DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 08/12/2024 and 04/17/2026 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 2 of claim 22, replace “an indication” with -- the indication --. (See claim 16).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7-9, 13 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madadi et al. (US 20220338189 A1) in view of Bai et al. (US 20200259545 A1).
Consider claim 1, Madadi discloses a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (read as the UE side method in which the UE receives base station configuration, receives CSI reference signals, predicts CSI and sends a CSI report, figure 8, par [0125]-[0127]), comprising:
transmitting first channel state information associated with a channel for the UE, the first channel state information generated in accordance with a first CSI reporting configuration associated with prediction of the first channel state information based at least in part on a machine learning model associated with the first CSI reporting configuration (read as the UE using the CSI reporting configuration, timing offset and indicated AI or ML model to predict the channel as CSI at a future time and to send the CSI report for that predicted CSI, figures 7 and 8, par [0121] and [0125]-[0127]);
receiving an indication to switch from the first CSI reporting configuration to a second CSI reporting configuration associated with generation of second channel state information associated with the channel for the UE (read as DCI or MAC CEE signaling that activates or deactivates CSI prediction and dynamically moves the UE between CSI reporting configurations for current CSI feedback and AI or ML predicted CSI feedback, figures 7, 8 and 15, par [0122], [0123], [0126] and [0145]);
switching from the first CSI reporting configuration to the second CSI reporting configuration based at least in part on the indication to switch to the second CSI reporting configuration (read as dynamically moving from one CSI reporting configuration to another using the DCI or MAC CE indication that controls CSI prediction activation or deactivation, figures 7, 8 and 15, par [0122], [0123], [0126] and [0145]);
transmitting the second channel state information associated with the channel for the UE, the second channel state information generated in accordance with the second CSI reporting configuration based at least in part on the switching (read as after the trigger selects the next CSI reporting configuration, the UE sends CSI reports based on that configuration, figures 7, 8 and 15, par [0124], [0126] and [0147]).
However, Madadi discloses the claimed invention above and CSI reporting configuration used for predicted CSI feedback (figures 7, 8 and 15, par [0122], [0123], [0126] and [0145]) but does not specifically disclose the use of the first CSI reporting configuration and the second CSI reporting configuration as first beam management mode and second beam management mode.
Nonetheless, Bai discloses a proactive beam management using channel state information (CSI) prediction, where a learning algorithm predicts/forecasts a beam event for an active beam pair, and a beam switch message causes UE operation to change to a newly indicated or candidate active beam, figures 2-6, [0007], [0059]-[0062], [0110]-[0112], [0122]-[0124] and [0129]-[0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Bai into the teachings of Madadi, to configure the CSI reporting configuration switching using Bai’s proactive beam management scheme, in order to allow the UE, when moving between CSI reporting configurations, to align selected CSI feedback with proactive beam switch and reduce beam failure recovery (see par [0007] and [0129]-[0130] of Bai).
Consider claim 4, as applied to claim 1 above, Madadi, as modified by Bai, discloses generating, using the machine learning model and in accordance with the first beam management mode, a predicted set of communication characteristics of the channel for the UE, the predicted set of communication characteristics indicating channel state information in accordance with the first beam management mode; and generating a measured set of communication characteristics of the channel for the UE based at least in part on a reference signal received over the channel for the UE (read as the UE using AI or ML model under a CSR reporting configuration with active beam to predict the channel as CSI at a future step, and also measuring CSI-RS, CSI-IM or SSB under a trigger state, which provides predicted CSI and reference signal measurement, figures 7, 8, 10 and 11, par [0121], [0125]-[0127] and [0133]-[0137]) but does not specifically disclose generating a measured set of communication characteristics of the channel for the UE corresponding to the predicted set of communication characteristics based at least in part on a reference signal over the channel for the UE; and the indication to switch to the second beam management mode is based at least in part on a difference between the predicted set of communication characteristics and the measured set of communication characteristics satisfying a threshold.
Nonetheless, Bai further discloses a learning algorithm outputs a future channel quality value, the UE measures downlink reference signals to obtain an actual channel quality value, the UE determines a threshold error between those values, and the base station sends a beam switch message using that error report, figures 4 and 6, par [0120]-[0124] and [0143]-[0145].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Bai into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Bai, to configure the predicted CSI reporting using Bai’s prediction measurement error report, in order to correct beam switching decisions when predicted channel quality differs from actual/measured channel quality (see par [0120] and [0124] of Bai).
