CTNF 18/837,712 CTNF 93594 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim (s) 8, 13, and 16 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 8 and 16 recite “PTP.” Acronyms must be specified. Claim 13 recites “C-RNTI” and “G-RNTI.” Acronyms must be specified. Claim 16 recites “the RNTI that scrambles the DCI” but it should be “the G-RNTI that scrambles the DCI,” see similar claim 8 and dependent claim 13 . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claim(s) 6-8 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claims 6-7 and 14-15 depend on claims 5 and 13, respectively, which are further dependent on claims 4 and 12, respectively. First, claims 4 and 12 recite the option that “ the first DCI and the second DCI are at least one type of DCI configured for uses as follows: DCI configured to schedule a unicast physical downlink shared channel (unicast PDSCH) (option 1) ; DCI configured to schedule a new transmission of a multicast broadcast service physical downlink shared channel (MBS PDSCH) (option 2) ; and DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the multicast broadcast service physical downlink shared channel (MBS PDSCH) (option 3) .” But claims 6-7 and 14-15 recite additional feature for “ the DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the MBS PDSCH (option 3). ” If the option can be only one and the Examiner considers option 1, then claims 6-7 and 14-15 are not further narrowing the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, i.e., option 1. Therefore, it is not clear if option 3 must be considered. Claims 8 and 16 depend on claims 5 and 13, respectively, which are further dependent on claims 4 and 12, respectively. First, claims 4 and 12 recite the option that “ the first DCI and the second DCI are at least one type of DCI configured for uses as follows: DCI configured to schedule a unicast physical downlink shared channel (unicast PDSCH) (option 1) ; DCI configured to schedule a new transmission of a multicast broadcast service physical downlink shared channel (MBS PDSCH) (option 2) ; and DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the multicast broadcast service physical downlink shared channel (MBS PDSCH) (option 3) .” But claims 6-7 and 14-15 recite additional feature for “ the DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the MBS PDSCH (option 3). ” But, claims 8 and 16 recite additional feature for “ the DCI configured to schedule a new transmission of an MBS PDSCH (option 2) .” If the option can be only one and the Examiner considers option 1, then claims 8 and 16 are not further narrowing the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, i.e., option 1. Therefore, it is not clear if option 2 must be considered. Claims 8 and 16 recite “ the C-RNTI ” and depend on claims 5 and 13, respectively. It is not clear whether “ the C-RNTI ” of claims 8 and 16 refers to “ wherein the DCI configured to schedule a unicast PDSCH is scrambled by a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) ” or “ the DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the MBS PDSCH is scrambled by a C-RNTI ” of claims 5 and 13. 07-36 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d): (d) REFERENCE IN DEPENDENT FORMS.—Subject to subsection (e), a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, fourth paragraph: Subject to the following paragraph [i.e., the fifth paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. Claim(s) 6-8 and 14-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 6-7 and 14-15 depend on claims 5 and 13, respectively, which are further dependent on claims 4 and 12, respectively. First, claims 4 and 12 recite the option that “ the first DCI and the second DCI are at least one type of DCI configured for uses as follows: DCI configured to schedule a unicast physical downlink shared channel (unicast PDSCH) (option 1) ; DCI configured to schedule a new transmission of a multicast broadcast service physical downlink shared channel (MBS PDSCH) (option 2) ; and DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the multicast broadcast service physical downlink shared channel (MBS PDSCH) (option 3) .” But claims 6-7 and 14-15 recite additional feature for “ the DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the MBS PDSCH (option 3). ” If the option can be only one and the Examiner considers option 1, then claims 6-7 and 14-15 are not further narrowing the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, i.e., option 1. Claims 8 and 16 depend on claims 5 and 13, respectively, which are further dependent on claims 4 and 12, respectively. First, claims 