DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation “the control unit performs signal processing for cancelling the deviation of the optical axis for the target phase modulation area in processing of generating a drive signal of the target phase modulation area” is vague. How does the control unit performs signal processing for cancelling the deviation of the optical axis for the target phase modulation area in processing of generating a drive signal of the target phase modulation area? A review of the description (PGPUB [0341]) indicate a repeat of the claim limitation itself. For the purpose of examination, the examiner has interpreted “the control unit performs signal processing for cancelling the deviation of the optical axis for the target phase modulation area in processing of generating a drive signal of the target phase modulation area” as “the controller cancels the deflected “OFF” light and generates “ON” light onto the target phase modulation area”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by DAMBERG et al. (US 2017/0099466 A1; DAMBERG).
As of claim 1, DAMBERG teaches a lighting device [fig 1], comprising: a light emitting unit 11R, 11G, 11B [fig 1] that emits a plurality of light beams of different wavelength bands (red, green and blue lights); a phase modulator 12 [fig 1] [fig 2] [fig 3] that performs spatial light phase modulation on incident light beams from the light emitting unit and in which the light beams of the different wavelength bands (from red, green and blue lasers 11R, 11G, 11B) are incident from the light emitting unit on respective phase modulation areas 12R, 12G, 12B [fig 1] [fig 2] [fig 3] that are areas into which a phase modulation surface 12R, 12G, 12B [fig 1] [fig 2] [fig 3] on which the spatial light phase modulation is performed is divided (12R for red laser light, 12G for green laser light, 12B for blue laser light) [fig 1] [fig 2] [fig 3]; and a control unit 16 [fig 1] that simultaneously executes the spatial light phase modulation (field-sequential imaging) [0124] in the phase modulation areas in a state in which the light beams of the corresponding wavelength bands are incident on the respective phase modulation areas (controller 16 coordinates the operation of light sources 11, phase modulators 12 and imaging element 14 to display an image according to image data. One light source is active in each of a plurality of sequential fields (each field is a period of time) [0048].
As of claim 2, DAMBERG teaches the control unit 16 [fig 1] performs drive control for the each phase modulation area of the phase modulator 12R, 12G, 12B [fig 1] [fig 2] [fig 3] such that images of the respective wavelength bands (red, green and blue lights) generated by the spatial light phase modulation in the respective phase modulation areas (12R for red laser light, 12G for green laser light, 12B for blue laser light) [fig 1] [fig 2] [fig 3] are superimposed on a same region on a reproduction surface (controller 16 may perform steps that include: [0053] set the imaging element to a pattern corresponding to the corresponding color; [0054] refresh a phase modulator corresponding to a different color (the phase modulator corresponding to the current color may have been refreshed in a previous field), [0055] turn on the light source of the current color such that light from the light source is steered by the phase modulator, modulated by the imaging element and projected onto screen 15) [0052].
As of claim 9, DAMBERG teaches the light emitting unit emits R light (by red laser) [fig 1], G light (by green laser) [fig 1], and B light (by blue laser) [fig 1] as the plurality of lights of the different wavelength bands (red, green and blue), and the phase modulator 12 (phase LCoS devices) [fig 1] [fig 2] [fig 3] the phase modulation area 12R [fig 1] on which the R light is incident, the phase modulation area 12G [fig 2] on which the G light is incident, and the phase modulation area 12B [fig 3] on which the B light is incident.
As of claim 10, DAMBERG teaches a projector device [fig 1], comprising: a light emitting unit 11R, 11G, 11B [fig 1] that emits a plurality of light beams of different wavelength bands (red, green and blue lights); a phase modulator 12 [fig 1] [fig 2] [fig 3] that performs spatial light phase modulation on incident light beams from the light emitting unit and in which the light beams of the different wavelength bands (from red, green and blue lasers 11R, 11G, 11B) are incident from the light emitting unit on respective phase modulation areas 12R, 12G, 12B [fig 1] [fig 2] [fig 3] that are areas into which a phase modulation surface 12R, 12G, 12B [fig 1] [fig 2] [fig 3] on which the spatial light phase modulation is performed is divided (12R for red laser light, 12G for green laser light, 12B for blue laser light) [fig 1] [fig 2] [fig 3]; an intensity modulator 14 [fig 1] [fig 2] [fig 3] that performs spatial light intensity modulation on the light beams incident (imaging element 14 is set in each field to modulate the light of the current color. The light modulated by the imaging element 14 is projected onto screen 15) [0062] via the phase modulator 12 [fig 1] [fig 2] [fig 3]; a projection lens (lens) [0128] that projects the light beams subjected to the spatial light intensity modulation by the intensity modulator 14 [fig 1] [fig 2] [fig 3] on a projection surface 15 [fig 1] [fig 2] [fig 3]; and a control unit 16 [fig 1] that simultaneously executes the spatial light phase modulation (field-sequential imaging) [0124] in the phase modulation areas in a state in which the light beams of the corresponding wavelength bands are incident on the respective phase modulation areas (controller 16 coordinates the operation of light sources 11, phase modulators 12 and imaging element 14 to display an image according to image data. One light source is active in each of a plurality of sequential fields (each field is a period of time) [0048].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAMBERG et al. (US 2017/0099466 A1; DAMBERG) in view of HORIKAWA (US 2009/0109405 A1).
