DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
For the record, “control device” has NOT been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) since independent claims 1 and 9 recited the corresponding structure of a controller within the claim. The limitation “server device” has also NOT been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) since the term “server” is deemed to impart particular structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "set temperature" in line 14 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This limitation should be amended to “a set temperature.” Claims 2-8 and 18 are also rejected since they depend from claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the number of times… is reduced by…” in lines 2-3 of the claim. This limitation renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear what baseline the reduction is compared to.
Similarly, claim 9 recites the limitation "set temperature" in line 13 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This limitation should be amended to “a set temperature.” Claims 10-16 and 19 are also rejected since they depend from claim 9.
Similarly, claim 10 recites the limitation “the number of times… is reduced by…” in lines 2-3 of the claim. This limitation renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear what baseline the reduction is compared to.
Similarly, claim 17 recites the limitation "set temperature" in line 10 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This limitation should be amended to “a set temperature.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 9-10, 14-15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taguchi et al. (US 2021/0254851 A1) in view of Sasaki et al. (US 2018/0195752 A1).
As per claim 1, Taguchi et al. disclose n air conditioning system 1 comprising: an outdoor unit 5 that includes a compressor; a plurality of indoor units 6 that are connected to the outdoor unit through a refrigerant pipe (Fig. 1; etc.); a control device 2 that controls the outdoor unit and the indoor units; and; and a second predictor (machine learning model) that predicts a point of time when each indoor unit out of the indoor units is switched to thermo-ON and a point of time when it is switched to thermo-OFF by using the room temperature (paras. 0073, 0076; etc.) and the control device includes a controller that controls driving of the AC unit (and implicitly a compressor thereof) according to the point of time when each of the indoor unit is switched to the thermo-ON or the thermo-OFF by using the results of the prediction and a set target temperature of the air conditioning operation (Figs. 5-7, 9; etc.). Taguchi et al. do not teach a server device that is capable of communicating with the control device, wherein the server device includes a previous predictor that predicts room temperature of an air-conditioned space in which the indoor units are installed, by using a plurality of operation state amounts relating to air conditioning operation, or the room temperature values of the predictor being predicted by the previous predictor. Sasaki t al. teach a room temperature predictor wherein a server device 20 that is capable of communicating with the control device 13 and includes a predictor that predicts room temperature of an air-conditioned space in which the indoor units are installed (paras. 0038-0044, 0063-0064; etc.), by using a plurality of operation state amounts relating to air conditioning operation (database of operation history, including room temperatures, etc. paras. 00623-0064; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize the predicted room temperatures of Sasaki et al. as the room temperature inputs of the Taguchi et al. for the purpose of further optimizing the system to further improve both environmental comfort and overall power efficiency (Sasaki et al., para.0007; etc.).
As per claim 2, see rejection above under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Taguchi et al. do not specifically teach whereby the number of times of starting and stopping of the compressor is reduced, however such is a natural effect of more efficient operation. Since the combined effects taught by Taguchi et al. in view of Sasaki et al. are directed to more effective and efficient operation, a reduction of starting and starting of the compressor is considered a natural result that would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application in achieving such improved operation.
As per claim 6, Taguchi et al. do not teach wherein the first predictor predicts the room temperature by selecting an operation state amount to be used for prediction from among the operation state amounts, and performing regression analysis. Sasaki et al. teach wherein the first predictor predicts the room temperature by selecting an operation state amount to be used for prediction from among the operation state amounts, and performing regression analysis (paras. 0135-0137; Figs. 11-12; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to apply such regression analysis as part of the modeling technique to predict room temperatures in order to provide effective and power efficient operation of the air conditioning system as already discussed above.
As per claim 7, Taguchi et al. do not teach wherein the operation state amount used for the prediction includes at least the set temperature, the room temperature, and outdoor air temperature. Sasaki et al. teach wherein the operation state amount used for the prediction includes at least the set temperature, the room temperature, and outdoor air temperature (paras. 0135-0137; Figs. 11-12; etc.). Similarly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to apply such parameters as part of the modeling technique to predict room temperatures in order to provide effective and power efficient operation of the air conditioning system as already discussed above.
