DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fiche et al. (WO 2022/033857 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 4-5 and 11, Fiche teaches a concentrated laundry composition premix, and method of forming it, dilutable in water (abstract, pg.2: 25-30) with the ratios (instant claim 11) of 1/1 to 8/1; [pg. 23: 11-16], viscosity of 150-600 mPa.s. (for dilution of 5 parts water/1 part premix at 25o C and 106 s-1); [pg.6: 18-21, claim 1], water in amounts of at least 20 %w; [pg.2: 35], C14-C20 ethoxylated polyol ester in the amounts of 0.01-8 %w.; [pg.4: 1-21], surfactants in the amounts of 10-60 %w; [pg.2: 31-35, pg.6: 26-30], with anionic surfactants in amounts of 20-50 %w., wherein the ratio of nonionic to anionic surfactant is in the range of 1.5/1 to 20/1; [pg.7: 25-30]. The premix composition comprises opacifier; [pg.19: 26].
Fiche does not teach the amount of surfactants excluding the nonionic surfactant of ethoxylated polyol ester, but from the total amount of surfactants and the ethoxylated polyol ester it is obvious that there is a major overlap between the instantly claimed amounts and that of Fiche which renders the claim obvious. Furthermore, this is similarly evidenced from the major overlap of nonionic surfactant amount to anionic surfactant amount ratios. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See [MPEP § 2144.05].
Regarding claims 3-6 , Fiche teaches anionic surfactant of linear alkylbenzene sulfonate (LAS); [pg.7: 10-15], ethoxylated polyol ester (instant 4-6) which is tri-stearate of stearic acid and polyethyleneglycol ether of sorbitol; [pg.4: 16-20].
Regarding claims 7-10 , Fiche teaches (instant 7, 10) alkylether sulfate in amounts of 0-10 %w.; [pg.8: 1-2], hydrotrope; [pg.4: 25-32], and the instantly claimed viscosity of 150-800 mPa.s. at 21o C and 106 s-1; [pg.2: 25-30].
Regarding claims 12-14 , Fiche teaches a container for instantly claimed appropriate dilution of premix; [pg.23: 11-15], in combination with a keeper container; [pg.24: 16-20].
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fiche et al. (WO 2022/033857 A1), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Widder et al. (US 4,009,139).
Regarding claim 2, Fiche does not teach the instantly claimed opacifier of styrene/acrylate copolymer. However, the analogous art of Widder teaches opacifying agents for liquid detergent such as styrene/acrylate copolymer; [2: 1-5]. At the time before the effective filing date of invention to select the opacifier of Widder for Fiche’s composition as an ingredient used similarly in liquid detergents.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 4-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-14 of copending Application No. 18/837,856 in view of Widder et al. (US 4,009,139).
Claim 1 corresponds to claims 1 and 7 of copending application “856” although not being identical but the corresponding limitations are similar in scope with almost the same ranges. The claim of reference “856” does not teach the opacifier. However, the
the analogous art of Widder teaches opacifying agents for liquid detergent such as styrene/acrylate copolymer; [2: 1-5]. At the time before the effective filing date of invention to select the opacifier of Widder for Fiche’s composition as an ingredient used similarly in liquid detergents.
Claims 4-5 correspond to claims 2-3 of copending application “856” which are identical.
Claims 6-9 correspond to claims 4, 6, 8 and 9, correspondingly, of application “856” which are identical.
Claims 10-14 correspond to claims 10-14 of copending application “856” which are identical.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Correspondence
/M.R.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
2026/07/25
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767