DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 12, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9, 10, 12-22, 24, 25, and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0267663 (hereinafter “Xu”).
Xu discloses, teaches, or suggests:
regarding claims 1 and 16, an apparatus and a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (see at least Fig. 32b and Fig. 34, UE/wireless device), the apparatus and the method comprising:
a memory (see at least Fig. 3 and paragraph 238, memory 315); and
one or more processors (see at least Fig. 3 and paragraphs 238-239, processor 314 coupled to the memory 315), coupled to the memory, configured to:
receive, from one of a first transmit-receive point (TRP) or a second TRP, an uplink power control configuration that configures a first set of uplink power control parameters associated with the first TRP and a second set of uplink power control parameters associated with the second TRP (see at least Fig. 34 and paragraphs 440-449, the wireless device receives one or more RRC messages comprising power control configuration parameters of a PUSCH on a cell, where the wireless device supports independent power control procedure for different panel links and the wireless device transmits uplink data blocks on different panels with different power);
transmit, to the first TRP, a first uplink transmission based at least in part on the first set of uplink power control parameters associated with the first TRP (see at least Fig. 32B and paragraphs 440-449, the wireless device supports independent power control procedure for different panel links and the wireless device transmits uplink data blocks on different panels with different power, where the wireless device transmits an uplink data block on panel 0 with a first uplink transmission power); and
transmit, to the second TRP, a second uplink transmission based at least in part on the second set of uplink power control parameters associated with the second TRP (see at least Fig. 32B and paragraphs 440-449, the wireless device supports independent power control procedure for different panel links and the wireless device transmits uplink data blocks on different panels with different power, where the wireless device transmits an uplink data block on panel 1 with a second uplink transmission power, which is different from the first uplink transmission power);
regarding claims 2 and 17, the first uplink transmission overlaps in time with the second uplink transmission (see at least paragraph 440, uplink beams from different panels of the wireless device may be used for uplink transmissions simultaneously);
regarding claims 3 and 18, an uplink power control associated with the first uplink transmission and an uplink power control associated with the second uplink transmission are on a per-TRP basis (see at least Fig. 32B and paragraphs 440-449, the wireless device supports independent power control procedure for different panel links and the wireless device transmits uplink data blocks on different panels with different power, where the wireless device transmits an uplink data block on panel 0 to TRP 0 with a first uplink transmission power and transmits an uplink data block on panel 1 to TRP 1 with a second uplink transmission power, which is different from the first uplink transmission power);
regarding claims 4 and 19, the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission are associated with different antenna panels (see at least Fig. 32B and paragraphs 440-449, the wireless device supports independent power control procedure for different panel links and the wireless device transmits uplink data blocks on different panels with different power, where the wireless device transmits an uplink data block on panel 0 to TRP 0 with a first uplink transmission power and transmits an uplink data block on panel 1 to TRP 1 with a second uplink transmission power, which is different from the first uplink transmission power);
regarding claims 5 and 20, the first set of uplink power control parameters are associated with a first value that indicates the first TRP (see at least paragraph 441, each power control parameter group (PCPG) comprises power control identification, pathloss reference signal identification, alpha set identification, and/or closed loop power control index, where the wireless device transmits an uplink data block on panel 0 to TRP 0 with a first uplink transmission power and transmits an uplink data block on panel 1 to TRP 1 with a second uplink transmission power, which is different from the first uplink transmission power); and
the second set of uplink power control parameters are associated with a second value that indicates the second TRP (see at least paragraph 441, each power control parameter group (PCPG) comprises power control identification, pathloss reference signal identification, alpha set identification, and/or closed loop power control index, where the wireless device transmits an uplink data block on panel 0 to TRP 0 with a first uplink transmission power and transmits an uplink data block on panel 1 to TRP 1 with a second uplink transmission power, which is different from the first uplink transmission power);
regarding claims 6 and 21, the first value or the second value is one of: a TRP identifier (ID), a transmission configuration indicator state group ID, a transmit power control ID, a power amplifier ID, a pathloss reference signal ID, a closed-loop index, a control resource set pool index, a sounding reference signal resource set ID, a demodulation reference signal port group ID, a resource block allocation set ID, or a physical cell ID (see at least paragraph 441, each power control parameter group (PCPG) comprises power control identification, pathloss reference signal identification, alpha set identification, and/or closed loop power control index);
regarding claims 7 and 22, the first set of uplink power control parameters includes a configured maximum uplink transmit power, and the second set of uplink power control parameters includes a second UE configured maximum uplink transmit power (see Fig. 33A and paragraph 441, multiple power control parameter (PCP) sets include a configured maximum uplink transmit power);
regarding claims 9 and 24, an uplink power control is associated with both the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission (see at least Fig. 32B and paragraphs 440-449, the wireless device supports independent power control procedure for different panel links and the wireless device transmits uplink data blocks on different panels with different power, where the wireless device transmits an uplink data block on panel 0 with a first uplink transmission power and an uplink data block on panel 1 with a second uplink transmission power, which is different from the first uplink transmission power); and
regarding claims 10 and 25, the uplink power control is based at least in part on a sum of the first set of uplink power control parameters and the second set of uplink power control parameters, or wherein the uplink power control is based at least in part on a cell-level configured maximum uplink transmit power (see at least Fig. 32B and paragraphs 440-449, the wireless device supports independent power control procedure for different panel links and the wireless device transmits uplink data blocks on panel 0 and panel 1 with different power, where the wireless device transmits an uplink data block on panel 0 with a first uplink transmission power and an uplink data block on panel 1 with a second uplink transmission power, which is different from the first uplink transmission power).
