DETAILED ACTION
This action is in reply to the communications filed on September 2, 2026. The Applicant’s Amendment and Request for Reconsideration has been received and entered.
Claims 16, 17, and 19-29 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 18 and 30 have been cancelled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments necessitated the new grounds of rejection.
The previous rejection of claim 30 under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments.
Regarding the rejection of claims 16, 17, and 19-29 under 35 USC 101, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, for the reasons set forth infra.
Additionally, the Examiner further respectfully argues that generating a picture is analogous to drawing a picture (just with a generic computer/technology) which is a concept performed by a human using a pen and paper, which is included under mental processes. The Examiner further argues that the selection and comparison of data are also concepts that may be performed in the human mind or by a human using a pen and paper and thus directed to mental processes. The Examiner notes, that as detailed below, using a convolutional neural network and a 3D scanner or a measuring arm, are recited at a high level of generality, and thus does not amount to significantly more. Regarding the picture-generation step itself, including in view of claims 19-22, which involves converting raw physical measurements into a normalized two-dimensional representation is analogous to drawing a picture (two-dimensional representation) using the physical measurements, which is a concept performed by a human using a pen and paper and included under mental processes.
Moreover, as detailed below, obtaining physical parameters with a 3D scanner or a measuring arm, and determining a similarity score using a specifically-defined convolutional (Siamese) neural network architecture, are recited at a high level of generality, and thus does not amount to significantly more. Merely reciting the use of a 3D scanner or measuring arm to obtain physical parameters and merely reciting the user of a CNN to determine a similarly score, without further specifying how these technologies are technically implemented or improved, does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or amount to significantly more. The claims do not recite any particular improvement in the operation of the 3D scanner, measuring arm, or CNN, but rather invoke these technologies at a functional level as tools for performing the abstract idea of acquiring data and performing the claimed comparison.
The Examiner respectfully notes that the application of McRO described a claimed invention which improved computer animation through the use of specific rules, and thus, directed to an improvement in computer-related technology. Conversely, Examiner respectfully argues that there being "no known method to determine frames F that are similar to a frame F using the reference number or bar code" of an eyeglasses frame, given that such reference numbers and barcodes are frequently deleted through wear or are not stored in accessible databases is not a technical problem, but rather a business problem. Accordingly, “physically measuring the reference frame, algorithmically generating a normalized picture from that physical measurement data, and applying a convolutional neural network to compare that picture against pictures of candidate model frames” is not a technical improvement, but rather technology is invoked as a tool to improve business functions.
Applicant’s remaining arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Particularly, Applicant’s arguments are directed to the instantly amended claims, and are thus moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Further, the Examiner respectfully argues that Venturini is relied upon for selecting the model eyeglasses frame having the highest similarity score, while Fonte teaches manufacturing a lens based on a selected eyeglasses frame, the selected eyeglass frame of both Venturini and Fonte being virtual. The proposed combination does not require the lens manufacturing to occur in Venturini’s virtual environment for an avatar; rather, the frame selected by Venturini is used as the basis for Fonte’s downstream lens manufacturing. Applying the manufacturing a lens based on the selected model eyeglasses frame of Fonte to the selected model eyeglasses frame of Venturini would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved method that would provide customized, made-to-order product shopping experiences. (Fonte: [0003]-[0008).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 16, 17, and 19-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Step 1. When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Step 2A – Prong One. If the claims fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claims recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon.
Step 2A – Prong Two. If the claims recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon, it must then be determined whether the claims recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. If the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, then the claims are directed to a judicial exception.
Step 2B. If the claims are directed to a judicial exception, it must be evaluated whether the claims recite additional elements that amount to an inventive concept (i.e. “significantly more”) than the recited judicial exception.
In the instant case, claims 16, 17, and 19-28 are directed to a process; claim 29 is directed to a machine.
A claim “recites” an abstract idea if there are identifiable limitations that fall within at least one of the groupings of abstract ideas enumerated in MPEP 2106. In the instant case, claim 16, and similarly claim 29, recites:
generating a picture of the reference glasses using values of a first subset of physical parameters of the reference eyeglasses frame, wherein the physical parameters are obtained, selecting at least one of the model eyeglasses frames, based on values of a second subset of the physical parameters and by comparison of the values of the second subset of the physical parameters of the reference eyeglasses frame with the values of the second subset of the physical parameters of each of the model eyeglasses frames, determining a similarity score for each of the selected model eyeglasses frames by comparing the picture of the eyeglasses frame with a picture of the selected model eyeglasses frames -- these steps set forth mental processes, particularly concepts performed in the human mind or by a human using a pen and paper, including, inter alia, the observation and evaluation of information.