Consider claim 5, as applied to claim 4 above, Madadi, as modified by Bai, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the predicted set of communication characteristics and the measured set of communication characteristics each comprise a respective set of spatial domain communication characteristics, a respective set of time domain communication characteristics, a respective set of frequency domain communication characteristics, or a combination thereof.
Nonetheless, Bai further discloses predicted and actual channel quality values tied to an active beam pair and candidate active beams, which corresponds to the claimed spatial domain alternative for the predicted and measured communication characteristics sets, figure 4, par [0110]-[0114]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Bai into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Bai, to configure the prediction measurement error reporting using Bai’s spatial beam quality values, in order to apply the prediction error check to beam pairs used for active communication (see par [0114] and [0130]).
Consider claim 7, as applied to claim 4 above, Madadi, as modified by Bai, discloses receiving an activation message indicating transmission of the reference signal; and receiving the reference signal over the channel for the UE in response to the activation message (read as DCI CSI request or rigger state activates UE measurement of CSI-RS, CSI-IM or SSB and corresponding aperiodic reporting, which provides the activation signaling and responsive reference signal measurement, figures 10 and 11, par [0133]-[0137]).
Consider claim 8, as applied to claim 4 above, Madadi, as modified by Bai, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose transmitting a report comprising the predicted set of communication characteristics and the measured set of communication characteristics or comprising an indication of the difference between the predicted set of communication characteristics and the measured set of communication characteristics.
Nonetheless, Bai further discloses the UE compares the predicted future value with the actual measured value and transmits an error report identifying the result of the comparison, figure 6, par [0120] and [0145].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Bai into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Bai, to configure the predicted CSR reporting using Bai’s error report message feedback, in order to inform the network when predicted channel quality differs from actual/measured channel quality (see par [0120] and [0124] of Bai).
Consider claim 9, as applied to claim 8 above, Madadi, as modified by Bai, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the indication to switch to the second beam management mode is received in response to the report based at least in part on the difference between the predicted set of communication characteristics and the measured set of communication characteristics satisfying the threshold.
Nonetheless, Bai further discloses that the base station receives the error report, updates the prediction, schedule resources and transmits a beam switch message to the UE for the UE to receive, figure 6, par [0122]-[0124].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Bai into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Bai, to configure the CSI report using Bai’s error responsive beams switch, in order to allow the UE to switch beams before the predicted failure interrupts communications (see par [0122]-[0124]).
Consider claim 13, as applied to claim 1 above, Madadi, as modified by Bai, discloses wherein: the second beam management mode is associated with prediction of the second channel state information based at least in part on a second machine learning model associated with the second beam management mode, or the second beam management mode is associated with generation of the second channel state information based at least in part on a measurement of a reference signal received over the channel for the UE (read as a switched reporting operation in which CSI prediction would be deactivated and CSI is reported using CSI-RS, CSI-IM or SSB measurement, figures 7, 8 and 11, par [0013], [0116], [0133]-[0137] and [0145]-[0147]).
Consider claim 29, Madadi discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (read as UE 116 as an electronic device for wireless communication with RF transceiver 302, TX processing circuitry 305, controller or processor 307 and memory 311, figure 3, par [0095]-[0102]), comprising:
at least one processor (read as controller or processor 307, figure 3, par [0096]); and
memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to (read as memory 311 coupled to processor 307, with stored OS 312 and applications 313, and resident CSI reporting programs executed by processor, figures 3, par [0096] and [0099]-[0102]):
transmitting first channel state information associated with a channel for the UE, the first channel state information generated in accordance with a first CSI reporting configuration associated with prediction of the first channel state information based at least in part on a machine learning model associated with the first CSI reporting configuration (read as the UE using the CSI reporting configuration, timing offset and indicated AI or ML model to predict the channel as CSI at a future time and to send the CSI report for that predicted CSI, figures 7 and 8, par [0121] and [0125]-[0127]);
receiving an indication to switch from the first CSI reporting configuration to a second CSI reporting configuration associated with generation of second channel state information associated with the channel for the UE (read as DCI or MAC CE signaling that activates or deactivates CSI prediction and dynamically moves the UE between CSI reporting configurations for current CSI feedback and AI or ML predicted CSI feedback, figures 7, 8 and 15, par [0122], [0123], [0126] and [0145]);
switching from the first CSI reporting configuration to the second CSI reporting configuration based at least in part on the indication to switch to the second CSI reporting configuration (read as dynamically moving from one CSI reporting configuration to another using the DCI or MAC CE indication that controls CSI prediction activation or deactivation, figures 7, 8 and 15, par [0122], [0123], [0126] and [0145]);
transmitting the second channel state information associated with the channel for the UE, the second channel state information generated in accordance with the second CSI reporting configuration based at least in part on the switching to the second CSI reporting configuration (read as after the trigger selects the next CSI reporting configuration, the UE sends CSI reports based on that configuration, figures 7, 8 and 15, par [0124], [0126] and [0147]).
