Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 13 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/12/2024 and 08/18/2026 were filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, the term "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are required. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 6, 9 – 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vallet (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0101136 A1).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Vallet teaches an electric toothbrush (toothbrush, 1) comprising an electric motor (electric motor, 7), a roller (brush member, 3) for brushing teeth (Fig. 2), a drive shaft (transmission element, 10) running longitudinally between a first end (@46; Fig. 3) secured to said brushing roller (3) and a second end (@9; Fig. 3) connected to said electric motor (drive means, 6) to rotate said brushing roller (3) through said drive shaft (10) along a first rotation axis (Fig. 3), said brushing roller (3) running longitudinally between a proximal end (@ 46) attached to said drive shaft (10) and a free distal end (@3D), said toothbrush (1) further comprising a first casing (Annotated Fig. 1) within which runs said drive shaft (10), as well as a cover (retractor, 25), made of a first material (Paragraph [0101]), which extends longitudinally said first casing (Annotated Fig. 1) and runs along said brushing roller (3) between a rear end (Fig. 3) secured to the first casing (Annotated Fig. 1) and a free front end (Fig. 3), said cover (25) having an internal face (27) located facing said brushing roller (3) and an opposite external face (opposite of 27; Fig. 3), said drive shaft (10) comprising an extremal segment (external part of 10; Fig. 3) emerging outside said first casing (2) and which includes said first end (Fig. 3), said toothbrush (1) comprising a bearing (removable head, 40) which is secured to said first casing (Annotated Fig. 1) and receives said extremal segment (Fig. 3) to guide it, said electric toothbrush (1) being characterized in that it comprises a protective piece (margin, 32) made in a second material softer than said first material (Paragraph [0083], said protective piece (32) cladding said internal face (27; Figs. 4 and 6) and projecting from the latter to form a peripheral lip (Fig. 6) surrounding said cover (25), said protective piece (32) including a ring (41) locally surrounding said extremal segment (external part of 10; Fig. 3) to form said bearing (40).
Regarding Claim 2, Vallet teaches the electric toothbrush (toothbrush, 1) said protective piece (32) includes a front wall (spikes or bristles, 21; Fig. 6) which runs in front of said distal end (Fig. 6), so that said brushing roller (3) is interposed between said ring (41) on the one hand and said front wall (Fig. 3) on the other hand.
Regarding Claim 3, Vallet teaches the electric toothbrush (toothbrush, 1) said front wall (9A) includes a plurality of pins (21; Fig. 6) which run parallel to a plane substantially perpendicular to said first rotation axis (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Vallet teaches the electric toothbrush (toothbrush, 1) said cover (25) is integral with said first casing (2; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Vallet teaches the electric toothbrush (toothbrush, 1) said drive shaft (10) includes first and second shoulders (10, 11) disposed facing and at a distance from each other, said first casing (Annotated Fig. 4) including within it an elongated cavity (Annotated Fig. 4) delimited by a cavity wall (Annotated Fig. 4) whose cross section varies longitudinally so as to form first and second axial stops (Annotated Fig. 4) for respectively said first and second shoulders (Annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 6, Vallet teaches the electric toothbrush (toothbrush, 1) said drive shaft (10) comprises an intermediate segment (Annotated Fig. 4) which runs between said first and second shoulders (Annotated Fig. 4), at a distance from said cavity wall (Annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 9, Vallet teaches the electric toothbrush (toothbrush, 1) wherein said drive shaft (10) includes first and second distinct elements (Annotated Fig. 4) assembled together, for example by fitting, and respectively forming said first and second shoulders (Annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 10, Vallet teaches the electric toothbrush (toothbrush, 1) comprises on the one hand a main body (2) and on the other hand a brushing head (41) removably mounted on said main body (2), said main body comprising a second casing (Fig. 1) which forms a manual gripping member (Fig. 1) and within which is housed said electric motor (7) while said brushing head (41) embodies said brushing roller (3), first casing (Annotated Fig. 1), cover (25) and protective piece (32), said drive shaft (10) comprising: a receiving segment (Annotated Fig. 4) embedded by said brushing head (41) and including said first end (Annotated Fig. 4), said receiving segment ( Annotated Fig. 4) being provided with a first mechanical coupling means (Annotated Fig. 4), a motor segment (Annotated Fig. 4) embedded by said main body (2) and including said second end (Fig. 4), said motor segment (Annotated Fig. 4) being provided with a second mechanical coupling means (Annotated Fig. 4), said first and second mechanical coupling means (Annotated Fig. 4) being complementary to removably link said motor (7) and receiving (Annotated Fig. 4) segments in rotation.