Further, the limitations of the claims are not indicative of integration into a practical application. Taking the independent claim elements separately, the additional elements of performing the steps using a 3D scanner or a measuring arm, using a convolutional neural network, and a device comprising a memory and a processor -- merely implement the abstract idea on a computer environment. Additionally, taking the dependent claim elements separately, the additional elements of performing the steps with a Siamese neural network comprising two identical neural networks, each neural network comprising:- a first convolutional layer connected to - a first max-pooling layer connected to - a second convolutional layer connected to - a second max-pooling layer connected to - a third convolutional layer connected to - a third max-pooling layer connected to - a fourth convolutional layer connected to - a flatten layer connected to - a dense layer also merely implement the abstract idea on a computer environment. Considered in combination, the steps of Applicant’s method add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately.
Thus, claims 16, 17, and 19-29 are directed to an abstract idea.
Regarding the independent claims, the technical elements of performing the steps performing the steps using a 3D scanner or a measuring arm and using a device comprising a memory and a processor -- merely implement the abstract idea on a computer environment. While the claims recite a convolutional neural network being a Siamese neural network, the Siamese neural network comprising two identical neural networks, each neural network comprising:- a first convolutional layer connected to - a first max-pooling layer connected to - a second convolutional layer connected to - a second max-pooling layer connected to - a third convolutional layer connected to - a third max-pooling layer connected to - a fourth convolutional layer connected to - a flatten layer connected to - a dense layer -- these limitations are recited at a high level of generality, as this sequence is the core of many classic CNN models, and thus does not amount to significantly more. Considered in combination, the steps of Applicant’s method add nothing that is not already present when the steps are considered separately.
When considering the elements and combinations of elements, the claim(s) as a whole, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because the claims do not amount to an improvement to another technology or technical field; the claims do not amount to an improvement to the functioning of a computer itself; the claims do not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment; the claims merely amounts to the application or instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer; or the claims amounts to nothing more than requiring a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry.
The analysis above applies to all statutory categories of invention. Accordingly, claims 16, 17, and 19-29 are rejected as ineligible for patenting under 35 USC 101 based upon the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 17, 19-25, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venturini (US PGP 2023/0055013), claiming priority from Provisional Application 63236082, filed 08/23/2021, in view of Hofmeister (US PGP 2015/0277154) in view of Koch ("Siamese neural networks for one-shot image recognition." ICML deep learning workshop. Vol. 2. No. 1. 2015.)
As per claim 16, Venturini teaches Computer implemented method for determining a similarity score between a reference eyeglasses frame and a plurality of model eyeglasses frames, the method comprising
generating a picture of the reference glasses using values of a first subset of physical parameters of the reference eyeglasses frame, . . . (Venturini: Figs. 1A-1C; [0028]-[0038](Exemplary first enrollment image 102 comprises a human subject 104 wearing a first pair of eyeglasses 106. Exemplary first enrollment image 102 may be captured, e.g., by an image capture device (e.g., webcam, camera, or the like) of an electronic device at any point in time, such as when a user is enrolling in a new system, app, game, or online community that utilizes 3D avatars, or when the user desires to update their avatar for a respective system, app, game, or online community. Alternately, a previously-captured image of the user may be used, e.g., from a stored photo library. In the example of system 100, the objects of interest are eyeglasses frames, and an object detection algorithm in this example has produced a masked region 108, wherein the light-colored pixels in masked region 108 represent pixels determined by the algorithm to be part of a frame of a first pair of eyeglasses identified in the enrollment image 102. In other embodiments, of course, masked regions may be produced indicating the pixels in the captured image that are determined to be a part of whatever type of object is of interest to the given application (e.g., an object other than a pair of eyeglasses, such as a cup or mug). In this example 100, a front facing view of the pair of eyeglasses is expected, but other views of the object of interest may also be acceptable, as long as the 3D model objects it is compared against are oriented into a similar view, such that a valid similarity score may be determined for the 3D model object. Once the pixels determined to be part of a frame of the first pair of eyeglasses are identified in masked region 108, a first outline 110 may be generated for the first pair of eyeglasses. In some embodiments, it may be desirable to create a simple outline of an outer edge of the object of interest, e.g., with the outline comprising an ordered list of key points appearing on a grid. extracting a set of edge pixels from the first masked region 108 (e.g., using any desired edge detection algorithm, e.g., Sobel edge detection); placing the set of edge pixels over a grid comprising a plurality of cells; determining a center of mass of edge pixels located within each cell of the grid (wherein the density of the cells in the grid with respect to the size of the mask region representing the first pair of eyeglasses may be customized, e.g., based on how fine or coarse of an object outline is needed for a given implementation); and then determining an ordered list of key points (112), wherein the key points comprise the centers of mass of the cells of the grid containing edge pixels representing an outer edge of the frame of the first pair of eyeglasses. In some embodiments, determining an outer edge of the object of interest (i.e., as opposed to an inner edge) may be an important consideration, e.g., such that only the silhouette of the object of interest is matched against the silhouettes of objects in the 3D model object library, while inner edges (e.g., the inner edges 114 identified around the lenses of the eyeglass frames in masked region 108) may be ignored.)
