein the shaft has a stop region abutting the clamping sleeve.
However, Lichte teaches wherein the shaft has a stop region 312 abutting the clamping sleeve 240 (see figure 3) for the purpose of allowing rotational engagement thereby allowing radial orientation of the clamping sleeve in a desired manner (column 4, line 67-column 5, line 2).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the connection of modified Reymond to incorporate wherein the shaft has a stop region abutting the clamping sleeve as taught by Lichte for the purpose of allowing rotational engagement thereby allowing radial orientation of the clamping sleeve in a desired manner (column 4, line 67-column 5, line 2).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reymond (WO 2020/048627 A1) in view of Kidooka (JP 2001104489 A) and further in view of Weston et al. (US 5,497,944).
Regarding claim 12, modified Reymond discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth above in claim 1. Modified Reymond is silent regarding further comprising a particle filter disposed in the nozzle.
However, Weston teaches a design of an atomizing device (figure 3) comprising a particle filter 84 (figure 5) disposed in the nozzle (figure 5) for the purpose of preventing particles from blocking the opening (column 14, lines 9-10).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the nozzle of modified Reymond to incorporate further comprising a particle filter disposed in the nozzle as taught by Weston for the purpose of preventing particles from blocking the opening (column 14, lines 9-10).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reymond (WO 2020/048627 A1) in view of Kidooka (JP 2001104489 A) and further in view of Palmer et al. (US 6,544,231 B1).
Regarding claim 14, modified Reymond discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above in claim 1. Modified Reymond is silent regarding further comprising an adjustable outer stop for positioning in a trocar and a handle disposed on the shaft.
However, Palmer teaches a design of a catch/stopper (figure 6) further comprising an adjustable outer stop 10 (column 5, line 63-column 6, lines 8, 31-37) for positioning in a trocar and a handle (see “H” in figure 6 below) disposed on the shaft 16 for the purpose of limiting the movement of the shaft inside the trocar or any other outer tube (column 5, line 63-column 6, lines 8, 31-37).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed to modify the shaft of modified Reymond to incorporate further comprising an adjustable outer stop for positioning in a trocar and a handle disposed on the shaft as taught by Palmer for the purpose of limiting the movement of the shaft inside the trocar or any other outer tube (column 5, line 63-column 6, lines 8, 31-37).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reymond (WO 2020/048627 A1) in view of Kidooka (JP 2001104489 A) and further in view of Van Der Sluis et al. (US 2014/0346245 A1).
Regarding claim 15, modified Reymond discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above in claim 1. Modified Reymond is silent regarding wherein the nozzle comprises a machine-readable identifier containing information regarding a type of the nozzle.
However, Van Der Sluis teaches a design of a control unit (figure 1) for controlling an operation of a nebulizer wherein the nozzle 2 comprises a machine-readable identifier 22 containing information regarding a type of the nozzle (paragraph 0056) for the purpose of collecting the nozzle size information (paragraph 0056) which could be used for setting the appropriate flow rate as needed (paragraph 0057).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the nozzle of modified Reymond to incorporate wherein the nozzle comprises a machine-readable identifier containing information regarding a type of the nozzle as taught by Van Der Sluis for the purpose of collecting the nozzle size information (paragraph 0056) which could be used for setting the appropriate flow rate as needed (paragraph 0057).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reymond (WO 2020/048627 A1) in view of Kidooka (JP 2001104489 A) and further in view of Gao et al. (US 2019/0054492 A1).
Regarding claim 21, modified Reymond discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above in claim 1. Modified Reymond is silent regarding wherein the impact body has a stepped pyramidal shape in a longitudinal section.
However, Gao teaches a design of an atomization nozzle (figure 2) wherein the impact body 21 has a stepped pyramidal shape (see figure 4) in a longitudinal section for the purpose of creating atomization of the droplets (paragraph 0016, lines 4-9).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the impact body of modified Reymond to incorporate wherein the impact body has a stepped pyramidal shape in a longitudinal section as taught by Gao for the purpose of creating atomization of the droplets (paragraph 0016, lines 4-9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art of record, Reymond (WO 2020/048627 A1) in view of Borgschulte et al. (US 9,027,548 B2) is silent regarding wherein a region of the conductive foil is exposed to form a charging region for electrostatically charging the therapeutic fluid in combination with other claimed limitations of claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Porteous (US 2016/0158467 A1): discloses a nebulizer with an impact body to divert the flow of the liquid.
/NILAY J SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783