However, Madadi discloses the claimed invention above and CSI reporting configuration used for predicted CSI feedback (figures 7, 8 and 15, par [0122], [0123], [0126] and [0145]) but does not specifically disclose the use of the first CSI reporting configuration and the second CSI reporting configuration as first beam management mode and second beam management mode.
Nonetheless, Bai discloses a proactive beam management using channel state information (CSI) prediction, where a learning algorithm predicts/forecasts a beam event for an active beam pair, and a beam switch message causes UE operation to change to a newly indicated or candidate active beam, figures 2-6, [0007], [0059]-[0062], [0110]-[0112], [0122]-[0124] and [0129]-[0132]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Bai into the teachings of Madadi, to configure the CSI reporting configuration switching using Bai’s proactive beam management scheme, in order to allow the UE, when moving between CSI reporting configurations, to align selected CSI feedback with proactive beam switch and reduce beam failure recovery (see par [0007] and [0129]-[0130] of Bai).
Claims 2, 3, 6 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madadi et al. (US 20220338189 A1) in view of Bai et al. (US 20200259545 A1), and in further view of Li et al. (US 20190150133 A1).
Consider claim 2, as applied to claim 1 above, Madadi, as modified by Bai, discloses trigger based movement between CSI reporting configuration (read as AI or ML predicted CSI feedback and trigger signaling for moving between CSI reporting configurations, figures 7 and 8, par [0121]-[0127]) but does not specifically disclose transmitting a request to switch to the second beam management mode, wherein the indication to switch to the second beam management mode is based at least in part on the request.
Nonetheless, Li discloses a UE initiated beam management method in which UE 106 uses measured CSI, a beam quality report and channel quality information to select a preferred beam management (BM) procedure; the UE then transmit an indication or request for that preferred Bm procedure, after which CSI reporting would be triggered and the UE would report the resulting channel, figures 10 and 11A-11D, par [0112], [0124]-[0125], [0131]-[0132] and [0138].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Li into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Bai, to configure the trigged based CSI reporting configuration switching using Li’s UE initiated preferred BM request, in order to allow the UE, after producing predicted CSI under its AI or ML configuration, to request a suitable beam management procedure under changing channel conditions and avoid blind BS-initiated beam management (see par [0106] and [0131] of Li).
Consider claim 3, as applied to claim 2 above, Madadi, as modified by Bai and Li, discloses the claimed invention above and receiving trigger signaling for CSI reporting configuration movement (read as AI or ML predicted CSI feedback and trigger signaling for moving between CSI reporting configurations, figures 7 and 8, par [0121]-[0127]) but does not specifically disclose wherein transmitting the request to switch to the second beam management mode comprises: transmitting the request based at least in part on a threshold change between a first output of the machine learning model and a second output of the machine learning model, a threshold change between a measurement of a first reference signal received over the channel for the UE and a measurement of a second reference signal received over the channel for the UE, or a combination thereof.
Nonetheless, Li further discloses that the UE uses threshold and change conditions for RSRP, SNR, SINR and CQI to select and indicate a preferred beam management (BM) procedure, which corresponds to threshold-change between reference signal measurements, figures 10, par [0112], [0115]-[0125] and [0131]-[0138].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Li into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Bai and Li, to configure the UE requested CSI reporting switching using Li’s threshold based reception metric triggers, in order to allow the UE to request beam management when predicted channel quality differs from actual/measured channel quality (see par [0120] and [0124] of Bai).
Consider claim 6, as applied to claim 4 above, Madadi, as modified by Bai, discloses the claimed invention above with CSI request trigger state and measurement of CSI-RS (par [0133]-[0137]) but does not specifically disclose transmitting a request for transmission of the reference signal; and receiving the reference signal over the channel for the UE in response to the request.
