DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
1. The following is a non-final office action in response to the applicant’s submission received 08/12/2024.
2. Claims 1 - 30 are currently pending and has been examined.
Foreign Priority/Domestic benefit
There is no claim to foreign priority according to the application data sheet and filing receipt.
Domestic benefit has been claimed with regards to National Stage of PCT Application No. PCT/CN2022/087580, filed on April 19, 2022.
Oath/Declaration
1. The applicant’s oath/declaration filed on 08/12/2024 has been reviewed by the examiner and is found to conform to the requirements prescribed in 37 C.F.R. 1.63.
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statements filed on 08/12/2024 is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered as to the merits.
Drawings
1. The applicant’s drawings submitted on 08/12/2024 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim interpretation
1. Limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim should not be read into the claim. E-Pass Techs., Inc. v. 3Com Corp., 343 F.3d 1364, 1369, 67 USPQ2d 1947, 1950 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (claims must be interpreted "in view of the specification" without importing limitations from the specification into the claims unnecessarily) [MPEP 2106 Sec I, C]. “Though understanding the claim language may be aided by explanations contained in the written description, it is important not to import into a claim limitations that are not part of the claim. For example, a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment.” Superguide Corp. v. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 358 F.3d 870, 875, 69 USPQ2d 1865, 1868 (Fed. Cir. 2004). [MPEP 2111.01 Sec II]. Thus, the Examiner interprets Applicant’s claims "in view of the specification" and does not “import into a claim limitation that are not part of the claim”.
2. When multiple limitations are connected with “OR”, one of the limitations does not have any patentable weight since both of the limitations are optional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 25 - 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Software per se and Signal per se.
Claim 25, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because “A computer-readable medium” typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer program product, particularly when the specification is silent. Thus, a claim drawn to such a computer program product that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments by adding the limitation of "non-transitory" to the claim.
Claims 26 – 30 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on a rejected based claim.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 19:
“…means for configuring…”
“…means for receiving…”
“…means for transmitting…”
Claims 23 and 24:
“…means for transmitting…”
Claims 20 and 21:
“…further comprising means for…”
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 10 – 12, 19 – 21 and 25 – 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kaikkonen et al. (US 2022/0217717 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kaikkonen discloses: An apparatus for wireless communication (¶ 0072, the UE (figure 6) being the apparatus), comprising:
a transceiver; [¶ 0072, “TRANS10D”]
a memory configured to store instructions; and [¶ 0072, Memory 10B]
one or more processors communicatively coupled with the transceiver and the memory, [¶0072: “The UE 10 includes one or more processors DP 10A, one or more memories MEM 10B, and one or more transceivers TRANS 10D interconnected through one or more buses.”] wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
configure resources in one or more slots for communicating a sidelink synchronization signal (SLSS) while maintaining a logical numbering of multiple consecutive slots including the one or more slots; and [¶ 0083 -¶ 0084: the configuration is provided or determined from the serving cell, the UE determine such configuration to maintains the logical index sequential numbering in which the SL SSB are sent in one or more slots. See also ¶ 0093 - ¶ 0094. Taking a look at figure 1 (10ms radio frame that contains 20 slots)), the UL slots 150 are logical index sequentially numbered from 0 – 3 and are consecutive. These slots are configured with resources for the transmission of SL SSB. The same idea is applied for DL slot label 135 of figure 1]
at least one of:
receive, during at least one slot of the one or more slots, a SLSS from a node; or
transmit, during at least one slot of the one or more slots, a SLSS to one or more nodes [Figure 1 and Figure 2 in view of ¶ 0083 - ¶ 0084: This configuration is for the UE to know when to transmit/receive (DL/UL) SL SS in the designated logical indexed slot(s)].
Claims 10, 19 and 25 recites similar features using respective language and are also rejected by the applied references for similar reasons as claim 1. Such element as a computer-readable storage medium is seen in ¶ 009 of Kaikkonen.
NOTE to applicant:
The following reference also covers the limitation of the independent claims:
Wang et al. (WO 2020/199933A1), see the description of figure 5 (pattern 6, 7 and 8).
Si et al. (US 2021/0076341 A1), see abstract, ¶ 0178 - ¶0187.
Claim 2, Kaikkonen further discloses: The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, based on receiving the SLSS from the node, synchronize at least one of timing or frequency of a transceiver based on the SLSS. [See figures 1 and 2: the slots for SL SSB transmission are done in UL/DL time slot configuration, the SL SSB is used primarily in the art for synchronization in time and frequency at the receiving/transmitting UE. In other words, ¶ 0024 states that the sidelink SSB which possess PSSS is/are used primarily for initial time and frequency alignment, this is well known in the technology].
Claims 11, 20 and 26 recites similar features using respective language and are also rejected by the applied references for similar reasons as claim 2.
Claim 3, Kaikkonen further discloses: The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, based on synchronizing at least one of the timing or frequency of the transceiver based on the SLSS, transmit, during at least a second slot of the one or more slots, a second SLSS to one or more nodes. [See figures 1 and 2: the slots for SL SSB transmission are done in UL/DL time slot configuration, the SL SSB is used primarily in the art for synchronization in time and frequency at the receiving/transmitting UE. In other words, ¶ 0024 states that the sidelink SSB which possess PSSS is/are used primarily for initial time and frequency alignment, this is well known in the technology].
Claims 12, 21 and 27 recites similar features using respective language and are also rejected by the applied references for similar reasons as claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 13, 22 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaikkonen et al. (US 2022/0217717 A1) in view of Si et al. (US 2021/0076341 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Kaikkonen discloses: The apparatus of claim 1 (see rejected claim 1).
Kaikkonen does not disclose: wherein the resources include two or three resources over a time period of a duration that is a multiple of 100 or 160 milliseconds. However, in the same field of endeavor, Si discloses the above missing feature, see ¶ 0109, Abstract and ¶ 0178.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kaikkonen’s system in view of Si. The motivation for making the above modification would have been to apply a different periodicity of S-SSB for sidelink transmission [see ¶0177 and ¶ 109 of Si].
Claims 13, 22 and 28 recites similar features using respective language and are also rejected by the applied references for similar reasons as claim 4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 – 9, 14 – 18, 23 - 24 and 29 – 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
MAHARISHI V. KHIRODHAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2463
/MAHARISHI V KHIRODHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463