DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-10-13 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Zhang et al. (U.S. 2024/0404175 A1) in view of Yeoh et al. (U.S. 2023/0108721 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang discloses an object rendering method (Zhang, [0006] “a displaying method”), comprising:
acquiring first position information of a target object in a scene to be rendered in a screen (Zhang, [0060] “in FIG. 4, when the target object model is a building, the determined associated three-dimensional points are A1-A5 as shown, and the corresponding projection position information are A1′-A5′ (not shown) in the plane of the picture display region R” Zhang teaches acquiring first position information of a target object in a scene to be rendered in the screen (the building region corresponding to A1, A3, A5, A6, A7, and A8, as a target object model, Fig. 4); and
rendering, in a case that the first position information indicates that an intersection of the target object and a user gaze area satisfies a preset condition, the target object based on a first rendering strategy (Zhang, Fig. 4, [0061] “Apparently, for the human eye position information of the user, the image of the building region corresponding to A1, A3, A5, A6, A7, and A8 is seen by the user. Therefore, the image of the building region corresponding to A1, A3, A5, A6, A7, and A8 is rendered according to A1′, A3′, A5′, A6′, A7′, and A8′ “ Zhang teaches rendering, in in a case that the first position information indicates that an intersection of the target object and a user gaze area satisfies a preset condition (the building region corresponding to A1, A3, A5, A6, A7, and A8 is rendered according to A1′, A3′, A5′, A6′, A7′, and A’8 (not shown) as a target picture display region, Fig. 4).
Zhang discloses in Fig. 14 when the target object model is a cylinder, starting from a viewpoint of the human eye, one light ray R is emitted from the pixel center to the cylinder, and all intersection points of R with the cylinder in a scene are acquired, the calculated brightness is assigned to the pixel blocks where the projection position information intersection the target display region is located [0110].
However, Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein the first rendering strategy is a strategy of rendering PxQ pixel points at a time, and P and Q are positive integers.
Yeoh teaches the first rendering strategy is a strategy of rendering PxQ pixel points at a time, and P and Q are positive integers (Yeoh, [0119] “refers primarily to luminance values of pixels, in other implementations, luminance values can be determined for regions comprising multiple pixels (e.g., an NxM grid of pixels) instead of for individual pixels” and [221] “eye position is determined from cornea position and gaze direction” and [0226] “ the adjustment to the rendering location of a virtual object may be different for the left eye display and the right eye display” Yeoh teaches rendering location of the virtual object (the target object as a rendering strategy condition) can be determined for region including multiple pixels e.g., an NxM grid of pixels.
Zhang and Yeoh are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, system and method for image processing and try to solve similar problems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made for modifying the method of Zhang to combine with rendering strategy of rendering NxM pixels (as taught by Yeoh) in order to apply rendering strategy of rendering PxQ pixels because Yeoh can provide rendering location of the virtual object (the target object as a rendering strategy condition) can be determined for region including multiple pixels e.g., an NxM grid of pixels (Yeoh, [0119],[0221], [0226]). Doing so, it may help to provide the user with depth cues based on the accommodation of the eye required to bring into focus different image features for the scene located on different depth plane (Yeoh, [0048]).
Regarding Claim 2, a combination of and Zhang and Yeoh discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the rendering, in the case that the first position information indicates that the intersection of the target object and the user gaze area satisfies the preset condition, the target object based on the first rendering strategy comprises:
acquiring, in the case that the first position information indicates that the intersection of the target object and the user gaze area satisfies the preset condition, first information of the target object (Zhang, Fig. 4, [0061] “Apparently, for the human eye position information of the user, the image of the building region corresponding to A1, A3, A5, A6, A7, and A8 is seen by the user. Therefore, the image of the building region corresponding to A1, A3, A5, A6, A7, and A8 is rendered according to A1′, A3′, A5′, A6′, A7′, and A8′ “ Zhang teaches acquiring, in a case that the first position information indicates that an intersection of the target object and a user gaze area satisfies a preset condition (the target object, building region corresponding to A1, A3, A5, A6, A7, and A8 is rendered according to A1′, A3′, A5′, A6′, A7′, and A’8 (not shown) as a target picture display region, Fig. 4) ; and
rendering, in a case that the first information satisfies a target condition, the target object based on the first rendering strategy (Zhang, Fig. 4, [0061] “Apparently, for the human eye position information of the user, the image of the building region corresponding to A1, A3, A5, A6, A7, and A8 is seen by the user. Therefore, the image of the building region corresponding to A1, A3, A5, A6, A7, and A8 is rendered according to A1′, A3′, A5′, A6′, A7′, and A8′ “ Zhang teaches rendering the first information satisfies a target condition (corresponding to A1, A3, A5, A6, A7, and A8 is rendered according to A1′, A3′, A5′, A6′, A7′, and A8′) based on the first rendering strategy.
