DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II, claims 34-35, 38, 42-45, 49, and 51 in the reply filed on 08/27/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1, 4, 7, 11-12, 14, 19, 21, 24, 27-28, and 31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/27/2026.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 4, 7, 11-12, 14, 19, 21, 24, 27-28, 31, 34-35, 38, 42-45, 49, and 51 are currently pending.
Claims 1, 4, 7, 11-12, 14, 19, 21, 24, 27, 28, 31, 35, 38, 42-45, 49, and 51 are amended.
Claims 1, 4, 7, 11-12, 14, 19, 21, 24, 27-28, and 31 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 2-3, 5-6, 8-10, 13, 15-18, 20, 22-23, 25-26, 29-30, 32-33, 36-37, 39-41, 46-48, and 50 are cancelled.
Claims 34-35, 38, 42-45, 49, and 51 have been considered on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 34, 42-45, 49, and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al (Virology Journal, “Soluble CD40 ligand-activated human peripheral B cells as surrogated antigen presenting cells: A preliminary approach for anti-HBV immunotherapy”, 2010), in view of Arjunaraja et al (Frontiers in Immunology, “Intrinsic Plasma Cell Differentiation Defects in B Cell Expansion with NF-κB and T Cell Anergy Patient B Cells”, 2017).
Regarding claim 34, Wu teaches a method of expanding mammalian lymphocytes, in this case B cells, comprising seeding the lymphocytes into a culture environment comprising one or more ligands of CD40, in this case soluble CD40L, and one or more cytokines, in this case IL-4 (pg. 5, col. 2, para 2); and incubating the seeded lymphocytes thereof in the culture environment for more than one day (pg. 6, col. 1, last para).
Regarding claim 42, Wu teaches that the ligand of CD40 is CD40L, which is a known protein (pg. 5, col. 2, para 2).
Regarding claim 43, Wu teaches that the cytokine is IL-4 (pg. 5, col. 2, para 2).
Regarding claim 45, Wu teaches that the method of culture is done with only the B cells of the method and teaches by omission that the seeding and incubating steps do not contain feeder cells, which amounts to a “feeder-free condition” of claim 45 (pg. 5, col. 2, para 2).
Regarding claim 49, Wu teaches that the B cells are activated in the culture environment (see pg. 5, col. 2, para 2; “Activation of B cells by sCD40L”).
Regarding claim 51, Wu teaches that the lymphocytes are seeded at a clonal density (pg. 5, col. 2, para 2).
Wu does not teach that the method includes culturing the lymphocytes with a mixture of lipids as required by claim 34. Wu does not teach that the lipid mixture is chemically defined as required by claim 44.
However, Arjunaraja teaches a method of activating human naïve B cells including seeding B cells in a culture environment and subjecting them to activation using anti-CD40 antibody, IL-21, and IL-2 (pg. 2, col. 2, last para spanning pg. 3).
Regarding claim 34, Arjunaraja teaches supplementing the cell culture which is being activated with anti-CD40 antibody, IL-21, and IL-2 with additional IL-6, IFN-a, IL-21, and Lipid Mixture 1 (chemically defined) to generate long lived plasma cells (a subset of B cells)(pg. 2, col. 2, last para spanning pg. 3).
Regarding claim 44, Arjunaraja explicitly teaches that the Lipid Mixture 1 is chemically defined (pg. 2, col. 2, last para spanning pg. 3).
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious at the effective filling date of the instant invention to combine the method of expanding B cells taught by Wu with employing a lipid mixture in culturing B cells taught by Arjunaraja to arrive at the instant invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because, Arjunaraja teaches supplementing the cell culture which is being activated with anti-CD40 antibody, IL-21, and IL-2 with additional IL-6, IFN-a, IL-21, and Lipid Mixture 1 (chemically defined) to generate long lived plasma cells (a subset of B cells)(pg. 2, col. 2, last para spanning pg. 3). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when combining Wu with Arjunaraja because both Wu and Arjunaraja and Wu teach that the method of culturing the B cells includes cytokine and CD40 activation.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing of the invention, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 35 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al (Virology Journal, “Soluble CD40 ligand-activated human peripheral B cells as surrogated antigen presenting cells: A preliminary approach for anti-HBV immunotherapy”, 2010), in view of Arjunaraja et al (Frontiers in Immunology, “Intrinsic Plasma Cell Differentiation Defects in B Cell Expansion with NF-κB and T Cell Anergy Patient B Cells”, 2017), as applied to claims 34, 42-45, 49, and 51, and in further view of De La Fuente et al (Leukemia, “Fibronectin interaction with 4 1 integrin prevents apoptosis in B cell chronic lymphocytic leukemia: correlation with Bcl-2 and Bax”, 1999).
Regarding claims 35 and 38, the limitations of the independent claim 34 are taught above.
Wu and Arjunaraja do not teach that the method further comprises a first type of an extracellular matrix protein in the culture environment, a first and second type of ECM protein, or a first, second, and third type of ECM protein as required by claim 35. Wu and Arjunaraja do not teach that the extracellular matrix protein is one or more from collagen, ECM1, E-cadherin, a laminin, an osteopontin, a fibronectin, a vitronectin, or a SPARC as required by claim 38.
However, De La Feunte teaches the culture of a subset of B cells on fibronectin. De La Feunte teaches that B cells grown on fibronectin exhibited an anti-apoptotic effect (abstract).
Regarding claim 35, De La Feunte teaches culturing B cells on fibronectin (abstract).
Regarding claim 38, De La Feunte teaches that the extracellular matrix protein is fibronectin (abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious at the effective filling date of the instant invention to combine the method of expanding B cells taught by Wu and Arjunaraja with culturing B cells on fibronectin taught by De La Feunte to arrive at the instant invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make this combination because De La Feunte teaches that B cells grown on fibronectin exhibited an anti-apoptotic effect (abstract). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when combining Wu and Arjunaraja with De La Fuente because both Wu and Arjunaraja and Wu teach that the method of culturing the B cells includes cytokine and CD40 activation and De La Fuente teaches that fibronectin culture exhibits an anti-apoptotic effect.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing of the invention, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Examiner Contact Information
CONSTANTINA E. STAVROU
Examiner
Art Unit 1632
/TITILAYO MOLOYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1632