selecting at least one of the model eyeglasses frames, based on values of a second subset of the physical parameters and by comparison of the values of the second subset of the physical parameters of the reference eyeglasses frame with the values of the second subset of the physical parameters of each of the model eyeglasses frames, (Venturini: Figs. 1A-1C; [0030]-[0031] (As will be discussed below, creating an ordered list of key points for the outlines of the two aligned shapes (i.e., an outline of the detected object of interest in the image and an outline of a candidate matching 3D model of the object of interest from an object library), wherein, e.g., the outlines may be in the form of Catmull-Rom splines, other types of curves, connected line segments, or the like, may allow for an easier computation of the amount of area between the two outlines, with a smaller area between two outlines indicating a more precise matching in outline shape between two objects. For example, in this case, the 2D representation of the object of interest in the enrollment image will be compared to a specified view of a respective 3D model of a variant of the object of interest in a 3D model object library.); [0039]-[0042] (Next, a second outline 126 may be created for the first model view 124, e.g., following an outline generation process similar to that described above with regard to the generation of the first outline 110 for the masked region 108. In particular, for each 3D model of pairs of eyeglasses in the first set, a second outline may be generated for the respective 3D mode by: extracting a set of edge pixels from the respective 3D model, as oriented in a specified view; placing the set of edge pixels over a grid comprising a plurality of cells; determining a center of mass of edge pixels located within each cell of the grid; and then determining an ordered list of key points, wherein the key points comprise the centers of mass of cells of the grid containing edge pixels representing an outer edge of the frame of the respective 3D model of pair of eyeglasses. Once a first outline has been determined for the first pair of eyeglasses and second outline has been determined for each 3D model of pair of eyeglasses in the first set, at block 128, each respective second outline may be aligned with the first outline so that they may be compared to one another and a similarity score may be determined for the respective 3D model from the first set.); Fig. 2
determining a similarity score for each of the selected model eyeglasses frames, . . . ., by comparing the picture of the eyeglasses frame with a picture of the selected model eyeglasses frames (F). (Venturini: Figs. 1A-1C; [0041]-[0042] (Once a first outline has been determined for the first pair of eyeglasses and second outline has been determined for each 3D model of pair of eyeglasses in the first set, at block 128, each respective second outline may be aligned with the first outline so that they may be compared to one another and a similarity score may be determined for the respective 3D model from the first set. In some cases, aligning the first outline and a respective second outline may comprise: aligning the key points comprising the first outline and the second outline for the respective 3D model of pairs of eyeglasses in the first set. The alignment operation may involve translating, rotating, and/or scaling the first outline, as necessary, so that a valid comparison to a respective second outline may be made. In still other cases, an Iterative Closest Point (ICP)-style algorithm may be employed to quickly align the two outline shapes. Next, as shown at block 130, the aligned first and second outlines may be compared to one another and a similarity score may be determined at block 132.); Fig. 2;
Venturini does not explicitly disclose the following known technique which is taught by Hofmeister:
. . . wherein the physical parameters are obtained using a 3D scanner or measuring arm, . . . (Hofmeister: [0012] (The 3D laser tracer systems and processes are highly accurate and perform tracing of the frame without any contact. The systems and processes are capable of measuring frames with lenses or frames without lenses and of measuring just a single lens or lens template.); [0131] (The term “scanning” or “tracing” and the like as used herein, are defined as a 3D laser scan of eyeglass frames or lenses or lens templates or bevel or groove.); [0136]-[0137] (FIGS. 28 to 31 also illustrate a 3D laser tracer product 280 measuring an eyewear frame.); [0145]-[0153] (The inventive 3D laser eyewear tracer is capable of measuring frame wrap angle, lens base curve, and different types of eyeglass frames. . .))