DAMBERG teaches the invention as cited above except for the control unit adjusts a color balance of a reproduction image obtained by the spatial light phase modulation for each phase modulation area by controlling an amount of light emission for the light beams of the respective wavelength bands in the light emitting unit.
HORIKAWA teaches a holographic projection device [fig 5A] having the control unit [0085] adjusts a color balance of a reproduction image obtained by the spatial light phase modulation (by reflecting SPMs 28a, 28b, and 28c) [fig 5A] for each phase modulation area (brightness control can be realized in consideration of a change in diffraction efficiency due to a difference between video images in a spatial light phase modulator so that minute brightness control and color balance control can be realized) [0085] by controlling an amount of light emission for the light beams of the respective wavelength bands in the light emitting unit (a light source 2r for red that is composed of a laser diode (LD) and functions as a red light source, a light source 2g for green that is composed of an LD and functions as a green light source, and a light source 2b for blue that is composed of an LD) [0115].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the control unit adjusts a color balance of a reproduction image obtained by the spatial light phase modulation for each phase modulation area by controlling an amount of light emission for the light beams of the respective wavelength bands in the light emitting unit as taught by HORIKAWA to the lighting device as disclosed by DAMBERG to provide a clear video image that does not have speckle noise (HORIKAWA; [0104]).
Claims 4, 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAMBERG et al. (US 2017/0099466 A1; DAMBERG).
As of claim 4, DAMBERG teaches the invention as cited above except for the control unit performs drive signal value compression processing for at least the phase modulation area on which a light beam of a shortest wavelength band is incident among the plurality of light beams of the different wavelength bands. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the control unit performs drive signal value compression processing for at least the phase modulation area on which a light beam of a shortest wavelength band is incident among the plurality of light beams of the different wavelength bands as a design choice (Rearrangement of Parts; MPEP 2144.04 VI C) in order to have more data storage capacity in the memory.
As of claim 11, DAMBERG teaches the invention as cited above except the control unit generates, on a basis of an input image, a resolution correction image for correcting a resolution of a reproduction image generated by the phase modulator performing the spatial light phase modulation and performs drive control of the intensity modulator on a basis of the resolution correction image. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the control unit generates, on a basis of an input image, a resolution correction image for correcting a resolution of a reproduction image generated by the phase modulator performing the spatial light phase modulation and performs drive control of the intensity modulator on a basis of the resolution correction image as a design choice (Rearrangement of Parts; MPEP 2144.04 VI C) in order to have a high resolution image on the projection screen.
As of claim 12, DAMBERG teaches the invention as cited above except for a diffusion plate is inserted into an optical path from the phase modulator to the intensity modulator. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a diffusion plate is inserted into an optical path from the phase modulator to the intensity modulator as a design choice (Rearrangement of Parts; MPEP 2144.04 VI C) in order to have a high-resolution image on the projection screen.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As of claim 5, the closest prior art DAMBERG et al. (US 2017/0099466 A1; DAMBERG) teaches an apparatus 10 that can operate according to the first approach is illustrated schematically in FIGS. 1 to 3. Apparatus 10 comprises a plurality of light sources 11 (11R, 11G and 11B are shown). Light sources 11 may, for example, comprise lasers. In the illustrated embodiment, light source 11R emits red light; light source 11G emits green light; and light source 11B emits blue light. Each of light sources 11 is associated with a corresponding phase modulator 12 (12R, 12G and 12B are shown). The phase modulators may each comprise an LCOS for example. Light modulated by any of phase modulators 12 illuminates an imaging element 14. Imaging element 14 may, for example, comprise a DMD. Imaging element 14 modulates the light which is then projected onto a screen 15. A controller 16 coordinates the operation of light sources 11, phase modulators 12 and imaging element 14 to display an image according to image data. One light source is active in each of a plurality of sequential fields (each field is a period of time). In an example embodiment a frame rate is in the range of 20 to 100 frames per second and each frame is divided into three fields. In a first field as shown in FIG. 1, red light source 11R may be active. Red light from red light source 11R is steered to desired locations (e.g. locations corresponding to areas where the image data specifies higher intensity of red) and/or steered away from undesired locations (e.g. locations corresponding to areas where the image data specifies low intensity of red) by a phase pattern applied to phase modulator 12R. The red light modulated by phase modulator 12R is then directed onto imaging element 14 which is controlled to modulate the incident light in a pattern specified by the image data for red light. DAMBERG does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the control unit is configured to switch between a simultaneous driving mode and a time-division driving mode, the simultaneous driving mode being a mode in which the spatial light phase modulation is simultaneously executed in the phase modulation areas in a state in which the light beams of the corresponding wavelength bands are incident on the respective phase modulation areas, the time-division driving mode being a mode in which the spatial light phase modulation is performed on the light beams of the different wavelength bands by time division in the phase modulator by causing the light beams of the different wavelength bands to enter the phase modulator by time division.
