DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the clamp comprising the capture head, and the mixture of embodiments using different types of “clamping elemements” (claim 2) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "it" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Further, presuming the applicant meant “it” to refer to the clamping element, it’s not clear as to how the “clamping element” includes a capture head (disclosed as 4) provided with the clamping elements. The applicant’s disclosed invention relates to the use of a gripper (2) and opposed to that gripper is the disclosed capture head. The gripper is the only disclosed “clamp” which requires two or more parts that are brought together to hold an object. In all of the applicant’s embodiments, the “capture head” does not performing the necessary function required to be a “clamp”. In the applicant’s originally filed claims the parentheses show 2 as being the claimed clamp – however even with this interpretation, the claimed clamp doesn’t “comprise a capture head” as required by the claim as these are separate parts which work together to separate and grip the sheet as well as the disclosed embodiments of capture heads do not clamp the sheet. By and large, the applicant’s shown and disclosed invention doesn’t represent what is required by the claims. The applicant’s can be their own lexicographer – however the applicant’s, if using terms not given their normal meaning, MUST define the terms being used.
Regarding claim 3, the use of the phrase “and/or” is not supported by the applicant’s disclosed embodiments. While the applicant’s have written disclosure for mixing and matching alternatives; the applicant’s disclosed embodiments only disclose the use of each of the groupings independently of one another. Therefore the applicant’s use of “and/or” is not supported by the disclosed embodiments.
Regarding claim 6, the applicant’s use of the phrase “or other detection sensor” is not clear since the metes and bounds of the claim are undefined. It is noted that the applicant’s specification recites “or similar detection sensor” however it’s not clear since the applicant provides no example of a similar sensor. Is the use of ultrasonic, or light interruption, or feeling type sensor considered to be acceptable? Where is the boundary for this limitation without provided example of similar structure to perform the recited function?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishibori (US Pat No 4,570,920).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Nishibori discloses a device for handling adjacent sheet elements, comprising a clamp (41) for gripping a sheet element, characterized in that the device comprises a capture head (1), which separate, grip and lift an edge of a sheet element (shown in figures 5-7).
Regarding claim 2, as best understood, Nishibori discloses the capture head/s is/are rotatable about a longitudinal axis (e.g. since the applicant’s claim doesn’t structurally define the longitudinal axis).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Nishibori discloses one or more air suction elements (1).
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, Nishibori discloses a feeder for gripping clamps (see column 4, lines 36-45).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Nishibori discloses the clamp elements are movable (see column 4, lines 36-45).
Regarding claim 10, as best understood, Nishibori discloses the clamping elements move in a reciprocating motion (see column 4, lines 46-52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishibori in view of Maden (WO 2008/144945).
Regarding claim 4, it is noted that Nishibori fails to disclose the use of an identification means in the clamp. However, Mader discloses a similar gripping transport system wherein the clamp device includes identification elements (e.g. T1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device of Nishibori with the teachings of Mader to achieve the predictable result of identifying the piece held clamp or monitoring the functionality thereof (noted in paragraphs 5-7 of page 5 of the applicant’s provided translation).
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses comprising a reader/writer of the identification element of the gripping clamp (see paragraphs 5-7 of page 5 of the applicant’s provided translation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cited art generally discloses features believed to be relevant to the applicant’s claimed invention
/Patrick Cicchino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619