Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 19-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2021/0320821)(hereinafter Lee) in view of D1: Huawei et al: Feature lead summary of Support for transmission in preconfigured UL resources”. 3GPP DRAFT; R1-1907573, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE ; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES ; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX ; FRANCE, vol. RAN WG1, no. Reno, USA; 20190513 - 20190517 16 May 2019 (2019-05-16), XP051739877.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a monitoring method, performed by a terminal device and comprising: not expecting to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a target type common search space (CSS) set or not expecting to monitor a PDCCH in a Type1-PDCCH CSS set, in response to a quasi-co-location type D (QCL-TypeD) property of a first demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) being different from a QCL-TypeD property of a second DM-RS and in response to the PDCCH in the Type1-PDCCH CSS set or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) associated with the PDCCH in the Type1-PDCCH CSS set overlapping in at least one symbol with the PDCCH in the target type CSS set or with a PDSCH associated with the PDCCH in the target type CSS set, the first DM-RS being used for monitoring the PDCCH in the Type1-PDCCH CSS set, the second DM-RS being used for monitoring the PDCCH in the target type CSS set (see Lee, p. [0274], e.g., If a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type1-PDCCH CSS set does not have the same QCL-TypeD characteristics as a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set for a single cell operation or a carrier aggregation operation in the same frequency band, a UE may not expect that it will monitor a PDCCH in the Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set. If a PDCCH or a related PDSCH overlaps a PDCCH in at least one symbol, a UE may monitor a PDCCH in a Type1-PDCCH CSS set or as a related PDSCH).
However, Lee does not expressly disclose the target type being Type0B-PDCCH, and/or Type2A-PDCCH, and/or Type1A-PDCCH.
D1 discloses the above recited limitations (see D1, page. 14, above Potential agreement#3), when Type1 CSS collides with Type1/ or Type2A CSS, the UE is defined to prioritize Type1 CSS, implying that it may skip monitoring the other CSS sets in cases of overlap, i.e. similar behavior as in D1 is extended to these additional CSS types).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate D1’s teachings into Lee. The suggestion/motivation would have been to prioritize a target type CSS set in order to skip monitoring the other CSS sets in cases of overlap as suggested by D1.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teaching of Lee and D1 disclose the monitoring method of claim 1, further comprising: monitoring the PDCCH in the Type1-PDCCH CSS set, in response to not expecting to monitor the PDCCH in the target type CSS set (see Lee, p. [0274], e.g., If a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type1-PDCCH CSS set does not have the same QCL-TypeD characteristics as a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set for a single cell operation or a carrier aggregation operation in the same frequency band, a UE may not expect that it will monitor a PDCCH in the Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teaching of Lee and D1 disclose the monitoring method of claim 1, further comprising: monitoring the PDCCH in the target type CSS set, in response to not expecting to monitor the PDCCH in the Type1-PDCCH CSS set (see Lee, p. [0274], e.g., If a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type1-PDCCH CSS set does not have the same QCL-TypeD characteristics as a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set for a single cell operation or a carrier aggregation operation in the same frequency band, a UE may not expect that it will monitor a PDCCH in the Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teaching of Lee and D1 disclose the monitoring method of claim 1, wherein not expecting to monitor the PDCCH in the target type CSS set comprises: for a single cell operation or an operation with carrier aggregation in a same frequency band, not expecting to monitor the PDCCH in the target type CSS set (see Lee, p. [0274], e.g., If a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type1-PDCCH CSS set does not have the same QCL-TypeD characteristics as a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set for a single cell operation or a carrier aggregation operation in the same frequency band, a UE may not expect that it will monitor a PDCCH in the Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set).