4 and 12 recite the option that “ the first DCI and the second DCI are at least one type of DCI configured for uses as follows: DCI configured to schedule a unicast physical downlink shared channel (unicast PDSCH) (option 1) ; DCI configured to schedule a new transmission of a multicast broadcast service physical downlink shared channel (MBS PDSCH) (option 2) ; and DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the multicast broadcast service physical downlink shared channel (MBS PDSCH) (option 3) .” But claims 6-7 and 14-15 recite additional feature for “ the DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the MBS PDSCH (option 3). ” But, claims 8 and 16 recite additional feature for “ the DCI configured to schedule a new transmission of an MBS PDSCH (option 2) .” If the option can be only one and the Examiner considers option 1, then claims 8 and 16 are not further narrowing the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, i.e., option 1. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-5, 9-13, 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. ( US 2023/0413286 A1 ) . Regarding claims 1 and 19, Wang discloses A method for determining an indication, executed by a terminal and comprising (claim 1) and A communication apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a memory configured to store a computer program; wherein the computer program implements a method for determining an indication when executed by the processor, the method comprising (claim 19) (Fig. 6, [0056]: UE) : obtaining a first new data indicator (NDI) in first downlink control information (DCI) transmitted by a network side device (Fig. 2, [0057]: Step 201 : obtaining first DCI and first information, the first DCI including a first NDI. [0035], [0040]: base station transmits scheduling signaling DCI) , wherein the first DCI is scrambled by a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) ([0058]: first scrambling RNTI type of the first DCI) ; obtaining a second DCI received most recently prior to the first DCI ([0058]: second DCI being DCI received before the first DCI. [0069]: the previously-received second DCI (i.e., DCI received immediately before the first DCI)) , wherein a second RNTI scrambling the second DCI is identical to the first RNTI ([0058]: second scrambling RNTI type of second DCI. [0067]: the first scrambling RNTI type is C-RNTI and the second scrambling RNTI type is C-RNTI. [0069]: the first DCI (i.e., current DCI) is scrambled with a C-RNTI and the previously-received second DCI (i.e., DCI received immediately before the first DCI) is scrambled with the C-RNTI) ; and determining information indicated by the first NDI according to a relation between a second NDI in the second DCI and the first NDI ([0060]: the value of the NDI is 0 or 1. [0061]: Step 202 : determining that the first NDI has been toggled in the case that the first information meets a first condition. [0062]: Step 203 : determining that the first NDI has not been toggled in the case that the first information meets a second condition. [0067]: the first condition includes at least one of that the value of the first NDI is different from the value of the second NDI…, and the second condition includes one of that the value of the first NDI is the same as the value of the second NDI. [0069]: when the value of the first NDI in the first DCI is different from the value of the second NDI in the second DCI …, the first NDI is determined to be toggled; otherwise, the first NDI is determined to be not toggled) . Regarding claim 21, Wang discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured to store a computer program, wherein the computer program implements steps of the method for determining an indication according to claim 1 when executed by a processor (Fig. 6, [0056]: UE. See mapping of claim 1) . Regarding claim(s) 2, Wang discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above. Wang discloses wherein a hybrid automatic repeat request process identifier (HARQ process ID) in the second DCI is identical to a HARQ process ID in the first DCI ([0108]: For a same HARQ process number, upon the receipt of the first DCI scrambled with the C-RNTI, when the previously-received second DCI is scrambled with the C-RNTI. [0054]: HARQ process number may be one of 1-8) . Regarding claim(s) 3, Wang discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above. Wang discloses wherein the determining information indicated by the first NDI according to a relation between a second NDI in the second DCI and the first NDI comprises: determining that the first NDI is configured