This known technique is applicable to the method of Venturini as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to generating a representation of eyewear.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have recognized that applying the known technique of Hofmeister would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved method. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Hofmeister to the teachings of Venturini would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such 3D scanner or measuring arm features into similar methods. Further, applying the physical parameters being obtained using a 3D scanner or measuring arm to the teachings of Venturini would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved method that provides digital data to produce edged lenses for eyewear providers/stores to mount in frames. (Hofmeister: [0004]-[0009]).
Venturini/Hofmeister do not explicitly disclose the following known technique which is taught by Koch:
. . . using a convolutional neural network . . . (Koch: Page 2 (employ large siamese convolutional neural networks which a) are capable of learning generic image features)
This known technique is applicable to the method of Venturini as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to image processing.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have recognized that applying the known technique of Koch would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved method. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Koch to the teachings of Venturini/Hofmeister would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such CNN features into similar methods. Further, applying the using a convolutional neural network to the teachings of Venturini/Hofmeister would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved method that would achieve strong results which exceed those of other deep learning models with near state-of-the-art performance on one-shot classification tasks. (Koch: Page 1).
As per claim 17, Venturini/Hofmeister/Koch teach the physical parameters comprising:
at least one point of a border of a right rim of the eyeglasses frame, (Venturini: Figs. 1A-1C; [0028]-[0038])
at least one point of a border of a left rim of the eyeglasses frame, and (Venturini: Figs. 1A-1C; [0028]-[0038])
a distance separating a centre of the right rim and a centre of the left rim R2). (Venturini: Figs. 1A-1C; [0028]-[0038])
As per claim 19, Venturini/Hofmeister/Koch teach the step of generating the picture comprising:
generating a first closed line representing the right rim using the at least one point of a border of the right rim, (Venturini: Figs. 1A-1C; [0028]-[0038])
generating a second closed line representing the left rim using the at least one point of a border of the left rim, (Venturini: Figs. 1A-1C; [0028]-[0038])
a longitudinal axis of the first closed line being identical to a longitudinal axis of the second closed line, (Venturini: Figs. 1A-1C; [0028]-[0038] (disclosing edge pixels over grid as longitudinal axis)
a centre of the first closed line being at a distance of a centre of the second closed line equal to the distance separating the centre of the right rim and the centre of the left rim,
the step of generating the picture also comprising a step of generating a straight-line segment between a first point of the first closed line and a second point of the second closed line, the first point and the second point being the closest points. (Venturini: Figs. 1A-1C; [0028]-[0038])
As per claim 20, Venturini/Hofmeister/Koch teach the step of generating the picture also comprising,
colouring the first closed line based on a distance between at least one point of the first closed line and a front part of the reference eyeglasses frame and/or (Venturini: [0024]; Figs. 1A-1C; [0028]-[0038]; Fig. 2; [0042]-[0043])
colouring the second closed line based on a distance between at least one point of the second closed line and the front part. (Venturini: [0024]; Figs. 1A-1C; [0028]-[0038]; Fig. 2; [0042]-[0043])
As per claim 21, Venturini/Hofmeister/Koch teach the step of colouring the first closed line comprising:
determining the distance between the at least one point of the first closed line and the front part, (Venturini: Figs. 1A-1C; [0028]-[0038])
selecting a colour of a colour set, each colour of the colour set being associated with a distance, (Venturini: [0024]; Figs. 1A-1C; [0028]-[0038]; Fig. 2; [0042]-[0043])
applying the colour in a part of the first closed line in the vicinity of the at least one point of the first closed line and/or the step of colouring the second closed line comprising: (Venturini: [0024]; Figs. 1A-1C; [0028]-[0038]; Fig. 2; [0042]-[0043])
determining the distance between the at least one point of the second closed line and the front part, (Venturini: Figs. 1A-1C; [0028]-[0038])