Nonetheless, Li discloses the UE indicates selected reference signals or a requested beam management procedure, and the gNB responds by triggering CSI reporting on a CSI-RS resources set followed by UE channel measurement, figure 10, par [0126] and [0128].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Li into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Bai and Li, to configure CSI request trigger state measurement process using Li’s UE indicated reference signals, in order to allow the UE to focus measurement on reference signals selected for preferred beam procedure (see [0126] and [0138] of Li).
Consider claim 10, as applied to claim 4 above, Madadi, as modified by Bai, discloses the claimed invention above and receiving trigger signaling for CSI reporting configuration movement (figures 7 and 8, par [0121]-[0127]) but does not specifically disclose a comparison of the predicted set of communication characteristics and the measured set of communication characteristics to determine the difference between the predicted set of communication characteristics and the measured set of communication characteristics.
Nonetheless, Bai further discloses a process in which the UE measures reference signals to obtain an actual value, compares that actual value with an indicated future value, and sends an error report based on the comparison, figure 6, par [0143]-[0145].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Bai into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Bai, to configure the predicted CSI reporting using Bai’s prediction measurement comparison technique, in order to allow the UE to identify when predicted channel quality differs from actual/measured channel quality (see par [0120] and [0124] of Bai).
However, Madadi, as modified by Bai, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose transmitting a request to switch to the second beam management mode based at least in part on the comparison determined difference, and wherein the indication to switch to the second beam management mode is received in response to the request.
Nonetheless, Li discloses that the UE selects a preferred beam management procedure using channel quality information, sends an indication or request beam management procedure to the base station or gNB, monitors for a response and receives a gNB trigger for the preferred procedure, figure 10, par [0125] and [0131]-[0138].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Li into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Bai, to configure the prediction measurement comparison using Li’s channel quality beam management request, in order to allow the UE to request the preferred beam management procedure when predicted channel quality differs from actual/measure channel quality (see par [0125] and [0131] of Li).
Consider claim 11, as applied to claim 1 above, Madadi, as modified by Bai, discloses the claimed invention above with predicted CSI feedback (figures 7 and 8, par [0121] and [0125]-[0127]) but does not specifically disclose generating, using the machine learning model and in accordance with the first beam management mode, a second indication of a set of resources of the channel predicted to have higher communication characteristics relative to other resources of the channel, the communication characteristics comprising respective reference signal received powers associated with the set of resources, respective signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratios associated with the set of resources, or a combination thereof.
Nonetheless, Bai further discloses a learning algorithm that predicts future channel quality values, including RSRP or SINR type values, for active and candidate beams, and selecting a candidate active beam that remains above a threshold after beam switch even, which corresponds beam resources predicted to have higher communication characteries relative to other beam resources, figures 3 and 4, par [0110]-[0115] and [0130].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Bai into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Bai, to configure the predicted CSI feedback using Bai’s predicted beam quality selection, in order to allow the UE feedback to identify beam resources expected to maintain stronger channel quality after switching (see par [0114] and [0130] of Bai).
However, Madadi, as modified by Bai, discloses the claimed invention above with predicted beam quality resource but does not specifically disclose transmitting a report comprising the second indication of the set of resources, wherein the indication to switch to the second beam management mode is based at least in part on the report.
Nonetheless, Li discloses that the UE selects reference signal configurations, number of CSI resources, recommended resource identity and related beam parameters, then sends those selected reference signals or parameters to the base station using uplink control signals, figures 10-12, par [0126]-[0134].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Li into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Bai, to configure the predicted beam quality resource using Li’s selected resource indication report, in order to focus the beam procedure on resources selected for improved link quality (see par [0126] and [0131] of Li).
Consider claim 12, as applied to claim 11 above, Madadi, as modified by Bai and Li, discloses the claimed invention above and CSI report for predicted CSI (par [0125]-[0127]) but does not specifically disclose wherein the report comprises a request to switch to the second beam management mode, wherein the indication to switch to the second beam management mode is based at least in part on the request.
Nonetheless, Li further discloses a transmitted indication that indicates a requested beam management procedure and related parameters, and the gNB triggers the preferred procedure in response, figures 10 and 11A-11D, par [0131]-[0138].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Li into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Bai and Li, to configure resource indicating report using Li’s requested beam management procedure field, in order to allow the UE to send the preferred procedure request with the beam management indication (see par [0131]-[0132] of Li).
