DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application 18/837,727 filed 8/12/2024 which is a 371 of PCT/EP2023/053179 02/09/2023, which claims priority to GERMANY 10 2022 103 151.9 2/10/2022.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse in the reply filed on 4/20/2026 is acknowledged. The requirement is withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“means of a force” in claim 8
“traction means” in claims 11 and 12
“means of a holding system” in claim 14
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura et al. (US 2014/0343369 A1)(hereinafter Nakamura).
RE Claim 1: Nakamura discloses a system for an operator (para 0185) comprising:
a support device for holding at least one body part of the operator (para 0185; Fig 9), which comprises a control device that is configured to switch the support device between a movement mode and a holding mode (para 0186; Fig 10), wherein the supported body part of the operator can be moved in an adjustment direction in the movement mode (para 0119; Figs 4 and 10) and is held in a position and/or orientation by the support device in the holding mode;
a release device that is communicatively connected with the control device and which is configured to switch the support device from the holding mode into the movement mode (para 0190; Fig 10);
wherein the control device is configured to switch the support device from the movement mode into the holding mode if the supported body part of the operator takes an at least substantially constant position and/or orientation for a predetermined time (para 0195; Fig 10).
RE Claim 2: Nakamura discloses the holding system according to claim 1,
wherein the support device comprises a sensor unit for detection of movements of the supported body part (para 0190; Fig 10), wherein the control device is configured to receive sensor data from the sensor unit and to switch the support device from the movement mode into the holding mode based on the sensor data (para 0190; Fig 10).
RE Claims 3 and 16: Nakamura discloses the holding system according to claims 1 (and 2),
wherein the release device comprises at least one operating element for releasing the movement mode (para 0190; Fig 10).
RE Claims 4 and 17: Nakamura discloses the holding system according to claims 1 (and 16),
wherein the release device is arranged, so that the at least one operating element can be reached by the operator at least with a foot (para 0190; Fig 10).
RE Claims 5 and 18: Nakamura discloses the holding system according to claims 1 (and 17),
wherein the support device comprises at least one actuator that is configured to transfer the support device at least in one adjustment direction in the holding mode and/or in the movement mode (para 0199; Figs 4 and 10).
RE Claim 14: Nakamura discloses a method for holding an operator by means of a holding system for an operator (para 0185) comprising:
a support device for holding at least one body part of the operator (para 0185; Fig 9),
which comprises a control device that is configured to switch the support device between a movement mode and a holding mode (para 0186; Fig 10),
wherein the supported body part of the operator can be moved in an adjustment direction in the movement mode and is held in a position and/or orientation by the support device in the holding mode (para 0119; Figs 4 and 10);
a release device that is communicatively connected with the control device and which is configured to switch the support device from the holding mode into the movement mode (para 0190; Fig 10);
wherein the control device is configured to switch the support device from the movement mode into the holding mode if the supported body part of the operator takes an at least substantially constant position and/or orientation for a predetermined time (para 0195; Fig 10),
wherein the method comprises the following steps:
Holding at least one supported body part of the operator in the position and/or direction (para 0185);
Releasing the movement mode in which the supported body part of the operator can be moved at least in one adjustment direction (para 0119; Figs 4 and 10); as well as
Switching from the movement mode into the holding mode, if the supported body part of the operator takes the at least substantially constant position and/or orientation for the predetermined time (para 0190; Fig 10).
RE Claim 15: Nakamura discloses the method according to claim 14,
wherein releasing of the movement mode in the holding mode can be carried out by foot (para 0190; Fig 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Anastasov (US 2011/0163577 A1)(hereinafter Anastasov).
RE Claim 6: Nakamura discloses the holding system according to claim 2.
Nakamura discloses a seat (at least see Fig 2A), but does not explicitly teach a first adjustment device for adjusting a seat height.
However, Anastasov teaches a holding system (surgeon chair system) (analogous art) and further teaches wherein the support device comprises an operating chair having a seat and a first adjustment device for adjusting a seat height (para 0034; Figs 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakamura in view of Anastasov such that wherein the support device comprises an operating chair having a seat and a first adjustment device for adjusting a seat height as taught by Anastasov for the advantages of adjustability during procedures (Nakamura para 0003).
RE Claim 7: Nakamura as modified discloses the holding system according to claim 6,
Anastasov further discloses wherein the sensor unit comprises at least one sensor element located in the first adjustment device, wherein the sensor element is configured to detect a seat height (para 0043-0044).
RE Claim 8: Nakamura as modified discloses the holding system according to claim 6,
further discloses wherein the first adjustment device is configured to support a movement of the operator by means of a force in the movement mode (para 0119; Figs 4 and 10).
RE Claim 19: Nakamura discloses the holding system according to claim 18,
Nakamura discloses a seat (at least see Fig 2A), but does not explicitly teach a first adjustment device for adjusting a seat height.
However, Anastasov teaches a holding system (surgeon chair system) (analogous art) and further teaches wherein the support device comprises an operating chair having a seat and a first adjustment device for adjusting a seat height (para 0034; Figs 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Nakamura in view of Anastasov such that wherein the support device comprises an operating chair having a seat and a first adjustment device for adjusting a seat height as taught by Anastasov for the advantages of adjustability during procedures (Nakamura para 0003).
RE Claim 20: Nakamura as modified discloses the holding system according to claim 19,
Anastasov further discloses wherein the sensor unit comprises at least one sensor element located in the first adjustment device, wherein the sensor element is configured to detect a seat height (para 0043-0044).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not disclose, either alone or in combination, the details of
wherein the operating chair comprises a second adjustment device for adjusting a lateral seat inclination, at least one lateral support and at least one force sensor unit arranged in the lateral support for detection of a force acting laterally onto the lateral support (claims 9-10);
wherein the operating chair comprises an upper body retaining device having a traction means, wherein the traction means can be releasably attached to a back part of a harness that can be worn by the operator, wherein the upper body retaining device is arranged, so that the an upper body of the operator is retained in the holding mode in an inclination angle (claims 11-13), along with the remaining limitations of the claim.
This statement is not intended to necessarily state all the reasons for allowance or all the details why the claims are allowed and has not been written to specifically or impliedly state that all the reasons for allowance are set forth (MPEP 1302.14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
These documents present alternative designs similar in scope which illustrate relevant features in comparison to the Applicant’s submission. The cited prior art include various holding devices with control mechanisms.
/MARIA E GRABER/Examiner, Art Unit 3644