selecting a colour of the colour set, (Venturini: [0024]; Figs. 1A-1C; [0028]-[0038]; Fig. 2; [0042]-[0043])
applying the colour in a part of the second closed line in the vicinity of the at least one point of the second closed line. (Venturini: [0024]; Figs. 1A-1C; [0028]-[0038]; Fig. 2; [0042]-[0043])
As per claim 22, Venturini/Hofmeister/Koch teach the colour set comprising shades of grey. (Venturini: [0024]; Fig. 2)
As per claim 23, Venturini/Hofmeister/Koch teach the method also comprising, when a length of the picture is bigger than a first threshold or when a width of the picture is bigger than a second threshold, a step of reducing the size of the picture. (Venturini: Figs. 1A-1C; [0031]-[0038]) [0039]; [0054])
As per claim 24, Venturini/Hofmeister/Koch teach the convolutional neural network being a Siamese neural network. (Koch: Page 2)
As per claim 25, Venturini/Hofmeister/Koch teach, the Siamese neural network comprising two identical neural networks and a cost module, each neural network comprising:
a first convolutional layer connected to
a first max-pooling layer connected to
a second convolutional layer connected to
a second max-pooling layer connected to
a third convolutional layer connected to
a third max-pooling layer connected to
a fourth convolutional layer connected to
a flatten layer connected to a dense layer. (Koch: Pages 2 and 3).
As per claim 28, Venturini/Hofmeister/Koch teach also comprising:
displaying the selected model eyeglasses frames. (Venturini: [0048]; Fig. 2; [0041]-[0042])
As per claim 29, this claim recite limitations substantially similar to claim 16 and is therefore rejected in the same manner as this claim, as set forth above.
Claims 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Venturini/Hofmeister/Koch in view of Fonte (US PGP 2015/0154678).
As per claim 26, Venturini/Hofmeister/Koch teach also comprising:
selecting among the selected model eyeglasses frames, the one having the highest similarity score, (Venturini: [0048]; [0041]-[0042])
manufacturing a lens based on the selected model eyeglasses frame. (Fonte: [0107]-[0108] (As illustrated at 18, the computer system provides instructions to a manufacturing system, which produces the one-up custom product.)
This known technique is applicable to the method of Venturini/Hofmeister/Koch as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to generating eyewear.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have recognized that applying the known technique of Fonte would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved method. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of Fonte to the teachings of Venturini/Hofmeister/Koch would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such manufacturing features into similar methods. Further, applying the manufacturing a lens based on the selected model eyeglasses frame to the teachings of Venturini/Hofmeister/Koch would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved method that would provide shopping experiences that enables a unique made-to-order product and an easier and more custom experience to creating and purchasing the perfect product for the individual, in this case a pair of glasses. (Fonte: [0003]-[0008).
As per claim 27, Venturini/Hofmeister/Koch/Fonte teach manufacturing the lens comprising:
acquiring physical data of the selected model eyeglasses frame and (Venturini: Figs. 1A-1C; [0028]-[0038])
determining manufacturing data for fitting a lens into said selected model eyeglasses frame. (Fonte: [0099] (The output of the computer system 14 is therefore provided to preview system 15 in which the computer system creates previews of custom products and the user. Then, as illustrated at 17, the computer system prepares product models and information for manufacturing the selected one-up, fully-custom product.); [0107] (As illustrated at 17, the computer system prepares the custom product approved by the user for manufacturing. Preparation may involve converting the custom product model and user preferences to a set of specifications, instructions, data-structures, computer-numerical-control instructions, 2D or 3D model files that can be interpreted by manufacturing systems, etc. Preparation may also include custom computer-controlled instructions for guiding machinery or people through each step of the manufacturing process.))
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chu, Wei-Ta, and Ming-Hung Tsai. "Visual pattern discovery for architecture image classification and product image search." Proceedings of the 2nd ACM International Conference on Multimedia Retrieval. 2012. – product image recognition
/JENNIFER V LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3688
/VICTORIA E. FRUNZI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3689 9/21/2026