5-18. (Canceled)
Regarding claim 19, the combined teaching of Lee and D1 disclose a terminal device, comprising: a processor; and a memory, being in communication connection with the processor and storing computer programs which, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to: not expect to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a target type common search space (CSS) set or not expect to monitor a PDCCH in a Type1-PDCCH CSS set, in response to a quasi-co-location type D (QCL-TypeD) property of a first demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) being different from a QCL-TypeD property of a second DM-RS and in response to the PDCCH in the Type1-PDCCH CSS set or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) associated with the PDCCH in the Type1-PDCCH CSS set overlapping in at least one symbol with the PDCCH in the target type CSS set or with a PDSCH associated with the PDCCH in the target type CSS set, the first DM-RS being used for monitoring the PDCCH in the Type1-PDCCH CSS set, the second DM-RS being used for monitoring the PDCCH in the target type CSS set (see Lee, p. [0274], e.g., If a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type1-PDCCH CSS set does not have the same QCL-TypeD characteristics as a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set for a single cell operation or a carrier aggregation operation in the same frequency band, a UE may not expect that it will monitor a PDCCH in the Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set. If a PDCCH or a related PDSCH overlaps a PDCCH in at least one symbol, a UE may monitor a PDCCH in a Type1-PDCCH CSS set or as a related PDSCH).
However, Lee does not expressly disclose the target type being Type0B-PDCCH, and/or Type2A-PDCCH, and/or Type1A-PDCCH.
D1 discloses the above recited limitations (see D1, page. 14, above Potential agreement#3), when Type1 CSS collides with Type1/ or Type2A CSS, the UE is defined to prioritize Type1 CSS, implying that it may skip monitoring the other CSS sets in cases of overlap, i.e. similar behavior as in D1 is extended to these additional CSS types).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate D1’s teachings into Lee. The suggestion/motivation would have been to prioritize a target type CSS set in order to skip monitoring the other CSS sets in cases of overlap as suggested by D1.
Regarding claim 20, the combined teaching of Lee and D1 disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer programs which, when executed by a communication device, cause the communication device to carry out actions, comprising: not expecting to monitor a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) in a target type common search space (CSS) set or not expecting to monitor a PDCCH in a Type1-PDCCH CSS set, in response to a quasi-co-location type D (QCL-TypeD) property of a first demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) being different from a QCL-TypeD property of a second DM-RS and in response to the PDCCH in the Type1-PDCCH CSS set or a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) associated with the PDCCH in the Type1-PDCCH CSS set overlapping in at least one symbol with the PDCCH in the target type CSS set or with a PDSCH associated with the PDCCH in the target type CSS set, the first DM-RS being used for monitoring the PDCCH in the Type1-PDCCH CSS set, the second DM-RS being used for monitoring the PDCCH in the target type CSS set (see Lee, p. [0274], e.g., If a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type1-PDCCH CSS set does not have the same QCL-TypeD characteristics as a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set for a single cell operation or a carrier aggregation operation in the same frequency band, a UE may not expect that it will monitor a PDCCH in the Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set. If a PDCCH or a related PDSCH overlaps a PDCCH in at least one symbol, a UE may monitor a PDCCH in a Type1-PDCCH CSS set or as a related PDSCH).
However, Lee does not expressly disclose the target type being Type0B-PDCCH, and/or Type2A-PDCCH, and/or Type1A-PDCCH.
D1 discloses the above recited limitations (see D1, page. 14, above Potential agreement#3), when Type1 CSS collides with Type1/ or Type2A CSS, the UE is defined to prioritize Type1 CSS, implying that it may skip monitoring the other CSS sets in cases of overlap, i.e. similar behavior as in D1 is extended to these additional CSS types).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate D1’s teachings into Lee. The suggestion/motivation would have been to prioritize a target type CSS set in order to skip monitoring the other CSS sets in cases of overlap as suggested by D1.
Regarding claim 21, the combined teaching of Lee and D1 disclose the monitoring method of claim 1, wherein not expecting to monitor the PDCCH in the Type1l-PDCCH CSS set comprises: for a single cell operation or an operation with carrier aggregation in a same frequency band, not expecting to monitor the PDCCH in the Type1-PDCCH CSS set (see Lee, p. [0274], e.g., If a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type1-PDCCH CSS set does not have the same QCL-TypeD characteristics as a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set for a single cell operation or a carrier aggregation operation in the same frequency band, a UE may not expect that it will monitor a PDCCH in the Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set).
Regarding claim 22, the combined teaching of Lee and D1 disclose the terminal device of claim 19, wherein the processor is further configured to: monitor the PDCCH in the Type1-PDCCH CSS set, in response to not expecting to monitor the PDCCH in the target type CSS set (see Lee, p. [0274], e.g., If a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type1-PDCCH CSS set does not have the same QCL-TypeD characteristics as a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set for a single cell operation or a carrier aggregation operation in the same frequency band, a UE may not expect that it will monitor a PDCCH in the Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set).