to indicate a new transmission in response to a determination that the second NDI is different from the first NDI ([0061]: Step 202 : determining that the first NDI has been toggled in the case that the first information meets a first condition. [0067]: the first condition includes at least one of that the value of the first NDI is different from the value of the second NDI. [0063]: subsequent to Step 202 , the UE determines that data transmitted through a PDSCH is transmitted initially when the first NDI has been toggled) ; and determining that the first NDI is configured to indicate a retransmission in response to a determination that the second NDI is identical to the first NDI ([0062]: Step 203 : determining that the first NDI has not been toggled in the case that the first information meets a second condition. [0067]: the second condition includes one of that the value of the first NDI is the same as the value of the second NDI. [0063]: subsequent to Step 203 , the UE determines that the data transmitted through the PDSCH is retransmitted when the first NDI has not been toggled) . Regarding claim(s) 4, Wang discloses all features of claim(s) 1 as outlined above. Wang discloses wherein the first DCI and the second DCI are at least one type of DCI configured for uses as follows ([0089], [0097], [0098]: the first scrambling RNTI type of the first DCI is C-RNTI, the second scrambling RNTI type of the second DCI is C-RNTI; or first scrambling RNTI type of the first DCI is G-RNTI, the second scrambling RNTI type of the second DCI is G-RNTI) : DCI configured to schedule a unicast physical downlink shared channel (unicast PDSCH) ([0069]: the first DCI (i.e., current DCI) is scrambled with a C-RNTI and the previously-received second DCI (i.e., DCI received immediately before the first DCI) is scrambled with the C-RNTI. [0038]: C-RNTI Unicast Scheduling. [0039]: Unicast scheduling is also called as PTP scheduling, a UE-specific PDCCH is used for a scheduling instruction, and a data channel is a UE-specific PDSCH) ; DCI configured to schedule a new transmission of a multicast broadcast service physical downlink shared channel (MBS PDSCH) ([0097]: the first scrambling RNTI type of the first DCI is G-RNTI, the second scrambling RNTI type of the second DCI is G-RNTI, and the value of the first NDI is different from the value of the second NDI. [0149]: When the previously-received second DCI is scrambled with the G-RNTI, the first DCI includes the MBS-PDSCH-indication and the first DCI including the MBS-PDSCH-indication indicates 0 (indicating that the MBS PDSCH is scheduled), the value of the NDI in the first DCI is compared with the value of the NDI in the second DCI… when the values are different, the NDI in the first DCI is determined to be toggled. [0063]: the UE determines that data transmitted through a PDSCH is transmitted initially when the first NDI has been toggled) ; and DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the multicast broadcast service physical downlink shared channel (MBS PDSCH) ([0145]-[0146]: upon the receipt of the first DCI scrambled with the C-RNTI, when the previously-received second DCI is scrambled with the C-RNTI and the value of the MBS-PDSCH-indication in the second DCI is the same as the value of the MBS-PDSCH-indication in the first DCI (both 1 or 0), the value of the NDI in the first DCI is compared with the value of the NDI in the second DCI. When the values are the same, the NDI in the first DCI is determined to be not toggled. [0063]: subsequent to Step 203 , the UE determines that the data transmitted through the PDSCH is retransmitted when the first NDI has not been toggled. [0141]: For example, 1-bit MBS-PDSCH-indication is added in the DCI, where 0 represents that the MBS PDSCH is scheduled, and 1 represents that no MBS PDSCH is scheduled or unicast PDSCH is scheduled) . Regarding claim(s) 5, Wang discloses all features of claim(s) 4 as outlined above. Wang discloses wherein the DCI configured to schedule a unicast PDSCH is scrambled by a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) ([0038]: C-RNTI Unicast Scheduling. [0039]: Unicast scheduling is also called as PTP scheduling, a UE-specific PDCCH is used for a scheduling instruction, and a data channel is a UE-specific PDSCH. [0069]: the first DCI (i.e., current DCI) is scrambled with a C-RNTI and the previously-received second DCI (i.e., DCI received immediately before the first DCI) is scrambled with the C-RNTI) ; the DCI configured to schedule a new transmission of an MBS PDSCH is scrambled by a group radio network temporary identifier (G-RNTI) ([0097]: the first scrambling RNTI type of the first DCI is G-RNTI, the second scrambling RNTI type of the second DCI is G-RNTI, and the value of the first NDI is different from the value of the second NDI. [0149]: When the previously-received second DCI is scrambled with the G-RNTI, the first DCI includes the MBS-PDSCH-indication and the first DCI including the MBS-PDSCH-indication indicates 0 (indicating that the MBS PDSCH is scheduled), the value of the NDI in the first DCI is compared with the value of the NDI in the second DCI… when the values are different, the NDI in the first DCI is determined to be toggled. [0063]: the UE determines that data transmitted through a PDSCH is transmitted initially when the first NDI has been toggled) ; and the DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the MBS PDSCH is scrambled by a C-RNTI ([0145]-[0146]: upon the receipt of the first DCI scrambled with the C-RNTI, when the previously-received second DCI is scrambled with the C-RNTI and the value of the MBS-PDSCH-indication in the second DCI is the same as the value of the MBS-PDSCH-indication in the first DCI (both 1 or 0), the value of the NDI in the first DCI is compared with the value of the NDI in the second DCI. When the values are the same, the NDI in the first DCI is determined to be not toggled. [0063]: subsequent to Step 203 , the UE determines that the data transmitted through the PDSCH is retransmitted when the first NDI has not been toggled. [0141]: For example, 1-bit MBS-PDSCH-indication is added in the DCI, where 0 represents that the MBS PDSCH is scheduled, and 1 represents that no MBS PDSCH is scheduled or unicast PDSCH is scheduled) . Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses A method for setting information, executed by a network side device and comprising ([0035], [0040]: base station) : transmitting first downlink control information (DCI) to a terminal (Fig. 2, [0057]: Step 201 : obtaining first DCI and first information, the first DCI including a first NDI. [0035], [0040]: base station transmits scheduling signaling DCI) , wherein the first DCI is scrambled by a first radio network temporary identifier (RNTI) ([0058]: first scrambling RNTI type of the first DCI) ; obtaining second DCI transmitted to the terminal most recently prior to the first DCI ([0058]: second DCI being DCI received before the first DCI. [0069]: the previously-received second DCI (i.e., DCI received immediately before the first DCI)) , wherein a second RNTI scrambling the second DCI is identical to the first RNTI ([0058]: second scrambling RNTI type of second DCI. [0067]: the first scrambling RNTI type is C-RNTI and the second scrambling RNTI type is C-RNTI. [0069]: the first DCI (i.e., current DCI) is scrambled with a C-RNTI and the previously-received second DCI (i.e., DCI received immediately before the first DCI) is scrambled with the C-RNTI) ; and setting a first NDI in the first DCI according to a second NDI in the second DCI ([0060]: the value of the NDI is 0 or 1. [0061]: Step 202 : determining that the first NDI has been toggled in the case that the first information meets a first condition. [0062]: Step 203 : determining that the first NDI has not been toggled in the case that the first information meets a second condition. [0067]: the first condition includes at least one of that the value of the first NDI is different from the value of the second NDI…, and the second condition includes one of that the value of the first NDI is the same as the value of the second NDI. [0069]: when the value of the first NDI in the first DCI is different from the value of the second NDI in the second DCI …, the first NDI is determined to be toggled; otherwise, the first NDI is determined to be not toggled) . Regarding claim 20, Wang discloses A communication apparatus, comprising: a processor; and a memory configured to store a computer program; wherein the computer program implements the method for setting information according to claim 9 when executed by the processor ([0035], [0040]: base station. See mapping of claim 9) . Regarding claim 22, Wang discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured to store a computer program, wherein the computer program implements steps of the method for setting information according to claim 9 when executed by a processor ([0035], [0040]: base station. See mapping of claim 9) . Regarding claim(s) 10, Wang discloses all features of claim(s) 9 as outlined above. Wang discloses wherein a hybrid automatic repeat request process identifier (HARQ process ID) in the second DCI is identical to a HARQ process ID in the first DCI ([0108]: For a same HARQ process number, upon the receipt of the first DCI scrambled with the C-RNTI, when the previously-received second DCI is scrambled with the C-RNTI. [0054]: HARQ process number may be one of 1-8) . Regarding claim(s) 11, Wang discloses all features of claim(s) 9 as outlined above. Wang discloses wherein setting a first NDI in the first DCI according to a second NDI in the second DCI comprises: setting the first NDI to be different from the second NDI in response to a determination that the first DCI is configured to schedule a new transmission, wherein the first NDI is configured to indicate the new transmission ([0061]: Step 202 : determining that the first NDI has been toggled in the case that the first information meets a first condition. [0067]: the first condition includes at least one of that the value of the first NDI is different from the value of the second NDI. [0063]: subsequent to Step 202 , the UE determines that data transmitted through a PDSCH is transmitted initially when the first NDI has been toggled) ; and setting the first NDI to be identical to the second NDI in response to a determination that the first DCI is configured to schedule a retransmission, wherein the first NDI is configured to indicate the retransmission ([0062]: Step 203 : determining that the first NDI has not been toggled in the case that the first information meets a second condition. [0067]: the second condition includes one of that the value of the first NDI is the same as the value of the second NDI. [0063]: subsequent to Step 203 , the UE determines that the data transmitted through the PDSCH is retransmitted when the first NDI has not been toggled) . Regarding claim(s) 12, Wang discloses all features of claim(s) 9 as outlined above. Wang discloses wherein the first DCI and the second DCI are at least one type of DCI configured for uses as follows ([0089], [0097], [0098]: the first scrambling RNTI type of the first DCI is C-RNTI, the second scrambling RNTI type of the second DCI is C-RNTI; or first scrambling RNTI type of the first DCI is G-RNTI, the second scrambling RNTI type of the second DCI is G-RNTI)) : DCI configured to schedule a unicast physical downlink shared channel (unicast PDSCH) ([0069]: the first DCI (i.e., current DCI) is scrambled with a C-RNTI and the previously-received second DCI (i.e., DCI received immediately before the first DCI) is scrambled with the C-RNTI. [0038]: C-RNTI Unicast Scheduling. [0039]: Unicast scheduling is also called as PTP scheduling, a UE-specific PDCCH is used for a scheduling instruction, and a data channel is a UE-specific PDSCH) ; DCI configured to schedule a new transmission of a multicast broadcast service physical downlink shared channel (MBS PDSCH) ([0097]: the first scrambling RNTI type of the first DCI is G-RNTI, the second scrambling RNTI type of the second DCI is G-RNTI, and the value of the first NDI is different from the value of the second NDI. [0149]: When the previously-received second DCI is scrambled with the G-RNTI, the first DCI includes the MBS-PDSCH-indication and the first DCI including the MBS-PDSCH-indication indicates 0 (indicating that the MBS PDSCH is scheduled), the value of the NDI in the first DCI is compared with the value of the NDI in the second DCI… when the values are different, the NDI in the first DCI is determined to be toggled. [0063]: the UE determines that data transmitted through a PDSCH is transmitted initially when the first NDI has been toggled) ; and DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the multicast broadcast service physical downlink shared channel (MBS PDSCH) ([0145]-[0146]: upon the receipt of the first DCI scrambled with the C-RNTI, when the previously-received second DCI is scrambled with the C-RNTI and the value of the MBS-PDSCH-indication in the second DCI is the same as the value of the MBS-PDSCH-indication in the first DCI (both 1 or 0), the value of the NDI in the first DCI is compared with the value of the NDI in the second DCI. When the values are the same, the NDI in the first DCI is determined to be not toggled. [0063]: subsequent to Step 203 , the UE determines that the data transmitted through the PDSCH is retransmitted when the first NDI has not been toggled. [0141]: For example, 1-bit MBS-PDSCH-indication is added in the DCI, where 0 represents that the MBS PDSCH is scheduled, and 1 represents that no MBS PDSCH is scheduled or unicast PDSCH is scheduled) . Regarding claim(s) 13, Wang discloses all features of claim(s) 12 as outlined above. Wang discloses wherein the DCI configured to schedule a unicast PDSCH is scrambled