Claims 14-16, 27, 28 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madadi et al. (US 20220338189 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 20190150133 A1).
Consider claim 14, Madadi discloses a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (read as the UE side method in which the UE receives base station configuration, receives CSI reference signals, predicts CSI and sends a CSI report, figure 8, par [0125]-[0127]), comprising:
transmitting first channel state information associated with a channel for the UE, the first channel state information generated in accordance with a first CSI reporting configuration associated with prediction of the first channel state information based at least in part on a machine learning model associated with the first CSI reporting configuration (read as the UE using the CSI reporting configuration, timing offset and AI or ML model conformation to predict CSI at a future time and send the CSI report for the predicted CSI, figures 3 and 8, par [0121] and [0125]-[0127]); and
transmitting a request to switch from the first CSI reporting configuration to a second CSI reporting configuration associated with generation of second channel state information associated with the channel for the UE based at least in part on the first channel state information (read as received DCi or MAC CE trigger that dynamically moves the UE from one CSI reporting configuration to another, including activation or deactivation of AI or ML based CSI prediction, figures 7, 8 and 15, par [0122], [0123], [0126] and [0145]).
However, Madadi discloses trigger based movement between CSI reporting configuration but does not specifically disclose the UE transmitting a request to switch from first beam management mode to a second beam management mode based at least in part on the first channel state information, and the second beam management mode being associated with generation of the second channel state information.
Nonetheless, Li discloses a UE initiated beam management method in which UE 106 uses measured CSI, a beam quality report and channel quality information to select a preferred beam management (BM) procedure; the UE then transmit an indication or request for that preferred BM procedure, after which CSI reporting would be triggered and the UE would report the resulting channel, figures 10 and 11A-11D, par [0112], [0124]-[0125], [0131]-[0132] and [0138].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Li into the teachings of Madadi, to configure the trigged based CSI reporting configuration switching using Li’s UE initiated preferred BM request, in order to allow the UE, after producing predicted CSI under its AI or ML configuration, to request a suitable beam management procedure under changing channel conditions and avoid blind BS-initiated beam management (see par [0106] and [0131] of Li).
Consider claim 15, as applied to claim 14 above, Madadi, as modified by Li, discloses switching from the first beam management mode to the second beam management mode(read as dynamically moving from one CSI reporting configuration with beam management procedure to another using the DCI or MAC CE indication that controls CSI prediction activation or deactivation, figures 7, 8 and 15, par [0122], [0123], [0126] and [0145] of Madadi, and par [0126]-[0127] of Li); and transmitting the second channel state information associated with the channel for the UE, the second channel state information generated in accordance with the second beam management mode based at least in part on the switching (read as after the trigger selects the next CSI reporting configuration with beam management procedure, the UE sends CSI reports based on that configuration, figures 7, 8 and 15, par [0124], [0126] and [0147] of Madadi, and par [0126]-[0127] of Li).
Consider claim 16, as applied to claim 15 above, Madadi, as modified by Li, discloses receiving an indication to switch from the first beam management mode to the second beam management mode based at least in part on signaling (read as DCI or MAC CEE signaling that activates or deactivates CSI prediction and dynamically moves the UE between CSI reporting configurations for current CSI feedback and AI or ML predicted CSI feedback, figures 7, 8 and 15, par [0122], [0123], [0126] and [0145]) but does not specifically disclose based on at least one part on the request, wherein the switching is based at least in part on the indication.
Nonetheless, Li discloses a UE initiated beam management method in which UE 106 uses measured CSI, a beam quality report and channel quality information to select a preferred beam management (BM) procedure; the UE then transmit an indication or request for that preferred BM procedure, after which CSI reporting would be triggered and the UE would report the resulting channel, figures 10 and 11A-11D, par [0112], [0124]-[0125], [0131]-[0132] and [0138].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Li into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Li, to configure the trigged based CSI reporting configuration switching using Li’s UE initiated preferred BM request, in order to allow the UE, after producing predicted CSI under its AI or ML configuration, to request a suitable beam management procedure under changing channel conditions and avoid blind BS-initiated beam management (see par [0106] and [0131] of Li).
