DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN104581585).
Regarding claim 1. A MEMS element comprising:
Chen discloses:
a substrate comprising a back chamber([0025] and Fig. 4, 1);
a vibrating membrane(Figs.1 and 4, 20);, joined onto the substrate, wherein the vibrating membrane comprises a movable electrode(see [0025] 21) and
a backplate comprising a fixed electrode disposed so as to face the movable electrode, (Fig. 4 plate 30 40, [0025] and 40 is upper electrode) wherein the vibrating membrane has a wall(31) connecting the backplate and the vibrating membrane(31 connecting 40 and 21),
a slit(21 22 ) disposed along at least either one of a portion joined to the wall and a peripheral portion of the vibrating membrane, and a plurality of vibrating portions, (See Figs. 5 and 6, arc- shaped slits in 21 and 22, )
wherein each of the plurality of vibrating portions is present in either one of:
a region surrounded by a portion in which the wall and the vibrating membrane are joined, and(Figs. 5 and 6, portion 2)
(ii) a region between the portion in which the wall and the vibrating membrane are joined and the peripheral portion of the vibrating membrane, and(Figs. 5 and 6 portions 21/22)
wherein at least one of the plurality of vibrating portions is present in the region of (ii)(Figs. 5 and 6 have portions 21/22 in region ii).
Regarding claim 2.
Chen discloses:
The MEMS element according to claim 1, wherein the wall is disposed so as to surround a central portion of the vibrating membrane. (Figs. 5 and 6, 31 surrounds 20 and 211)
Regarding claim 4.
Chen discloses(See Fig. 2):
The MEMS element according to claim 1, wherein the wall(31 disposed in rows across the page, each row across having 1 or 2 31, and the rows overlapping) is disposed in intermittent rows; and wherein the slit is disposed along the wall(31).
Regarding claim 5. Chen discloses(See Fig. 2):
The MEMS element according to claim 2, wherein the wall(31 disposed in rows across the page, each row across having 1 or 2 31, and the rows overlapping) is disposed in intermittent rows; and wherein the slit is disposed along the wall. (31).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 6 are objected to as being dependent on a rejected base claim but would be allowed if rewritten in independent form.
The following is the Examiner's Reasons for Allowance:
the prior art fails to disclose and would not have rendered obvious:
wherein all of the plurality of vibrating portions are present in the region of (ii); and wherein the wall is disposed so as to extend in directions mutually different from a center of the vibrating membrane toward the peripheral portion of the vibrating membrane, as recited in claim 3.
Conclusion
/ROBERT G BACHNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898