by a C-RNTI ([0038]: C-RNTI Unicast Scheduling. [0039]: Unicast scheduling is also called as PTP scheduling, a UE-specific PDCCH is used for a scheduling instruction, and a data channel is a UE-specific PDSCH. [0069]: the first DCI (i.e., current DCI) is scrambled with a C-RNTI and the previously-received second DCI (i.e., DCI received immediately before the first DCI) is scrambled with the C-RNTI) ; the DCI configured to schedule a new transmission of an MBS PDSCH is scrambled by a G-RNTI ([0097]: the first scrambling RNTI type of the first DCI is G-RNTI, the second scrambling RNTI type of the second DCI is G-RNTI, and the value of the first NDI is different from the value of the second NDI. [0149]: When the previously-received second DCI is scrambled with the G-RNTI, the first DCI includes the MBS-PDSCH-indication and the first DCI including the MBS-PDSCH-indication indicates 0 (indicating that the MBS PDSCH is scheduled), the value of the NDI in the first DCI is compared with the value of the NDI in the second DCI… when the values are different, the NDI in the first DCI is determined to be toggled. [0063]: the UE determines that data transmitted through a PDSCH is transmitted initially when the first NDI has been toggled) ; the DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the MBS PDSCH is scrambled by a C-RNTI ([0145]-[0146]: upon the receipt of the first DCI scrambled with the C-RNTI, when the previously-received second DCI is scrambled with the C-RNTI and the value of the MBS-PDSCH-indication in the second DCI is the same as the value of the MBS-PDSCH-indication in the first DCI (both 1 or 0), the value of the NDI in the first DCI is compared with the value of the NDI in the second DCI. When the values are the same, the NDI in the first DCI is determined to be not toggled. [0063]: subsequent to Step 203 , the UE determines that the data transmitted through the PDSCH is retransmitted when the first NDI has not been toggled. [0141]: For example, 1-bit MBS-PDSCH-indication is added in the DCI, where 0 represents that the MBS PDSCH is scheduled, and 1 represents that no MBS PDSCH is scheduled or unicast PDSCH is scheduled) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6-7 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. ( US 2023/0413286 A1 ) in view of Lei et al. ( US 2024/0340117 A1 ) . Regarding claim(s) 6, Wang discloses all features of claim(s) 5 as outlined above. Wang discloses wherein obtaining second DCI received most recently prior to the first DCI comprises: deeming a RNTI scrambling DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the MBS PDSCH in a point to point (PTP) scheme as the G-RNTI, and obtaining the second DCI received most recently prior to the first DCI (Fig. 5, [0156]: DCI-3: the previous DCI-2 is C-RNTI scheduling signaling, the MBS indication indicates the MBS data, and the values of the NDIs are the same, so the NDI is determined to be not toggled. [0157]: DCI-4: the previous DCI-3 is G-RNTI scheduling signaling, and the values of the NDIs are the same, so the NDI is determined to be not toggled. [0063]: subsequent to Step 203 , the UE determines that the data transmitted through the PDSCH is retransmitted when the first NDI has not been toggled) . Wang does not disclose, but Lei discloses deeming a RNTI scrambling DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the MBS PDSCH in a point to point (PTP) scheme as the G-RNTI ([0043]: At the UE side, when decoding a PDCCH, the UE may check the CRC with the C-RNTI, each G-RNTI (e.g., G-RNTI x) associated with a respective multicast service of the one or more multicast services supported at the UE, and the combination of the C-RNTI and each G-RNTI. In response to the reception of a DCI with a CRC scrambled by a combination of the C-RNTI and G-RNTI x, the UE would know that the scheduled transmission is a PTP retransmission of a multicast service associated with G-RNTI x). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Wang, to know that the scheduled transmission is a PTP retransmission of a multicast service associated with G-RNTI x based on receiving a DCI with a CRC scrambled by a combination of C-RNTI and G-RNTI x, as taught by Lei. Doing so allows the UE to know that the scheduled transmission is a PTP retransmission of a multicast service associated with G-RNTI x because the combination of a C-RNTI and G-RNTI x may implicitly indicate that the PTP based retransmission of a TB is initially transmitted according to a PTM scheme; and, therefore a misunderstanding on the PTP retransmission for an initial PTM transmission and an initial PTP or unicast