Consider claim 27, as applied to claim 14 above, Madadi, as modified by Bai and Li, discloses the claimed invention above and receiving trigger signaling for CSI reporting configuration movement (read as AI or ML predicted CSI feedback and trigger signaling for moving between CSI reporting configurations, figures 7 and 8, par [0121]-[0127]) but does not specifically disclose wherein transmitting the request to switch to the second beam management mode comprises: transmitting the request based at least in part on a threshold change between a first output of the machine learning model and a second output of the machine learning model, a threshold change between a measurement of a first reference signal received over the channel for the UE and a measurement of a second reference signal received over the channel for the UE, or a combination thereof.
Nonetheless, Li further discloses that the UE uses threshold and change conditions for RSRP, SNR, SINR and CQI to select and indicate a preferred beam management (BM) procedure, which corresponds to threshold-change between reference signal measurements, figures 10, par [0112], [0115]-[0125] and [0131]-[0138].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Li into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Li, to configure the UE requested CSI reporting switching using Li’s threshold based reception metric triggers, in order to allow the UE to request beam management when predicted channel quality differs from actual/measured channel quality (see par [0120] and [0124] of Bai).
Consider claim 28, as applied to claim 14 above, Madadi, as modified by Li, discloses receiving signaling that indicates the machine learning model associated with the first beam management mode, wherein the first channel state information is generated using the machine learning model (read as the UE receives BS configuration identifying the AI or ML model and trained model parameters, then uses that model with configured CSI reporting parameters to generate predicted CSI feedback, figure 8, par [0125]-[0127]).
Consider claim 30, Madadi discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (read as UE 116 as an electronic device for wireless communication with RF transceiver 302, TX processing circuitry 305, controller or processor 307 and memory 311, figure 3, par [0095]-[0102]), comprising:
at least one processor (read as controller or processor 307, figure 3, par [0096]); and
memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to (read as memory 311 coupled to processor 307, with stored OS 312 and applications 313, and resident CSI reporting programs executed by processor, figures 3, par [0096] and [0099]-[0102]):
transmitting first channel state information associated with a channel for the UE, the first channel state information generated in accordance with a first CSI reporting configuration associated with prediction of the first channel state information based at least in part on a machine learning model associated with the first CSI reporting configuration (read as the UE using the CSI reporting configuration, timing offset and AI or ML model conformation to predict CSI at a future time and send the CSI report for the predicted CSI, figures 3 and 8, par [0121] and [0125]-[0127]); and
transmitting a request to switch from the first CSI reporting configuration to a second CSI reporting configuration associated with generation of second channel state information associated with the channel for the UE based at least in part on the first channel state information (read as received DCi or MAC CE trigger that dynamically moves the UE from one CSI reporting configuration to another, including activation or deactivation of AI or ML based CSI prediction, figures 7, 8 and 15, par [0122], [0123], [0126] and [0145]).
However, Madadi discloses trigger based movement between CSI reporting configuration but does not specifically disclose the UE transmitting a request to switch from first beam management mode to a second beam management mode based at leas tin part on the first channel state information, and the second beam management mode being associated with generation of the second channel state information.
Nonetheless, Li discloses a UE initiated beam management method in which UE 106 uses measured CSI, a beam quality report and channel quality information to select a preferred beam management (BM) procedure; the UE then transmit an indication or request for that preferred Bm procedure, after which CSI reporting would be triggered and the UE would report the resulting channel, figures 10 and 11A-11D, par [0112], [0124]-[0125], [0131]-[0132] and [0138].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Li into the teachings of Madadi, to configure the trigged based CSI reporting configuration switching using Li’s UE initiated preferred BM request, in order to allow the UE, after producing predicted CSI under its AI or ML configuration, to request a suitable beam management procedure under changing channel conditions and avoid blind BS-initiated beam management (see par [0106] and [0131] of Li).
Claims 17-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madadi et al. (US 20220338189 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 20190150133 A1), and in further view of Bai et al. (US 20200259545 A1).
Consider claim 17, as applied to claim 16 above, Madadi, as modified by Li, discloses generating, using the machine learning model and in accordance with the first beam management mode, a predicted set of communication characteristics of the channel for the UE, the predicted set of communication characteristics indicating channel state information in accordance with the first beam management mode; and generating a measured set of communication characteristics of the channel for the UE based at least in part on a reference signal received over the channel for the UE (read as the UE using AI or ML model under a CSR reporting configuration with active beam to predict the channel as CSI at a future step, and also measuring CSI-RS, CSI-IM or SSB under a trigger state, which provides predicted CSI and reference signal measurement, figures 7, 8, 10 and 11, par [0121], [0125]-[0127] and [0133]-[0137]) but does not specifically disclose generating a measured set of communication characteristics of the channel for the UE corresponding to the predicted set of communication characteristics based at least in part on a reference signal over the channel for the UE; and the indication to switch to the second beam management mode is based at least in part on a difference between the predicted set of communication characteristics and the measured set of communication characteristics satisfying a threshold.