Regarding Claim 11, Vallet teaches the electric toothbrush (toothbrush, 1) wherein said receiving segment (Annotated Fig. 4) includes said first and second shoulders (Annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 13, Vallet teaches the electric toothbrush (toothbrush, 1) said cover (25) and protective piece (32) form a unitary sub-assembly (Fig. 6) which, in the absence of mechanical stress exerted on it, occupies a rest position in which said unitary sub-assembly runs longitudinally in a direction of extension substantially parallel to said first rotation axis (Y-Y′) (Paragraph [0065]), said unitary sub-assembly (Fig. 6) being designed: to flex elastically relative to said first casing (Annotated Fig. 1), in response to a first flexion stress exerted on it, to reach a first position of maximum elastic flexion in which said free front end deviates from said first rotation axis so that said direction of extension forms with said first rotation axis a first angle comprised between 3 and 10° (Paragraph [065]), preferably substantially equal to 5°, and/or to flex elastically relative to said first casing, in response to a second flexion stress exerted on it, which is in the direction opposite said first flexion stress, to reach a second position of maximum elastic flexion in which said free front end is gets closer to said first rotation axis (Y-Y′) so that said direction of extension forms with said first rotation axis (Y-Y′) a second angle comprised between 1 and 4° preferably substantially equal to 2° (regarding the limitations, preferably is being examined as optional, thus not required).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 – 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vallet (U. S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0101136 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Vallet teaches the electric toothbrush (toothbrush, 1) said first axial stop (Annotated Fig. 4) is disposed substantially adjacent to said bearing, said intermediate segment (Annotated Fig. 4) including a first portion (intermediate segment can have a first portion closest to first shoulder) which is adjacent to said first shoulder (Annotated Fig. 4).
Vallet does not explicitly teach a first portion has a conical shape with a cross section decreasing from the first shoulder towards the second shoulder between a maximum cross section and a minimum cross section; however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Vallet to further include a first portion has a conical shape with a cross section decreasing from the first shoulder towards the second shoulder between a maximum cross section and a minimum cross section, as claimed, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 8, Vallet teaches the electric toothbrush (toothbrush, 1) wherein said intermediate segment (Annotated Fig. 4) includes a second portion (intermediate segment can have a second portion closest to second shoulder) which is substantially adjacent to said first portion (Fig. 4) and has a substantially cylindrical shape whose cross section is less than or equal to said minimum cross section (Intermediate section as identified in Annotated Fig. 4 can have a first portion closest to first axial stop and a second portion closest to second axial stop, wherein the cross section is equal to a minimum cross section as shown in the Figure).
Regarding Claim 12, Vallet teaches the electric toothbrush (toothbrush, 1) of claim 1 as discussed above.
Vallet further teaches wherein said drive shaft (10) comprises a first segment and a second segment (Intermediate section as identified in Annotated Fig. 4 can have a first portion closest to first axial stop and a second portion closest to second axial stop, wherein the cross section is equal to a minimum cross section as shown in the Figure).
Vallet does not explicitly teach a universal joint to connect said first and second segments.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the toothbrush of Vallet to further include a universal joint to connect said first and second segments, as claimed, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Conclusion
Art made of record, however, not relied upon for the current rejection is as follows: U.S. Patent Publication 2006/021166 A1 to Hills teaches an electric toothbrush includes a brush head that has a plurality of tooth engaging elements, such as bristles and polishers optionally arranged in alternating rows on the brush head. The brush head is driven by an elongate drive shaft connected to drive means typically located in the handle or body portion of the toothbrush. The drivable toothbrush attachment and the handle or body portion are separate modular units. The brush head is operable to slowly rotate (at say, between 60 and 240 rpm), about an axis substantially corresponding to the longitudinal axis of the drive shaft.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723