Regarding claim 23, the combined teaching of Lee and D1 disclose the terminal device of claim 19, wherein the processor is further configured to: monitor the PDCCH in the target type CSS set, in response to not expecting to monitor the PDCCH in the Type1-PDCCH CSS set (see Lee, p. [0274], e.g., If a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type1-PDCCH CSS set does not have the same QCL-TypeD characteristics as a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set for a single cell operation or a carrier aggregation operation in the same frequency band, a UE may not expect that it will monitor a PDCCH in the Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set).
Regarding claim 24, the combined teaching of Lee and D1 disclose the terminal device of claim 19, wherein the processor configured to not expect to monitor the PDCCH in the target type CSS set is configured to: for a single cell operation or an operation with carrier aggregation in a same frequency band, not expect to monitor the PDCCH in the target type CSS set (see Lee, p. [0274], e.g., If a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type1-PDCCH CSS set does not have the same QCL-TypeD characteristics as a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set for a single cell operation or a carrier aggregation operation in the same frequency band, a UE may not expect that it will monitor a PDCCH in the Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set).
Regarding claim 25, the combined teaching of Lee and D1 disclose the terminal device of claim 19, wherein the processor configured to not expect to monitor the PDCCH in the Type1-PDCCH CSS set is configured to: for a single cell operation or an operation with carrier aggregation in a same frequency band, not expect to monitor the PDCCH in the Type1-PDCCH CSS set (see Lee, p. [0274], e.g., If a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type1-PDCCH CSS set does not have the same QCL-TypeD characteristics as a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set for a single cell operation or a carrier aggregation operation in the same frequency band, a UE may not expect that it will monitor a PDCCH in the Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set).
Regarding claim 26, the combined teaching of Lee and D1 disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 20, wherein the computer programs are further executed by the communication device to carry out actions, comprising: monitoring the PDCCH in the Type1-PDCCH CSS set, in response to not expecting to monitor the PDCCH in the target type CSS set (see Lee, p. [0274], e.g., If a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type1-PDCCH CSS set does not have the same QCL-TypeD characteristics as a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set for a single cell operation or a carrier aggregation operation in the same frequency band, a UE may not expect that it will monitor a PDCCH in the Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set).
Regarding claim 27, the combined teaching of Lee and D1 disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 20, wherein the computer programs are further executed by the communication device to carry out actions, comprising: monitoring the PDCCH in the target type CSS set, in response to not expecting to monitor the PDCCH in the Type1-PDCCH CSS set (see Lee, p. [0274], e.g., If a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type1-PDCCH CSS set does not have the same QCL-TypeD characteristics as a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set for a single cell operation or a carrier aggregation operation in the same frequency band, a UE may not expect that it will monitor a PDCCH in the Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set).
Regarding claim 28, the combined teaching of Lee and D1 disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 20, wherein the computer programs executed by the communication device to carry out actions of not expecting to monitor the PDCCH in the target type CSS set are executed by the communication device to carry out actions, comprising: for a single cell operation or an operation with carrier aggregation in a same frequency band, not expecting to monitor the PDCCH in the target type CSS set (see Lee, p. [0274], e.g., If a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type1-PDCCH CSS set does not have the same QCL-TypeD characteristics as a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set for a single cell operation or a carrier aggregation operation in the same frequency band, a UE may not expect that it will monitor a PDCCH in the Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set).
Regarding claim 29, the combined teaching of Lee and D1 disclose the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 20, wherein the computer programs executed by the communication device to carry out actions of not expecting to monitor the PDCCH in the Type1-PDCCH CSS set are executed by the communication device to carry out actions, comprising: for a single cell operation or an operation with carrier aggregation in a same frequency band, not expecting to monitor the PDCCH in the Type1-PDCCH CSS set (see Lee, p. [0274], e.g., If a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type1-PDCCH CSS set does not have the same QCL-TypeD characteristics as a DM-RS for monitoring a PDCCH in a Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set for a single cell operation or a carrier aggregation operation in the same frequency band, a UE may not expect that it will monitor a PDCCH in the Type0/0A/2/3-PDCCH CSS set or USS set).
Conclusion
/MINH TRANG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477