Nonetheless, Bai discloses a learning algorithm outputs a future channel quality value, the UE measures downlink reference signals to obtain an actual channel quality value, the UE determines a threshold error between those values, and the base station sends a beam switch message using that error report, figures 4 and 6, par [0120]-[0124] and [0143]-[0145].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Bai into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Li, to configure the predicted CSI reporting using Bai’s prediction measurement error report, in order to correct beam switching decisions when predicted channel quality differs from actual/measured channel quality (see par [0120] and [0124] of Bai).
Consider claim 18, as applied to claim 17 above, Madadi, as modified by Li and Bai, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the predicted set of communication characteristics and the measured set of communication characteristics each comprise a respective set of spatial domain communication characteristics, a respective set of time domain communication characteristics, a respective set of frequency domain communication characteristics, or a combination thereof.
Nonetheless, Bai further discloses predicted and actual channel quality values tied to an active beam pair and candidate active beams, which corresponds to the claimed spatial domain alternative for the predicted and measured communication characteristics sets, figure 4, par [0110]-[0114]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Bai into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Li and Bai, to configure the prediction measurement error reporting using Bai’s spatial beam quality values, in order to apply the prediction error check to beam pairs used for active communication (see par [0114] and [0130]).
Consider claim 19, as applied to claim 17 above, Madadi, as modified by Li and Bai, discloses the claimed invention above with CSI request trigger state and measurement of CSI-RS (par [0133]-[0137]) but does not specifically disclose transmitting a request for transmission of the reference signal; and receiving the reference signal over the channel for the UE in response to the request for transmission of the reference signal
Nonetheless, Li discloses the UE indicates selected reference signals or a requested beam management procedure, and the gNB responds by triggering CSI reporting on a CSI-RS resources set followed by UE channel measurement, figure 10, par [0126] and [0128].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Li into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Li and Bai, to configure CSI request trigger state measurement process using Li’s UE indicated reference signals, in order to allow the UE to focus measurement on reference signals selected for preferred beam procedure (see [0126] and [0138] of Li).
Consider claim 20, as applied to claim 17 above, Madadi, as modified by Li and Bai, discloses receiving an activation message indicating transmission of the reference signal; and receiving the reference signal over the channel for the UE in response to the activation message (read as DCI CSI request or rigger state activates UE measurement of CSI-RS, CSI-IM or SSB and corresponding aperiodic reporting, which provides the activation signaling and responsive reference signal measurement, figures 10 and 11, par [0133]-[0137]).
Consider claim 21, as applied to claim 17 above, Madadi, as modified by Li and Bai, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose transmitting a report comprising the predicted set of communication characteristics and the measured set of communication characteristics or comprising an indication of the difference between the predicted set of communication characteristics and the measured set of communication characteristics.
Nonetheless, Bai further discloses the UE compares the predicted future value with the actual measured value and transmits an error report identifying the result of the comparison, figure 6, par [0120] and [0145].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Bai into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Li and Bai, to configure the predicted CSR reporting using Bai’s error report message feedback, in order to inform the network when predicted channel quality differs from actual/measured channel quality (see par [0120] and [0124] of Bai).
Consider claim 22, as applied to claim 21 above, Madadi, as modified by Li and Bai, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose wherein the indication to switch to the second beam management mode is received in response to the report based at least in part on the difference between the predicted set of communication characteristics and the measured set of communication characteristics satisfying the threshold.
Nonetheless, Bai further discloses that the base station receives the error report, updates the prediction, schedule resources and transmits a beam switch message to the UE for the UE to receive, figure 6, par [0122]-[0124].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Bai into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Li and Bai, to configure the CSI report using Bai’s error responsive beams switch, in order to allow the UE to switch beams before the predicted failure interrupts communications (see par [0122]-[0124]).
Consider claim 23, as applied to claim 17 above, Madadi, as modified by Li and Bai, discloses the claimed invention above and receiving trigger signaling for CSI reporting configuration movement (figures 7 and 8, par [0121]-[0127]) but does not specifically disclose a comparison of the predicted set of communication characteristics and the measured set of communication characteristics to determine the difference between the predicted set of communication characteristics and the measured set of communication characteristics.
