DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Application
This final action on the merits is in response to the remarks and amendment received by the office on 29 June 2026. Claims 1-13 are pending. Claims 7-13 are withdrawn as non-elected. Claim 1 is amended. No Claims are added or cancelled.
Claim Objections
Claims 7-13 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims are not presented with the correct claim status identifiers. Withdrawn claims are required to present with the claim status ‘Withdrawn’. Whereas claim 7-13 are given the status identifier ‘Previously Presented’. Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0244243 to Yoshihito Kobayashi (‘243 hereafter).
Regarding claim 1, ‘243 teaches a stamp for imprint lithography, the stamp defining a desired shape for a curable resin, wherein the stamp is at least partially transparent to electromagnetic radiation used to cure the curable resin (paragraph 0033), and wherein the stamp comprises at least one diffuser structure for diffusing the electromagnetic radiation as the electromagnetic radiation propagates through the stamp, wherein the at least one diffuser structure comprises microparticles and/or nanoparticles (paragraph 0013), wherein the dimensions of the microparticles and/or nanoparticles in the stamp are greater than a wavelength of the electromagnetic radiation (insofar as this limitation is a recitation of intended use of the claimed apparatus. The prior art teaching regarding particle size would meet this limitation if the prior art stamp were employed in a soft X-ray to extreme ultraviolet light process, such as that taught by the attached teaching reference, “Broadband interference lithography at extreme ultraviolet and soft x-ray wavelengths” by Mojarad et al.).
Regarding claim 3, ‘243 teaches the stamp wherein the microparticles and/or nanoparticles comprise oxide, dioxide, silicon dioxide, titanium dioxide, zirconium dioxide, hafnium dioxide, aluminium oxide, and/or indium tin oxide (paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 5, ‘243 teaches the stamp wherein the microparticles and/or nanoparticles comprise at least one of: microspheres and/or nanospheres; microrods and/or nanorods; microcubes and/or nanocubes; core-shell particles; nanopowder particles; raspberry-like particles; and/or spike particles (paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 6, ‘243 teaches the stamp wherein the stamp comprises a polymer, polydimethylsiloxane, epoxy, silicone, and/or an inorganic-organic hybrid polymer stamp (paragraph 0034).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘243 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0168604 to Guo et al. (‘604 hereafter).
Regarding claim 2, ‘243 does not teach the claimed wight percentage.
In the related art of light transmittant polymer article formation, ‘604 teaches a structure wherein the structure comprises 0.1 - 5 weight percentage of the microparticles and/or nanoparticles (paragraph 0007) for the benefit of providing even illumination from harsh point sources of light. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of ‘243 with those of ‘604 for the benefit of forming a lithography stamp with even light transmittance across its structure.
Regarding claim 4, ‘243 does not teach the size of the nanoparticles.
In the related art of light transmittant polymer article formation, ‘604 teaches the article wherein dimensions of the microparticles and/or nanoparticles are in the range 500 nanometres - 900 micrometres (paragraph 0007 teaches a particle size of 2-20 micrometers which lies entirely within the claimed range.) for the benefit of providing even illumination from harsh point sources of light. It would have been obvious to one possessed of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of ‘243 with those of ‘604 for the benefit of forming a lithography stamp with even light transmittance across its structure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has advanced several arguments in support of the patentability of the instant claims. They are:
The ‘243 reference teaches the use of nano-scale particles to control ‘optical transmittance’ and not diffusion as claimed.
The nanoparticles of the ‘243 reference are in the resin and not the stamp as claimed.
The particle size of the nanoparticles of the ‘243 reference are not greater than a wavelength of the electromagnetic radiation as claimed.
Regarding argument (i), to what purpose a structural component is put in the prior art reference is not relevant to the rejection of an apparatus claim. The applied prior art teaches the structure claimed. However, examiner does note that optical diffusion is at least in part controlled by diffusion or scattering. This argument is not persuasive.
Regarding argument (ii), after careful review of the prior art, examiner has determined the resin claimed is the resin used to form the stamp (see paragraph 0009 of ‘243). This argument is not persuasive.
Regarding argument (iii), examiner notes that this is a recitation of intended use of a claimed apparatus and not accorded patentable weight (See MPEP 2114). Examiner further notes that the prior art teaching regarding particle size would meet this limitation if the prior art stamp were employed in a soft X-ray to extreme ultraviolet light process. This argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JPR/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743