As per claim 9, Taguchi et al. disclose n air conditioning system 1 comprising: an outdoor unit 5 that includes a compressor; a plurality of indoor units 6 that are connected to the outdoor unit through a refrigerant pipe (Fig. 1; etc.); a control device 2 that controls the outdoor unit and the indoor units; and; and a second predictor (machine learning model) that predicts a point of time when each indoor unit out of the indoor units is switched to thermo-ON and a point of time when it is switched to thermo-OFF by using the room temperature (paras. 0073, 0076; etc.) and the control device includes a controller that controls driving of the AC unit (and implicitly a compressor thereof) according to the point of time when each of the indoor unit is switched to the thermo-ON or the thermo-OFF by using the results of the prediction and a set target temperature of the air conditioning operation (Figs. 5-7, 9; etc.). Taguchi et al. do not teach wherein the control device includes a previous predictor that predicts room temperature of an air-conditioned space in which the indoor units are installed, by using a plurality of operation state amounts relating to air conditioning operation, or the room temperature values of the predictor being predicted by the previous predictor. Sasaki t al. teach a room temperature predictor wherein a control device includes a predictor that predicts room temperature of an air-conditioned space in which the indoor units are installed (paras. 0038-0044, 0063-0064; etc.), by using a plurality of operation state amounts relating to air conditioning operation (database of operation history, including room temperatures, etc. paras. 00623-0064; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize the predicted room temperatures of Sasaki et al. as the room temperature inputs of the Taguchi et al. for the purpose of further optimizing the system to further improve both environmental comfort and overall power efficiency (Sasaki et al., para.0007; etc.).
As per claims 10 and 14-15, see similar claims 2 and 6-7 above, respectively.
As per claim 17, Taguchi et al. disclose a method of an air conditioning apparatus 1 comprising: an outdoor unit 5 that includes a compressor; a plurality of indoor units 6 that are connected to the outdoor unit through a refrigerant pipe (Fig. 1; etc.); a control device 2 that controls the outdoor unit and the indoor units; and; and a second predictor (machine learning model) that predicts a point of time when each indoor unit out of the indoor units is switched to thermo-ON and a point of time when it is switched to thermo-OFF by using the room temperature (paras. 0073, 0076; etc.) and the control device includes a controller that controls driving of the AC unit (and implicitly a compressor thereof) according to the point of time when each of the indoor unit is switched to the thermo-ON or the thermo-OFF by using the results of the prediction and a set target temperature of the air conditioning operation (Figs. 5-7, 9; etc.). Taguchi et al. do not teach wherein the control device includes a previous predictor that predicts room temperature of an air-conditioned space in which the indoor units are installed, by using a plurality of operation state amounts relating to air conditioning operation, or the room temperature values of the predictor being predicted by the previous predictor. Sasaki et al. teach a method comprising a room temperature predictor wherein a control device includes a predictor that predicts room temperature of an air-conditioned space in which the indoor units are installed (paras. 0038-0044, 0063-0064; etc.), by using a plurality of operation state amounts relating to air conditioning operation (database of operation history, including room temperatures, etc. paras. 00623-0064; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the application to utilize the predicted room temperatures of Sasaki et al. as the room temperature inputs of the Taguchi et al. for the purpose of further optimizing the system to further improve both environmental comfort and overall power efficiency (Sasaki et al., para.0007; etc.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 8, 11-13, 16, and 18-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As per claim 3 (and claim 8 which depends therefrom) and 11 (and claim 16 which depends therefrom), there is not teaching or motivation in the prior art to further modify the system of Taguchi et al. wherein the controller changes set temperature of each of the indoor units such that the periods of time when at least two of the indoor units out of the indoor units are switched to the thermo-ON overlap with each other by using the prediction result of the second predictor.
As per claims 4 (and claims 5 and 18 which depend therefrom) and 12 (and claims 13 and 19 which depend therefrom), there is not teaching or motivation in the prior art to further modify the system of Taguchi et al. wherein the controller predicts the number of times of stopping and restarting of driving of the compressor within a predetermined period by using the prediction result of the second predictor, identifies the indoor unit that is predicted to be a last one to be switched to the thermo-OFF within the predetermined period as a reference indoor unit, and changes the set temperature of the indoor unit other than the reference indoor unit such that a period of time when the other indoor unit is in the thermo- ON overlaps with a period of time when the reference indoor unit is in the thermo- ON.
Cited Prior Art
The following references not applied in the rejections above are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosed invention.
Suzumura (US 2023/0089866 A1), Yang et al. (US 2020/0393181 A1), Kim et al. (US 2019/0212026 A12), and Yamamoto et al. (US 2016/0018124 A1) teach various prediction control arrangements for air conditioning systems utilizing plural indoor units.
Conclusion
/MARC E NORMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763