Nonetheless, Bai further discloses a process in which the UE measures reference signals to obtain an actual value, compares that actual value with an indicated future value, and sends an error report based on the comparison, figure 6, par [0143]-[0145].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Bai into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Li and Bai, to configure the predicted CSI reporting using Bai’s prediction measurement comparison technique, in order to allow the UE to identify when predicted channel quality differs from actual/measured channel quality (see par [0120] and [0124] of Bai).
However, Madadi, as modified by Bai, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose transmitting a request to switch to the second beam management mode based at least in part on the comparison determined difference, and wherein the indication to switch to the second beam management mode is received in response to the request.
Nonetheless, Li discloses that the UE selects a preferred beam management procedure using channel quality information, sends an indication or request beam management procedure to the base station or gNB, monitors for a response and receive a gNB trigger for the preferred procedure, figure 10, par [0125] and [0131]-[0138].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Li into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Li and Bai, to configure the prediction measurement comparison using Li’s channel quality beam management request, in order to allow the UE to request the preferred beam management procedure when predicted channel quality differs from actual/measure channel quality (see par [0125] and [0131] of Li).
Consider claim 24, as applied to claim 17 above, Madadi, as modified by Li and Bai, discloses wherein the reference signal is associated with a time instance for which channel state information associated with the time instance is configured to be predicted in accordance with the first beam management mode, or the reference signal is associated with a reference signal resource set for which channel state information associated with the reference signal resource set is configured to be predicted in accordance with the first beam management mode (read as CSI-RS linked a timing offset for future prediction, where the AI or ML model predicts CSI for a future time instant defined from the CSI-RS slot or CSI reporting instant, which corresponds to the time instance alternative above, figure 7, par [0121]).
Consider claim 25, as applied to claim 14 above, Madadi, as modified by Li and Bai, discloses the claimed invention above with predicted CSI feedback (figures 7 and 8, par [0121] and [0125]-[0127]) but does not specifically disclose generating, using the machine learning model and in accordance with the first beam management mode, a second indication of a set of resources of the channel predicted to have higher communication characteristics relative to other resources of the channel, the communication characteristics comprising respective reference signal received powers associated with the set of resources, respective signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratios associated with the set of resources, or a combination thereof.
Nonetheless, Bai further discloses a learning algorithm that predicts future channel quality values, including RSRP or SINR type values, for active and candidate beams, and selecting a candidate active beam that remains above a threshold after beam switch even, which corresponds beam resources predicted to have higher communication characteries relative to other beam resources, figures 3 and 4, par [0110]-[0115] and [0130].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Bai into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Li and Bai, to configure the predicted CSI feedback using Bai’s predicted beam quality selection, in order to allow the UE feedback to identify beam resources expected to maintain stronger channel quality after switching (see par [0114] and [0130] of Bai).
However, Madadi, as modified by Bai, discloses the claimed invention above with predicted beam quality resource but does not specifically disclose transmitting a report comprising the second indication of the set of resources, wherein the indication to switch to the second beam management mode is based at least in part on the report.
Nonetheless, Li discloses that the UE selects reference signal configurations, number of CSI resources, recommended resource identity and related beam parameters, then sends those selected reference signals or parameters to the base station using uplink control signals, figures 10-12, par [0126]-[0134].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Li into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Li and Bai, to configure the predicted beam quality resource using Li’s selected resource indication report, in order to focus the beam procedure on resources selected for improved link quality (see par [0126] and [0131] of Li).
Claim 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madadi et al. (US 20220338189 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 20190150133 A1), and in further view of Deng et al. (US 20190104549 A1).
Consider claim 26, as applied to claim 14 above, Madadi, as modified by Li, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose receiving a message denying the switch from the first beam management mode to the second beam management mode based at least in part on the request.
Nonetheless, Deng discloses that the mWTRU sends an explicit beam switch request, the SCmB would respond with a reject message, figures 19A-19B, par [0213]-[0216].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Deng into the teachings of Madadi, which modified by Li, to configure the UE requested beam management switch using Deng’s beam switch reject message technique, in order to allow the network to refuse a requested beam change when the scheduler or radio resources do not support it (see par [0216] of Deng).
Conclusion
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645