Regarding Claim 16, (Canceled).
Regarding Claim 17 (Currently amended), a combination of Zhang and Yeoh discloses an electronic device (Zhang, [0009] “an electronic device, comprising: a processor; and a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor” comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to execute the object rendering method according to any of claims 1 to 15 when invoking the computer program;
acquire first position information of a target object in a scene to be rendered in a screen; and
render, in a case that the first position information indicates that an intersection of the target object and a user gaze area satisfies a preset condition, the target object based on a first rendering strategy,
wherein the first rendering strategy is a strategy of rendering PxQ pixel points at a time, and P and Q are positive integers.
Claim 17 is substantially similar to claim 1 is rejected based on similar analyses.
Regarding Claim 18 (Currently amended), a combination of Zhang and Yeoh discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Zhang, [0010] “a computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program configured to perform the displaying methods for a three-dimensional object” , having a computer program stored thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements the object rendering method according to any of claims 1 to 15 is cause to:
acquire first position information of a target object in a scene to be rendered in a screen; and
render, in a case that the first position information indicates that an intersection of the target object and a user gaze area satisfies a preset condition, the target object based on a first rendering strategy,
wherein the first rendering strategy is a strategy of rendering PxQ pixel points at a time, and P and Q are positive integers.
Claim 18 is substantially similar to claim 1 is rejected based on similar analyses.
Regarding Claim 19, (Canceled).
Regarding Claim 20 (New), a combination of Zhang and Yeoh discloses the electronic device according to claim 17, wherein the computer program causing the processor to render, in the case that the first position information indicates that the intersection of the target object and the user gaze area satisfies the preset condition, the target object based on the first rendering strategy further causes the processor to:
acquire, in the case that the first position information indicates that the intersection of the target object and the user gaze area satisfies the preset condition, first information of the target object; and
render, in a case that the first information satisfies a target condition, the target object based on the first rendering strategy.
Claim 20 is substantially similar to claim 2 is rejected based on similar analyses.
Allowable Subject Matter
Dependent claims 3-15, 21-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding to independent claims 1, 17, 18 the closest prior art references the examiner found are Zhang et al. (U.S. 2024/0404175 A1) in view of Yeoh et al. (U.S. 2023/0108721 A1) have been made of record as teaching: acquiring first position information of a target object in a scene to be rendered in a screen (Zhang, [0060]); rendering, in a case that the first position information indicates that an intersection of the target object and a user gaze area satisfies a preset condition, the target object based on a first rendering strategy (Zhang, Fig. 4, [0061]); the first rendering strategy is a strategy of rendering PxQ pixel points at a time, and P and Q are positive integers (Yeoh, [0119], 0226]), recited in claims 1, 17, 18.
However, the art of record did not teach or suggest the claim taken as a whole and particular the limitation pertaining:
“wherein in a case that the first information comprises a first depth value of the target object after rendering, the target condition comprises that the first depth value is less than or equal to a preset depth threshold;
wherein in a case that the first information comprises a first size value of the target object, the target condition comprises that the first size value is greater than or equal to a preset size threshold;
wherein in a case that the first information comprises gradient information of a mapping region, the target condition comprises that the gradient information of the mapping region is greater than or equal to a preset gradient threshold, the mapping region is a region of the target object in a mapping corresponding to the scene to be rendered;
wherein in a case that the first information comprises a type of the target object, the target condition comprises that the type of the target object is a preset type; and wherein in a case that the first information comprises a number of triangular faces of the target object, the target condition comprises that the number of the triangular faces of the target object is greater than or equal to a preset number threshold”, recited in claims 3, 21
“wherein the method further comprises prior to rendering the target object based on the first rendering strategy:
determining that rendering strategies set for the target object comprises a first rendering strategy and a second rendering strategy;
wherein the second rendering strategy is a strategy of rendering SxT pixel points at a time, PxQ is less than SxT, and S and T are positive integers” recited in claims 4, 22.
“wherein the rendering the target object based on a first rendering strategy comprises:
modifying, in a case that PxQ is less than or equal to NxM, the rendering strategy of the target object from a third rendering strategy to the first rendering strategy, and rendering the target object based on the first rendering strategy;
wherein the third rendering strategy is a strategy of rendering NxM pixel points at a time, and N and M are positive integers” recited in claim 5.
Dependent claims 6-15 are rejected because they depend on dependent claim 5.
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure Yoshimura et al. (U.S. 2019/0259173 A1) and Vaught et al. (U.S. 2013/0002813 A1).
/KEE M TUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2611
/KHOA VU/Examiner, Art Unit 2611