As of claim 6, the closest prior art DAMBERG et al. (US 2017/0099466 A1; DAMBERG) teaches an apparatus 10 that can operate according to the first approach is illustrated schematically in FIGS. 1 to 3. Apparatus 10 comprises a plurality of light sources 11 (11R, 11G and 11B are shown). Light sources 11 may, for example, comprise lasers. In the illustrated embodiment, light source 11R emits red light; light source 11G emits green light; and light source 11B emits blue light. Each of light sources 11 is associated with a corresponding phase modulator 12 (12R, 12G and 12B are shown). The phase modulators may each comprise an LCOS for example. Light modulated by any of phase modulators 12 illuminates an imaging element 14. Imaging element 14 may, for example, comprise a DMD. Imaging element 14 modulates the light which is then projected onto a screen 15. A controller 16 coordinates the operation of light sources 11, phase modulators 12 and imaging element 14 to display an image according to image data. One light source is active in each of a plurality of sequential fields (each field is a period of time). In an example embodiment a frame rate is in the range of 20 to 100 frames per second and each frame is divided into three fields. In a first field as shown in FIG. 1, red light source 11R may be active. Red light from red light source 11R is steered to desired locations (e.g. locations corresponding to areas where the image data specifies higher intensity of red) and/or steered away from undesired locations (e.g. locations corresponding to areas where the image data specifies low intensity of red) by a phase pattern applied to phase modulator 12R. The red light modulated by phase modulator 12R is then directed onto imaging element 14 which is controlled to modulate the incident light in a pattern specified by the image data for red light. DAMBERG does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the control unit performs drive control for the each phase modulation area in the phase modulator such that a reproduction image by the each phase modulation area is emitted to a region outside an irradiation region of 0th order light of the phase modulator on a reproduction surface.
Claim 7 would be allowed as being dependent on claim 6.
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if earlier 112(b) is successfully overcome and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As of claim 8, the closest prior art DAMBERG et al. (US 2017/0099466 A1; DAMBERG) teaches an apparatus 10 that can operate according to the first approach is illustrated schematically in FIGS. 1 to 3. Apparatus 10 comprises a plurality of light sources 11 (11R, 11G and 11B are shown). Light sources 11 may, for example, comprise lasers. In the illustrated embodiment, light source 11R emits red light; light source 11G emits green light; and light source 11B emits blue light. Each of light sources 11 is associated with a corresponding phase modulator 12 (12R, 12G and 12B are shown). The phase modulators may each comprise an LCOS for example. Light modulated by any of phase modulators 12 illuminates an imaging element 14. Imaging element 14 may, for example, comprise a DMD. Imaging element 14 modulates the light which is then projected onto a screen 15. A controller 16 coordinates the operation of light sources 11, phase modulators 12 and imaging element 14 to display an image according to image data. One light source is active in each of a plurality of sequential fields (each field is a period of time). In an example embodiment a frame rate is in the range of 20 to 100 frames per second and each frame is divided into three fields. In a first field as shown in FIG. 1, red light source 11R may be active. Red light from red light source 11R is steered to desired locations (e.g. locations corresponding to areas where the image data specifies higher intensity of red) and/or steered away from undesired locations (e.g. locations corresponding to areas where the image data specifies low intensity of red) by a phase pattern applied to phase modulator 12R. The red light modulated by phase modulator 12R is then directed onto imaging element 14 which is controlled to modulate the incident light in a pattern specified by the image data for red light. DAMBERG does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, based on optical axis deviation information indicating a mode of a deviation of an optical axis of the incident light beam on a target phase modulation area that is at least one of the phase modulation areas, the control unit performs signal processing for cancelling the deviation of the optical axis for the target phase modulation area in processing of generating a drive signal of the target phase modulation area.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- Prior Art SATO et al. (US 20220005424 A1) teaches a device that displays a moving image with high dynamic range. A control unit controls drive of at least one of a light source unit, a phase modulation unit, or an intensity modulation unit in accordance with an image signal. The light source unit applies first illumination light to a phase modulation panel of the phase modulation unit, which modulates a phase of the first illumination light applied from the light source unit, divides second illumination light for each predetermined phase modulation pixel group of the phase modulation panel, and applies the second illumination light to the intensity modulation panel for each predetermined intensity modulation pixel group of the intensity modulation panel, and the intensity modulation panel modulates an intensity of the second illumination light applied from the phase modulation panel;
- Prior Art Davies et al. (US 11070774 B2) teaches a dual-modulation projection system includes a light source, a phase modulator, an amplitude modulator, and a controller having temporal light-field simulation capabilities. The phase modulator spatially modulates a light-field from the light source to generate an intermediate image on the amplitude modulator. The amplitude modulator spatially modulates the intermediate image to form a final image. The controller models the phase state of the phase modulator during transitions between phase modulator frames and generates light field simulations of the intermediate image during the transition. The controller utilizes the light field simulations to generate and provide sets of amplitude drive values to the amplitude modulator at a faster rate than that at which the phase modulator is capable of switching.
/SULTAN CHOWDHURY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882