transmission can be avoided. (Lei: [0041], [0043]-[0044]). Regarding claim(s) 7, Wang in view of Lei discloses all features of claim(s) 6 as outlined above. Wang discloses wherein deeming a RNTI scrambling DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the MBS PDSCH in a point to point (PTP) scheme as the G-RNTI, and obtaining the second DCI received most recently prior to the first DCI comprise: deeming the RNTI that scrambles the DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the MBS PDSCH in a PTP scheme as the G-RNTI in response to a determination that the retransmission scheduled by the DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the MBS PDSCH in a PTP scheme is successfully received , and obtaining the second DCI received most recently prior to the first DCI (Fig. 5, [0156]: DCI-3: the previous DCI-2 is C-RNTI scheduling signaling, the MBS indication indicates the MBS data, and the values of the NDIs are the same, so the NDI is determined to be not toggled. [0157]: DCI-4: the previous DCI-3 is G-RNTI scheduling signaling, and the values of the NDIs are the same, so the NDI is determined to be not toggled. [0063]: subsequent to Step 203 , the UE determines that the data transmitted through the PDSCH is retransmitted when the first NDI has not been toggled) . Wang does not disclose, but Lei discloses deeming the RNTI that scrambles the DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the MBS PDSCH in a point to point (PTP) scheme as the G-RNTI in response to a determination that the retransmission scheduled by the DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the MBS PDSCH in a PTP scheme is successfully received ([0043]: At the UE side, when decoding a PDCCH, the UE may check the CRC with the C-RNTI, each G-RNTI (e.g., G-RNTI x) associated with a respective multicast service of the one or more multicast services supported at the UE, and the combination of the C-RNTI and each G-RNTI. In response to the reception of a DCI with a CRC scrambled by a combination of the C-RNTI and G-RNTI x, the UE would know that the scheduled transmission is a PTP retransmission of a multicast service associated with G-RNTI x). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Wang, to know that the scheduled transmission is a PTP retransmission of a multicast service associated with G-RNTI x based on receiving a DCI with a CRC scrambled by a combination of C-RNTI and G-RNTI x, as taught by Lei. Doing so allows the UE to know that the scheduled transmission is a PTP retransmission of a multicast service associated with G-RNTI x because the combination of a C-RNTI and G-RNTI x may implicitly indicate that the PTP based retransmission of a TB is initially transmitted according to a PTM scheme; and, therefore a misunderstanding on the PTP retransmission for an initial PTM transmission and an initial PTP or unicast transmission can be avoided. (Lei: [0041], [0043]-[0044]). Regarding claim(s) 14, Wang discloses all features of claim(s) 13 as outlined above. Wang discloses wherein obtaining second DCI transmitted to the terminal most recently prior to the first DCI comprises: deeming a RNTI scrambling DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the MBS PDSCH in a point to point (PTP) scheme as the G-RNTI, and obtaining the second DCI transmitted to the terminal most recently prior to the first DCI (Fig. 5, [0156]: DCI-3: the previous DCI-2 is C-RNTI scheduling signaling, the MBS indication indicates the MBS data, and the values of the NDIs are the same, so the NDI is determined to be not toggled. [0157]: DCI-4: the previous DCI-3 is G-RNTI scheduling signaling, and the values of the NDIs are the same, so the NDI is determined to be not toggled. [0063]: subsequent to Step 203 , the UE determines that the data transmitted through the PDSCH is retransmitted when the first NDI has not been toggled) . Wang does not disclose, but Lei discloses deeming a RNTI scrambling DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the MBS PDSCH in a point to point (PTP) scheme as the G-RNTI ([0043]: At the UE side, when decoding a PDCCH, the UE may check the CRC with the C-RNTI, each G-RNTI (e.g., G-RNTI x) associated with a respective multicast service of the one or more multicast services supported at the UE, and the combination of the C-RNTI and each G-RNTI. In response to the reception of a DCI with a CRC scrambled by a combination of the C-RNTI and G-RNTI x, the UE would know that the scheduled transmission is a PTP retransmission of a multicast service associated with G-RNTI x). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Wang, to know that the scheduled transmission is a PTP retransmission of a multicast service associated with G-RNTI x based on receiving a DCI with a CRC scrambled by a combination of C-RNTI and G-RNTI x, as taught by Lei. Doing so allows the UE to know that the scheduled transmission is a PTP retransmission of a multicast service associated with G-RNTI x because the combination of a C-RNTI and G-RNTI x may implicitly indicate that the PTP based retransmission of a TB is initially transmitted according to a PTM scheme (Lei: [0041], [0043]). Regarding claim(s) 15, Wang discloses all features of claim(s) 14 as outlined above. Wang discloses wherein deeming a RNTI scrambling DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the MBS PDSCH in a point to point (PTP) scheme as the G-RNTI, and obtaining the second DCI transmitted to the terminal most recently prior to the first DCI comprise: deeming the RNTI that scrambles the DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the MBS PDSCH in a PTP scheme as the G-RNTI in response to a determination that the retransmission scheduled by the DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the MBS PDSCH in a PTP scheme is successfully received by the terminal, and obtaining the second DCI transmitted to the terminal most recently prior to the first DCI. Wang does not disclose, but Lei discloses deeming the RNTI that scrambles the DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the MBS PDSCH in a point to point (PTP) scheme as the G-RNTI in response to a determination that the retransmission scheduled by the DCI configured to schedule a retransmission of the MBS PDSCH in a PTP scheme is successfully received by the terminal ([0043]: At the UE side, when decoding a PDCCH, the UE may check the CRC with the C-RNTI, each G-RNTI (e.g., G-RNTI x) associated with a respective multicast service of the one or more multicast services supported at the UE, and the combination of the C-RNTI and each G-RNTI. In response to the reception of a DCI with a CRC scrambled by a combination of the C-RNTI and G-RNTI x, the UE would know that the scheduled transmission is a PTP retransmission of a multicast service associated with G-RNTI x). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Wang, to know that the scheduled transmission is a PTP retransmission of a multicast service associated with G-RNTI x based on receiving a DCI with a CRC scrambled by a combination of C-RNTI and G-RNTI x, as taught by Lei. Doing so allows the UE to know that the scheduled transmission is a PTP retransmission of a multicast service associated with G-RNTI x because the combination of a C-RNTI and G-RNTI x may implicitly indicate that the PTP based retransmission of a TB is initially transmitted according to a PTM scheme; and, therefore a misunderstanding on the PTP retransmission for an initial PTM transmission and an initial PTP or unicast transmission can be avoided. (Lei: [0041], [0043]-[0044]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to THE HY NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)270-3813. The examiner can normally be reached on Mo-Fr: 8am-4pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Avellino, can be reached on (571) 272-3905. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478 TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov Application/Control Number: 18/837,712 Page 2 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/837,712 Page 3 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/837,712 Page 4 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/837,712 Page 5 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/837,712 Page 6 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/837,712 Page 7 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/837,712 Page 8 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/837,712 Page 9 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/837,712 Page 10 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/837,712 Page 11 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/837,712 Page 12 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/837,712 Page 13 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/837,712 Page 14 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/837,712 Page 15 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/837,712 Page 16 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/837,712 Page 17 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/837,712 Page 18 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/837,712 Page 19 Art Unit: 2478 Application/Control Number: 18/837,712 Page 20 Art Unit: 2478