Xu discloses, teaches, or suggests:
regarding claims 12 and 27, an apparatus and a method of wireless communication at a first transmit-receive point (TRP) (see at least Fig. 32b, TRP0 or TRP1), the apparatus and the method comprising:
a memory (see at least Fig. 3 and paragraph 225, memory 322); and
one or more processors (see at least Fig. 3 and paragraphs 225, processor 321A/321B coupled to the memory 322), coupled to the memory, configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), an uplink power control configuration that configures a first set of uplink power control parameters associated with the first TRP and a second set of uplink power control parameters associated with a second TRP (see at least Figs. 33A-33C and Fig. 34, and paragraphs 440-449, a base station configures multiple PCP sets for a wireless device via an RRC message, where the base station selects one PCP set for each active panel of the wireless device); and
receive, from the UE, a first uplink transmission based at least in part on the first set of uplink power control parameters associated with the first TRP (see at least paragraphs 440-449, the wireless device transmits an uplink transport block via PUSCH with the uplink transmission power for the panel, where the uplink transport block is received at the base station);
regarding claims 13 and 28, the first uplink transmission overlaps in time with a second uplink transmission (see at least paragraph 440, uplink beams from different panels of the wireless device may be used for uplink transmissions simultaneously), and wherein the second uplink transmission is based at least in part on the second set of uplink power control parameters associated with the second TRP see at least Fig. 32B and paragraphs 440-449, the wireless device transmits an uplink data block on panel 0 to TRP 0 with a first uplink transmission power and transmits an uplink data block on panel 1 to TRP 1 with a second uplink transmission power, which is different from the first uplink transmission power);
regarding claims 14 and 29, the first set of uplink power control parameters are associated with a first value that indicates the first TRP (see at least paragraph 441, each power control parameter group (PCPG) comprises power control identification, pathloss reference signal identification, alpha set identification, and/or closed loop power control index, where the wireless device transmits an uplink data block on panel 0 to TRP 0 with a first uplink transmission power and transmits an uplink data block on panel 1 to TRP 1 with a second uplink transmission power, which is different from the first uplink transmission power); and
the second set of uplink power control parameters are associated with a second value that indicates the second TRP (see at least paragraph 441, each power control parameter group (PCPG) comprises power control identification, pathloss reference signal identification, alpha set identification, and/or closed loop power control index, where the wireless device transmits an uplink data block on panel 0 to TRP 0 with a first uplink transmission power and transmits an uplink data block on panel 1 to TRP 1 with a second uplink transmission power, which is different from the first uplink transmission power); and
regarding claims 15 and 30, the first value or the second value is one of: a TRP identifier (ID), a transmission configuration indicator state group ID, a transmit power control ID, a power amplifier ID, a pathloss reference signal ID, a closed-loop index, a control resource set pool index, a sounding reference signal resource set ID, a demodulation reference signal port group ID, a resource block allocation set ID, or a physical cell ID (see at least paragraph 441, each power control parameter group (PCPG) comprises power control identification, pathloss reference signal identification, alpha set identification, and/or closed loop power control index).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2025/0240134 (hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claims 8 and 23, Xu discloses all of the subject matter of the invention of claims 1 and 23 above but does not explicitly disclose that the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission are associated with a same antenna panel.
However, in an analogous art, Park discloses, teaches, or suggests that the first uplink transmission and the second uplink transmission are associated with a same antenna panel (see at least paragraph 132, an UL TCI is provided for simultaneous UL transmission to multiple TRPs, where the TCI states are associated to the same panel and the WTRU determines to adjust its spatial filters in a time division multiplexing (TDM) pattern).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to replace the uplink transmission using a plurality of antenna panels, as taught by Xu, with the uplink transmission using the same antenna panel of Park because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution and the results were reasonably predictable.
Claims 11 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0262608 (hereinafter “Gao”).
Regarding claims 11 and 26, Xu discloses, teaches, or suggests all of the subject matter of the invention of claims 1 and 16, respectively, but Xu does not explicitly disclose that the first set of uplink power control parameters and the second set of uplink power control parameters are each associated with a value that corresponds to a TRP identifier, wherein the value is mapped to an uplink transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state or a joint TCI state.
However, in an analogous art, Gao discloses, teaches, or suggests that the first set of uplink power control parameters and the second set of uplink power control parameters are each associated with a value that corresponds to a TRP identifier, wherein the value is mapped to an uplink transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state or a joint TCI state (see at least Fig. 20, paragraphs 135, and 159, two TPC commands for each of two PUSCH transmissions towards two TRPs, where the two PUSCH transmissions are indicated and each associated with one TRP, where each TRP is implicitly indicated to a UE through spatial relations or TCI states for UL transmission).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the uplink power control technique as taught by Gao in to the invention of Xu in order to enable separate power control of each of the multiple TRPs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0048026 (Huang et al.) – uplink transmission using multiple panels towards multiple TRPs.
U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0215019 (Gao et al.) – Open loop power control for multi-TRP transmission.
U.S. Pub. No. 2024/0244595 (Wang et al.) – simultaneous uplink transmission from a UE using multiple antenna panels targeting multiple TRPs.
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409 07/06/2026